WorldCat Identities

Sargent, Pamela

Overview
Works: 66 works in 351 publications in 6 languages and 11,568 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Science fiction  Juvenile works  Young adult works  Star Trek fiction  History  Romance fiction  Alternative histories (Fiction) 
Roles: Author, Editor
Classifications: PS3569.A6887, 813.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Pamela Sargent
 
Most widely held works by Pamela Sargent
Earthseed : a novel by Pamela Sargent( Book )

11 editions published between 1983 and 2012 in English and held by 892 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Before Zoheret and her companions can populate a new planet, they must learn to conquer those same instincts that almost destroyed their ancestors on Earth over one hundred years ago
The shore of women by Pamela Sargent( Book )

23 editions published between 1986 and 2014 in English and held by 671 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A dystopian tale of a power struggle between the sexes in the post-nuclear future, perfect for readers of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. After a nuclear holocaust, women rule the world. Using advanced technology, they've expelled men from their vast walled cities to roam the countryside in primitive bands, bringing them back only for the purpose of loveless reproduction under the guise of powerful goddesses. When one young woman, Birana, questions her society's deception, she finds herself exiled among the very men she has been taught to scorn. She crosses paths with a hunter, Arvil, and the two grow close as they evade the ever-threatening female forces and the savage wilderness men. Their love just might mend their fractured world--if they manage to survive. Hailed as?one of the genre's best writers? by the Washington Post Book World, Pamela Sargent is the author of numerous novels, including Earthseed and Venus of Dreams. The winner of the Nebula and Locus awards, she has also coauthored several Star Trek novels with George Zebrowski
Women of wonder : science fiction stories by women about women by Pamela Sargent( Book )

16 editions published between 1974 and 1980 in English and Dutch and held by 598 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

These exceptional stories show that science fiction is no longer a field completely reserved for men
Venus of shadows by Pamela Sargent( Book )

10 editions published between 1988 and 2014 in English and French and held by 552 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Venus Project calls upon the strongest and most courageous to create a prosperous world in the dismal wilderness of Venus. Those who demonstrate the skill and the passion to embark on this adventure must transform the barren planet in the midst of political and cultural unrest. When Risa and Benzi, children of Iris, one of the first people to partake in this project, find themselves in opposing forces on the battlefield, it is their love and perseverance that will determine the destiny of the new land
Women of wonder : the contemporary years : science fiction by women from the 1970s to the 1990s( Book )

6 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 477 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Science Fiction stories by women from the 1970s to the present. Among them are Sheila Finch's Reichs-Peace, in which Germany won World WarII and Hitler's son is an astronaut, Lisa Goldstein's Thaw, on aliens who borrow the bodies of people in suspended animation, and Pat Murphy's Rachel in Love, on a girl's brain in the body of a monkey
Watchstar by Pamela Sargent( Book )

13 editions published between 1980 and 2014 in English and French and held by 476 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Alone in the desert, Daiya is faced with dilemma that will determine the fate of her existence. If she can successfully overcome this, she will join the Net of her village, but if she fails, her life before her approaching death will be spent with the feared Merged Ones. Confused and torn between worlds near and far, Daiya harbors a secret of her people, and must find a way to move beyond these discoveries to a safe place where she can survive
Women of wonder : the classic years : science fiction by women from the 1940s to the 1970s( Book )

4 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 458 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A collection of science fiction stories by women from the 1940s to the 1970s. They include Pamela Zoline's The Heat Death of the Universe, on the entropic decline of the universe, Anne McCaffrey's The Ship Who Sang, in which a ship falls in love with its pilot, and Kit Reed's The Food Farm, a horror story about pop music, mass communication and food
Ruler of the sky : a novel of Genghis Khan by Pamela Sargent( Book )

28 editions published between 1993 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 455 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Story, but it is also the story of those who were closest to him, particularly the women who played such an important role in his life: Hoelun, the mother, who was determined that Temujin would survive when all his clan abandoned him; Bortai, for whom Temujin fought his first battle; Jamukhua, the childhood friend who was to become his most bitter enemy; and Khadagan, who risked her life for him. It is also the story of those whose lives were forever changed by Temujin's
The alien upstairs by Pamela Sargent( Book )

