WorldCat Identities

Yonge, Charlotte M. (Charlotte Mary) 1823-1901

Overview
Works: 1,425 works in 5,780 publications in 2 languages and 31,808 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  History  Juvenile works  Biography  Domestic fiction  Church history  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Religious fiction  Historical fiction  Poetry 
Roles: Editor, Author of introduction, Other, Translator, Composer, Creator
Classifications: PR5912, 823.8
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Charlotte M Yonge Publications about Charlotte M Yonge
Publications by  Charlotte M Yonge Publications by Charlotte M Yonge
posthumous Publications by Charlotte M Yonge, published posthumously.
Most widely held works about Charlotte M Yonge
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Charlotte M Yonge
The heir of Redclyffe by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
190 editions published between 1853 and 2009 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,890 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Sir Guy Morville lives his Christian values in everything he does, in order to overcome his inherited temper and willfulness. He comes under the guardianship of the Edmonstone family, and as he works his way into their lives and hearts he also stirs the jealousy of their cousin. His absolute dedication to doing and being everything good bring about tragedy and the transformation of all those around him
Unknown to History a Story of the Captivity of Mary of Scotland by Charlotte M Yonge ( )
85 editions published between 1881 and 2010 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,183 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
According to some accounts, Mary Queen of Scots bore a child to her last husband, the earl of Bothwell, while imprisoned at Loch Leven. In Unknown to History, C.M. Yonge weaves the story of this child, linking it with that of her mother. The Author tells us that In Miss Strickland's Life of Mary Queen of Scots (and in Burton's History of Scotland) a report may be found on which this tale is based. This is a fascinating and enthralling story of royalty, plot and intrigue, and was originally pu
History of Christian names by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
43 editions published between 1863 and 2004 in English and held by 1,073 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Abbeychurch or, self control and self conceit by Charlotte M Yonge ( )
15 editions published between 1844 and 2010 in English and Undetermined and held by 823 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Written when the author was in her early twenties, and now regarded as Yonge's first serious work of fiction, Abbeychurch grapples with both serious theological issues pertaining to the schism between Broad, High and Low factions in the Church of England, as well as with the struggles of ego and impulse that are common in adolescence and early adulthood. A gripping and sophisticated example of women's nineteenth-century fiction
The dove in the eagle's nest by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
131 editions published between 1866 and 2007 in 3 languages and held by 724 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Charlotte Mary Yonge (1823-1901), was an English novelist, known for her huge output. She was devoted to the Church of England, and much influenced by John Keble, a near neighbour and one of the leaders of the Oxford Movement. Her novels reflected the values and concerns of Anglo-Catholicism. She began writing in 1848, and published during her long life about 100 works, chiefly novels. Her first commercial success, The Heir of Redclyffe (1854), provided the funding to enable the schooner Southern Cross to be put into service on behalf of George Selwyn. Similar charitable works were done with the profits from later novels. She was also editor, for nearly forty years, of a magazine for young ladies, the Monthly Packet. Among the best known of her works are Heartsease; or, The Brother's Wife (1854), The Daisy Chain; or, Aspirations (1856), A History of Christian Names (1863, revised 1884), A Book of Golden Deeds (1864), The Dove in the Eagle's Nest (1866), Life of John Coleridge Patteson: Missionary Bishop of the Melanesian Islands (1873) and Hannah More (1888)
A book of golden deeds of all times and all lands by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
161 editions published between 1864 and 2010 in 3 languages and held by 702 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A collection of forty-nine hero stories for young people. Includes some tales that may not be entirely factual
The little Duke : Richard the fearless by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
97 editions published between 1854 and 2012 in 3 languages and held by 635 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The story of Richard the Fearless, the boy duke of Normandy, who is kidnapped by King Louis of France
The clever woman of the family by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
74 editions published between 1865 and 2012 in English and Undetermined and held by 631 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Fans of Jane Austen and George Eliot will fall in love with Charlotte Mary Yonge's The Clever Woman of the Family, the tale of a headstrong young woman whose strong opinions and heartfelt desires clash with the social strictures of her era. Will Rachel Curtis rise above the stifling conventions of the age and find true and lasting happiness on her own terms?
