WorldCat Identities

Penn, Thomas

Overview
Works: 12 works in 68 publications in 3 languages and 2,450 library holdings
Genres: History  Biographies 
Roles: Author
Classifications: DA330, 942.051092
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Thomas Penn
Winter king : Henry VII and the dawn of Tudor England by Thomas Penn( Book )

10 editions published between 2011 and 2014 in English and held by 1,130 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Profiles Henry VII as an enigmatic and ruthless king of a country ravaged by decades of conspiracy and civil war, discussing the costs of establishing a Tudor monarchy and the ways he set the stage for Henry VIII's reign
The brothers York : a royal tragedy by Thomas Penn( Book )

3 editions published in 2020 in English and held by 431 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"For fans of Hilary Mantel and The Tudors, this is the dramatic story of the concluding episode in England's War of the Roses, featuring three brothers, two of whom became kings, Edward IV and Richard III, famous from Shakespeare's great history play Richard III."--
Winter king : the dawn of Tudor England by Thomas Penn( Book )

16 editions published between 2011 and 2019 in English and held by 374 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

It was 1501. England had been ravaged for decades by conspiracy, violence, murders, coups and counter-coups. Henry VII had clambered to the top of the heap - a fugitive with a flimsy claim to England's crown who through luck, guile and ruthlessness had managed to win the throne and stay on it for sixteen years. Although he built palaces, hosted jousts, gave out lavish presents and sent ambassadors across Europe, for many he remained a usurper, a false king. But Henry had a crucial asset: his queen and their children, the living embodiment of his hoped-for dynasty. Now, in what would be the crowning glory of his reign, his elder son would marry a great Spanish princess. On a cold November day this girl, the sixteen-year-old Catherine of Aragon, arrived in London for a wedding upon which the fate of England would hinge. In his remarkable debut Thomas Penn recreates an England which is both familiar and very strange - a country that seems medieval yet modern, in which honour and chivalry mingle with espionage, realpolitik, high finance and corruption. It is the story of the transformation of a young, vulnerable boy, Prince Henry, into the aggressive teenager who would become Henry VIII, and of Catherine of Aragon, his future queen. And at its heart is the tragic, magnetic figure of Henry VII - controlling, paranoid, avaricious, with a Machiavellian charm and will to power. Rich with incident and drama, filled with wonderfully drawn characters, Winter King is an unforgettable story of pageantry, surveillance, the thirst for glory - and the fraught, unstable birth of Tudor England. - Publisher
Winter king : [the dawn of Tudor England] by Thomas Penn( )

18 editions published between 2012 and 2014 in English and held by 364 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Thomas Penn re-creates an England that is both familiar and very strange, a country medieval yet modern, in which honor and chivalry mingle with espionage, realpolitik, high finance, and corruption. It is the story of the transformation of a young, vulnerable boy, Prince Henry, into the aggressive teenager who would become Henry VIII, and of Catherine of Aragon, his future queen, as well as of Henry VII, controlling, avaricious, paranoid, with Machiavellian charm and will to power
The brothers York : an English tragedy by Thomas Penn( Book )

10 editions published between 2019 and 2020 in English and held by 125 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The gripping new history of a dynasty that seized the English throne, then tore itself apart. In early 1461, a seventeen-year-old boy won a battle on a freezing morning in the Welsh marches, and claimed the crown of England as Edward IV, first king of the usurping house of York. The country was in need of a new hero. Magnetic, narcissistic, Edward found himself on the throne, and alongside him his two younger brothers: the unstable, petulant George, Duke of Clarence, and the boy who would emerge from his shadow, Richard, Duke of Gloucester. Charismatic, able and ambitious, the brothers would become the figureheads of a spectacular ruling dynasty, one that laid the foundations for a renewal of English royal power. Yet a web of grudges and resentments grew between them, generating a destructive sequence of conspiracy, rebellion, deposition, fratricide, usurpation and regicide. The house of York's brutal end came on 22 August 1485 at Bosworth Field, with the death of the youngest brother, now Richard III, at the hands of a new usurper, Henry Tudor. The house of York should have been the dynasty that the Tudors became. Its tragedy was that it devoured itself
Winter king : Henry VII and the dawn of Tudor England by Thomas Penn( )

2 editions published between 2012 and 2014 in English and held by 8 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Profiles Henry VII as an enigmatic and ruthless king of a country ravaged by decades of conspiracy and civil war, discussing the costs of establishing a Tudor monarchy and the ways he set the stage for Henry VIII's reign
The brothers York : an English tragedy by Thomas Penn( Recording )

2 editions published in 2019 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In early 1461, a 17-year-old boy won a battle on a freezing morning in the Welsh marches, and claimed the crown of England as Edward IV, first king of the usurping house of York. It was a time when old certainties had been shredded: by popular insurgency, economic crisis, feuding, and a corrupt, bankrupt government presided over by the imbecilic, Lancastrian King Henry VI. The country was in need of a new hero. Magnetic, narcissistic, Edward found himself on the throne, and alongside him his two younger brothers: the unstable, petulant George, Duke of Clarence, and the boy who would emerge from his shadow, Richard, Duke of Gloucester. This is the story of three remarkable brothers, two of whom were crowned kings of England and the other an heir
The brothers York : a royal tragedy by Thomas Penn( Recording )

2 editions published in 2020 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Thomas Penn tells the story of three remarkable brothers, two of whom were crowned kings of England and the other an heir presumptive, whose antagonism was fueled by the mistrust and vendettas of the age that brought their family to power
The Brothers York : an English tragedy by Thomas Penn( )

1 edition published in 2019 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The gripping new history of a dynasty that seized the English throne, then tore itself apart. In early 1461, a seventeen-year-old boy won a battle on a freezing morning in the Welsh marches, and claimed the crown of England as Edward IV, first king of the usurping house of York. The country was in need of a new hero. Magnetic, narcissistic, Edward found himself on the throne, and alongside him his two younger brothers: the unstable, petulant George, Duke of Clarence, and the boy who would emerge from his shadow, Richard, Duke of Gloucester. Charismatic, able and ambitious, the brothers would become the figureheads of a spectacular ruling dynasty, one that laid the foundations for a renewal of English royal power. Yet a web of grudges and resentments grew between them, generating a destructive sequence of conspiracy, rebellion, deposition, fratricide, usurpation and regicide. The house of York's brutal end came on 22 August 1485 at Bosworth Field, with the death of the youngest brother, now Richard III, at the hands of a new usurper, Henry Tudor. The house of York should have been the dynasty that the Tudors became. Its tragedy was that it devoured itself
Fuyu no ō : henrī nanasei to reimei no tyūdā ōchō by Thomas Penn( Book )

2 editions published in 2016 in Japanese and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Henryk VII : świt Anglii Tudorów by Thomas Penn( Book )

1 edition published in 2014 in Polish and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Henryk VII : świt Anglii Tudorów = Winter king : the dawn of Tudor England by Thomas Penn( Book )

1 edition published in 2014 in Polish and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.35 (from 0.22 for Henryk VII ... to 1.00 for Henryk VII ...)

Alternative Names
トマス・ペン

ペン, トマス

Languages