WorldCat Identities

Mayhar, Ardath

Overview
Works: 110 works in 255 publications in 1 language and 5,660 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Juvenile works  Science fiction  Detective and mystery fiction  Fantasy fiction  Thrillers (Fiction) 
Roles: Author, Performer, Actor
Classifications: PZ7.M468, FIC
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Ardath Mayhar
The absolutely perfect horse by Marylois Dunn( Book )

5 editions published between 1983 and 1989 in English and held by 523 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The formerly noble, now downtrodden horse known as Dogmeat helps Annie and her family reassess their values
Medicine walk by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

5 editions published between 1985 and 1993 in English and held by 457 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

After his father's heart attack and the resulting crash of their small plane, Burr must travel alone through forty miles of summer desert with little food and water
Carrots and Miggle by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

6 editions published between 1986 and 2017 in English and held by 325 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When Carrot's distant relative Emiglia moves from a scholarly English home to the Ramsden ranch in Texas, everyone has to make adjustments
Soul-singer of Tyrnos by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

7 editions published between 1981 and 2017 in English and held by 317 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Yeleeve, a young woman who can sing the image of a soul onto the wall behind her, to commend or condemn the owner, discovers that a powerful evil is overcoming her country and only she can help
How the gods wove in Kyrannon by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

8 editions published between 1979 and 2017 in English and held by 287 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Exile on Vlahil by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

4 editions published in 1984 in English and Undetermined and held by 272 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Warlock's gift by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

4 editions published between 1982 and 2009 in English and held by 268 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

With the aid of only a few loyal men -- and the power of his fiancee, Varil, a sorceress -- Karas embarks on a perilous journey to try to regain control of his father's kingdom which has been usurped by an evil warlock
The world ends in Hickory Hollow by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

7 editions published between 1985 and 2017 in English and Undetermined and held by 266 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Hardeman family, survivors of the nuclear war, try to make a new life for themselves in the bizarrely transformed east Texas scrubland
The seekers of Shar-Nuhn by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

5 editions published between 1980 and 2017 in English and Undetermined and held by 260 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The mage Kla-Noh and his foster son, Si-Lun, are "Seekers After Secrets." In their fantasy adventures, they aid a woman from another dimension, calm a Weatherwitch, and heal the Beast in the Barrens, among others. Classic fantasy in the tradition of Lord Dunsany and Jack Vance, part of the Tales of the Triple Moons series
A place of silver silence by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

6 editions published between 1988 and 1990 in English and held by 231 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ten-year-old Andraia fights with the government not to destroy the planet where she is working alone, because of an intelligent life form she has discovered there
Lords of the triple moons by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

5 editions published between 1983 and 2017 in English and held by 187 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Johab, believing himself to be the last of his people, escapes from the usurper who killed his family and takes upon himself the task of freeing the plainsfolk from tyranny
The runes of the lyre by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

6 editions published between 1982 and 2017 in English and held by 182 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A magic lyre is the key to salvation for the people of Hasyih when they are threatened by a group of rebels awakening in a neighboring world
The saga of Grittel Sundotha by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

3 editions published between 1985 and 2020 in English and held by 169 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

After rejecting her only likely proposal of marriage, sevenfoot Grittel wanders the kingdom using her strength and skill to right wrongs until she goes on a quest and finds her true destiny
Makra Choria by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

3 editions published between 1987 and 2017 in English and held by 165 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The ruling family in Sherath has an inherited Gift bringing fabulous power, but when its dark side leads the tainted Theora to seize control it is only her sister Choria who can save the land
Deadly memoir by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

7 editions published between 2009 and 2017 in English and held by 146 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When Margaret Thackrey, ex-government agent and writer, decides to pen her memoirs, she unwittingly gets the attention of a vicious assassin - a man whose nefarious deeds she'd nearly uncovered during her service. Now he must stop the publication of her book before his true character is revealed. He murders Margaret's husband, and stalks her from Oregon to Texas, where she must finally confront her past - and a determined, stone-cold killer!
People of the mesa by Ardath Mayhar( )

5 editions published between 1992 and 2017 in English and held by 142 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Uhtatse becomes the "One Who Smells the Wind" for his Anasazi clan, and sends his mind searching outward for enemy tribes in the Great Plains. When he finally senses peril, he fails to convince his Elders to seek shelter. The attack, when it comes, decimates the Anasazi, forcing them finally to build their cliffside cave dwellings at Mesa Verde. "Ardath Mayhar is superb at creating an alien world from another time and place"--Robert Reginald
Golden dream : a fuzzy odyssey by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

5 editions published between 1982 and 1984 in English and held by 136 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Clarrington heritage by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

6 editions published between 2009 and 2013 in English and held by 128 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When Marise Dering marries Ben Clarrington and moves into the old mansion where the rest of the Clarringtons live, she's ordered to keep out of the closed-off sections of the third floor - but is not told why. It is only later that she learns the sinister family secrets ... but has she been told all of them? As the family members begin perishing in odd and horrifying circumstances, Marise must try to uncover all the secrets of the Clarrington heritage
Death in the square by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

9 editions published between 2009 and 2014 in English and held by 116 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The upper-class inhabitants of the locked-gate community called Holroyd Square in Templeton, Texas, are used to their sedate, private lives -- and the equally private secrets that each of them keeps hidden from the others. But when a vicious blackmailer rudely interrupts their existence, and then is found murdered in the Square, the police must be called, and only Assistant Chief Wash Shipp can uncover the killer and save their tattered reputations--P. [4] of cover
Closely knit in Scarlatt by Ardath Mayhar( Book )

6 editions published between 2006 and 2012 in English and Undetermined and held by 108 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Olive, 'The Knit Lady, ' is an unlikely secret agent. A professional assassin and in her sixties, she had been quietly recruited by 'The Brokers.' Now she is hired to kidnap and kill retired British agent Benjamin Scarlatt, but Olive has scruples. And when an Islamic terrorist group takes over the cruise ship on which both she and Scarlatt are travelling, she fights back with knitting needle, scalpel and plastic explosives - proving that it's dangerous to underestimate Little Old Ladies!
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.32 (from 0.15 for Locust Gro ... to 1.00 for Strange vi ...)

The world ends in Hickory Hollow
Covers
Carrots and MiggleHow the gods wove in KyrannonThe world ends in Hickory HollowPeople of the mesaDeath in the square
Alternative Names

controlled identityCannon, Frank, 1930-2012

controlled identityHurst, Frances

controlled identityKilldeer, John

Ardath Mayhar

Ardath Mayhar American author and poet

Ardath Mayhar Amerikaans schrijfster (1930-2012)

Ardath Mayhar US-amerikanische Schriftstellerin

Cannon, Frank.

Hurst, Frances.

Killdeer, John.

Mayhar, Ardath Frances Hurst.

Mayhar, Ardath Frances Hurst 1930-2012

Ардас Мейгар американська письменниця-фантаст

アーダス・メイハー

Languages
English (112)