WorldCat Identities

Hoffman, Paul 1956-

Overview
Works: 74 works in 315 publications in 9 languages and 6,894 library holdings
Genres: Biography  Fantasy fiction  Fiction  Educational films  Children's films  Internet videos  Documentary films  Juvenile works  Interviews  Anecdotes 
Roles: Author, Narrator, Thesis advisor, Speaker, Editor
Classifications: PR6058.O3446, 510.92
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Paul Hoffman
The man who loved only numbers : the story of Paul Erdos and the search for mathematical truth by Paul Hoffman( Book )

43 editions published between 1998 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,853 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Paul Erdos, the most prolific and eccentric mathematician of our time, forsook all creature comforts - including a hometo pursue his lifelong study of numbers. He was a man who possessed unimaginable powers of thought yet was unable to manage some of the simplest daily tasks." "For more than six decades, Erdos lived out of two tattered suitcases, crisscrossing four continents at a frenzied pace, chasing mathematical problems and fresh talent. Erdos saw mathematics as a search for lasting beauty and ultimate truth. It was a search Erdos never abandoned, even as his life was torn asunder by some of the major political dramas of our time." "In this biography, Hoffman uses Erdos's life and work to introduce readers to a cast of remarkable geniuses, from Archimedes to Stanislaw Ulam, one of the chief minds behind the Los Alamos nuclear project. He draws on years of interviews with Ronald Graham and Fan Chung, Erdos's chief American caretakers and devoted collaborators. With an eye for the hilarious anecdote, Hoffman explains mathematical problems from Fermat's Last Theorem to the more frivolous "Monty Hall dilemma." What emerges is an intimate look at the world of mathematics and an indelible portrait of Erdos, a charming and impish philosopher-scientist whose accomplishments continue to enrich and inform our world."--Jacket
Archimedes' revenge : the joys and perils of mathematics by Paul Hoffman( Book )

29 editions published between 1988 and 2011 in English and held by 1,356 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This is a popular introduction to mathematics and its everyday applications
Wings of madness : Alberto Santos-Dumont and the invention of flight by Paul Hoffman( Book )

15 editions published between 2003 and 2016 in English and Portuguese and held by 649 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Biography of the young Brazilian who moved to Paris where he experimented with flight until Europeans came to call him the man who conquered air
The left hand of God by Paul Hoffman( Book )

28 editions published between 2010 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 423 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Sanctuary of the Redeemers is a place where children endure brutal cruelty and violence in the name of the One True Faith. Lost in the Sanctuary's huge maze of corridors is a boy. He is strange, witty, charming, and violent. But when he opens the wrong door at the wrong time he witnesses an act so horrible he must flee, or die
The last four things by Paul Hoffman( Book )

27 editions published between 2011 and 2014 in 5 languages and held by 249 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

'You're the right colour for the Angel of Death, Mister Cale. But a little short.' 'I could cut your head off and stand on it. Then I'd be taller.' Return to the Sanctuary of the Redeemers: a place of pain, cruelty and terrible, dark devotion. Thomas Cale - the Left Hand of God, the Angel of Death - is put in charge of an army and groomed to bring abour the end of the world. But might not Cale - killer, strategist, pawn and boy - whose nature is far stranger than even the Redeemers can know, have his own reasons for bringing about the Last Four Things? Death, Judgement, Heaven, Hell. [from back cover]
American museum guides( Book )

8 editions published in 1983 in English and German and held by 221 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Evolution by Gloria Estefan( Visual )

6 editions published between 1995 and 1996 in English and held by 137 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

What does it really mean to be human? How much of our behavior is programmed into our genes? Why do we do stupid things such as waging war and destroying our environment? No scientist has thought longer and harder about these issues that Dr. Jared Diamond. He is able to offer startling insights about who we humans really are, and what awaits us down the evolutionary road
Astronomy by Jay M Pasachoff( Visual )

5 editions published between 1995 and 1996 in English and held by 127 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

We have been beguiled by the heavens above, seeking to divine the meanings in the stars and planets overhead. Where did it all begin? Where will it end? How were the stars formed? Is there anybody else out there, or are we alone? One of the leading astronomers studying those questions is Dr. Sallie Baliunas
Viruses( Visual )