The daisy chain, or, Aspirations : a family chronicle by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
112 editions published between 1856 and 2010 in English and Undetermined and held by 532 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Portrays a mid-Victorian family, their confrontations with calamity, and their development of Christian goodness
Life of John Coleridge Patteson, missionary bishop of the Melanesian Islands by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
44 editions published between 1874 and 2004 in English and held by 457 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The chaplet of pearls; or, The white and black Ribaumont by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
85 editions published between 1868 and 2010 in 3 languages and held by 404 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A romance of French history, 1572
The lances of Lynwood by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
74 editions published between 1855 and 2009 in English and held by 385 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Story of Edward, the Black Prince
Hannah More by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
27 editions published between 1888 and 1980 in English and Undetermined and held by 359 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Heartsease : or, The brother's wife by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
81 editions published between 1854 and 2001 in English and Undetermined and held by 325 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The trial: More links of the daisy chain by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
79 editions published between 1864 and 2007 in English and Undetermined and held by 273 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Charlotte Mary Yonge (1823-1901), was an English novelist, known for her huge output. She was devoted to the Church of England, and much influenced by John Keble, a near neighbour and one of the leaders of the Oxford Movement. Her novels reflected the values and concerns of Anglo-Catholicism. She began writing in 1848, and published during her long life about 100 works, chiefly novels. Her first commercial success, The Heir of Redclyffe (1854), provided the funding to enable the schooner Southern Cross to be put into service on behalf of George Selwyn. Similar charitable works were done with the profits from later novels. She was also editor, for nearly forty years, of a magazine for young ladies, the Monthly Packet. Among the best known of her works are Heartsease; or, The Brother's Wife (1854), The Daisy Chain; or, Aspirations (1856), A History of Christian Names (1863, revised 1884), A Book of Golden Deeds (1864), The Dove in the Eagle's Nest (1866), Life of John Coleridge Patteson: Missionary Bishop of the Melanesian Islands (1873) and Hannah More (1888)
Talks about the laws we live under, or, At Langley Night School by Charlotte M Yonge ( )
8 editions published between 1882 and 2010 in English and held by 264 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Pioneers and founders : or, recent workers in the mission field by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
26 editions published between 1871 and 2006 in English and held by 264 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Catharine of Aragon and the sources of the English Reformation by Albert Du Boys ( Book )
11 editions published between 1881 and 1968 in English and held by 259 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Dynevor Terrace, or, The clue of life by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
44 editions published between 1856 and 1908 in English and held by 238 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The caged lion by Charlotte M Yonge ( Book )
43 editions published between 1870 and 2013 in English and Undetermined and held by 237 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.50 (from 0.18 for The little ... to 0.92 for Charlotte ...)
Alternative Names
Aunt Charlotte.
Auteur de "L'héritier de Redclyffe, L', 1823-1901
Author of "Heartsease".
Author of Heartsease, 1823-1901
Author of "Heartsease, The, 1823-1901
Author of Henrietta's wish, 1823-1901
Author of Kenneth, 1823-1901
Author of Kings of England, 1823-1901
Author of Landmarks of history, 1823-1901
Author of Scenes and characters, 1823-1901
Author of "The hair of Redclyffe".
Author of "The heir of Redclyffe".
Author of The heir of Redclyffe, 1823-1901
Author of The herb in the field, 1823-1901
Author of The little duke, 1823-1901
Author of "The little duke", "Heartsease", "The heir of Redcliffe", etc., The, 1823-1901
Author of "The little duke, The, 1823-1901
Author of The railroad children, 1823-1901
Author of The two guardians, 1823-1901
Autorka dziedzica "Redklifu".
Heartsease, Author of, 1823-1901
Heir of Redclyffe, Author of, 1823-1901
Henrietta's wish, Author of, 1823-1901
Herb in the field, Author of, 1823-1901
Jonge, Charlotte M.
Kenneth, Author of, 1823-1901
Kings of England, Author of, 1823-1901
Landmarks of history, Author of, 1823-1901
Little duke, Author of, 1823-1901
Miss Yonge.
Mrs. Younge
Railroad children, Author of, 1823-1901
Scenes and characters, Author of, 1823-1901
Two guardians, Author of, 1823-1901
Yonge.
Yonge, C. M.
Yonge, C. M. 1823-1901
Yonge, C. M. (Charlotte Mary), 1823-1901
Yonge, Charlotte.
Yonge, Charlotte M.
Yonge, Charlotte M. 1823-1901
Yonge, Charlotte M. (Charlotte Mary), 1823-1901
Yonge, Charlotte Mary
Yonge, Charlotte Mary, 1823-1901
Yonge (Charlotte Mary), Miss, 1823-1901
Yonge, K.
Yonge, Karolina.
Yonge, Miss.
Yonge, Miss (Charlotte Mary), 1823-1901
Yonge, Zofia.
ヤング
Languages
English (1,469)
German (6)
Covers