WorldCat Identities

Ramos, Graciliano 1892-1953

Overview
Works: 447 works in 2,168 publications in 12 languages and 14,422 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Frame stories  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Drama  Film adaptations  Biography  Historical reenactments (Motion pictures)  Historical films  Documentary-style films  Ethnographic films 
Subject Headings: Political prisoners 
Roles: Author, Editor, Bibliographic antecedent, Other, Honoree, Contributor
Classifications: PQ9697.R254, 869.3
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Graciliano Ramos
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Graciliano Ramos
Barren lives (Vidas sêcas) by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

272 editions published between 1900 and 2019 in 7 languages and held by 1,696 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Novel in which Master Graciliano - so meticulous that he came to appear at the printing press at the time the book entered the press, to check whether the review would interfere with his text - reaches the maximum of an expression he had been seeking in his prose
Anguish by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

175 editions published between 1900 and 2013 in 8 languages and held by 962 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Een introverte journalist projecteert al zijn haat en frustraties op een welbespraakte rijkeluiszoon die hem zijn geliefde afhandig heeft gemaakt
São Bernardo : a novel by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

185 editions published between 1900 and 2019 in 11 languages and held by 960 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"A masterwork about backcountry life by one of Brazil's most celebrated novelists. In 1941, a national literary poll in Brazil named Graciliano Ramos one of that country's ten greatest novelists--one of only four living authors on the list. His reputation has only increased there in the sixty years since his death, with all of his books still in print and special editions for anniversaries. Brazilian readers fight over which of his novels is their favorite. Now São Bernardo, his second-to-last novel, has been freshly translated for North American readers. This gritty, drily funny book tells the story of Paulo Honorio, a field hand who learns to read and write in jail, emerging with the ambition of buying and restoring to greatness the now-decrepit property where he was once a day-laborer. São Bernardo, named for his ranch, is the memoir of his rise and fall, written in his own rough-hewn voice. "With Ramos, language is a precision tool with which effects hitherto unrecorded in Brazilian literature have been made," said critic Fred P. Ellison. Flavored with subtle ironies and rich local idioms, São Bernardo will appeal to readers of William Faulkner and Juan Rulfo, anyone who loves a tragicomic story of a striving outsider and self-made man, ruthless and tender in turns"--
Caetés by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

103 editions published between 1900 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 357 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Memórias do cárcere by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

84 editions published between 1900 and 2015 in 4 languages and held by 231 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Alexandre e outros heróis : (Obra póstuma) by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

71 editions published between 1962 and 2015 in 7 languages and held by 230 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Historier om løgnhalsen Alexandre - genfortalt efter brasilianske folkefortællinger
Infância by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

73 editions published between 1945 and 2012 in 3 languages and held by 200 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Insônia by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

51 editions published between 1900 and 1997 in Portuguese and Undetermined and held by 192 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Linhas tortas; [crônicas escritas de 1915 a 1952] by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

32 editions published between 1952 and 2005 in 3 languages and held by 149 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Insônia : contos by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

39 editions published between 1947 and 2013 in Portuguese and held by 124 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Viventes das Alagoas; quadros e costumes do Nordeste by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

9 editions published between 1962 and 1967 in Portuguese and German and held by 115 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Trechos escolhidos by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

13 editions published between 1961 and 1966 in 3 languages and held by 96 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Viagem; Tcheco-eslováquia, U.R.S.S. Obra póstuma by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

12 editions published between 1954 and 1970 in 3 languages and held by 76 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Seleção de contos brasileiros by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

8 editions published between 1966 and 1974 in Portuguese and English and held by 68 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Graciliano Ramos by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

10 editions published between 1963 and 1981 in Portuguese and held by 61 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Viventes das Alagoas by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

26 editions published between 1962 and 2007 in Portuguese and German and held by 56 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Brandão entre o mar e o amor; romance by Aníbal Machado( Book )

9 editions published between 1942 and 1981 in Portuguese and held by 56 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Histórias agrestes; contos escolhidos by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

4 editions published in 1960 in Portuguese and Undetermined and held by 52 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Histórias agrestes by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

9 editions published between 1967 and 1990 in Portuguese and held by 49 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Contos e novelas; a apresentac̜ão segue um critério geográfico, incluindo escritores antigos e modernos de todo o país by Graciliano Ramos( Book )

4 editions published in 1957 in Portuguese and held by 47 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.53 (from 0.05 for Seeing pol ... to 0.80 for Brandão e ...)

Barren lives (Vidas sêcas)
Covers
Alternative Names
Cunha, Soares de Almeida 1892-1953

G.R., 1892-1953

Graciliano Ramos brasilianischer Autor und Erzähler

Graciliano Ramos brasiliansk politiker

Graciliano Ramos Braziliaans politicus

Graciliano Ramos Brazilian writer and mayor

Graciliano Ramos politicien brésilien

Graciliano Ramos polityk brazylijski

Graciliano Ramos scrittore brasiliano

Lobato, Soeiro 1892-1953

Oliveira, G. Ramos de 1892-1953

Oliveira, G. Ramos de (Graciliano Ramos) 1892-1953

Oliveira Graciliano Ramos de

Oliveira, Graciliano Ramos De 1892-1953

Oliveira, Ramos 1892-1953

Ramos de Oliveira Graciliano

Ramos, G. 1892-1953

Ramos, G. (Graciliano) 1892-1953

Ramos Graciliano

Ramosas Grasilianas

Грасилијано Рамос

Рамос Грасилиано

Рамус, Грасильяну

グラシリアーノ・ラモス

ラーモス, グラシリアノ

Languages