WorldCat Identities

Grillo, Tyran

Overview
Works: 13 works in 22 publications in 1 language and 647 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Horror fiction  Time-travel fiction  Science fiction  War stories  Fantasy fiction  Horror tales  Criticism, interpretation, etc 
Roles: Translator, Author
Classifications: PL861.E6, 895.636
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Tyran Grillo
Parasite Eve by Hideaki Sena( Book )

6 editions published between 2005 and 2008 in English and held by 325 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Filled with scientific acuity and existential challenges in the tradition of Ghost In The Shell and Frankenstein, this medical fantasmagoria is a disorienting look into consciousness and will have you questioning the future of human evolution. New life begins at the cellular level, but when that cell contains restless mitochondria, it will aspire to be much more than just a speck in a Petri dish. Parasite Eve was the basis of a hugely popular videogame of the same name and has been cinematized in Japan, where the novel's smashing success helped set off a horror boom that has only been intensifying ever since." "When Dr. Nagashima loses his wife in a mysterious car crash, he is overwhelmed with grief but also an eerie sense of purpose; he becomes obsessed with the idea that he must reincarnate his dead wife. Her donated kidney is transplanted into a young girl with a debilitating disorder, but the doctor also feels compelled to keep a small sample of her liver in his laboratory. When these cells start mutating rapidly, a consciousness bent on determining its own fate awakes from an eonic sleep."--Jacket
Paradise by Kōji Suzuki( Book )

2 editions published in 2006 in English and held by 226 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Paradise is a love story told through three separate narratives. Each takes place in a different location and period of time - from the Mongolian desert to a tropical Pacific Island, and finally to modern-day America. It becomes clear that each couple from the three storylines is the reincarnation of the same man and woman, and that in spite of the odds and whatever tragedy might interfere, fate conspires to bring them together again and again in each successive life
Legend of the galactic heroes by Yoshiki Tanaka( Book )

2 editions published in 2017 in English and held by 27 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Remnants of the high nobility, manipulated by the "third power" of Phezzan, abduct the seven-year-old emperor and, with the cooperation of the Free Planets Alliance, declare the establishment of a traditional imperial government. Reinhard, however, has turned the tables by making a secret pact with Phezzan's high officials and plans a grand invasion of the alliance by way of the Phezzan Corridor. So begins an epic battle between Yang--who, despite surmising Reinhard's true intentions, must defend Iserlohn--and the Imperial Navy's peerless fighter, von Reuentahl"--Cover, page 4
Legend of the galactic heroes by Yoshiki Tanaka( Book )

2 editions published in 2017 in English and held by 21 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In the thirty-sixth century, humanity has conquered the galaxy and colonized countless star systems. The Galactic Empire, modeled along Prussian lines, and the democratic Free Planets Alliance are at war, and the fate of every human being in the universe hangs in the balance. mperial forces have captured the Phezzan Dominion and draw ever closer to the Free Planets Alliance capital of Heinessen. Yang hurriedly abandons Iserlohn Fortress and heads for the capital to protect countless civilians. Taking out Reinhard is the alliance's only path to victory. Despite the empire's superior numbers, Yang continues to outwit its most resourceful generals via tactical wizardry. Reinhard, on the other hand, seeing through Yang's devices, opts for all-out war. And so, the "invincible" and "undefeated" once again clash swords. Who will emerge victorious?
Legend of the galactic heroes by Yoshiki Tanaka( Book )

1 edition published in 2016 in English and held by 18 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

V. 1. "The Golden Brat" Reinhard von Lohengramm, a military prodigy and admiral of the Galactic Empire, has ambitions beyond protecting the borders or even defeating the Empire's enemies. He seeks to overthrow the old order and become a truly absolute--yet benevolent--dictator. His rival, the humble Yang Wen-li of the Free Planets Alliance, wishes to preserve democracy even if he must sacrifice his political ideals to defeat the Empire. Their political and military battles play out over a galactic chessboard in an epic saga fifteen centuries in the making!"--
Legend of the galactic heroes by Yoshiki Tanaka( Book )

2 editions published in 2018 in English and held by 13 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"After donning the emperor’s crown, Reinhard becomes the target of an assassination plot. Knowing that the Church of Terra is behind it, he deploys his troops to the church’s holy land: Earth. Meanwhile, Yang’s leisurely retirement is tempered by the surveillance networks watching his every move from both sides. And when he is one day visited by a group of men dressed in black, the galaxy, too, relinquishes peace to become embroiled in upheaval once again. Welcome to the turning point in the war for the fate of the galaxy!"--Cover, page 4
Mr. Turtle by Yūsaku Kitano( Book )

1 edition published in 2016 in English and held by 7 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

What's a cyborg turtle to do when his shell is torn in two? It's a fair question in the bizarre, compelling world of Mr. Turtle. Kame-kun (Mr. Turtle) is a hero in a half shell of an altogether different sort, a killing machine designed for combat who wants to enjoy the simple pleasures of daily life -- working his blue-collar job, going to the library, and typing on his laptop -- even as he is haunted by vague memories of a war on Jupiter. To determine his future he must piece together his past, navigating an unsympathetic society toward revealing the novel's philosophical heartbeat
Mobilization by Yoshiki Tanaka( Book )

1 edition published in 2017 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Flight by Yoshiki Tanaka( Book )

1 edition published in 2018 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Stratagem by Yoshiki Tanaka( Book )

1 edition published in 2017 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Legend of the galactic heroes, vol. 5 - mobilization by Yoshiki Tanaka( Book )

1 edition published in 2017 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Shirahime-Syo by Tyran Grillo( )

1 edition published in 2017 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

SHIRAHIME-SYO is CLAMP's return to traditional Japanese form and story-telling. Featuring luscious watercolors and gentle brushstrokes, it is a beautiful departure from CLAMP's usual fare. Discover for yourself the mystery behind the snow.Rated: T
Red letters : translation as detection in a Sino-Japanese murder mystery by Tyran Grillo( )

1 edition published in 2010 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.35 (from 0.29 for Paradise / ... to 0.97 for Legend of ...)

Parasite Eve
Covers
Paradise
Languages
English (22)