WorldCat Identities

Boyd, Ernest Augustus 1887-1946

Overview
Works: 150 works in 575 publications in 3 languages and 14,540 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Historical fiction  History  Domestic fiction  Biography  Newspapers  Short stories, French  Periodicals  Pastoral fiction 
Roles: Author, Translator, Editor, Attributed name, Author of introduction
Classifications: PS3501.N4, 843.8
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Ernest Augustus Boyd
Ireland's literary renaissance by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )

52 editions published between 1916 and 1980 in 3 languages and held by 1,167 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Winesburg, Ohio; a group of tales of Ohio small town life by Sherwood Anderson( Book )

28 editions published between 1919 and 1977 in English and held by 1,005 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Loosely connected tales in which a young reporter named George Willard probes the hopes, dreams, and fears of the solitary people in a small Midwestern town at the turn of the 19th century
Nana by mile Zola( Book )

11 editions published between 1927 and 1943 in English and French and held by 961 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Living in the pleasure-loving society of Napoleon III's France is a beautiful, capricious, good-natured yet noxious prostitute named Nana. For her, rich men give up their fortunes and honor; poor men give up their mates and even their lives
Studies from ten literatures, by Ernest Boyd by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )

26 editions published between 1925 and 1968 in English and held by 878 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Droll stories by Honor de Balzac( Book )

27 editions published between 1928 and 1956 in English and Undetermined and held by 728 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Balzac's Contes Drolatiques, published in three installments in the 1830s, offers a lively and lusty portrait of sixteenth-century French life and manners. These thirty stories in the tradition of Boccaccio, Chaucer, and Rabelais were claimed by the author to have originated in manuscripts from the abbeys of Touraine. Abounding in episodes of good-humored licentiousness, the tales scandalized Balzac's contemporaries and continue to delight modern readers. French novelist and playwright Honor de Balzac (1799-1850) was a founder of realism in European literature. An inspiration to Proust, Dickens, Faulkner, Dostoyevsky, and countless others, Balzac wrote works that were hailed for their multifaceted characters and exquisite attention to detail. This edition's excellent translation was the first to make Contes Drolatiques available to English-speaking readers
Appreciations and depreciations; Irish literary studies by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )

28 editions published between 1917 and 2010 in English and Undetermined and held by 661 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Literary blasphemies by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )

16 editions published between 1927 and 1969 in English and held by 627 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The contemporary drama of Ireland by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )

26 editions published between 1917 and 2008 in English and Undetermined and held by 580 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

H.L. Mencken by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )

36 editions published between 1925 and 2007 in English and Undetermined and held by 580 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Winesburg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson( Book )

2 editions published between 1919 and 1947 in English and held by 530 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Cycle of interrelated stories that sympathetically view lonely and frustrated individuals in a midwestern town
Criticism in America, its functions and status by Irving Babbitt( Book )

5 editions published in 1924 in English and held by 517 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Guy de Maupassant; a biographical study by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )

19 editions published between 1926 and 1928 in 3 languages and held by 513 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The fabulous life of Sarah Bernhardt by Louis Verneuil( Book )

10 editions published between 1942 and 1971 in English and held by 428 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Rabelais by Anatole France( Book )

7 editions published in 1929 in English and held by 407 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The collected novels and stories of Guy de Maupassant by Guy de Maupassant( Book )

15 editions published between 1927 and 2010 in English and held by 296 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Les diaboliques; les six premières by J Barbey d'Aurevilly( Book )

10 editions published between 1925 and 2011 in English and French and held by 259 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

First published in 1874 Les Diaboliques caused an uproar and all the copies were seized on the orders of the Ministry of Justice as the book was a danger to public morality. Scandal made the book an immediate success. One hundred and thirty years later it is now firmly established as a classic and studied in French schools. "The book is a celebration of the seven deadly vices and shows no counterbalancing interest in the seven cardinal virtues. Even more, it is a celebration of pride, the pride of the ancient aristocracy of evil. Those who have the style to carry off their vices have also the right to do so." D'Aurevilly introduces us to the she-devils, a group of femme fatales who share their trials and triumphs
The American spectator( )

in English and held by 221 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Germinie Lacerteux by Edmond de Goncourt( Book )

3 editions published between 1922 and 2007 in English and held by 187 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Jules and Edmond de Goncourt were brothers who wrote one of the most esteemed novels in French literature
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.37 (from 0.20 for Winesburg, ... to 0.99 for Boyd, Erne ...)

Les diaboliques; les six premières
Alternative Names
Boyd, Ernest.

Boyd, Ernest 1887-1947

Boyd, Ernest A.

Boyd, Ernest A. 1887-1947

ボイド, アーネスト

Languages
English (354)

French (4)

Japanese (1)

Covers
Droll storiesThe contemporary drama of IrelandH.L. MenckenLes diaboliques; les six premièresGerminie Lacerteux