WorldCat Identities

Schall, James V.

Overview
Works: 105 works in 291 publications in 2 languages and 14,498 library holdings
Genres: History  Conference papers and proceedings  Criticism, interpretation, etc 
Roles: Author, Editor, Author of introduction, Collector
Classifications: BR115.P7, 320.01
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about James V Schall
 
Most widely held works by James V Schall
Current trends in theology by Donald J Wolf( Book )

8 editions published between 1965 and 1966 in 3 languages and held by 472 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Reason, revelation, and the foundations of political philosophy by James V Schall( Book )

8 editions published between 1967 and 1987 in English and held by 416 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The politics of heaven & hell : Christian themes from classical, medieval, and modern political philosophy by James V Schall( Book )

9 editions published in 1984 in English and held by 415 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Liberation theology in Latin America by James V Schall( Book )

9 editions published in 1982 in English and held by 413 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On the unseriousness of human affairs : teaching, writing, playing, believing, lecturing, philosophizing, singing, dancing by James V Schall( Book )

10 editions published between 2001 and 2014 in English and held by 392 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Teaching, Writing, Playing, Believing, Lecturing, Philosophizing, Singing, Dancing Echoing philosophers such as Josef Pieper, Schall explains how the modern world has inverted the rational order of human affairs, devaluing the activities of leisure and placing an exaggerated emphasis on utilitarian concerns. Though he does not deny the importance of those necessary and prosaic activities that take up the bulk of our daily lives, Schall puts these pursuits in perspective by asking, what do we do when everything we have to do is done? Defending the importance of simply wasting time, losing ourselves in play, and Chesterton & rsquo;s claim that & ldquo;a thing worth doing is worth doing badly, & rdquo; Schall contends that the joy that accompanies leisure, festivity, and conviviality gives us a glimpse of the eternal. Such activities also enable us to get beyond ourselves & mdash;indeed call us beyond ourselves & mdash;and are therefore essential if we are to rightly order our worldly concerns. For as Schall reminds us, neither man nor his projects are the highest things in the universe, and it is only by understanding this fact that man can attain to his true dignity. Citing Aristotle, Samuel Johnson, Charlie Brown, and New Yorker cartoons with equal sobriety, Schall unfolds a defense of both Being and being, of the radical contingency and therefore goodness of existence itself. On the Unseriousness of Human Affairs is an instructive volume whose countercultural message is of vital importance
Jacques Maritain : the philosopher in society by James V Schall( Book )

9 editions published between 1998 and 2010 in English and held by 335 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The mind of French philosopher Jacques Maritain reflected on subjects as varied as art and ethics, theology and psychology, history and metaphysics. Maritain's work on the theoretical groundings of politics arose from his diverse studies. In this book, theologian and political scientist James V. Schall explores Maritain's political philosophy, demonstrating that Maritain understood society, state, and government within the framework of natural law and human rights and duties, in the tradition of Aristotic and Aquinas. Schall pays particular attention to the ways in which evil appears in political forms and how this evil can be dealt with morally. Schall's study will be of great importance to students and scholars of political science, philosophy, and theology
Out of justice, peace : joint pastoral letter of the West German Bishops. Winning the peace : joint pastoral letter of the French Bishops( Book )

2 editions published in 1984 in English and held by 331 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Essays on Christianity and political philosophy( Book )

3 editions published in 1984 in English and held by 325 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

At the limits of political philosophy : from "brilliant errors" to things of uncommon importance by James V Schall( Book )

2 editions published in 1996 in English and held by 323 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Another sort of learning : selected contrary essays on the completion of our knowing, or, how to finally acquire an education while still in college, or anywhere else ... by James V Schall( Book )

5 editions published in 1988 in English and held by 319 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The author has written a delightfully odd book about books, because he believes that (1) to be educated is to confront the great questions about what is; that (2) many modern students, in or out of school, never learn to raise, much less answer, the great questions, thus are uneducated in the deepest sense; and that (3) great books, past and present, which wrestle ddeply yet non-technically with these questions rather than passively mirroring popular culture with its myopia and prejudices, can fill this vacuum for anyone, in or out of school. It contains unusually sane reflections on education, unusually reflective reviews of books, and unusually discriminating booklists
The Regensburg lecture by James V Schall( Book )

6 editions published in 2007 in English and held by 303 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The life of the mind : on the joys and travails of thinking by James V Schall( Book )

