WorldCat Identities

Boyd, Ernest Augustus 1887-1946

Overview
Works: 126 works in 523 publications in 3 languages and 14,440 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Criticism, interpretation, etc  History  Domestic fiction  Biography  Newspapers  Dictionaries  Short stories  Periodicals  Glossaries, vocabularies, etc 
Roles: Author, Translator, Editor, Attributed name, Author of introduction
Classifications: PS3501.N4, 843.8
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Ernest Augustus Boyd
Winesburg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson( Book )
28 editions published between 1919 and 1977 in English and held by 1,569 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Cycle of interrelated stories that sympathetically view lonely and frustrated individuals in a midwestern town
Ireland's literary renaissance by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )
50 editions published between 1916 and 1980 in 3 languages and held by 1,217 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Studies from ten literatures, by Ernest Boyd by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )
26 editions published between 1925 and 1968 in English and held by 894 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Droll stories by Honoré de Balzac( Book )
24 editions published between 1928 and 1946 in English and Undetermined and held by 745 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Balzac's Contes Drolatiques, published in three installments in the 1830s, offers a lively and lusty portrait of sixteenth-century French life and manners. These thirty stories in the tradition of Boccaccio, Chaucer, and Rabelais were claimed by the author to have originated in manuscripts from the abbeys of Touraine. Abounding in episodes of good-humored licentiousness, the tales scandalized Balzac's contemporaries and continue to delight modern readers. French novelist and playwright Honor de Balzac (1799-1850) was a founder of realism in European literature. An inspiration to Proust, Dickens, Faulkner, Dostoyevsky, and countless others, Balzac wrote works that were hailed for their multifaceted characters and exquisite attention to detail. This edition's excellent translation was the first to make Contes Drolatiques available to English-speaking readers
Appreciations and depreciations; Irish literary studies by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )
24 editions published between 1917 and 2010 in English and Undetermined and held by 705 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Literary blasphemies by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )
15 editions published between 1927 and 1969 in English and held by 632 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The contemporary drama of Ireland by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )
23 editions published between 1917 and 2008 in English and Undetermined and held by 618 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
H.L. Mencken by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )
38 editions published between 1925 and 2007 in English and Undetermined and held by 599 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Criticism in America, its functions and status by Irving Babbitt( Book )
6 editions published in 1924 in English and held by 532 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Guy de Maupassant; a biographical study by Ernest Augustus Boyd( Book )
18 editions published between 1926 and 1928 in 3 languages and held by 529 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Nana by Émile Zola( Book )
6 editions published between 1927 and 1943 in English and French and held by 501 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Roman om en fejret parisisk kurtisane, der ødelægger sig selv og de mænd, hun har i sin magt
Nana by Émile Zola( Book )
5 editions published between 1927 and 1928 in English and held by 474 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Living in the pleasure-loving society of Napoleon III's France is a beautiful, capricious, good-natured yet noxious prostitute named Nana. For her, rich men give up their fortunes and honor; poor men give up their mates and even their lives
The fabulous life of Sarah Bernhardt by Louis Verneuil( Book )
11 editions published between 1942 and 1971 in English and held by 434 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Rabelais by Anatole France( Book )
4 editions published in 1929 in English and held by 404 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Selected tales of Guy de Maupassant by Guy de Maupassant( Book )
18 editions published between 1923 and 2010 in English and held by 337 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Presents thirty short stories by nineteenth-century French author Guy de Maupassant in translation, covering subjects such as murder, adultery, war, and everyday activities such as eating and drinking
The diaboliques by J Barbey d'Aurevilly( Book )
8 editions published between 1925 and 1996 in English and French and held by 260 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
First published in 1874 Les Diaboliques caused an uproar and all the copies were seized on the orders of the Ministry of Justice as the book was a danger to public morality. Scandal made the book an immediate success. One hundred and thirty years later it is now firmly established as a classic and studied in French schools. "The book is a celebration of the seven deadly vices and shows no counterbalancing interest in the seven cardinal virtues. Even more, it is a celebration of pride, the pride of the ancient aristocracy of evil. Those who have the style to carry off their vices have also the right to do so." D'Aurevilly introduces us to the she-devils, a group of femme fatales who share their trials and triumphs
The American spectator ( )
in English and held by 223 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Germinie Lacerteux by Edmond de Goncourt( Book )
3 editions published between 1922 and 2007 in English and held by 201 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.51 (from 0.00 for Boyd, Erne ... to 1.00 for [Miscellan ...)
Alternative Names
Boyd, Ernest.
Boyd, Ernest 1887-1947
Boyd, Ernest A.
Boyd, Ernest A. 1887-1947
ボイド, アーネスト
Languages
English (337)
French (4)
Japanese (1)
Covers