WorldCat Identities

Biggs, Barton 1932-2012

Overview
Works: 13 works in 118 publications in 6 languages and 2,851 library holdings
Genres: History 
Roles: Author
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Barton Biggs
Hedge hogging by Barton Biggs( Book )

43 editions published between 2006 and 2016 in 6 languages and held by 640 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Rare is the opportunity to chat with a legendary financial figure and hear the unvarnished truth about what really goes on behind the scenes. "Hedgehogging" represents just such an opportunity, allowing you to step inside the world of Wall Street with Barton Biggs as he discusses investing in general, hedge funds in particular, and how he has learned to find and profit from the best moneymaking opportunities in an eat-what-you-kill, cutthroat investment world
Wealth, war, and wisdom by Barton Biggs( Book )

17 editions published between 2008 and 2015 in 3 languages and held by 425 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An intriguing look at how past market wisdom can help you survive and thrive during uncertain timesIn Wealth, War & Wisdom, legendary Wall Street investor Barton Biggs reveals how the turning points of World War II intersected with market performance, and shows how these lessons can help the twenty-first-century investor comprehend our own perilous times as well as choose the best strategies for the modern market economy. Through these pages, Biggs skillfully discusses the performance of equities in both victorious and defeated countries, examines how individuals preserved their wealth despite
Diary of a hedgehog : Biggs' final words on the markets by Barton Biggs( Book )

14 editions published between 2004 and 2013 in English and Chinese and held by 193 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Barton Biggs is a legend on Wall Street. Known for both his insights and his creativity as a writer and an observer of markets and the Wall Street scene, his opinions are very highly regarded, and he is considered one of the best brains in the business. In Diary of a Hedgehog: Biggs' Final Words on the Markets, he shares his insights into why the markets remain at this low level and offers his theories for the future. Drawn from his actual diary of recent events in this time of economic turbulence--written in the heat of the moment, not retroactively--this book addresses the downward economic spiral we have landed in within the last year and reveals Barton's gut feelings on where we are headed. "Understanding the effect of emotion on your actions has never been more important than it is now," says Biggs. "In the midst of this great financial and economic crisis that grips the world, central banks are printing money in one form or another. This makes our investment world even more prone to bubbles and panics than it has been in the past. Either plague can kill you." But while offering dire warnings such as this, Biggs also provides readers with key advice on how to protect their assets and survive even the worst of times. With keen insight, global experience, and informed opinions on investing, this book showcases Biggs at his best, offering readers the inside scoop into what's happening and where we go from here
A hedge fund tale of reach and grasp-- or what's a heaven for? by Barton Biggs( )

4 editions published between 2011 and 2013 in English and held by 49 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A Hedge Fund Tale of Reach and Grasp recounts the ecstasy and the agony of investors in the hubris-filled years of the great secular bull market and the terrors of the financial collapse. It is a story of personal and investment triumph and tragedy in the tradition of An American Tragedy and Bonfire of the Vanities
Hedge hogging by Barton Biggs( Recording )

1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 23 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

<>( Book )

1 edition published in 2006 in Korean and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Wealth, war, and wisdom by Barton Biggs( )

1 edition published in 2008 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

In Wealth, War, and Wisdom, legendary Wall Street investor Barton Biggs reveals how the turning points of World War II intersected with market performance. Biggs will help the 21st-century investor comprehend our own perilous times as well as choose the best strategies for the modern market economy."The wisdom of the markets" prevails, even in the most turbulent of eras: the British stock market bottomed out just before the Battle of Britain; the U.S. market turned at the epic Battle of Midway; and the German market peaked at the high-water mark of Germany's attack on Russia. Those events turned out to be the three great turning points of World War II - although at the time, no one and no instrument except the stock markets recognized them. Biggs skillfully discusses the performance of equities in both victorious and defeated countries, reveals how individuals preserved their wealth despite the ongoing battles, and explores whether or not public equities were able to increase in value and serve as a wealth preserver. Biggs also looks at how other assets, including real estate and gold, fared during this dynamic and devastating period, and offers valuable insights on preserving one's wealth for future generations
A Hedge Fund Tale by Barton Biggs( Book )

1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Dui chong ji jin feng yun lu by Barton Biggs( Book )

1 edition published in 2012 in Chinese and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Ben shu jiang shu le 2007-2009 nian da niu shi zhong de zao fu chuan qi he sui hou de jin rong wei ji,Sheng dong miao hui le tou zi guan li ye wu,Dui chong ji jin de qi qi luo luo,Yi ji jin rong da kong huang dai lai de ge zhong zai huo yu zhe mo
Biggs on the Markets by Barton Biggs( Book )

1 edition published in 2013 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Biggs on Finance, Economics, and the Stock Market by Barton Biggs( Book )

1 edition published in 2014 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.39 (from 0.31 for Diary of a ... to 0.99 for <> ...)

Hedge hogging
Alternative Names
Barton Biggs American money manager

Biggs, Barton M. 1932-2012

바턴 비그스

빅스, 바톤

ビッグス, バートン

Languages
Covers
Wealth, war, and wisdomDiary of a hedgehog : Biggs' final words on the marketsHedge hoggingA Hedge Fund Tale