WorldCat Identities

Brandreth, Gyles Daubeney 1948-

Overview
Works: 413 works in 1,120 publications in 8 languages and 24,713 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Detective and mystery fiction  Biography  History  Puzzles and games  Juvenile works  Historical fiction  Dictionaries  Diaries  Anecdotes 
Roles: Author, Editor, Other, Compiler, Narrator, Performer, Author of introduction
Classifications: PR6052.R2645, 823.914
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Gyles Daubeney Brandreth
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth
Oscar Wilde and a game called murder by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

34 editions published between 2008 and 2014 in 4 languages and held by 940 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

With help from his friends Arthur Conan Doyle, Bram Stoker, and poet Robert Sherard, young Oscar Wilde investigates a "murder" game which turns deadly when a fantasy victim is actually killed
Oscar Wilde and the dead man's smile : a mystery by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

29 editions published between 2006 and 2011 in 5 languages and held by 898 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Heading home from a lecture tour in the United States, Oscar becomes entangled with the La Grange acting dynasty, and the mystery of the serial killer targeting them after the surprising death of the family poodle
Philip & Elizabeth : portrait of a royal marriage by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

19 editions published between 2004 and 2006 in English and Undetermined and held by 880 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An account of the marriage of Queen Elizabeth and the Duke of Edinburgh offers insight into their contrasting childhoods in spite of a similar ancestry, and the enigmatic nature of their long-time partnership
Oscar Wilde and a death of no importance by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

12 editions published between 2007 and 2008 in 3 languages and held by 808 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Lovers of historical mystery will relish this chilling Victorian tale based on real events and cloaked in authenticity. Best of all, it casts British literature's most fascinating and controversial figure as the lead sleuth. A young artist's model has been murdered, and legendary wit Oscar Wilde enlists his friends Arthur Conan Doyle and Robert Sherard to help him investigate. But when they arrive at the scene of the crime they find no sign of the gruesome killing -- save one small spatter of blood, high on the wall. Set in London, Paris, Oxford, and Edinburgh at the height of Queen Victoria's reign, here is a gripping eyewitness account of Wilde's secret involvement in the curious case of Billy Wood, a young man whose brutal murder served as the inspiration for The Picture of Dorian Gray. Told by Wilde's contemporary -- poet Robert Sherard -- this novel provides a fascinating and evocative portrait of the great playwright and his own "consulting detective," Sherlock Holmes creator, Arthur Conan Doyle
The world's best indoor games by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

3 editions published in 1981 in English and held by 780 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Lists 300 traditional and popular games and explains how to play each one
Oscar Wilde and the Vatican murders by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

14 editions published between 2011 and 2013 in English and French and held by 765 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Authors Oscar Wilde and Arthur Conan Doyle team up to find a determined killer whose victims are tied to the inner workings of the Roman Catholic Church
John Gielgud : a celebration by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

21 editions published between 1984 and 1994 in English and Undetermined and held by 748 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Oscar Wilde and the murders at reading Gaol : a mystery by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

13 editions published between 2012 and 2013 in English and Undetermined and held by 658 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Oscar Wilde has fled to France after his release from Reading Gaol. Tonight he is sharing a drink and the story of his cruel imprisonment with a mysterious stranger. Oscar has endured the treadmill, solitary confinement, censored letters, no writing materials. Yet even in the midst of such deprivation, his astonishing detective powers remain undiminished. When first a brutal warder and then the prison chaplain are found murdered, who else should the Governor turn to for help other than Reading Gaol's most celebrated inmate?
The super joke book by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

7 editions published between 1980 and 2009 in English and Undetermined and held by 640 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Hundreds of jokes which are old and new, hilarious and horrendous
The joy of lex : how to have fun with 860,341,500 words by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

4 editions published between 1980 and 1983 in English and held by 604 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Includes word histories, quizzes, games, puzzles and other miscellaneous information about the English language
The book of solo games by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

8 editions published between 1983 and 1991 in English and held by 578 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The biggest tongue twister book in the world by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