7 editions published between 1995 and 1997 in English and held by 126 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Dr. Robert C. Gallo's conversation with Paul Hoffman, the editor-in-chief of Discover Magazine. Dr. Gallo has spent his life at the National Institutes for Health deciphering the puzzles of human viruses. Gallo's work with viruses fueled his interest in AIDS and led to his co-discovery of the HIV virus in 1984
Oceanography by Edward Ortleb( Visual )

6 editions published between 1995 and 1996 in English and held by 119 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In the thousands of hours Sylvia Earle has spent under water, she has come to understand the vital role that plants and animals play in sustaining the ocean's ecosystem--and the necessity of healthy oceans for our own survival
Artificial Intelligence by Steven Spielberg( Visual )

6 editions published between 1995 and 1997 in English and held by 99 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Dr. Minsky has become known as the father of artificial intelligence. He has labored long and hard to design and develop thinking machines. In doing so, he has sought to fathom how that intricate piece of machinery and genius, the human brain, actually works
The golden age of censorship : a novel by Paul Hoffman( Book )

5 editions published between 2007 and 2008 in English and held by 93 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The beating of his wings by Paul Hoffman( Book )

15 editions published between 2013 and 2016 in 3 languages and held by 79 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Een jongeman is fysiek en psychisch zwaar beschadigd als Linkerhand van God als de legers van Paus Bosco oprukken
Advanced law firm mismanagement : from the offices of Fairweather, Winters & Sommers by Arnold B Kanter( )

1 edition published in 1993 in English and held by 77 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

With humor in the tradition of Robert Benchley and S.J. Perelman, this book reveals the absurdities of life in a law firm. Through memos, speeches, and committee meetings, the mythically inept firm of Fairweather, Winters & Sommers is described. The firm's founder, Stanley Fairweather, recalls the good and not-so-good old days and looks ahead with a bit of trepidation at where the profession is going. Lawyers are seen through the eyes of the firm's non-lawyers, secretaries, paralegals, the computer tech
Paul Erdös : 1913-1996 : l'homme qui n'aimait que les nombres by Paul Hoffman( Book )

3 editions published in 2000 in French and held by 75 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Paleontology( Visual )

4 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 73 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Originally dinosaurs were depicted as stupid, lumbering, cold-blooded beasts doomed to extinction. A new look at dinosaurs suggests that they were warm-blooded, fleet-footed creatures. Much of this revolutionary thinking comes from the work of Dr. Bob Bakker who has been shaking up the crusty world of paleontology since 1968
American museum guides( Book )

2 editions published in 1983 in English and held by 65 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Great minds of science by Various Authors( Recording )

5 editions published between 1999 and 2013 in English and held by 60 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

From astronomy to viruses, you'll find their narratives full of genius, personal insight and enlightenment. A tribute to mankind's ingenuity and boundless curiosity
Dictionary shmictionary! : a Yiddish and Yinglish dictionary by Paul Hoffman( Book )

3 editions published in 1983 in English and held by 59 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Dinosaurs! by Mitsuhiro Kurokawa( Visual )

3 editions published between 1995 and 1997 in English and held by 37 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Originally dinosaurs were depicted as stupid, lumbering, cold-blooded beasts doomed to extinction. A new look at dinosaurs suggests that they were warm-blooded, fleet-footed creatures. Much of this revolutionary thinking comes from the work of Dr. Bob Bakker who has been shaking up the crusty world of paleontology since 1968
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.30 (from 0.22 for Viruses / ... to 0.99 for Hoffman, P ...)

The man who loved only numbers : the story of Paul Erdos and the search for mathematical truth
Covers
Archimedes' revenge : the joys and perils of mathematicsWings of madness : Alberto Santos-Dumont and the invention of flightThe left hand of GodThe last four thingsThe golden age of censorship : a novelGreat minds of scienceN is a number : a portrait of Paul Erdős
Alternative Names

controlled identityDr. Crypton, 1956-

Hoffman, Paul E.

Hopʻŭman, Pʻol 1956-

Paul Hoffman Amerikaans schrijver

Paul Hoffman écrivain américain

Paul Hoffman escritor estadounidense

Paul Hoffman scrittore, divulgatore scientifico e conduttore televisivo statunitense

Пол Хоффман

הופמן, פול 1956-

بول هوفمان كاتب أمريكي

پل هافمن

호프만, 폴 1956-

ホフマン, ポール

ポール・ホフマン

Languages