WorldCat Identities

Ammons, A. R. 1926-2001

Overview
Works: 459 works in 824 publications in 2 languages and 29,408 library holdings
Genres: Poetry  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Interviews  Records and correspondence 
Roles: Author, Editor, Former owner, Author of introduction, Signer, Lyricist, Contributor, Other, Narrator
Classifications: PS3501.M6, 811.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about A. R Ammons
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by A. R Ammons
Selected poems by A. R Ammons( Book )

26 editions published between 1967 and 2006 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,973 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A.R. Ammons's new selection of his work once again, as the critic Harold Bloom wrote of the earlier edition, 'makes available the very best of him.' To the 'visions of clarity and terror' in that volume the poet now adds the most important poems from his three books published since. The resulting collection is the essential starting place for new readers, the quarry for those familiar with his work. Among the new poems is 'Easter Morning.' which the critic Helen Vendler called 'a classic poem, a revelation
Collected poems, 1951-1971 by A. R Ammons( Book )

12 editions published between 1972 and 2001 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,568 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A reissue of a body of work spanning two decades from one of our most treasured poets
Garbage by A. R Ammons( Book )

21 editions published between 1993 and 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,027 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

He asks what place poetry and language might have in this vast system and finds startling correspondences: "our language is something to write home about; / but it is not the world: grooming does for / baboons most of what words do for us." Never has the dreadful sundry of this world inspired such beauties of thought and expression. Already the subject of intense discussion following its partial publication in American Poetry Review, Garbage is A.R. Ammons's finest long poem since Tape for the Turn of the Year (1965). (Both poems were composed on adding machine tape.) It reaffirms the estimate of his work delivered on the presentation of the National Book Critics Circle Award in Poetry for 1981 for Lake Country Effect, that he "stands in the tradition of Wordsworth, Emerson, and Whitman," creating poetry "remarkable for its radiant density of argument and feeling."
The snow poems by A. R Ammons( Book )

10 editions published in 1977 in English and Undetermined and held by 974 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Corsons Inlet : a book of poems by A. R Ammons( Book )

10 editions published between 1965 and 1967 in English and held by 846 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The best of the best American poetry( Book )

1 edition published in 2013 in English and held by 797 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

100 poems selected by Robert Pinsky that represent each volume in The best American poetry series
Sphere: the form of a motion by A. R Ammons( Book )

21 editions published between 1974 and 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 793 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sphere is the second of A.R. Ammons's long poems following Tape for the Turn of the Year and preceding Garbage that mark him as a master of this particular form. The sphere in question is the earth itself, and Ammons's wonderfully stocked mind roams globally, ruminating on subjects that range from galaxies to gas stations. It is a remarkable achievement, comparable in importance to Wallace Stevens's Notes Toward a Supreme Fiction."
Briefings; poems small and easy by A. R Ammons( Book )

5 editions published in 1971 in English and Undetermined and held by 791 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A coast of trees : poems by A. R Ammons( Book )

14 editions published between 1977 and 2003 in English and Undetermined and held by 791 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The selected poems, 1951-1977 by A. R Ammons( Book )

7 editions published in 1977 in English and held by 787 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A collection of short poems written by A.R. Ammons between 1951 and 1977
Diversifications : poems by A. R Ammons( Book )

10 editions published in 1975 in English and Undetermined and held by 698 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Brink road : poems by A. R Ammons( Book )

8 editions published between 1996 and 1997 in English and held by 692 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

With characteristic economy, A.R. Ammons writes that "Brink Road lies off NY 96 between Candor and Catatonk." This upstate stretch of road provides the title for his new collection, its very name suggesting the sense, found in many of these poems, that we are ever in transition from one state of mind or feeling to another, and always on the edge of revelation. The more than 150 poems in Brink Road date from 1973 to the present and none has previously appeared in book form. They deal with Ammons's lifelong concerns with language, mortality, and the beauties and impersonal forces underlying the natural world with the elegance, wit, and ruminative gravity that are his signature qualities as a poet. The concluding work, "Summer Place," is a long poem that demonstrates his mastery of this form as it unfolds the quotidian events of the poet's summer vacation
Worldly hopes : poems by A. R Ammons( Book )

16 editions published between 1982 and 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 642 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Uplands : new poems by A. R Ammons( Book )

9 editions published in 1970 in English and held by 602 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Lake effect country : poems by A. R Ammons( Book )

6 editions published between 1982 and 1983 in English and held by 601 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Northfield poems by A. R Ammons( Book )

10 editions published between 1966 and 1967 in English and Undetermined and held by 587 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Bosh and flapdoodle : poems by A. R Ammons( Book )

5 editions published between 2005 and 2007 in English and held by 577 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A collection of poems written by A.R. Ammons over a six-week period in 1996 that explore age, illness, and death
Glare by A. R Ammons( Book )

16 editions published between 1997 and 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 549 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"I reject the North because it is not / my native ground, and I reject the / South because it rejected me, and I / reject European clutterment because / we fought to put that ocean between / us. I identify with no sort or kind: / I am by myself."
The really short poems of A.R. Ammons by A. R Ammons( Book )

20 editions published between 1990 and 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 544 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Filled with sharp irony and passionate insight, the more than 100 poems in this collection span the career of one of the deans of contemporary poetry. Ammons makes you laugh and forces you to think. ... New readers of poetry as well as those with an active interest in lyric verse will love this volume.-Booklist
Sumerian vistas : poems by A. R Ammons( Book )

16 editions published between 1987 and 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 470 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.31 (from 0.05 for Set in mot ... to 0.85 for Innenansic ...)

Collected poems, 1951-1971
Alternative Names
A. R. Ammons American poet

A. R. Ammons Amerikaans dichter (1926-2001)

A. R. Ammons amerikanischer Autor und Hochschullehrer

A. R. Ammons amerikansk poet

Ammons, A. R.

Ammons, A.R. 1926-2001

Ammons, Archie Randolph.

Ammons, Archie Randolph 1926-2001

Languages
English (296)

German (3)

Covers
Collected poems, 1951-1971GarbageThe snow poemsSphere: the form of a motionBriefings; poems small and easyA coast of trees : poemsDiversifications : poemsBrink road : poems