WorldCat Identities

Vest, Jason P. 1972-

Overview
Works: 4 works in 38 publications in 1 language and 3,754 library holdings
Genres: Criticism, interpretation, etc  Film adaptations 
Roles: Author
Classifications: PS3554.I3, 791.436
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Jason P Vest
The wire, Deadwood, Homicide, and NYPD blue : violence is power by Jason P Vest( )

11 editions published between 2010 and 2011 in English and held by 1,296 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Those who enjoy television police and crime series or cable network dramas are likely familiar with Hill Street Blues, NYPD Blue, Deadwood, The Wire, and Homicide: Life on the Street. But what they may not realize is these engaging and often shockingly candid shows are all based on the vision of two writers-David Milch and David Simon
The postmodern humanism of Philip K. Dick by Jason P Vest( )

7 editions published in 2009 in English and held by 990 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"From the short story "Roog" to novels VALIS and The Divine Invasion, few twentieth-century authors have had a greater impact than Philip K. Dick. Dick might be most famous as a prolific, subversive, and mordantly funny science-fiction writer, but he has also produced visionary fiction in the tradition of Franz Kafka, Jorge Luis Borges, and Italo Calvino. The Postmodern Humanism of Philip K. Dick explores the fiction of this American novelist and examines his work in relation to these other literary fantasists." "In this book, Jason P. Vest argues that Dick adapts the conventions of science fiction and postmodernism to reflect humanist concerns about the difficulties of maintaining identity, agency, and autonomy in the latter half of the twentieth century. By comparing his writing to that of Kafka, Borges, and Calvino, The Postmodern Humanism of Philip K. Dick demonstrates that Dick's fiction is a barometer of postmodern American life, even as it participates in an international tradition of visionary literature."--BOOK JACKET
Future imperfect : Philip K. Dick at the movies by Jason P Vest( )

13 editions published between 2007 and 2009 in English and held by 990 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Philip K. Dick was one of the most incisive, subversive, and entertaining authors of the last half of the twentieth century. The increasing levels of respect and interest his fiction and films have generated since the 1982 release of Blade Runner have made a comprehensive assessment of these films a virtual necessity. Future Imperfect is the only work to examine the cinematic adaptations of Dick's work in their entirety and to include some of the more extended criticism on several seminal science fiction films."--Jacket
Spike Lee : finding the story and forcing the issue by Jason P Vest( Book )

7 editions published in 2014 in English and held by 482 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This insightful study probes the iconic filmmaker's career as a director and shaper of American culture. It not only sheds light on the ways in which Lee's background, influences, and outlook affect his films but also discusses how he participates in, transforms, and transcends the tradition of black American filmmaking. Each chapter offers a critical assessment of at least one, and sometimes multiple, Lee films, examining their production history; their place in Lee's filmography; and their aesthetic, cultural, and historical significance. Readers will come away from this first scholarly assessment of Lee's career and work with a better understanding of his penchant for stirring up controversy about significant social, political, and artistic issues as well as his role as an American artist who provokes his audiences as much as he pacifies them
 
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.08 (from 0.01 for Future imp ... to 0.17 for Spike Lee ...)

The wire, Deadwood, Homicide, and NYPD blue : violence is power
Covers
The postmodern humanism of Philip K. DickFuture imperfect : Philip K. Dick at the movies
Languages
English (38)