WorldCat Identities

Miller, Calvin 1936-

Overview
Works: 120 works in 316 publications in 4 languages and 11,719 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Christian fiction  Poetry  Christmas stories  Art  Love poetry  Biography  Records and correspondence  History  Anecdotes 
Roles: Author, Editor
Classifications: PS3563.I376, 813.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Calvin Miller
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Calvin Miller
The book of Jesus : a treasury of the greatest stories and writings about Christ( Book )

9 editions published between 1996 and 2005 in English and held by 637 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An anthology of stories, poems, essays, biblical passages, hymns, and songs celebrates the life of Jesus Christ, in a collection that features contributions from Shakespeare, Gandhi, Dickens, Desmond Tutu, and others
The empowered leader : 10 keys to servant leadership by Calvin Miller( )

7 editions published between 1995 and 2005 in 3 languages and held by 562 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Presents an approach to Christian leadership based on facets of King David's act of submitting himself to God. Describes ten keys to becoming a servant leader that address issues such as networking, coping with difficult people, and delegating
Snow : a novel by Calvin Miller( Book )

9 editions published between 1998 and 2002 in English and Korean and held by 525 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On a cold winter evening in 1929, Mary Withers, a widow, is in desperate need for asthma medication for her daughter Alexis, and coal to heat her house, but a paralyzing storm makes travel nearly impossible and her only hope is that Erick Mueller, son ofthe town's coal vendor, can make it through the deep snow to her house
The singer by Calvin Miller( Book )

9 editions published between 1975 and 2001 in English and held by 503 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Singer quickly became a favorite of evangelists, pastors, artists, students, teachers and readers of all sorts when it was originally published in 1975. Retelling the story of Christ through an allegorical and poetic narrative of a Singer whose Song could not be silenced, Miller's work reinvigorated Christian literature and offered believers and seekers the world over a deeply personal encounter with the gospel. - Publisher
Shade : a novel by Calvin Miller( Book )

8 editions published between 2001 and 2002 in English and held by 401 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Erick Mueller and Mary Withers, in the middle of planning their wedding, suddenly find their love threatened by an outsider with close ties to Mary's past."--Jacket
Wind : a novel by Calvin Miller( Book )

6 editions published in 2000 in English and held by 368 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

As signs of spring and renewal begin to appear around the town of King of Prussia, Pennsylvania, Ernest Pitovsky and his family find thenselves huddled together in an abandoned automoblie near the railroad tracks, no other place to call home
The spirit of America by Thomas Kinkade( Book )

2 editions published in 1998 in English and held by 310 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A collection of fictional stories tracing the experiences of a newly arrived Belgian immigrant, illustrated by the art of American painter, Thomas Kinkade
The song by Calvin Miller( Book )

7 editions published in 1977 in English and held by 297 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Song is a poetic narrative in the tradition of C.S. Lewis's Narnia Chronicles and J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings trilogy. In The Song, Miller tells the story of Anthem and Everyman who leave the Great Walled City and travel to Urbis, the city of the Poet King, where followers of the Singer are martyred for their faith. As The Singer parallels the story of the Gospels, so The Song shows certain parallels to the book of Acts, and The Finale to the book of Revelation. - Last page
The finale by Calvin Miller( Book )

6 editions published between 1979 and 1983 in English and Dutch and held by 267 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This book is Calvin Miller's completion to the Song trilogy which includes the very popular The Singer and The Song. In this final volume, Miller tells the story of the Singer's final battle with World Hater and envisions in dynamic prose-poetry the winding up of history on Terra One and the creation of Terra Two. As The Singer parallels the story of the Gospels and The Song parallels the book of Acts, so The Finale is an artistic retelling of the book of Revelation. - Publisher
Preaching : the art of narrative exposition by Calvin Miller( Book )

4 editions published between 2006 and 2010 in English and held by 260 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Concerned that your "pulpit speaking" is not aligned with the "pew hearing" of your contemporary congregation? Longtime homiletics professor and author Miller shows you how to infuse your ministry with new vigor and passion by returning to Jesus' own method of delivering the gospel--storytelling
The path of Celtic prayer : an ancient way to everyday joy by Calvin Miller( Book )

7 editions published between 2007 and 2012 in English and held by 241 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Covers six unique types of Celtic prayer, helping seekers and believers connect to God on a deeper level by teaching them how to pray out of the circumstances and uncertainties of their lives
Spirit, word, and story : a philosophy of preaching by Calvin Miller( Book )

6 editions published between 1989 and 1996 in English and held by 236 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A requiem for love by Calvin Miller( Book )

3 editions published between 1989 and 1993 in English and held by 229 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Miracles and wonders : how God changes his natural laws to benefit you by Calvin Miller( Book )

8 editions published between 2003 and 2014 in English and Korean and held by 222 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Exploring the nature of divine miracles in modern life, the author draws on the teachings of scripture and modern testimonials to describe how and why God chooses to intervene on some occasions but not on others
The empowered communicator : 7 keys to unlocking an audience by Calvin Miller( Book )

5 editions published between 1994 and 2006 in English and Korean and held by 201 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Weddings, funerals, & special events by Eugene H Peterson( Book )

2 editions published in 1987 in English and held by 198 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A hunger for meaning by Calvin Miller( Book )

2 editions published in 1984 in English and held by 197 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A village Christmas : personal family memories and holiday traditions by Thomas Kinkade( Book )

2 editions published in 1999 in English and held by 196 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The painter shares his memories of Christmas, celebrating friends, families, and traditions
Marketplace preaching : how to return the sermon to where it belongs by Calvin Miller( Book )

3 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 180 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Loving God up close : rekindling your relationship with the Holy Spirit by Calvin Miller( Book )

4 editions published between 2004 and 2014 in English and held by 179 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Most Christians can easily understand God as Father and have no difficulty in conjuring a vivid mental image of Jesus Christ as God's Son. But few are able to summarily and succinctly describe the Holy Spirit, including its position within the Trinity or its role as helper. Miller, Beeson Divinity School professor and author of Singer Trilogy and The Unchained Soul, irons out what he believes are confused misconceptions surrounding the Holy Spirit. Noting the varied biblical symbols of the Holy Spirit, which include wind, fire and oil, Miller does an exemplary job combining storytelling with biblical exposition as he gently instructs readers to carefully study each mode. - Publisher's Weekly
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.22 (from 0.09 for Snow : a n ... to 0.56 for Calvin Mil ...)

The book of Jesus : a treasury of the greatest stories and writings about Christ
Covers
The empowered leader : 10 keys to servant leadershipSnow : a novelThe singerShade : a novelWind : a novelThe spirit of AmericaPreaching : the art of narrative expositionThe path of Celtic prayer : an ancient way to everyday joy
Alternative Names
Miller, Calvin A.

Languages
English (122)

Korean (5)

Spanish (1)

Dutch (1)