WorldCat Identities

Wilson, Don E.

Overview
Works: 101 works in 340 publications in 3 languages and 17,253 library holdings
Genres: Classification  Guidebooks  Juvenile works  Miscellanea  History  Terminology  Conference papers and proceedings  Encyclopedias  Pictorial works 
Roles: Author, Editor, Other, Contributor, Publishing director
Classifications: QL715, 590
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Don E Wilson
 
Most widely held works by Don E Wilson
Animal by David Burnie( Book )

18 editions published between 2001 and 2011 in English and held by 2,664 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Offers photographs and information about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fishes, and invertebrates from throughout the world
The Smithsonian book of North American mammals( Book )

6 editions published in 1999 in English and held by 1,922 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Presents descriptions and illustrations of hundreds of North American mammals, along with their scientific and common names and information on behavior, diet, reproduction, growth, longevity, and habitat
Mammal species of the world : a taxonomic and geographic reference( Book )

31 editions published between 1992 and 2005 in English and held by 1,299 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Wilson and Reeder's Mammal Species of the World is the classic reference book on the taxonomic classification and distribution of the more than 5400 species of mammals that exist today. The third edition includes detailed information on nomenclature and, for the first time, common names. Each concise entry covers type locality, distribution, synonyms, and major reference sources. The systematic arrangement of information indicates evolutionary relationships at both the ordinal and the family level. This indispensable reference work belongs in public and academic libraries throughout the world and on the shelf of every biologist who works with mammals."--Publisher's website
Biodiversity II : understanding and protecting our biological resources( Book )

21 editions published between 1996 and 1997 in English and held by 1,254 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Biodiversity is the whole of life on Earth - and every day it is diminished as human population growth and exploitation of land causes the extinction of animal and plant species. If the world does not act quickly and cooperatively, species numbering into the millions will be doomed. In the process, we lose opportunities in medicine, agriculture, biotechnology, and a host of other human endeavors. This is the warning sounded by some of the world's most renowned environmental authorities in Biodiversity II. In words meaningful to lay readers and scientists alike, this book alerts us that we may soon be bereft of species that could help us fight disease and produce useful products - not to mention bringing us the wonder of natural life. Unlike other books on the topic, Biodiversity II tells us what can and must be done right now to preserve life on Earth. The experts who lend their voices to Biodiversity II explain how scientists study biodiversity, what they have learned about the scope of life on the planet, and what urgent questions remain. These experts advocate the fusion of resources already at our command - government biological surveys, private agencies, museum collections, universities - into a more effective force to better understand and protect the wealth of the natural world
Bats in question : the Smithsonian answer book by Don E Wilson( Book )

11 editions published between 1997 and 2015 in 3 languages and held by 1,218 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Covers all aspects of bat biology, habitat, and behavior in a practical question-and-answer format. Also includes the conservation status, common name, and scientific name of over 500 species of bats throughout the world
Mammals of North America by Roland Kays( Book )

18 editions published between 2002 and 2014 in English and held by 1,086 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date field guide to the mammals of North America. Written by two leading authorities, no other reference covers all resident species north of Mexico, mammals large and small. With full-color illustrations for every one of the 442 species, Mammals of North America shows the user how to identify any mammal encountered, from mouse to moose, bat to baleen whale, Abert's Squirrel to the Yuma Myotis." "The core of the book consists of 108 color plates featuring exceptionally detailed mammal illustrations. Each species is depicted on these plates, with subspecies, geographic, and sexual variation portrayed whenever relevant. The artwork is supplemented by maps showing present range and by a short paragraph of text highlighting key identification characteristics and relevant aspects of the animal's behavior and ecology. All the artwork, maps, and text for a species are on two facing pages, eliminating the need to flip through the book to learn about an animal. Mammal signs are often more easily found than the animals themselves, so illustrations of tracks and scat are also included."--Jacket
Human( Book )

