WorldCat Identities

Biggs, Barton 1932-2012

Overview
Works: 23 works in 66 publications in 4 languages and 1,934 library holdings
Genres: History  Fiction 
Classifications: HG4530, 332.645
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Barton Biggs Publications about Barton Biggs
Publications by  Barton Biggs Publications by Barton Biggs
posthumous Publications by Barton Biggs, published posthumously.
Most widely held works about Barton Biggs
 
Most widely held works by Barton Biggs
Hedge hogging by Barton Biggs ( Book )
12 editions published between 2006 and 2013 in English and held by 690 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A detailed look inside the world of investment and hedge funds reveals how the challenging battle for investment survival can be its own life-or-death struggle for individuals participating in the competitive field
Wealth, war, and wisdom by Barton Biggs ( Book )
10 editions published between 2008 and 2013 in English and held by 471 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Analyzes the major events of World War II and how they shaped the stock market and individual wealth from 1930 to 1945. This book discusses the performance of equities in both victorious and defeated countries. It reveals how individuals preserved their wealth
Diary of a hedgehog Biggs' final words on the markets by Barton Biggs ( )
8 editions published between 2012 and 2013 in English and held by 454 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Barton Biggs was a Wall Street legend, trusted by investors around the globe. Now, in his last book, Biggs offers savvy insights into the innermost workings of the markets-today and for the years to come. Packed with keen insights, global experiences, and opinionated stances on investing, Diary of a Hedgehog:Biggs' Final Words on the Markets explores the ongoing downward economic spiral and where it's headed, to help readers keep their money safe and secure. Offering a unique look at the current state of the markets, why they continue to be depressed, and where we can go from here, Diary of
A hedge fund tale of reach and grasp : or what's a heaven for by Barton Biggs ( Book )
7 editions published between 2010 and 2013 in English and held by 164 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Financial legend Barton Biggs' fictional account of the hedge world and the broader workings of Wall Street Barton Biggs' latest book is an inspirational rags to riches story of drive and financial talent. Told through the eyes of a fictional insider, this engaging story provides a detailed look at the hedge fund business in the late 1990s and through the first decade of the twenty-first century. A Tale From the Hedge Fund World chronicles the life of a poor boy who ends up amassing more wealth than he ever thought possible. From studying Wall Street charts while sitting on the sidelines of football practice to realizing how so much money can be made in a short period of time, this book provides a bird's eye view of the inner workings of Wall Street and what it takes to make it there. Puts the word of hedge funds in perspective and reveals the competitive and lucrative nature of this. Other titles by Biggs: Hedgehogging and Wealth, War & Wisdom. Also describes the bursting of the mortgage bubble and the great financial crisis that followed. No one knows more about the hedge fund world of the past twenty years than Barton Biggs. His new fable offers an entertaining look at this field and those who aspire to excel within it."--
A hedge fund tale of reach and grasp-- or what's a heaven for? by Barton Biggs ( )
1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 24 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A Hedge Fund Tale of Reach and Grasp recounts the ecstasy and the agony of investors in the hubris-filled years of the great secular bull market and the terrors of the financial collapse. It is a story of personal and investment triumph and tragedy in the tradition of An American Tragedy and Bonfire of the Vanities
Hedge hogging by Barton Biggs ( Recording )
1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 23 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Shang yi zi jin zen me wan? : yi ge bi xian ji jin jing li ren de gao bai by Barton Biggs ( Book )
2 editions published in 2008 in Chinese and held by 21 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Bu bai tou zi ren : hua er jie jin tong de ci wei tou zi jing by Bi ge si ( Book )
1 edition published in 2006 in Chinese and held by 20 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A hedge fund tale by Barton Biggs ( Book )
3 editions published between 2010 and 2011 in English and held by 18 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Financial legend Barton Biggs' fictional account of the hedge world and the broader workings of Wall Street Barton Biggs' latest book is an inspirational rags to riches story of drive and financial talent. Told through the eyes of a fictional insider, this engaging story provides a detailed look at the hedge fund business in the late 1990s and through the first decade of the twenty-first century. A Tale From the Hedge Fund World chronicles the life of a poor boy who ends up amassing more wealth than he ever thought possible. From studying Wall Street charts while sitting on the sidelines of football practice to realizing how so much money can be made in a short period of time, this book provides a bird's eye view of the inner workings of Wall Street and what it takes to make it there. Puts the word of hedge funds in perspective and reveals the competitive and lucrative nature of this. Other titles by Biggs: Hedgehogging and Wealth, War & Wisdom. Also describes the bursting of the mortgage bubble and the great financial crisis that followed. No one knows more about the hedge fund world of the past twenty years than Barton Biggs. His new fable offers an entertaining look at this field and those who aspire to excel within it."--
