WorldCat Identities

MacSweeney, Christina

Overview
Works: 13 works in 65 publications in 2 languages and 3,414 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Psychological fiction  Novels  Domestic fiction  Bildungsromans  Political fiction  Satirical literature  Historical fiction  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Exhibition catalogs 
Roles: Translator, Author, Contributor
Classifications: PQ7298.18.E59, 863.7
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Christina MacSweeney
The story of my teeth by Valeria Luiselli( Book )

13 editions published between 2015 and 2016 in English and held by 1,104 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Gustavo 'Highway' Sanchez Sanchez is a late-in-life world traveler, yarn spinner, collector, and legendary auctioneer. His most precious possessions are the teeth of the 'Notorious Infamous' like Plato, Petrarch, Chesterton, and Virginia Woolf. Written in collaboration with the workers at a juice factory, 'The story of my teeth' is an elegant, witty, exhilarating romp through the industrial suburbs of Mexico City and Luiselli's own literary influences and a meditation on, as Highway says, 'the variable value' of art"--Quatrième de couverture
Faces in the crowd by Valeria Luiselli( Book )

9 editions published between 2012 and 2014 in English and held by 894 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A multi-layered story told by two narrators: a 21st-century Emily Dickinson living in Mexico City who relates to the world vicariously through her children and a past that both overwhelms and liberates her, and a dying poet living in a run-down apartment in Philadelphia in the 1950s. While she tells the story of her past as a young editor in New York City desperately trying to convince a publisher to translate and publish the works of Gilberto Owen-an obscure Mexican poet who lived in Harlem during the 1920s and whose ghostly presence constantly haunts her in the subway-she also relates the slow but inevitable disintegration of her present family life
Among strange victims : a novel by Daniel Saldaña París( Book )

3 editions published in 2016 in English and held by 345 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

""His tools are brilliant syntax, the ability to achieve highly powerful, recurrent images, a set of relationships between the plot strands that are more than a forced structure, and humor, a corrosive humor that never leads to laughter, but is present in every phrase of the book, charged with relentless sardonic irony."--FactorcriticoRodrigo likes his vacant lot, its resident chicken, and being left alone. But when passivity finds him accidentally married to Cecilia, he trades Mexico City for the sun-bleached desolation of his hometown and domestic life with Cecilia for the debauched company of a poet, a philosopher, and Micaela, whose allure includes the promise of time travel. Earthy, playful, and sly, Among Strange Victims is a psychedelic ode to the pleasures of not measuring--
Tomb song : a novel by Julián Herbert( Book )

2 editions published in 2018 in English and held by 265 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sitting at the bedside of his mother as she is dying from leukemia in a hospital in northern Mexico, Julián is immersed in memories of his unstable boyhood and youth. Guadalupe was a prostitute, and Julián spent his childhood with half brothers and sisters each from a different father, moving from city to city and from one tough neighborhood to the next. As he wanders the hospital, Julián tells fevered stories of his life as a writer, from a trip with his pregnant wife to a poetry festival in Berlin to a drug-fueled and possibly completely imagined trip to another festival in Cuba
A working woman by Elvira Navarro( Book )

3 editions published in 2017 in English and held by 244 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An ambitious tale of feminine friendship, madness, a radically changing city, and the vulnerability that makes us divulge our most shameful secrets. It begins as Elisa transcribes the chaotic testimony of her roommate Susana, acting as part-therapist, part-confessor as Susana reveals the gripping account of her strange sexual urges and the one man who can satisfy them. But is Susana telling the truth? And what to make of the story that follows, where Elisa considers her own life failures, blending her literary ambitions with her deep need for catharsis? And then, one last surprise makes us question everything we have just read
Empty set by Verónica Gerber Bicecci( Book )

3 editions published in 2018 in English and held by 188 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

