WorldCat Identities

Haslam, Gerald W.

Overview
Works: 73 works in 186 publications in 1 language and 12,516 library holdings
Genres: Criticism, interpretation, etc  Fiction  Biography  Pictorial works  History  Psychological fiction  Domestic fiction  Short stories  Biographies  Exhibition catalogs 
Roles: Author, Editor, Composer, Compiler, Other
Classifications: PS3558.A724, 813.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Gerald W Haslam
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Gerald W Haslam
Western writing by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

8 editions published between 1974 and 1977 in English and held by 771 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Forgotten pages of American literature by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

7 editions published in 1970 in English and held by 654 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Workin' man blues : country music in California by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

14 editions published between 1999 and 2012 in English and Undetermined and held by 532 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"California has been fertile ground for country music since the 1920s, nurturing a multitude of talents from Gene Autry to Glen Campbell, Rose Maddox to Barbara Mandrell, Buck Owens to Merle Haggard. In this affectionate homage to California's place in country music's history, Gerald Haslam surveys the Golden State's contributions to what is today the most popular music in America. At the same time he illuminates the lives of the white, working-class men and women who migrated to California from the Dust Bowl, the Hoovervilles, and all the other locales where they had been turned out, shut down, or otherwise told to move on."--Jacket
The great central valley : California's heartland by Stephen Johnson( Book )

8 editions published between 1992 and 1993 in English and held by 449 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Many Californias : literature from the Golden State by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

10 editions published between 1991 and 2014 in English and held by 426 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The other California : the great central valley in life and letters by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

6 editions published between 1990 and 1994 in English and held by 318 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This expanded edition of The Other California, originally published in 1990, contains nineteen essays (six of them new to this collection) on the landscape, literature, and life in the Great Central Valley of California. The Valley, a vast, flat patchwork of fields and orchards, has become the richest farming region in the history of the world. It also has a rich literary tradition: William Saroyan, Joan Didion, William Everson, Maxine Hong Kingston, Gary Soto, and Richard Rodriguez were all raised in this agricultural heartland. Haslam's collection represents the experience of living in the Valley through a variety of writings; some are personal, some regional, others literary. Many of these essays were originally published in national magazines; as a group, they offer readers a fine collection of writings on the landscape and literature of California's Great Central Valley
Jack Schaefer by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

3 editions published in 1975 in English and held by 281 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Jack Warner Schaefer (November 19, 1907 - January 24, 1991) was a twentieth-century American author known for his Westerns. His most famous work is Shane, which was made into a critically acclaimed movie, and the short story "Stubby Pringle's Christmas" (1964)
Straight white male by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

5 editions published in 2000 in English and held by 272 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Leroy Upton left his childhood home in a working class neighborhood of Bakersfield to create a life for himself as a father and college professor in northern California. Now his father's health, his friend's ending marriage, and his wife's troubled past force Leroy to fight for the life he has created
Jack London's Golden State : selected California writings by Jack London( Book )

4 editions published in 1999 in English and held by 250 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

California heartland : writing from the Great Central Valley( Book )

3 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 249 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

That constant coyote : California stories by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

3 editions published in 1990 in English and held by 210 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Where coyotes howl and wind blows free : growing up in the West( Book )

1 edition published in 1995 in English and held by 199 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A collection of stories, folktales, legends, and essays set in the American West
Condor dreams & other fictions by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

3 editions published in 1994 in English and held by 180 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In this collection of twenty-five short stories, Gerald Haslam explores the rural areas and small towns of his native region - California's Great Central Valley. The stories reveal a principally masculine cast that is as culturally diverse, and sometimes as zany, as Westerners actually are - a Chinese laborer, a Portuguese farmer, a Vietnamese schoolboy, a black cowboy, an Okie rowdy, an Armenian poet, plus some who blend those and other ingredients
Okies : selected stories by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

7 editions published between 1973 and 1975 in English and held by 174 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In thought and action : the enigmatic life of S.I. Hayakawa by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

7 editions published in 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 167 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"One of the most gripping images from the 1960s captures the slight figure of Dr. S.I. Hayakawa scrambling onto a sound truck parked in front of San Francisco State College amid campus unrest. Hayakawa had hoped to use this soapbox to address the assembled demonstrators, but instead he ended up ripping out speaker wires and halting an illegal campus demonstration--or denying first-amendment rights to the crowd, depending on your perspective. Indeed, Hayakawa's entire life defies simplistic labels, and his ability to be categorized largely depends on personal perspective. This intimate and detailed biography draws on interviews with friends and family members, as well as Hayakawa's own papers and journals, to bring this controversial and fascinating figure to life. He was an enigma to colleagues as well as adversaries, a Republican senator who consistently bucked his party's ideals with his support of the women's movement, abortion rights, and even Ronald Reagan's search for a female running mate. The son of Japanese immigrants, born and raised in Canada before moving to the United States, Hayakawa emerges here as a complex and complicated figure. His blend of heritage, politics, artistic inclination, and intellectual achievement makes him quintessentially American"--
Grace period : a novel by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

2 editions published in 2006 in English and held by 159 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Just when Sacramento journalist Marty Martinez thinks his life can't get any worse, it does. His beloved son has died of AIDS, his wife has divorced him and joined a cult, and his daughter blames him for the disintegration of their family. Then a chance medical examination reveals that he has prostate cancer
Lawrence Clark Powell by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

4 editions published between 1991 and 1992 in English and held by 150 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

William Eastlake by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

2 editions published in 1970 in English and held by 126 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Snapshots : glimpses of the other California : selected stories by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

2 editions published in 1985 in English and held by 96 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The great Tejon Club jubilee : stories by Gerald W Haslam( Book )

4 editions published between 1995 and 1996 in English and held by 94 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In the tradition of Mark Twain and Will Rogers, Gerald Haslam's redoubtable Tejon-Club Gang returns the tall-tale and the bumpkin-humor traditions to their proper places in American letters ... wherever that is! The gang manages to poke holes in social trends and elitist assumptions - and in its own prejudices, too - while bumbling from one beer-fueled misadventure to the next. Thirteen short stories - plus a disclaimer by the narrator - introduce readers to these Good Ol' Boys who live and work in California's Great Central Valley
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.28 (from 0.01 for Grace peri ... to 1.00 for Haslam, Ge ...)

Workin' man blues : country music in California
Alternative Names
Gerald Haslam American writer

Gerald Haslam escritor estadounidense

Haslam, Gerald.

Haslam, Gerald 1937-

Haslam, Gerald W.

Haslam Gerard 1937-....

Languages
English (123)

Covers
The great central valley : California's heartlandMany Californias : literature from the Golden StateThe other California : the great central valley in life and lettersJack SchaeferStraight white maleJack London's Golden State : selected California writingsThat constant coyote : California storiesWhere coyotes howl and wind blows free : growing up in the West