Dui chong ji jin feng yun lu = Hedge hogging by Barton Biggs ( Book )
3 editions published between 2007 and 2010 in Chinese and held by 13 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The diary of a hedge hog by Barton Biggs ( Book )
2 editions published between 2004 and 2005 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A hedge fund tale of reach and grasp --or what's a heaven for? by Barton Biggs ( )
1 edition published in 2013 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A Hedge Fund Tale of Reach and Grasp recounts the ecstasy and the agony of investors in the hubris-filled years of the great secular bull market and the terrors of the financial collapse. It is a story of personal and investment triumph and tragedy in the tradition of An American Tragedy and Bonfire of the Vanities. Though the tale is fiction, it is faithful to the actual market events of the decade of hedge fund madness and the ensuing destruction in the great bear market of 2007-2009 and its aftermath.In A Hedge Fund Tale of Reach and Grasp, the former top-ranked global strategist for Morgan Stanley, and now a hedge fund manager, expertly weaves fact and fiction to describe how the mysterious world of hedge funds and the people who run them really works. It is the story of how the brilliant but toxic interaction of brains, intensity, raw ambition, hubris, and greed combined with the "perform or perish" creed to fuel the egregious excesses and, eventually, contribute to the bursting of the stock market and financial bubbles. Lifestyles, portfolios, and loves were recklessly leveraged creating stunning excesses, but when the world turned, it wasn't just proud fortunes that were lost; relationships and souls were ravaged as well. There is a compelling, but tragic, love story here about two people who celebrated love as a solution to spiritual isolation. The novel is also an investment chronicle, a tragic saga of how all brilliant performance is transitory and how, unfortunately, there is no stock market strategy that works forever and that too much money can't spoil. The protagonist is Joe Hill, an authentic American hedge fund success story if there ever was one, who came from nowhere, reached for heaven, and momentarily grasped it. Joe Hill isn't the typical Wall Street whiz kid sporting an Ivy League education. Born on the wrong side of the tracks in rural Virginia, Joe had to work for everything he wanted. And he wanted it all.A masterful mix of fact and fiction, A Hedge Fund Tale of Reach and Grasp is the inside, rags-to- riches story of one man's American dream that became the world's financial nightmare
Bu bai tou zi ren : Hua'erjie jin tong de ci wei tou zi jing by Barton Biggs ( Book )
1 edition published in 2006 in Chinese and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Hedge cambazları : yatırım dünyasından altın deneyimler by Barton Biggs ( Book )
2 editions published in 2008 in Turkish and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Uorugai no ikarosu : Shosetsu hejji fando by Barton Biggs ( Book )
2 editions published in 2012 in Japanese and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Tomi sensō eichi : kabu no senkenryoku ni manabe by Barton Biggs ( Book )
2 editions published in 2010 in Japanese and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Hejji fando no korinai hitotachi by Barton Biggs ( Book )
2 editions published in 2010 in Japanese and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Hejjihoggu : Abunai kin'yu renkinjutsushitachi ( Book )
1 edition published in 2007 in Japanese and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Biggs on finance, economics, and the stock market barton's financial commentary from the morgan stanley years by Barton Biggs ( )
1 edition published in 2013 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide
Released to the public for the first time, writings by the incomparable Barton Biggs Long considered one of the best brains on Wall Street, Barton Biggs acquired the stature of a legend within his lifetime. Among his many coups, he accurately called the rise and fall of the dot-com market, and was an energetic promoter of emerging markets, including China, well before American businesses began flocking there'and he made vast fortunes for his clients, in the process. But, as this fascinating book confirms, it wasn't Biggs's genius as a market analyst and hedge fund manager alone that made him special. The product of a keen and broad-ranging intellect in full command of his subjects'and the English language'the letters compiled in this volume leave no doubt that Barton Biggs was one of the most interesting observers of Wall Street, the financial world, and the human comedy, ever to set pen to paper.-Released from Morgan Stanley's archives and made public for the first time, the letters compiled in this volume add new luster to Biggs's reputation as a first-class finance author -Address the most essential aspects of high-frequency trading, from formulation of ideas to performance evaluation -Shares Biggs's fascinating insights and uncannily accurate predictions about an array of economic and financial topics, liberally peppered with historical references and wry humor -Organized thematically, the letters showcase Barton Biggs's observations on finance, economics and the stock market, from 1980 to 2003
Diary of a hedgehog : Biggs on the markets by Barton Biggs ( Book )
1 edition published in 2012 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.27 (from 0.00 for Tomi senso ... to 0.47 for The diary ...)
Alternative Names
Biggs, Barton M. 1932-2012
ビッグス, バートン
Languages
English (48)
Chinese (7)
Japanese (7)
Turkish (2)
Covers