""Veronica Gerber writes with a luminous intimacy; her novel is clever, vibrant, moving, profoundly original. Reading it made me feel as if the world had been rebuilt."--Francisco Goldman "From the very beginning, Veronica Gerber set out to write a novel that would end up at a loss for words. She alone could achieve this feat: because she's a visual artist who takes everything she reads in as concentric circles threaded with color, and because she writes essays on painters who write across canvasses and writers who paint plots from the realities of life. She alone could bring the necessary silence to a novel so perfect it ended up leaving me speechless as well."--Jorge F. Hernandez How do you draw an affair? A family? Can a Venn diagram show the ways overlaps turn into absences, tree rings tell us what happens when mothers leave? Can we fall in love according to the hop skip of an acrostic? Empty Set is a novel of patterns, its young narrator's attempt at making sense of inevitable loss, tracing her way forward in loops, triangles, and broken lines. Veronica Gerber Bicecci is a visual artist who writes. In 2013 she was awarded the third Aura Estrada prize for literature. She is an editor with Tumbona Ediciones, a publishing cooperative with a catalogue that explores the intersections between literature and art"--
A zero-sum game by Eduardo Rabasa( )

1 edition published in 2016 in English and held by 105 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A satirical look at the origins of power, A Zero-Sum Game uses the highly-charged election for the presidency of a residents' committee and the influence of a powerful stranger to both expose those in power and sympathize with the individuals who find themselves caught in the paradox of empowerment and impotence that is modern consumer society and the democratic state
Sidewalks by Valeria Luiselli( )

6 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in English and held by 104 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Cosmopolitan, vivacious essays in the tradition of Brodsky's Watermark and Benjamin's The Arcades Project by a celebrated young Mexican author
The story of my teeth by Valeria Luiselli( )

13 editions published between 2015 and 2016 in English and Spanish and held by 97 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The story of "Highway" Sánchez--bon vivant, world traveler, auctioneer--and his teeth is like Johnny Cash meets Robert Walser in Mexico."I was born in Pachuca, the Beautiful Windy City, with four premature teeth and my body completely covered in a very fine coat of fuzz. But I'm grateful for that inauspicious start because ugliness, as my other uncle, Eurípides López Sánchez, was given to saying, is character forming. "Gustavo "Highway" Sánchez Sánchez is a late-in-life world traveler, yarn spinner, collector, and legendary auctioneer. His most precious possessions are the teeth of the "notorious infamous," like Plato, Petrarch, and Virginia Woolf. Written in collaboration with the workers at a Jumex juice factory, The Story of My Teeth is an elegant, witty, exhilarating romp through the industrial suburbs of Mexico City and Luiselli's own literary influences
Faces in the crowd by Valeria Luiselli( )

8 editions published in 2014 in English and held by 38 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A young mother in Mexico City, captive to a past that both overwhelms and liberates her, writes a novel of her days as a translator living in New York. A young translator, adrift in Harlem, is desperate to publish the works of Gilberto Owen, an obscure Mexican poet who lived in Harlem during the 1920s and whose ghostly presence haunts her in the city's subways. And Gilberto Owen, dying in Philadelphia in the 1950s, recalls his heyday decades before; his friendships with Nella Larsen and Federico Garcia Lorca; and the young woman in a red coat he saw in the windows of passing trains. As the voices of the narrators overlap and merge, they drift into one single stream, an elegiac evocation of love and loss
El cazador y la fábrica = The hunter and the factory( Book )

1 edition published in 2013 in Spanish and held by 16 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

La invención de la distancia : cuatro ensayos = The invention of distance : four essays by Ticio Escobar( Book )

2 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in Spanish and held by 13 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The history of my teeth by Valeria Luiselli( Recording )

1 edition published in 2015 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Gustavo 'Highway' Sanchez is a man with a mission: he is planning to replace every last one of his unsightly teeth. He has a few skills that might help him on his way: he can imitate Janis Joplin after two rums, he can interpret Chinese fortune cookies, he can stand an egg upright on a table, and he can float on his back. And, of course, he is the world's best auction caller - although other people might not realise this, because he is, by nature, very discreet. Studying auctioneering under Grandmaster Oklahoma and the famous country singer Leroy Van Dyke, Highway travels the world, amassing his collection of 'Collectibles' and perfecting his own specialty: the allegoric auction. In his quest for a perfect set of pearly whites, he finds unusual ways to raise the funds, culminating in the sale of the jewels of his collection: the teeth of the 'notorious infamous' - Plato, Petrarch, Chesterton, Virginia Woolf et al. Written with elegance, wit and exhilarating boldness, Valeria Luiselli takes us on an idiosyncratic and hugely enjoyable journey that offers an insightful meditation on value, worth and creation, and the points at which they overlap
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.38 (from 0.33 for The story ... to 0.75 for El cazador ...)

Languages