WorldCat Identities

MacDonald, Philip

Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Philip MacDonald
 
Most widely held works by Philip MacDonald
Rebecca( Visual )

1 edition published in 2001 in English and held by 483 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A young bride is brought by her new husband to his manor house in England. There she finds that the memory of her husband's first wife haunts her, and she tries to discover the secret of that mysterious woman's death
Charlie Chan in Paris( Visual )

3 editions published between 1989 and 2006 in English and held by 396 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Charlie is on the trail of forged bank bonds but soon encounters murder. There are no lack of suspects, as the trail leads through Paris streets and sewers
Charlie Chan in London( Visual )

1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 318 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"To investigate a young woman's claim that her brother has been framed for murder, Chan invites himself to a stately English manor, where guests gathering for a fox hunt unwittingly harbor the real killer!" -- Container
Three for midnight by Philip MacDonald( Book )

4 editions published between 1930 and 1965 in English and held by 291 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The rasp by Philip MacDonald( Book )

41 editions published between 1921 and 2015 in 3 languages and held by 288 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Debut of celebrated detective, Colonel Anthony Gethryn. Brutal murder enmeshes sleuth in dark tale of revenge. Superb suspense, shocking denouement
Rebecca by Alfred Hitchcock( Visual )

31 editions published between 1940 and 2018 in English and French and held by 271 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A shy, young bride is neglected by her morose husband, who seems to be still obsessed with his deceased first wife
Triple jeopardy : three novels by Philip MacDonald( Book )

4 editions published between 1938 and 1962 in English and held by 178 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Death and chicanery, a collection of tales by Philip MacDonald( Book )

6 editions published between 1962 and 1964 in English and held by 151 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Patrol by Philip MacDonald( Book )

22 editions published between 1927 and 2016 in 4 languages and held by 137 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The novel that inspired John Ford's The Lost Patrol: A band of World War I soldiers fights to survive in the desert after their leader is shot and killed. There had been, here, eleven men. Now ten rode away ... In the Mesopotamian desert during the First World War, an unseen enemy guns down the leader of a British parol. The officer was the only one who knew their orders, and he did not told anyone else where they are located. Now the sergeant must lead his men through a hostile desert landscape full of invisible Arab snipers. One by one, they are being picked off, and the group of diverse men with different backgrounds must try to come together in order to survive. The decision-making process proves far from easy as tensions and prejudices from their former lives come to a head. The basis for films by Walter Summer and John Ford, this bestselling novel is a suspenseful tale of the Great War for readers of Robert Graves or Ford Madox Ford-or anyone who enjoys an action-packed war story. Author Philip MacDonald, who served in Mesopotamia with the British cavalry, went on to become one of the most popular writers of thrillers and detective fiction
Mr. Moto takes a vacation( Visual )

1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 120 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mr. Moto heads to Egypt to thwart a criminal mastermind determined to steal the priceless crown of the Queen of Sheba
The list of Adrian Messenger by Philip MacDonald( Book )

15 editions published between 1948 and 1998 in 3 languages and held by 118 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Désastre aérien sur l'Atlantique, tous les passagers ont disparu ... Tous? Non, il y aurait des survivants ... S'agit-il réellement d'un accident? Un classiqueadapté au cinéma par John Huston, avec Kirk Douglas dans le rôle d'Anthony Gethryn
The noose by Philip MacDonald( Book )

19 editions published between 1930 and 2016 in English and Undetermined and held by 104 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gentleman detective Anthony Gethryn is in a race against time to save an innocent man from the hangman's noose. Colonel Anthony Gethryn is recalled from a holiday in Spain to solve a murder in the November fogs of London. He finds that his wife is sheltering Mrs Bronson, whose husband is in prison awaiting execution for the murder of a gamekeeper six months before. A petition for reprieve has been rejected and Bronson will shortly hang for someone else's crime. Convinced by Mrs Bronson of her husband's innocence, Gethryn embarks on a seemingly hopeless race against time to overthrow the guilty verdict and find the real murderer - and he has only five days before Bronson's date with the hangman's noose. The Noose saw the return of Philip MacDonald's gentleman detective Anthony Ruthven Gethryn, whose debut in The Rasp six years earlier had been a big success. Judged to be his best book yet, The Noose had the distinction of being chosen as the first book to be published in Collins' Crime Club in May 1930, helping to immortalise it as one of the seminal books of the crime genre. This Detective Story Club classic includes an introduction by H.R.F. Keating, which first appeared in the Crime Club's 1985 'Disappearing Detectives' series
The crime conductor, an adventure of Colonel Anthony Gethryn by Philip MacDonald( Book )

16 editions published between 1931 and 1972 in English and held by 87 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The dark wheel by Philip MacDonald( Book )

10 editions published between 1948 and 1952 in Spanish and English and held by 76 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mystery of the dead police by Philip MacDonald( Book )

8 editions published between 1933 and 1985 in English and held by 73 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Guest in the house by Philip MacDonald( Book )

2 editions published between 1955 and 1956 in English and held by 67 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The maze by Philip MacDonald( Book )

13 editions published between 1932 and 2017 in English and held by 64 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The ultimate murder mystery - can you find the murderer before the detective? Maxwell Brunton was found dead in his study - murdered beyond doubt. There were ten people in the house on the night of the murder, and at least seven of them had an adequate motive for murdering him. But Anthony Gethryn has only the evidence given at the Coroner's inquest to work with. In other words YOU, the reader, and HE, the detective, are upon equal footing. HE solves the mystery. Can YOU?
Murder gone mad by Philip MacDonald( Book )

16 editions published between 1931 and 2016 in English and French and held by 63 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The first Golden Age detective novel to feature a serial killer with no rational motive - and surely impossible for Scotland Yard to solve? A long knife with a brilliant but perverted brain directing it is terrorising Holmdale - innocent people are being done to death under the very eyes of the law. After every murder a business-like letter arrives announcing that another 'removal has been carried out', and Inspector Pike of Scotland Yard has nothing to go on but the evidence of the bodies themselves and the butcher's own bravado. With clear thinking impossible in the face of such a breathless killing spree, the police make painfully slow progress: but how do you find a maniac who has no rational motive? Philip MacDonald had shown himself in The Noose and The Rasp to be a master of the detective novel. In Murder Gone Mad he raised the stakes with the first Golden Age crime novel to feature a motiveless serial killer prompted only by blood lust - inspired by the real-life case in 1929 of the Dusseldorf Monster - and this time without the familiar Anthony Gethryn on hand to reassure the reader. This Detective Story Club classic is introduced by L. C. Tyler, Chair of the Crime Writers Association and author of the award-winning 'Elsie and Ethelred' crime novels and the John Grey historical mysteries
Mr. Moto's last warning( Visual )

8 editions published between 1939 and 2006 in English and held by 62 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Home use only
The wraith by Philip MacDonald( Book )

11 editions published between 1931 and 1940 in 3 languages and held by 57 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.37 (from 0.24 for Rebecca / ... to 0.76 for The maze / ...)

The rasp
Covers
Alternative Names

controlled identityMacDonald, Philip

Fleming, Oliver.

Lawless, Anthony.

Mac Donald, Philip.

MacDonald, F.

Macdonald, Filip.

Mc Donald, Philip

McDonald, Philip

Porlock, Martin.

Languages