WorldCat Identities

Lyons, Nathan

Overview
Works: 100 works in 254 publications in 4 languages and 6,256 library holdings
Genres: Exhibition catalogs  Interviews  Pictorial works  History  Oral histories  Poetry  Biography  Exhibition, pictorial works 
Roles: Editor, Author, Author of introduction, Photographer, Compiler, Contributor, Illustrator
Classifications: TR654, 770.8
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Nathan Lyons
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Nathan Lyons
Photographers on photography : a critical anthology by Nathan Lyons( Book )

21 editions published between 1966 and 1996 in English and Italian and held by 1,024 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Selected poems by Jones Very( Book )

6 editions published between 1963 and 1966 in English and held by 600 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Photography in the twentieth century by George Eastman House( Book )

23 editions published in 1967 in English and French and held by 564 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Notations in passing by Nathan Lyons( Book )

6 editions published between 1971 and 1974 in English and held by 540 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The persistence of vision: Donald Blumberg, Charles Gill, Robert Heinecken, Ray K. Metzker, Jerry N. Uelsmann, John Wood by Nathan Lyons( Book )

6 editions published between 1967 and 1968 in English and held by 355 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Vision and expression by Nathan Lyons( Book )

7 editions published in 1969 in English and held by 353 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Toward a social landscape : Bruce Davidson, Lee Friedlander, Garry Winogrand, Danny Lyons, Duane Michals by Nathan Lyons( Book )

13 editions published between 1966 and 1967 in English and held by 331 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Menneskets situation i dag - søgt beskrevet i fotografier
John Wood : on the edge of clear meaning by John Wood( Book )

5 editions published in 2008 in English and held by 162 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Great West : real/ideal by University of Colorado Boulder( Book )

8 editions published in 1977 in English and held by 160 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Photography 63 : an international exhibition by New York State Fair( Book )

1 edition published in 1963 in English and held by 127 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A portfolio of sixteen photographs by Alvin Langdon Coburn( Book )

1 edition published in 1963 in English and held by 123 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In front of St. Patrick's Cathedral by Donald Blumberg( Book )

4 editions published in 1973 in English and held by 116 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Eye, mind, spirit : the enduring legacy of Minor White by Minor White( Book )

3 editions published in 2008 in English and held by 110 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Hanging quotes : talking book arts, poetry & typography by Alastair Johnston( Book )

1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 86 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Conducted over the course of four decades ... a landmark oral history project comprised of nineteen interviews with pioneer book artists, typographers, and poets ... He discusses the transition from cast metal to digital type with the prime movers in the field: Matthew Carter, Sumner Stone, and Fred Smeijers; and he takes stock of the field of artists' books in wide-ranging conversations with Sandra Kirshenbaum and Joan and Nathan Lyons, while his groundbreaking interviews with Dave Haselwood, Holbrook Teter, Bob Hawley, Walter Hamady, and Graham Mackintosh shed new light on the history of the book in the 20th century"--Back cover blurb
American artifacts : Phil Bergerson by Phil Bergerson( Book )

1 edition published in 2014 in English and held by 84 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This book is a complex and poetic photographic portrait of America as it simmered its way through the first decade of the twenty-first century. It reflects that span of years some have called thte lost decade. This book is a personal exploration by an empathetic neighbour - the Canadian documentary photographer Phil Bergerson (Born Toronto, 1947). Much like the discovery process of the archaeologist, Bergerson describes his approach as sifting through the remains of a culture - sifting through the shards of artifacts left behind by a rushing humanity as it made its way through the streets of a tumultuous America. His book is a collection of these message shards - often ironic, sometimes full of pathos. All represent the concerns of a struggling humanity: their fears, desires, and hopes with many images vibrating between reality and metaphor. A variety of recurring themes are reflected in photographs of shop window displays, and in the objects and signs from the forgotten corners of hundreds of towns and cities he visited. In organising his 120 colour photographs to best portray the complexity of America, Bergerson turned to the art of sequencing as his primary expressive vehicle. Working in the sequencing traditions of Walker Evans, Robert Frank and Nathan Lyons, Bergerson has orchestrated the dynamic interplay between several themes to project their multi-layered meanings
Whiteout : dead man poems by Marvin Bell( Book )

1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 71 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Notations in passing, 1970. Impressions au passage, 1970 by National Gallery of Canada( Book )

10 editions published in 1971 in English and French and held by 60 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Jones Very: selected poems by Jones Very( Book )

4 editions published between 1966 and 1980 in English and held by 36 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

After 9/11 : photographs by Nathan Lyons( Book )

9 editions published in 2003 in English and held by 23 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In response to the tragic events of September 11, photographer Nathan Lyons, known for his honest and often questioning depictions of American culture, has created a poignant new body of images. Photographing in small towns and large cities, Lyons has keenly observed the extreme and often confusing variety of responses - from deep reverence to blatant commercialization - manifested by ordinary Americans." "This provocative sequence of images, loaded with multiple messages, is powerfully coherent and strangely disturbing. One will marvel, for instance, at the myriad uses of the American flag. As noted by Richard Benson in one of the book's afterwords, Nathan Lyons here offers a "parade of flags - in print, plastic, cloth, and paint - and he shows them as ubiquitous markers of our national pride and consciousness."" "In the tradition of Robert Frank's The Americans, Nathan Lyons's photographs will both engage audiences to question their responses to this horrific event in the context of our complicated society and memorialize the tragic loss of so many innocent lives."--BOOK JACKET
The Photographic vision( Visual )

3 editions published in 1984 in English and held by 15 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A segment from a television course in photography. Commentators Howard Becker and Nathan Lyons use the work of specific photographers to illustrate that visual communication carries more emotional, political, and cultural impact than does verbal communication. Guest photographers Mike Mandel and Larry Sultan discuss their individual and collaborative work. Warns the viewer to be aware of the effect of visual stimuli
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.44 (from 0.25 for Nathan Lyo ... to 1.00 for Ansel Adam ...)

John Wood : on the edge of clear meaning
Covers
Eye, mind, spirit : the enduring legacy of Minor WhiteAfter 9/11 : photographsRiding 1st class on the Titanic!
Alternative Names
Lyons, N.

Lyons, Nathan Myron

Nathan Lyons

Nathan Lyons American photographer

Nathan Lyons Amerikaans fotograaf

Nathan Lyons fotògraf estatunidenc

Nathan Lyons fotógrafo estadounidense

Languages