WorldCat Identities

Strean, Herbert S.

Overview
Works: 61 works in 250 publications in 5 languages and 10,004 library holdings
Genres: Biography  Case studies  Handbooks and manuals  Methods (Music) 
Roles: Author, Editor, Other
Classifications: HV43, 361.3
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Herbert S Strean
Guilt : letting go by Lucy Freeman( Book )

7 editions published in 1986 in English and Undetermined and held by 768 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Freud and women by Lucy Freeman( Book )

11 editions published between 1981 and 1987 in English and held by 735 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Freud, Sigmund / Frauen
Resolving resistances in psychotherapy by Herbert S Strean( Book )

23 editions published between 1984 and 2000 in 3 languages and held by 629 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

First published in 1993. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company
Social casework: theories in action by Herbert S Strean( Book )

8 editions published in 1971 in English and held by 523 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Clinical social work : theory and practice by Herbert S Strean( Book )

5 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 508 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The extramarital affair by Herbert S Strean( Book )

11 editions published between 1980 and 2000 in 3 languages and held by 507 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Psychoanalytic theory and social work practice by Herbert S Strean( Book )

8 editions published in 1979 in English and held by 440 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Raising Cain : how to help your children achieve a happy sibling relationship by Herbert S Strean( Book )

3 editions published between 1988 and 1989 in English and held by 383 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The social worker as psychotherapist by Herbert S Strean( Book )

4 editions published in 1974 in English and held by 359 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The practice of conjoint therapy : combining individual and group treatment by Louis R Ormont( Book )

9 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 356 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Behind the couch : revelations of a psychoanalyst by Herbert S Strean( Book )

9 editions published between 1988 and 1991 in English and Dutch and held by 352 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Een blik achter de schermen van het werk van een psychotherapeut
New approaches in child guidance by Herbert S Strean( Book )

4 editions published in 1970 in English and held by 339 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The sexual dimension : a guide for the helping professional by Herbert S Strean( Book )

5 editions published in 1983 in English and held by 316 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Our wish to kill : the murder in all our hearts by Herbert S Strean( Book )

6 editions published between 1991 and 1993 in English and held by 305 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The severed soul : a psychoanalyst's heroic battle to heal the mind of a schizophrenic by Herbert S Strean( Book )

3 editions published in 1990 in English and held by 300 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The casework digest by Herbert S Strean( Book )

6 editions published in 1969 in English and held by 249 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Therapeutic principles in practice : a manual for clinicians by Herbert S Strean( Book )

6 editions published between 1985 and 1996 in English and held by 235 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The experience of psychotherapy; a practitioner's manual by Herbert S Strean( Book )

4 editions published between 1972 and 1973 in English and held by 221 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Therapists who have sex with their patients : treatment and recovery by Herbert S Strean( Book )

5 editions published in 1993 in English and held by 189 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Jokes : their purpose and meaning by Herbert S Strean( Book )

8 editions published between 1993 and 1994 in English and held by 187 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In the tradition of Freud's Jokes and Their Relation to the Unconscious, Herbert Strean has presented an incisive examination of jokes as a form of emotional communication of our deepest anxieties and most basic conflicts and impulses. He lucidly illustrates how, through the medium of jokes, we are permitted safe, if indirect, expression of our erotic and perverse wishes, our hostile and defiant attitudes toward authority, our needs to deprecate those we perceive as superior, our stake in the war of the sexes, and our gratification in depicting religious figures (and therapists) as all too humanly succumbing to the temptations of lust and avarice. The jokes Dr. Strean presents and discusses are those concerned with the basic life situations that are inevitably characterized by ambivalence and conflict. Thus they constitute the principal material of psychotherapy
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.38 (from 0.24 for Raising Ca ... to 0.51 for Therapeuti ...)

Therapists who have sex with their patients : treatment and recovery
Alternative Names
Strean, Herbert F.

Strean, Herbert F. 1931-

ストリーン, H. S

ストリーン, ハーバート・S

Languages
Covers
Therapists who have sex with their patients : treatment and recoveryJokes : their purpose and meaning