3 editions published between 2004 and 2006 in English and held by 1,026 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A highly comprehensive and illustrated account of what makes us what we are: how we evolved, how our bodies work and develop, and how we think and behave, this unbelievable reference examines the qualities all humans share but also highlights the diversity of human society and culture. Profiling more than 250 peoples who inhabit the world and examining fascinating facts - from environmental and health issues to beliefs and customs - Human is the definitive illustrated guide to our species. In the tradition of "Animal" and "Earth" comes a new definitive visual guide that takes a unique look at what it means to be a human being. From evolution and biology to society, culture, and the future aspects of human life, this book examines the qualities that all humans share and profiles more than 250 peoples who inhabit the world
Measuring and monitoring biological diversity( Book )

8 editions published in 1996 in English and held by 672 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mammals by Sarah Walker( Book )

1 edition published in 2002 in English and held by 603 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A guide to recognizing and identifying more than 450 species of mammals from around the world; includes photographs and descriptions of key characteristics for each species
Common names of mammals of the world by Don E Wilson( Book )

8 editions published in 2000 in English and held by 410 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An extensive bibliography of sources and two indexes of both common and scientific names round out the volume." "Common Names of Mammals of the World offers a comprehensive, useful reference not only for mammalogists but also for wildlife managers, conservation biologists, environmental law enforcement agencies, zoologists, and others interested in the world's mammals."--Jacket
Handbook of the mammals of the world by Don E Wilson( Book )

21 editions published in 2009 in English and held by 409 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Bats by Sue Ruff( Book )

3 editions published between 2000 and 2001 in English and held by 403 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Provides information on the physical characteristics, behavior, habitat, and various species of bats
Demography and natural history of the common fruit bat, Artibeus jamaicensis, on Barro Colorado Island, Panama by Charles O Handley( Book )

10 editions published in 1991 in English and held by 393 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Distribution and systematics of the rabbits (Sylvilagus) of west-central Mexico by Victor E Diersing( Book )

10 editions published between 1978 and 1980 in English and held by 318 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Pacific island flying foxes : proceedings of an international conservation conference by U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service( Book )

8 editions published in 1992 in English and held by 220 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

With over 50 species, Pteropus is by far the largest genus among the flying foxes (Family Pteropodidae). For the species on which some recent information is available, a dismaying number are apparently undergoing population declines. At least three species have become extinct since the late 1800's; others are severely threatened. Most have limited island distributions, and are affected to varying degrees by direct exploitation, habitat alteration, and introduced predators. Yet these animals play an important, perhaps essential, role in forest ecosystems as pollinators and seed dispersers for many trees. Major reductions or extinction of flying fox populations would presage decreases in forest regeneration and diversity, and reduced productivity or decline of many plants economically important to man
Manu : the biodiversity of southeastern Peru = la biodiversidad del sureste del Perú( Book )

4 editions published in 1996 in English and held by 170 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Proceedings by International Bat Research Conference( Book )

4 editions published in 1980 in English and held by 81 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Handbook of the mammals of the world by Mariana Altrichter( Book )

12 editions published in 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 67 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Jerboas by Georgy I Shenbrot( Book )

9 editions published in 2008 in English and held by 48 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Handbook of the mammals of the world by Martina Anandam( Book )

3 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 46 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.27 (from 0.10 for Biodiversi ... to 0.99 for Wilson, Do ...)

The Smithsonian book of North American mammals
Alternative Names
Don Ellis Wilson

Don Ellis Wilson Amerikaans zoöloog

Don Ellis Wilson US-amerikanischer Zoologe

Wilson, Don 1944-

Wilson, Don E.

Wilson, Don Ellis 1944-

Дон Е. Вилсон американски мамалог

دان ئی. ویلسون

ウィルソン, ダン・E

Languages
English (208)

Chinese (2)

Spanish (1)

Covers
The Smithsonian book of North American mammalsMammal species of the world : a taxonomic and geographic referenceBiodiversity II : understanding and protecting our biological resourcesBats in question : the Smithsonian answer bookMammals of North AmericaHumanMeasuring and monitoring biological diversityMammals