WorldCat Identities

Jones, Robert F. 1934-2002

Overview
Works: 29 works in 112 publications in 6 languages and 4,464 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Western fiction  Action and adventure fiction  Biography  Juvenile works  Literature  Autobiographies  Conference papers and proceedings  Psychological fiction  Historical fiction 
Roles: Author, Editor
Classifications: PS3560.O526, 813.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Robert F Jones
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Robert F Jones
Deadville : a novel by Robert F Jones( Book )

9 editions published between 1998 and 2013 in English and held by 718 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The adventures in the 1830s West of two coal miners from Pennsylvania. They are the Griffith brothers who seek fortune as fur trappers, gold miners and Indian fighters. A tale of gun battles, mine explosions, massacres and two crucifixions
Tie my bones to her back by Robert F Jones( Book )

15 editions published between 1996 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 706 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

After their parents die, Jenny Dousmann joins her brother as cook on his buffalo hunting team. Through her eyes is seen the savagery of the Wild West. The team is attacked by whites and Indians, the brother disappears and Jenny sets out to find him
Slade's glacier by Robert F Jones( Book )

7 editions published between 1981 and 2014 in English and held by 508 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Slade's Glacier is a tale of discovery and destruction, betrayal and revenge, set in the rugged "Great Land" of Alaska. Jack Slade and Sam Healey, flying partners during World War II, establish a bush pilot business in Alaska after the war. When their C-47 Dakota is forced down on a glacier by a wolverine in the cargo deck that breaks out of its cage, they discover a valley that offers the realization each man's dreams. To Jack Slade, it's the ideal place to homestead, raise a family, and live simply as a professional hunting and fishing guide; to Healey, the pool of crude oil he locates under the glacial ice promises the wealth he always wanted. In scenes that range from Alaska's coastal fishing ports to the high, fierce wastelands of the interior, we watch each man lay the plans for their individual goals-and ultimately come into fatal conflict. Along the way, they meet a wide, colorful variety of Alaskan types, including Charlie Blue, a Tlingit Indian, shaman, and seer; Norman Ormandy, the tough saloonkeeper of Gurry Bay; and Malec Mummad-Afi, a wealthy exiled Iranian oil king and sheep hunter."--
Blood tide by Robert F Jones( Book )

4 editions published between 1990 and 2015 in English and held by 448 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"A Winner...'IBlood Tide is the best high-adventure escape I've taken in years." -Elmore Leonard In the tradition of Clive Cussler and Alistair MacLean, Blood Tide is a gripping novel of betrayal and revenge set in a remote and lawless corner of the Philippines. Unjustly blamed for a failed escape attempt from a North Vietnamese prison, James Culdee, a career US Navy noncom who has served his country with distinction for twenty years, is suddenly and unfairly forced into a disgraceful retirement. Devestated, Culdee retreats into alcoholism until he is rescued by his daughter, Miranda, a charter-boat skipper whose sloop, the Seamark, has been stolen. When Miranda learns that the Seamark has been sighted into the dangerous and primitive Flyaway Islands of the Philippines, father and daughter sail off in pursuit, on a voyage that will carry them across the Pacific. Arriving in the Flyaways, where local pirates and drug smugglers are as treacherous as the hidden shoals and reefs, Culdee and Miranda join a band of Filipinio insurgents plotting to overthrow a tyrannical American drug lord, who may or may not be the same "slimy" who betrayed Culdee in Vietnam. Filled with action, suspense, and nautical lore, Blood Tide is a tale of intrigue, courage, and passion-of a father and a daughter's battle against overwhelming odds in infernal jungles where murder is a sport and madness a way of life. Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Arcade, Yucca, and Good Books imprints, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in fiction-novels, novellas, political and medical thrillers, comedy, satire, historical fiction, romance, erotic and love stories, mystery, classic literature, folklore and mythology, literary classics including Shakespeare, Dumas, Wilde, Cather, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home
The run to Gitche Gumee : a novel by Robert F Jones( Book )

8 editions published between 2001 and 2014 in English and held by 402 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Two friends in their sixties retrace a canoe trip they made to Lake Superior when they were young
Blood sport; a journey up the Hassayampa by Robert F Jones( Book )

8 editions published between 1974 and 2013 in English and held by 351 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A pathbreaking outdoor adventure novel that has gained cult status
On killing : meditations on the chase( Book )

