WorldCat Identities

Allen, Grant 1848-1899

Overview
Works: 396 works in 3,289 publications in 6 languages and 24,938 library holdings
Genres: Guidebooks  Fiction  Detective and mystery fiction  Domestic fiction  Biography  Popular works  Legends  History  Treaties  Bibliography 
Roles: Author, Editor, Translator, Interviewee, Author of introduction
Classifications: PR4004.A2, C813.4
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Grant Allen
The woman who did by Grant Allen( Book )

116 editions published between 1895 and 2015 in 5 languages and held by 906 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Herminia Barton, Cambridge-educated daughter of the Dean of Dunwich, is more determined than most to arrange her own life. She accordingly enters into a relationship outside marriage with one of her own 'free and advanced' kind, the lawyer Alan Merrick. The consequences of that decision test her resolve to the very limit. Grant Allen's account of a life which flies in the face of convention has remained a topic of fierce controversy ever since
The British barbarians; a hill-top novel by Grant Allen( Book )

60 editions published between 1895 and 2015 in English and Undetermined and held by 502 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This amusing science-fiction-tinged satire centers on an anthropologist sent from the future to make a study of British society in the late nineteenth century. Bertram Ingledew comprehensively documents and describes the savage rituals and beliefs he observes -- and even converts one member of the ""tribe"" to his way of thinking
An African millionaire : episodes in the life of the illustrious Colonel Clay by Grant Allen( Book )

49 editions published between 1897 and 2017 in English and held by 433 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"A genre classic, Grant Allen's AN AFRICAN MILLIONAIRE is the perfect addition to our mini library of classic crime fiction. Wealthy, confident, and handsome, Charles Van Drift is not accustomed to being swindled and his brush with Colonel Clay both rattles and infuriates him. As his South African diamond fortune takes hit after hit from the quick-witted master of disguise, Allen leaves even the reader guessing: whom can you trust? Van Drift grows more suspicious of those around him and a few too many misguided accusations shake the millionaire's confidence. Colonel Clay is in his head. Gary Hoppenstand contributes an introduction discussing the reception of the work when it was first serialized in THE STRAND and the significance of Colonel Clay as the first recurring gentleman rogue"--
Florence by Grant Allen( Book )

59 editions published between 1897 and 2015 in English and Undetermined and held by 343 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The scallywag by Grant Allen( Book )

70 editions published between 1893 and 2015 in English and Undetermined and held by 340 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Paris by Grant Allen( Book )

69 editions published between 1897 and 2016 in English and Undetermined and held by 316 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Under sealed order : a novel by Grant Allen( Book )

58 editions published between 1894 and 1984 in English and held by 316 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The tents of Shem : a novel by Grant Allen( Book )

76 editions published between 1889 and 2015 in English and held by 304 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Physiological aesthetics by Grant Allen( Book )

32 editions published between 1877 and 2012 in 3 languages and held by 293 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The story of the plants by Grant Allen( Book )

67 editions published between 1895 and 2013 in English and held by 289 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Venice by Grant Allen( Book )

47 editions published between 1898 and 2015 in English and Undetermined and held by 286 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Falling in love, with other essays on more exact branches of science by Grant Allen( Book )

36 editions published between 1889 and 2014 in English and held by 274 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Canadian author Grant Allen initially pursued scholarly research as a profession, but after several years as a professor, he decided to try his hand at writing instead. Though his first efforts were scientific in nature, his style gradually developed into the broadly appealing voice which is on display throughout the charming essays and observations collected in Falling in Love: With Other Essays on More Exact Branches of Science
What's bred in the bone by Grant Allen( Book )

84 editions published between 1868 and 2017 in English and Icelandic and held by 248 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This enormously popular bestseller highlights all of Canadian-born author Grant Allen''s trademark literary gifts. Featuring an indefatigable female detective, What''s Bred In the Bone is a fast-paced read that''s packed with plot twists that will keep you guessing until the very last page
Miss Cayley's adventures by Grant Allen( Book )