7 editions published between 2006 and 2014 in English and held by 273 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In The Life of the Mind, Georgetown University{u2019}s James V. Schall takes up the task of reminding us that, as human beings, we naturally take a special delight and pleasure in simply knowing. Because we have not only bodies but also minds, we are built to know what is. In this volume, Schall, author of On the Unseriousness of Human Affairs (ISI Books), among many other volumes of philosophical and political reflection, discusses the various ways of approaching the delight of thinking and the way that this delight begins in seeing and hearing and even in making and walking. We must be attentive to and cultivate the needs of the mind, argues Schall, for it is through our intellect that all that is not ourselves is finally returned to us, allowing us to live in the light of truth
A student's guide to liberal learning by James V Schall( Book )

13 editions published between 1997 and 2014 in English and held by 269 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A Student's Guide to Liberal Learning is an inviting conversation with a learned scholar about the content of an authentic liberal arts education. It surveys ideas and books central to the tradition of humanistic education that has fundamentally shaped our country and our civilization. This accessible volume argues for an order and integration of knowledge so that meaning might be restored to the haphazard approach to study currently dominating higher education. Freshly conveying the excitement of learning from the acknowledged masters of intellectual life, this guide is also an excellent blue
Schall on Chesterton : timely essays on timeless paradoxes by James V Schall( Book )

11 editions published between 1900 and 2010 in English and Undetermined and held by 248 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Roman Catholic political philosophy by James V Schall( Book )

8 editions published between 2004 and 2006 in English and held by 230 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In Roman Catholic Political Philosophy author James V. Schall tries to demonstrate that Roman Catholicism and political philosophy--revelation and reason-are not contradictory. It is his contention that political philosophy, the primary focus of the book, asks certain questions about human purpose and destiny that it cannot, by itself, answer. Revelation is the natural complement to these important questions about God, human being, and the world. Schall manages to avoid polemicism or triumphalism as he shows that revelation and political thought contribute to a fuller understanding of each other
On the intelligibility of political philosophy : essays of Charles N.R. McCoy by Charles N. R McCoy( Book )

3 editions published in 1989 in English and held by 216 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Human dignity & human numbers by James V Schall( Book )

5 editions published in 1971 in English and held by 203 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Redeeming the time by James V Schall( Book )

2 editions published in 1968 in English and held by 200 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The mind that is Catholic : philosophical and political essays by James V Schall( Book )

12 editions published between 2008 and 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 174 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Introduction: "A certain crime unobserved" -- On Catholic thinking -- The mind that is Catholic -- "Infinitized by the spirit" : Maritain and the intellectual vocation -- Chesterton, the real "heretic" : "the outstanding eccentricity of the peculiar sect called Roman Catholics" -- "The very graciousness of being" -- Reckoning with Plato -- On the uniqueness of Socrates : political philosophy and the rediscovery of the human body -- On the death of Plato : some philosophical thoughts on the Thracian Maidens -- What is piety? -- The abiding implications of friendship -- Aristotle on friendship -- The totality of society : from justice to friendship -- The Trinity : God is not alone -- The medieval experience -- The point of medieval political philosophy -- "Possessed of both a reason and a revelation" -- Aquinas and the defense of ordinary things : on "what common men call common sense" -- Implications of Catholic thought -- The "realism" of St. Augustine's "political realism" : Augustine and Machiavelli -- "Mystifying indeed" : on being fully human -- Transcendence and political philosophy -- Mysticism, political philosophy, and play -- Things practical and impractical -- Sports and philosophy -- The real alternatives to just war -- Where does it lead? -- On choosing not to see -- The ultimate meaning of existence -- "The beginning of the real story" -- Conclusion: On being allowed to read Monte Cristo
Political philosophy and revelation : a Catholic reading by James V Schall( Book )

8 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 153 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.34 (from 0.03 for The mind t ... to 0.80 for Schall at ...)

On the unseriousness of human affairs : teaching, writing, playing, believing, lecturing, philosophizing, singing, dancing
Alternative Names
James V. Schall American academic

James V. Schall Amerikaans professor

Schall, James.

Schall, James V.

Schall, James Vincent

Schall, James Vincent 1928-

Languages
Covers
Jacques Maritain : the philosopher in societyAnother sort of learning : selected contrary essays on the completion of our knowing, or, how to finally acquire an education while still in college, or anywhere else ...The Regensburg lectureThe life of the mind : on the joys and travails of thinkingA student's guide to liberal learningSchall on Chesterton : timely essays on timeless paradoxesRoman Catholic political philosophyThe mind that is Catholic : philosophical and political essays