WorldCat Identities

Winchell, Mark Royden 1948-

Overview
Works: 27 works in 147 publications in 2 languages and 11,404 library holdings
Genres: Criticism, interpretation, etc  History  Biography  Fiction  Science fiction  Comics (Graphic works)  Fantasy comics  Comic books, strips, etc  Graphic novels  Science fiction comics 
Roles: Author, Editor
Classifications: PS3554.I33, 818.5409
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Mark Royden Winchell
Joan Didion by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

25 editions published between 1980 and 1999 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,753 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of Joan Didion
William F. Buckley, Jr. by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

12 editions published between 1984 and 1999 in English and Undetermined and held by 796 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of William F. Buckley, Jr
Cleanth Brooks and the rise of modern criticism by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

7 editions published in 1996 in English and held by 727 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

During a career that spanned sixty years, Cleanth Brooks was involved in most of the major controversies facing the humanities from the 1930s until his death in 1994. He was arguably the most important American literary critic of the mid-twentieth century. Because it is impossible to understand modern literary criticism apart from Cleanth Brooks, or Cleanth Brooks apart from modern literary criticism, Mark Royden Winchell gives us not only an account of one man's influence but also a survey of literary criticism in twentieth-century America. More than any other individual, Brooks helped steer literary study away from historical and philological scholarship by emphasizing the autonomy of the text. He applied the methods of what came to be called the New Criticism, not only to the modernist works for which these methods were created, but to the entire canon of English poetry, from John Donne to William Butler Yeats. In his many critical books, especially The Well Wrought Urn and the textbooks he edited with Robert Penn Warren and others, Brooks taught several generations of students how to read literature without prejudice or preconception
Neoconservative criticism : Norman Podhoretz, Kenneth S. Lynn, and Joseph Epstein by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

6 editions published in 1991 in English and held by 544 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Leslie Fiedler by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

11 editions published between 1985 and 1999 in English and Undetermined and held by 541 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of Leslie Fiedler
Reinventing the South : versions of a literary region by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

11 editions published between 2005 and 2006 in English and held by 465 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Surveys the revivification and reinvention of southern culture and literature, and the influence of the Agrarians, Fugitives, New Critics, and popular writers, including John Gould Fletcher, Robert Penn Warren, Monroe K. Spears, Walter Sullivan, William Faulkner, Tennessee Williams, William Humphrey, and Cormac McCarthy"--Provided by publisher
Talmadge, a political legacy, a politician's life : a memoir by Herman E Talmadge( Book )

2 editions published in 1987 in English and held by 360 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Where no flag flies : Donald Davidson and the Southern resistance by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

14 editions published in 2000 in English and held by 328 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Donald Davidson (1893-1968) may well be the most unjustifiably neglected figure in twentieth-century southern literature. One of the most important poets of the Fugitive movement, he also produced a substantial body of literary criticism, the libretto for an American folk opera, a widely used composition textbook, and the recently discovered novel The Big Ballad Jamboree. As a social and political activist, Davidson had significant impact on conservative thought in this century, influencing important scholars from Cleanth Brooks to M.E. Bradford. This work offers a complete narrative of Davidson's life with all of its triumphs and losses, frustrations and fulfillments."--Jacket
Too good to be true : the life and work of Leslie Fiedler by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