40 editions published between 1899 and 2015 in 3 languages and held by 198 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When her stepfather dies, Lois Cayley finds herself alone in the world with only twopence in her pocket. Undaunted, the intelligent, attractive, and infinitely resourceful young woman decides to set off in search of adventure. Her travels take her from London to Germany, Italy, Egypt, and India, as she faces various challenges and meets an assortment of eccentric characters. But when her true love, Harold Tillington, finds himself accused of forging a will and faces prison, Miss Cayley will n
The European tour by Grant Allen( Book )

28 editions published between 1899 and 2012 in English and Undetermined and held by 189 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

For readers 8-12 years
The great taboo by Grant Allen( Book )

40 editions published between 1890 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 180 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Canadian-born Grant Allen was a highly prolific and multi-talented writer who achieved literary acclaim in a number of genres, spanning nonfiction and fiction alike. The Great Taboo is a high seas adventure that will appeal to fans of H. Rider Haggard, Patrick O'Brian, and Jules Verne
Michael's Crag by Grant Allen( Book )

31 editions published between 1893 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 150 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Unemployed and down on his luck, Eustace Le Neve's fortunes take a sharp turn for the better when he meets a charming young lady named Cleer Trevannick. Immediately smitten, he wants to marry Cleer, but he has no prospects--and Cleer's eccentric father poses another obstacle. Will these two lovebirds be able to make it work?
Biographies of working men by Grant Allen( Book )

36 editions published between 1884 and 2016 in English and held by 148 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In an era where "knowledge workers" with often-nebulous skill sets have come to make up a significant portion of the workforce, it can be refreshing to read about the more clearly defined trades of past eras. This engaging collection of brief biographies from Canadian author Grant Allen explores a number of skilled trades such as stonemason, painter, and shoemaker, as well as the day-to-day lives of the men who filled these roles
... The evolution of the idea of God by Grant Allen( Book )

16 editions published between 1897 and 2015 in English and held by 123 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Philistia by Grant Allen( Book )

20 editions published between 1884 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 33 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Philistia was Grant Allen's first novel, and according to the author's memoirs, he poured his heart and soul into its creation and believed it be his finest work. This classic coming-of-age story follows three brothers as they leave home and stake their claim amidst the hustle and bustle of London, experiencing political, educational, and social epiphanies and hardships along the way
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.61 (from 0.34 for The busies ... to 0.87 for A strange ...)

The woman who did
Alternative Names

controlled identityPower, Cecil, 1848-1899

controlled identityRayner, Olive Pratt, 1848-1899

controlled identityWarborough, Martin Leach, 1848-1899

Allan, Charles Grant Blairfindie 1848-1899

Allen, Carolus Grant

Allen Carolus Grant 1848-1899

Allen, Charles G. 1848-1899

Allen, Charles Grant Blairfindie.

Allen, Charles Grant Blairfindie 1848-1899

Allen, Grant

Allens, G. 1848-1899

Allens, G. (Grants), 1848-1899

Grant-Allen.

Grant Allen britischer Schriftsteller

Grant Allen Brits publicist

Grant Allen écrivain britannique

Grant Allen escritor de ciência, autor e romancista, e um sustentador de sucesso da teoria da evolução

Grant Allen kanadisch-britischer Schriftsteller

Grant Allen naturalista statunitense

Grant Allen, W. H.

Power, Cecil.

Power Cecil 1848-1899

Rayner, Olive Pratt.

Rayner Olive Pratt 1848-1899

Warborough, Martin Leach

Warborough, Martin Leach 1848-1899

Wilson, J. Arbuthnot.

Wilson J. Arbuthnot 1848-1899

Аллен Г. 1848-1899

Аллэн Г. 1848-1899

Грант Аллен

Грант-Аллен 1848-1899

Грент Аллен

עלען, גרענט

עלען, גרענט 1848־1899

עלען, גרענט, סופר בריטי

غرانت ألين

قرانت آلن

กรันต์ อัลเลน

앨런, 그랜트 1848-1899

アレン, G

アレン, グラント

グラント・アレン

Languages
Covers
The British barbarians; a hill-top novelAn African millionaire : episodes in the life of the illustrious Colonel ClayFalling in love, with other essays on more exact branches of scienceWhat's bred in the boneMiss Cayley's adventuresGrant Allen : literature and cultural politics at the Fin de Siècle