WorldCat Identities

Bownas, Geoffrey

Overview
Works: 34 works in 153 publications in 1 language and 4,025 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Short stories  Biography  Musical settings  History 
Roles: Translator, Author of introduction, Editor, Lyricist, Honoree
Classifications: PL801.K8, 895.61082
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Geoffrey Bownas Publications about Geoffrey Bownas
Publications by  Geoffrey Bownas Publications by Geoffrey Bownas
posthumous Publications by Geoffrey Bownas, published posthumously.
Most widely held works about Geoffrey Bownas
 
Most widely held works by Geoffrey Bownas
The Penguin book of Japanese verse by Geoffrey Bownas ( Book )
47 editions published between 1964 and 2009 in English and held by 1,613 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A collection of verse that contains poetry from the earliest, primitive period, through the Nara, Heian, Kamakura, Muromachi and Edo periods, ending with modern poetry from 1868 onwards
Business in Japan : a guide to Japanese business practice and procedure by Paul Norbury ( Book )
20 editions published between 1974 and 1980 in English and Undetermined and held by 714 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Confucius by Shigeki Kaizuka ( Book )
7 editions published in 1956 in English and held by 480 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
New writing in Japan by Yukio Mishima ( Book )
4 editions published in 1972 in English and held by 441 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Japanese rainmaking and other folk practices by Geoffrey Bownas ( Book )
13 editions published between 1963 and 2013 in English and held by 343 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The ritual of rainmaking is one of half a dozen Japanese folk practices and festivals described in this book. The story of rainmaking ceremonies begins with personal experience and then draws on the work of Japanese folklorists to record significant local variations and to construct a general account of the history and purpose of the ceremony. Field research was conducted during study visits to Kyoto, to Tenri in Nara Prefecture and to Shiga Prefecture. The chapter order follows the year cycle, from New Year via early summer purificatory festivals and rainmaking ceremonial to the feas
The Asian phoenix: a study of modern Japan by Geoffrey Bownas ( Book )
3 editions published in 1972 in English and held by 103 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Kappa; a novel by Ryūnosuke Akutagawa ( Book )
12 editions published between 1970 and 2009 in English and Undetermined and held by 73 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In Japanese folklore the Kappa is a scaly, child-sized creature with a face like a tiger and a sharp, pointed beak. In the hands of Ryunosuke, one man's journey to ̀Kappaland' becomes the vehicle for a critique of Japanese life and customs in the tradition of Swift and Kafka. A perfectly formed gem from the pen of one of Japan's most important modern writers (creator of Rashomon), Kappa is at once a fable, a comedy, and a brilliant satire. -- Book Description
Japan and the new Europe : industrial strategies and options in the 1990s by Geoffrey Bownas ( Book )
3 editions published in 1991 in English and held by 30 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
From Japanology to Japanese studies; inaugural lecture delivered 14 December 1966 by Geoffrey Bownas ( Book )
5 editions published between 1966 and 1967 in English and held by 27 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Climate and culture : a philosophical study by Tetsurō Watsuji ( Book )
7 editions published between 1961 and 1988 in English and held by 26 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Japan's strategy for the 1980's : in industrial electrical & electronic equipment by Geoffrey Bownas ( Book )
4 editions published in 1981 in English and held by 13 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Doing business with the Japanese : a one-stop guide to japanese business practice by Geoffrey Bownas ( Book )
3 editions published in 2003 in English and held by 12 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Confucius ... Translated by Geoffrey Bownas by Shigeki Kaizuka ( Book )
2 editions published in 1956 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Confucius : his life and thought by Shigeki Kaizuka ( Book )
1 edition published in 2002 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Concise, carefully researched, and well written, this volume presents an excellent introduction to the life and thought of one of history's most significant thinkers-a book sure to appeal to anyone interested in the philosophical, political, and religious movements of the ancient Far East
Japan : a traveller's guide for Expo '70 by Geoffrey Bownas ( Book )
1 edition published in 1970 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A Climate : a philosophical study, by Watsuji Tetsuro. Translated by Geoffrey Bownas by Tetsurō Watsuji ( Book )
1 edition published in 1961 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Ts'i versus Yen by Geoffrey Bownas ( Book )
2 editions published in 1956 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The hare in the moon : a narrative for soprano, vibraphone, marimba, and double bass by Rhian Samuel ( )
1 edition published in 1998 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Ten Helan poems by Julia Farrer ( Book )
1 edition published in 1974 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide
Approaches to Japanese studies by Geoffrey Bownas ( Book )
1 edition published in 1970 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.54 (from 0.00 for Approaches ... to 0.96 for Japan and ...)
Alternative Names
Bownas, Geoffrey
Languages
English (136)
Covers