WorldCat Identities

Smithsonian Institution

Overview
Works: 843 works in 1,844 publications in 1 language and 83,372 library holdings
Genres: History  Juvenile works  Biography  Catalogs  Periodicals  Pictorial works  Exhibition, pictorial works  Guidebooks  Portraits  Observations 
Roles: Editor, Other, Publisher
Classifications: QL706.2, 599
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about Smithsonian Institution Publications about Smithsonian Institution
Publications by Smithsonian Institution Publications by Smithsonian Institution
Most widely held works about Smithsonian Institution
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Smithsonian Institution
Presidents by James Barber ( Book )
12 editions published between 2000 and 2013 in English and held by 2,808 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A guide to the great leaders who have shaped American history
American Revolution by Stuart Murray ( Book )
7 editions published between 2002 and 2005 in English and held by 2,071 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A visual guide, accompanied by text, to the people, battles, and events of America's war for independence
Thread of life : the Smithsonian looks at evolution by Roger Lewin ( Book )
4 editions published in 1982 in English and held by 1,906 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Charts the course of evolution and traces advances that have been made in the field
The Smithsonian book of invention by Smithsonian Institution ( Book )
7 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 1,884 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Traces the history and development of invention and technology from prehistoric times to the present and examines the impact of technology and industry on civilization
In the age of mankind : a Smithsonian book of human evolution by Roger Lewin ( Book )
3 editions published in 1988 in English and held by 1,835 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Describes what is currently known about human evolution, loks at the work of anthropologists, and discusses the human traits of consciousness and language
First ladies by Amy Pastan ( Book )
6 editions published between 2001 and 2013 in English and held by 1,794 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A look at the forty-four First Ladies of the United States and their extraordinary lives
Space, time, infinity : the Smithsonian views the universe by James S Trefil ( Book )
5 editions published in 1985 in English and held by 1,632 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Traces the history of astronomy, looks at what we have learned about the Sun, Moon, stars and planets, and identifies key questions which face astronomers of the future
Indians; the great photographs that reveal North American Indian life, 1847-1929, from the unique collection of the Smithsonian Institution by Joanna Cohan Scherer ( Book )
9 editions published between 1973 and 1982 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,440 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Smithsonian meteorological tables by Smithsonian Institution ( Book )
66 editions published between 1893 and 1994 in English and held by 1,241 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Conversion tables; Wind and dynamical tables; Barometric and hypsometric tables; Geopotential and aerological tables; Standard atmosphere and altimetry tables; Thermodynamic tables; Higrometric and psychrometric tables; Tables of miscellaneous physical properties of air and air-borne particles; Tables of miscellaneous properties of water substance and soils; Radiation and visibility tables; Geodetic and astronomical tables
Air & space Smithsonian by Smithsonian Institution ( )
in English and held by 1,112 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Natural history : the ultimate visual guide to everything on Earth by Becky Alexander ( Book )
3 editions published in 2010 in English and held by 1,112 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Overseen and authenticated by the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History, Natural History presents an unrivaled visual survey of Earth's natural history. Giving a clear overview of the classification of our natural world-over 6,000 species-Natural History looks at every kingdom of life, from bacteria, minerals, and rocks to fossils to plants and animals. --from publisher description
Game face : what does a female athlete look like? by Jane Gottesman ( Book )
5 editions published in 2001 in English and held by 1,095 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Photographs, first-person accounts, and a time line of women's athletic milestones document the tremendous impact that sports has on the daily lives of millions of girls and women
Human ( Book )
3 editions published between 2004 and 2006 in English and held by 1,084 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A highly comprehensive and illustrated account of what makes us what we are: how we evolved, how our bodies work and develop, and how we think and behave, this unbelievable reference examines the qualities all humans share but also highlights the diversity of human society and culture. Profiling more than 250 peoples who inhabit the world and examining fascinating facts - from environmental and health issues to beliefs and customs - Human is the definitive illustrated guide to our species. In the tradition of "Animal" and "Earth" comes a new definitive visual guide that takes a unique look at what it means to be a human being. From evolution and biology to society, culture, and the future aspects of human life, this book examines the qualities that all humans share and profiles more than 250 peoples who inhabit the world
Smithsonian treasury of 20th-century science by Webster Prentiss True ( Book )
5 editions published in 1966 in English and held by 870 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Washington, D.C. : a Smithsonian book of the nation's capital ( Book )
3 editions published in 1992 in English and held by 864 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
is a unique city, created from whole cloth to be a capital. And, of course, Americans have always been of two minds about it. On the one hand, it's where the politicians are, and a lot of people hold that against it. On the other, Washington is the capital of the United States of America, the essential center of the nation. It's the symbol as well as the physical embodiment of our ongoing Great Experiment, the seat of government "of the people, by the people, for the
Catalog of meteorological instruments in the Museum of History and Technology by W. E. Knowles Middleton ( Book )
4 editions published in 1969 in English and held by 828 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Atoll research bulletin by National Academy of Sciences ( )
in English and held by 805 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Mammal by Steve Parker ( Book )
1 edition published in 2003 in English and held by 797 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Photographs and text examine the world of mammals, depicting their development, feeding habits, courtship rituals, protective behavior, and physical adaptation to their various ways of life
Explorers : great tales of adventure and endurance by Alasdair Macleod ( Book )
5 editions published between 2010 and 2012 in English and held by 795 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A lavish visual survey of the world's greatest explorers, revealing who they were, where they went, and how their expeditions shaped the course of human history
Volcanoes of the world : a regional directory, gazetteer, and chronology of volcanism during the last 10,000 years by Tom Simkin ( Book )
9 editions published between 1981 and 1994 in English and held by 777 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.24 (from 0.01 for The skelet ... to 0.88 for The Smiths ...)
Alternative Names
Muʼassasat Smīthsūniyān
Smithsonian institution
Smithsonian institution Washington, D.C. National armed forces museum
Smitsonovskiĭ institut
Смитсоновский институт
Languages
English (283)
Covers