6 editions published between 1983 and 2014 in English and French and held by 447 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Facing shortages of jobs, food, and hope, Sarah and Gerry make the acquaintance of an eccentric upstairs neighbor who claims to be an extraplanetary alien
Alien child by Pamela Sargent( Book )

8 editions published between 1988 and 2015 in English and Japanese and held by 405 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A girl growing up in an insulated though pleasant environment, with a furry guardian for company, comes to realize that she must be the last human left on earth
Child of Venus by Pamela Sargent( Book )

10 editions published between 2001 and 2014 in English and held by 361 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Centuries of terraforming have not yet made Venus habitable, but the planet has become a haven for malcontents and trouble is brewing between Earth and her bright sister planet
Climb the wind : a novel of another North America by Pamela Sargent( Book )

11 editions published between 1998 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 348 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Alternativ historisk beretning fra tiden efter den amerikanske borgerkrig, hvor en landsomfattende indianeropstand truer det efterkrigssvækkede amerikanske samfund
Eye of the comet by Pamela Sargent( Book )

2 editions published between 1984 and 2014 in English and held by 305 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A young girl, living on a comet world, is assigned the task of returning to her home planet Earth to act as a bridge between the two very different cultures
More women of wonder : science fiction novelettes by women about women( Book )

10 editions published between 1976 and 1979 in English and held by 296 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The New women of wonder : recent science fiction stories by women about women( Book )

8 editions published between 1977 and 1978 in English and held by 292 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Farseed by Pamela Sargent( Book )

9 editions published between 2007 and 2013 in English and held by 290 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

More than two decades after Ship leaves its children on an uninhabited, earthlike planet, old rivalries are reborn when an encounter between the children of Zoheret and those of her former nemesis, Ho, threaten to ignite hostilities between the two groups of former shipmates
Homesmind by Pamela Sargent( Book )

2 editions published between 1984 and 2014 in English and held by 286 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Arna and her people face the threat of extinction from their own distrustful natures as well as an insatiable alien invader
Venus of dreams by Pamela Sargent( Book )

10 editions published between 1986 and 2014 in English and held by 258 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Iris Angharads, a determined, independent woman, sets herself one massive goal: to make the poison-filled atmosphere of Venus hospitable to humans. She works day and night to realize her dream, with only one person sharing her passion, Liang Chen. It seems impossible to make Venus, with its intolerable air and waterless environment, into a paradise, but Iris succeeds. And in doing so, she also creates a powerful dynasty, beginning with her first born, Benzi Liangharad
A fury scorned by Pamela Sargent( Book )

8 editions published between 1996 and 2011 in English and held by 257 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Leading a rescue operation to the planet of Epictetus III, where the sun is about to go nova, the crew of the Enterprise faces a difficult decision when they realize that they cannot save everyone
Heart of the sun by Pamela Sargent( Book )

4 editions published in 1997 in English and held by 208 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The crew of the Enterprise investigates an abandoned space habitat full of technological marvels
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.30 (from 0.21 for Earthseed ... to 0.67 for The work o ...)

Women of wonder : the contemporary years : science fiction by women from the 1970s to the 1990s
Covers
The shore of womenVenus of shadowsWomen of wonder : the contemporary years : science fiction by women from the 1970s to the 1990sWatchstarWomen of wonder : the classic years : science fiction by women from the 1940s to the 1970sRuler of the sky : a novel of Genghis KhanChild of VenusClimb the wind : a novel of another North America
Alternative Names
Pamela Sargent Amerikaans schrijfster

Pamela Sargent écrivaine américaine

Pamela Sargent escriptora estatunidenca

Pamela Sargent escritora estadounidense

Pamela Sargent US-amerikanische Science Fiction Schriftstellerin

Pamela Sargent usona verkisto

Sargent, Pam

Sargent, Pam 1948-

Sargent, Pamela, 1948-

פמלה סרג'נט סופרת אמריקאית

پاملا سارجنت نویسنده آمریکایی

サージェント, パメラ

パメラ・サージェント

Languages
English (178)

Spanish (12)

German (6)

French (4)

Dutch (2)

Japanese (1)