6 editions published between 2001 and 2005 in English and held by 108 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Diamond Bogo : an African idyll by Robert F Jones( Book )

8 editions published between 1977 and 2016 in English and held by 101 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The original typescript with manuscript corrections for this novel
The buffalo runners by Robert F Jones( Book )

4 editions published between 1996 and 2002 in English and held by 77 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Blood sport by Robert F Jones( Book )

8 editions published between 1975 and 1991 in 4 languages and held by 31 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Roman
Blood root : a novel by Robert F Jones( )

3 editions published in 2015 in English and held by 31 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

From the acclaimed author of Blood Sport In the beginning was the Oak, its hungry roots reaching deep into the earth, its gnarled limbs searching the distant heavens. Two hundred years ago, Obediah Magrute worshipped the Oak and died violently beneath it, feeding it with his blood and bone, shouting his chilling curse to the skies. Now, Laura and Mark Avery have come to the bustling little Vermont village. They have given up their frenetic city life to settle in the old Eldridge Place and to start their family. Quiet and quaint, the village is nestled among the rolling green hills of Hubley?s Gore. For centuries, the inhabitants of the little farming village had tilled the soil, eking out a living from the harsh land, bound together by time, by ties of kinship, by their battle against the savage elements ... and by the dark secret in their midst. Silent, supreme, it held sway over them. Buried deep in the soil, in the heart of the dense forest, in the soul of the living wood, it commanded the very elements. It demanded obedience and unholy worship and ... sacrifice. Laura and Mark are not superstitious, though. They find the local legends charming. But as the seasons turn and the full moon rises, people die in Hubley?s Gore in thrall to an ancient, terrible power
African twilight : the story of a hunter by Robert F Jones( Book )

2 editions published in 1994 in English and held by 27 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ratnose : a journey up the Hassayampa by Robert F Jones( Book )

2 editions published in 1975 in English and held by 24 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The fishing doctor by Robert F Jones( Book )

1 edition published in 1992 in English and held by 19 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Blood Tide by Robert F Jones( Recording )

2 editions published between 2015 and 2016 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"James Culdee has served his country as part of the US Navy for more than two decades. When he becomes the scapegoat for a brutal, yet failed, escape attempt from a prison in Norther Vietnam, Culdee is forced into retirement, and his reputation is destroyed. Unable to cope, he turns to alcohol--until his daughter, Miranda, steps in. But Miranda, the skipper on a charter boat named Seamark, has problems of her own; her sloop has been stolen and spotted in the treacherous and primal waters of the Flyaway Islands. Welcoming the distraction from his own issues, Culdee volunteers to help his daughter rescue her boat, and the duo sets off across the Pacific."
The hunter in my heart : a sportsman's salmagundi by Robert F Jones( Recording )

1 edition published in 2005 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sportsman Robert F. Jones offers a series of autobiographical essays based on his hunting experiences in North America
Jake : a Labrador puppy at work and play by Robert F Jones( Book )

2 editions published between 1992 and 1995 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The author describes his new Labrador puppy's first year and how he trained the dog to sit, heel, fetch, and more
Deadville : a novel by Robert F Jones( Recording )

3 editions published between 1998 and 2007 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In 1833, brothers Dillon and Owen Griffith head West with a Shawnee scout to hunt beaver. Attacked by one group of Indians and rescued by another led by part African American War Chief James Pierson Beckwourth, Dill and Owen find their troubles only beginning. Violence and some strong language
The political image merchants : strategies in the new politics( Book )

1 edition published in 1971 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

The buffalo hunters by Robert F Jones( Book )

1 edition published in 1996 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.24 (from 0.06 for The buffal ... to 0.80 for Deadville ...)

Deadville : a novel
Covers
Tie my bones to her backThe run to Gitche Gumee : a novelBlood sport; a journey up the HassayampaOn killing : meditations on the chaseThe buffalo runnersAfrican twilight : the story of a hunterThe hunter in my heart : a sportsman's salmagundiJake : a Labrador puppy at work and playThe buffalo hunters
Alternative Names
Jones, Robert (1934-2002).

Robert F. Jones Amerikaans journalist (-)

Robert F. Jones Amerikaans journalist (1934-2002)

Robert F. Jones écrivain américain

Robert F. Jones escriptor estatunidenc

رابرت اف. جونز

روبرت جونز كاتب أمريكي

রবার্ট এফ. জোন্স মার্কিন লেখক

ジョーンズ, ロバート・F

Languages