11 editions published between 1978 and 1992 in English and Undetermined and held by 544 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An alphabetically arranged collection of tongue twisters including the famous "Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers."
Oscar Wilde and the vampire murders by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 528 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Oscar Wilde and the Vampire Murders opens in 1890, at a glamorous party hosted by the Duke and Duchess of Albemarle. All of London's high society -- including the Prince of Wales -- are in attendance at what promises to be the event of the season. Yet Oscar Wilde is more interested in another party guest, Rex LaSalle, a young actor who claims to be a vampire. But the entertaining evening ends in tragedy when the duchess is found murdered -- with two tiny puncture marks on her throat. Desperate to avoid scandal and panic, the Prince asks Oscar and his friend Arthur Conan Doyle to investigate the crime. What they discover threatens to destroy the very heart of the royal family. Told through diary entries, newspaper clippings, telegrams, and letters, Oscar Wilde and the Vampire Murders is a richly atmospheric mystery that is sure to captivate and entertain
Oxford dictionary of humorous quotations by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

7 editions published between 2013 and 2015 in English and held by 478 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Writer, broadcaster, and wit Gyles Brandreth has completely revised Ned Sherrin's classic collection of wisecracks, one-liners, and anecdotes. With over 1,000 new quotations from all media, it's easy to find hilarious quotes on subjects ranging from Argument to Diets, from Computers to The Weather. Add sparkle to your speeches and presentations, or just enjoy a good laugh in company with Oscar Wilde, Mark Twain, Joan Rivers, Kathy Lette, Frankie Boyle, and friends."--Publisher's description
Oscar Wilde and the candlelight murders by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

32 editions published between 2007 and 2012 in 7 languages and held by 441 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gyles Brandreth's first foray into crime fiction -- features celebrated poet, wit, playwright and raconteur Oscar Wilde whose unparalleled access to all degrees of late Victorian society, from society drawing rooms and the bohemian demi-monde to the underclass, offers him a unique opportunity to investigate a series of brutal murders. Set against the exotic background of fin-de-siecle London, Paris, Oxford and Edinburgh, "The Oscar Wilde Murders" is the first in a series of classic English murder mysteries in the tradition of Conan Doyle and Dorothy L Sayers
More joy of lex : an amazing and amusing Z to A and A to Z of words by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

4 editions published between 1982 and 1984 in English and held by 376 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A collection of quizzes, games, puzzles, and fun with the English language
Great theatrical disasters by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

9 editions published between 1982 and 1986 in English and Undetermined and held by 374 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Overzicht van kleine en grote rampen op het toneel in verleden en heden
A game-a-day book by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

4 editions published between 1980 and 1984 in English and held by 370 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A different game for every day of the year, including word games, action games, memory games--some to be played alone, others with groups
The great book of optical illusions by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

5 editions published between 1979 and 2000 in English and held by 368 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Presents optical illusions and explains why the eyes perceive what isn't actually so
John Gielgud : an actor's life by Gyles Daubeney Brandreth( Book )

13 editions published between 2000 and 2005 in English and Undetermined and held by 353 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"John Gielgud: An Actor's Life is as much the story of twentieth-century theatre as of one man. Drawn from conversations Brandreth had with Gielgud over thirty years, and written with Sir John's blessing ('Gyles - you are quoting a few of the only fairly intelligent things I have ever said about the theatre - thank you!'), John Gielgud: An Actor's Life provides a revealing, and at times touching, portrait of a fascinating personality, and an authoritative and compelling account of a remarkable career."--Jacket
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.30 (from 0.13 for The world' ... to 0.80 for Under the ...)

Oscar Wilde and a death of no importance
Alternative Names
Aladdin

Aladdin 1948-

Beu laen deu li seu, Ja il seu 1948-

Brandreth, Gyles

Brandreth, Gyles 1948-

Brandreth, Gyles Daubeney.

Brandreth, Gyles Daubeney 1948-

Brandrets, Džailzs 1948-

Brendrets, Džailzs 1948-

Daubeney Brandreth, Gyles 1948-

Gyles Brandreth britischer Politiker, Unterhausabgeordneter

Gyles Brandreth British writer, broadcaster and former Member of Parliament

Gyles Brandreth Brits politicus

Gyles Brandreth politicien britannique

Pŭraendŭrisŭ, Chailssŭ 1948-

ברנדרת, ג'יילס

ברנדרת, גילס

브랜드리스, 자일스 1948-

브렌드레스, 가일스 1948-

ブランドレス, ガイルズ

ブランドレス, ジャイルズ

Languages
Covers
Oscar Wilde and the dead man's smile : a mysteryPhilip & Elizabeth : portrait of a royal marriageOscar Wilde and a death of no importanceThe super joke bookOscar Wilde and the vampire murdersOscar Wilde and the candlelight murdersGreat theatrical disastersThe great book of optical illusionsJohn Gielgud : an actor's life