11 editions published in 2002 in English and held by 290 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Too Good to Be True" is a comprehensive account of Leslie Fiedler's life and work. Born in 1917, Fiedler has, in a sense, had four overlapping careers. He first came to prominence as one of the premier Jewish intellectuals of the postwar era - writing on literature, culture, and politics in such magazines as Partisan Review and Commentary. Shortly thereafter, he helped lead the attack that myth criticism was mounting on the hegemony of the New Criticism. If he had stopped writing entirely at that point, Fiedler would still be remembered as an important cultural critic of the fifties. With his brash magnum opus, Love and Death in the American Novel, Fiedler next established himself as a revolutionary interpreter of our native literary tradition. Subsequent critics of American literature have been compelled to adopt or attack his positions because to ignore them has been impossible. Finally, Fiedler was one of the first critics to proclaim the death of modernism and to suggest some of the directions that literature might take in its aftermath. The Oxford English Dictionary credits him with being the first individual to apply the term postmodernism to literature. This alone caused much enmity among those who had built their careers on the assumption that modernism would last forever. To many academics, Fiedler's lack of solemnity and his wild flights of imagination have made him appear amateurish. How could anyone who enjoys himself that much possibly be taken seriously? One of the favorite critics of young people and non-English majors, Fiedler has seemed to enjoy remaining disreputable - even as some of his once-controversial views have been made a part of standard or traditional scholarship. Like Huck Finn, returned to the raft from the fog, he often seems "too good to be true." Mark Royden Winchell has made his subject come alive in a highly intelligent and critical way. A combination of biography, ciritcal analysis, and cultural history, "Too Good to Be True" will be of great interest to scholars and students of American literature, twentieth-century literary criticism and popular culture."--Jacket
God, man, and Hollywood : politically incorrect cinema from "The birth of a nation" to "The Passion of the Christ" by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

8 editions published in 2008 in English and held by 235 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Beginning with D.W. Griffith's The Birth of a Nation and ending with Mel Gibson's The Passion of the Christ, Winchell reveals the surprisingly politically incorrect notions at the heart of eighteen classic films, including Ben-Hur, Intruder in the Dust, The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance, Patton, The Deer Hunter, A Clockwork Orange, Gangs of New York, and Gettysburg. Along the way, he shows how a number of filmmakers, sometimes unwittingly, have produced unconventionally honest explorations of the nature and meaning of race relations, love, family, community, worship, and other aspects of shared human experience. Winchell ends with synoptic assessments of an additional one hundred politically incorrect films, from About Schmidt to Zulu
Horace McCoy by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

6 editions published between 1928 and 1982 in English and Italian and held by 210 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Vanderbilt tradition : essays in honor of Thomas Daniel Young( Book )

4 editions published between 1990 and 1991 in English and held by 204 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

John Gregory Dunne by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

3 editions published in 1986 in English and held by 201 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

William Humphrey by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

4 editions published in 1992 in English and held by 140 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ideas in conflict : writing about the great issues of civilization by Donna Haisty Winchell( Book )

1 edition published in 2008 in English and held by 8 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

One foot in paradise : the American Adam in the modern world by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

4 editions published between 1978 and 1986 in English and Undetermined and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The cause of us all : cultural politics and the American South by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Almuric by Robert E Howard( Book )

1 edition published in 1991 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Graphic Novel. The creator of "Conan" looks to the stars in one of fantasy's most enduring science fantasy classics! Robert E. Howard's Almuric is a savage planet of crumbling stone ruins and debased, near-human inhabitants. Into this world comes Esau Cairn, Earthman, swordsman, murderer. Only he can overthrow the terrible devils that enslave Almuric, but to do so he must first defeat the inner demons that forced him to abandon Earth. Filled with vile beasts and thrilling adventure in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs, "Almuric" is one of Howard's few novels, and an excellent yarn from one of America's most distinct literary voices
Country music : tradition and the individual talent( Book )

2 editions published in 1984 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Robert Penn Warren : genius loves company by Mark Royden Winchell( Book )

2 editions published in 2007 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.29 (from 0.04 for Too good t ... to 0.95 for Country mu ...)

Cleanth Brooks and the rise of modern criticism
Alternative Names
Mark Royden Winchell American academic

Mark Royden Winchell Amerikaans literatuurcriticus (1948-2008)

Winchell, Mark

Winchell, Mark R.

Languages
English (127)

Italian (1)

Covers
Reinventing the South : versions of a literary regionWhere no flag flies : Donald Davidson and the Southern resistanceToo good to be true : the life and work of Leslie FiedlerGod, man, and Hollywood : politically incorrect cinema from "The birth of a nation" to "The Passion of the Christ"Horace McCoyJohn Gregory DunneWilliam HumphreyIdeas in conflict : writing about the great issues of civilizationThe cause of us all : cultural politics and the American South