WorldCat Identities

Benson, Robert Hugh 1871-1914

Overview
Works: 338 works in 1,828 publications in 7 languages and 12,447 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Criticism, interpretation, etc  History  Sermons  Biography  Drama  Meditations  Devotional literature  Personal narratives  Ghost stories 
Roles: Editor, Translator, Compiler, Owner
Classifications: BX4705.B3, 282.0924
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Robert Hugh Benson Publications about Robert Hugh Benson
Publications by  Robert Hugh Benson Publications by Robert Hugh Benson
posthumous Publications by Robert Hugh Benson, published posthumously.
Most widely held works about Robert Hugh Benson
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Robert Hugh Benson
Lord of the world by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
74 editions published between 1907 and 2013 in English and Undetermined and held by 753 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This dystopian tale from Robert Hugh Benson offers a unique spiritual twist on typical end-of-the-world narratives: in Benson's imagined future, it's the Catholic Church that offers the only respite from encroaching doom. Whatever your religious beliefs may be, Lord of the World is a gripping must-read for fans of novels like Aldous Huxley's Brave New World and George Orwell's 1984
Papers of a pariah by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
16 editions published between 1907 and 1967 in English and held by 522 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Come rack! Come rope! by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
70 editions published between 1900 and 2013 in English and Undetermined and held by 516 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This fictionalized account of life during the persecution of Catholics in the Elizabethan era will enthrall any reader who supports religious freedom. Written by a priest who was himself an adult convert from Anglicism to Catholicism, this stirring tale of personal sacrifice and faith in the face of insurmountable odds is a fascinating document of a dark period in European history
By what authority? by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
53 editions published between 1904 and 2007 in English and held by 358 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
For Great Keynes, as for most English villages and towns at this time, secular affairs were so deeply and intricately interwoven with ecclesiastical matters that none dared decide on the one question without considering its relation to the other; and ecclesiastical affairs, too, touched them more personally than any other, since every religious change scored a record of itself presently within the church that was as familiar to them as their own cottages. On none had the religious changes fallen with more severity than on the Maxwell family that lived in the Hall, at the upper and southern end of the green. Old Sir Nicholas, though his convictions had survived the tempest of unrest and trouble that had swept over England, and he had remained a convinced and a stubborn Catholic, yet his spiritual system was sore and inflamed within him. To his simple and obstinate soul it was an irritating puzzle as to how any man could pass from the old to a new faith, and he had been known to lay his whip across the back of a servant who had professed a desire to try the new religion. Although written over a hundred years ago at the time of the Elizabethan persecution of "papists", it rings true even today where it is considered "with it" to denounce the Catholic Church
The necromancers by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
53 editions published between 1907 and 2013 in English and held by 327 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Catholic priest-turned-prolific-novelist Robert Hugh Benson offers a thrilling ride through early twentieth-century occultism in The Necromancers. When a pair of young lovers is separated by an untimely death, the bereaved survivor turns his back on his faith and begins to dabble in necromancy and other occult rituals to reestablish contact with his loved one. Will he survive his deadly experiments? Read The Necromancers to find out
Christ in the Church; a volume of religious essays by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
35 editions published between 1910 and 1941 in English and Undetermined and held by 313 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The King's achievement by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
56 editions published between 1905 and 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 309 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Oddsfish! by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
35 editions published between 1910 and 2007 in 3 languages and held by 305 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The friendship of Christ by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
37 editions published between 1912 and 2011 in 3 languages and held by 288 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The human need for friendship is raised to the supernatural level in Robert Hugh Benson's timeless illustration of the greatest friendship anyone could ever possess. In The Friendship of Christ, first published in 1912, the Catholic convert son of an Archbishop of Canterbury shows how anyone can achieve a deeper relationship with God the Son. The book shows how Christ works in the soul of those who seek him, in his public life, and in the historical examples given in the Gospels
Initiation by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
35 editions published between 1910 and 2000 in English and held by 269 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Poems by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
14 editions published between 1914 and 1915 in English and held by 248 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Light invisible by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
52 editions published between 1903 and 2005 in 3 languages and held by 242 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Soubor povídek (Zelený plášť, Pozorovatel, Krvavý orel, Nad branou, Poena Damni, Consolatrix Afflictorum, Most nad řekou, V klášterní kapli, Pod kterým králem?, V rouchách barevných, Maličkým, Pocestný, Žaly světa, Zrána, Čekaný host) anglického katolického duchovního, kanovníka westminsterské katedrály a spisovatele (1871-1914). Jejich námětem jsou všední příběhy ze života nazírané očima křesťanské víry. Hrdinové příběhů procházejí v kritických životních okamžicích křesťanskou náboženskou zkušeností a po náboženské obrodě nalézají cestu k hodnotnějšímu vnitřnímu životu a k poznání svého pravého místa ve světě
Non-Catholic denominations by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
18 editions published between 1910 and 1921 in English and Undetermined and held by 232 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
None other gods by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
39 editions published between 1900 and 2006 in 3 languages and held by 224 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The history of Richard Raynal, solitary by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
37 editions published between 1905 and 2011 in English and held by 222 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This fascinating fictionalized account of the life of a fifteenth-century English monk offers an engaging look at the rigors of a spiritual life -- and questions whether it is more beneficial to dedicate one's life to solitary prayer and meditation, or to try to help solve the world's problems through direct and targeted action
Loneliness? by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
34 editions published between 1910 and 1945 in 3 languages and held by 211 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Paradoxes of Catholicism by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
18 editions published between 1913 and 2012 in English and held by 211 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A mystery play in honour of the nativity of our Lord by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
23 editions published between 1908 and 1956 in English and Undetermined and held by 207 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The religion of the plain man by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
26 editions published between 1906 and 1921 in English and held by 199 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The dawn of all by Robert Hugh Benson ( Book )
37 editions published between 1910 and 2010 in English and held by 199 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.57 (from 0.08 for Wie der Fe ... to 0.97 for Monsignor ...)
Alternative Names
Benson, Hugh, 1871-1914
Benson, R. H.
Benson, R. H. (Robert Hugh), 1871-1914
Benson, R. Hugh 1871-1914
Benson, Robert.
Benson, Robert Hugh
Benson, Robert Hugo.
Benson, Robert Hugon.
Benzen, R. G.
Languages
English (838)
French (7)
Polish (6)
German (5)
Czech (3)
Spanish (2)
Danish (1)
Covers