WorldCat Identities

Butler, Gwendoline

Overview
Works: 97 works in 531 publications in 2 languages and 18,730 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  History  Detective and mystery stories 
Roles: Author
Classifications: PR6052.U813, 823.914
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Gwendoline Butler
Death lives next door by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

15 editions published between 1960 and 2014 in English and held by 915 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

the trail of a missing person in Oxford, finds that Marion Manning's problem is somehow involved with his quarry - and in a horrifying and unexpected manner, with murder
Coffin's ghost by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

17 editions published between 1999 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 902 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

John Coffin, Commander of the Second City of London's Police, is personally involved when a gruesome parcel containing dimembered body parts is discovered outside a women's shelter
Coffin's game : a John Coffin mystery by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

19 editions published between 1997 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 879 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Terrorists attempt to blackmail the wife of Scotland Yard's John Coffin, threatening to reveal her past unless she agrees to spy on the police. When she refuses, they frame her for murder and Coffin must clear her name
A double Coffin by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

17 editions published between 1996 and 2014 in English and German and held by 864 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

While assisting a scholar in research on a long retired PM, John hears the PM's deathbed confession of helping his serial murderer father to bury one of the victims. The murder of a journalist also researching the former PM's history ties past and present together and gives John two investigations
The Coffin tree by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

20 editions published between 1994 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 857 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In London, police form a special unit to investigate fiscal crime, but it is not having much success. Two of its members have died of apparent suicides and a woman officer investigating their deaths has disappeared. Chief Commander John Coffin, who founded the unit, investigates. By the author of A Coffin for Charley
Coffin knows the answer by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

22 editions published between 2002 and 2012 in English and Undetermined and held by 851 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When his wife receives an anonymous cache of disturbing photographs, chief commander John Coffin enlists the help of a colleague to track down a stalker and wonders if the case if linked to a string of London murders
Coffin and the Paper Man by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

17 editions published between 1990 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 813 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A sixteen-year-old girl's body, beaten, raped, and stabbed to death, is found in an alleyway, and the police begin to get messages from an anonymous letter-writer who goes by the name "the Paper Man."
A dark coffin by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

12 editions published between 1995 and 2014 in English and held by 808 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Marriage is proving anything but dull for Commander John Coffin, keeper of the peace in London's Second City. With grande dame of the stage Stella Pinero in his life, Coffin's days lack no drama. When the curtain comes down on opening night in Stella's newly transformed theater, Joe and Josie Macintosh are found stabbed to death in their theater box. A curious note left next to their bodies reveals that Joe and Josie Macintosh have carried out a suicide pact. But the couple's double suicide follows closely on the heels of an unexpected visitor from Coffin's past: Inspector Harry Trent. Coffin worked with Trent years ago, and now Trent is searching for his identical twin brother - a dangerous man; a man who might already have killed a woman; a man Trent fears might have threatened violence to the Macintoshes, the couple who fostered the twins as children. Coffin quickly realizes that the illusions of the theater mean that nothing is as it seems; such is the case in the Macintoshes' apparent suicide. As Coffin investigates the couple's death, he learns he must find not only their killer but also their true identities. And then there is the persistent, looming question: Who is Harry Trent and what is he capable of doing? The answer lies in the past - bizarre, terrifying, and horribly real ... Coffin will find Stella's knowledge of the theater indispensable if he is to solve this mystery of Jekylls and Hydes on both sides of the footlights
Coffin underground by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

14 editions published between 1988 and 2014 in English and held by 802 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Superintendent John Coffin of Scotland Yard copes with several other concerns while he investigates a number of violent deaths connected to the house at 22, Church Row
Cracking open a coffin by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

17 editions published between 1992 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 775 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

John Coffin begins an investigation in the present and is soon probing deep in the past, laying bare a series of deaths in settings that range from the university to a refuge for battered women to St. Luke's Theatre where excerpts from The Ring are being performed
Coffin on Murder street by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

18 editions published between 1991 and 2014 in English and German and held by 766 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Kriminalroman
Dread murder by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

14 editions published between 2006 and 2012 in English and held by 757 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When Major Mearns, a guard at Windsor Castle, receives a package containing a pair of human legs, he and his friend Seargeant Denny are determined to solve the crime, while Mearns also vies for the affections of a maid
A grave Coffin : a Commander John Coffin mystery by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

17 editions published between 1998 and 2014 in English and German and held by 749 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A grim note from a former colleague burdens Commander John Coffin with a difficult task that further complicates his investigation into a series of deaths of young children
Coffin in fashion by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

9 editions published between 1987 and 2014 in English and held by 691 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Coffin in the Museum of Crime by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

7 editions published between 1989 and 2002 in English and held by 662 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"A Thomas Dunne book." Murder and a mysterious infection lead Detective John Coffin of Scotland Yard to the "Black Museum, " a gallery of infamous crimes and criminals
A coffin for Charley by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

11 editions published between 1993 and 2014 in English and German and held by 614 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In London, three women are killed and the available evidence is most puzzling. They all died without a struggle and all three have bitten nails. Commander John Coffin must make the connection. By the author of Cracking Open a Coffin
Coffin on the water by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

13 editions published between 1986 and 2014 in English and held by 524 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Detective Constable John Coffin investigates the murder of a young woman, whose body is found floating in the Thames with a sinister note attached to her. A gripping crime novel from one of the most universally praised English mystery writers, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie. In 1946, newly promoted detective-constable John Coffin arrives in Greenwich to take up his post. Soon after, the body of a young woman floats down the Thames to South London. It quickly becomes clear that this is no ordinary murder: the victim has been strangled, stabbed and mutilated. Attached to the body is a note reading "Present for my mother," a reference to former actress Rachel Esthart, whose son drowned under mysterious circumstances 17 years previously, and who has just received a postcard promising an imminent gift from the boy, whose death she has never acknowledged. Then two other bodies are found in the river, murdered in the same brutal way, and Coffin has a multiple murder case on his hands'
The red staircase by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

6 editions published between 1979 and 2014 in English and held by 502 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Invited by her cousins to St. Petersburg on the brink of revolution, a young Scottish woman with the power to heal the sick later discovers that she has been chosen as an angel of death for the hated tsar and his family
Sarsen Place by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

2 editions published between 1974 and 1975 in English and held by 402 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A nameless coffin by Gwendoline Butler( Book )

14 editions published between 1966 and 2000 in English and Undetermined and held by 361 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.22 (from 0.10 for Sarsen Pla ... to 0.38 for A nameless ...)

A dark coffin
Alternative Names

controlled identityMelville, Jennie

Butler, Gwendoline Williams 1922-2013

Gwendoline Butler britische Schriftstellerin

Gwendoline Butler British writer

Melville, Jennie 1922-2013

Williams, Gwendoline 1922-2013

Languages
English (255)

German (16)

Covers
Coffin's game : a John Coffin mysteryA double CoffinThe Coffin treeCoffin knows the answerCoffin and the Paper ManA dark coffinCoffin undergroundDread murder