WorldCat Identities

Wolf, Joan

Overview
Works: 95 works in 394 publications in 9 languages and 13,469 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  History  Historical fiction  Biographical fiction  Romance fiction  Christian fiction  Bible fiction  Detective and mystery fiction 
Roles: Author
Classifications: PS3573.O486, 813.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Joan Wolf
That summer by Joan Wolf( Book )

10 editions published between 2002 and 2003 in English and held by 834 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ten years after Anne Foster's dreams are shattered, she returns to face Liam Wellington, the man she still loves
A reluctant queen : the love story of Esther by Joan Wolf( Book )

5 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 691 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

She was a simple girl faced with an impossible choice. He was a magnificent king with a lonely heart. Their love was the divine surprise that changed the course of history. The beloved story of Esther springs to fresh life in this inspired novel that vibrates with mystery, intrigue and romance.--From back cover
The horsemasters by Joan Wolf( Book )

25 editions published between 1993 and 2011 in 4 languages and held by 653 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

With The Horsemasters , Wolf continues her saga of paleolithic people begun in Daughter of the Red Deer ( LJ 9/15/91). Set 50 years after that work, this new book tells the tale of Ronan, the charismatic son of the Mistress of the Red Deer, who is falsely accused of blasphemy and exiled from his tribe. Ronan faces two challenges: to form a tribe of his own with other misfits and outcasts and to weld this group into a fighting unit capable of leading the mountain tribes against a new threat--fierce tribesmen from the north whose mastery of the horse enables them to conquer at will. Characters have less depth here than in Wolf's previous title but are likable and easily carry the story forward. The well-constructed plot is suspenseful, and an appealing romance--a Wolf trademark--also adds interest. Fans of Jean Auel and Sue Harrison as well as readers of Daughter will enjoy this. - Library Journal
The arrangement by Joan Wolf( Book )

12 editions published between 1997 and 2014 in English and held by 644 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A young widow's life is thrust into upheaval when the past she's tried desperately to forget and that could destroy all that she holds dear invades her peaceful present
The poisoned serpent by Joan Wolf( Book )

10 editions published between 2000 and 2014 in English and held by 633 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Since the lady he loves is not highborn enough to be his wife, Hugh de Leon, heir to an earldom, is headed for an arranged marriage with "the comely but spoiled heiress, Elizabeth de Beauté." Then a murder occurs, and Hugh must expose the real killer.--Jacket
The road to Avalon by Joan Wolf( Book )

20 editions published between 1988 and 2007 in 3 languages and held by 618 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"The pageantry and passionate intrigues of King Arthur's court are re-created in this novel. This re-telling shows Arthur - the conqueror, the illegitimate heir to an empire, the once and future king who severed the bonds of bastardy, vanquished the Saxons, and loved the beautiful Morgan of Avalon, whom his country forbade him to wed but could not keep him from desiring."--Publisher's description
Born of the sun by Joan Wolf( Book )

8 editions published between 1989 and 2011 in 3 languages and held by 606 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A novel of the era that begins eighty years after the death of Arthur the king, and ends when a Celtic princess gives her heart to the heir to the Saxon throne
This scarlet cord by Joan Wolf( Book )

7 editions published between 2012 and 2013 in English and held by 575 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

While in ancient Jericho, Rahab, a young Canaanite woman, falls in love with Sala, an Israeli boy, and agrees to hide Israeli spies as the battle of Jericho goes on, which saves her and her family during the city's subsequent destruction
The edge of light by Joan Wolf( Book )

8 editions published between 1990 and 1998 in English and German and held by 522 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The tale of King Alfred, who stood between the Danes and English freedom, and of his beloved Elswyth, Princess of Mercia
No dark place by Joan Wolf( Book )

11 editions published between 1999 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 470 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Hugh Corbaille, adopted son of the Sheriff of Lincoln, sets out to prove himself the rightful Earl of Wiltshire and to seek justice for his murdered birth father
Daughter of Jerusalem by Joan Wolf( Book )

4 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 416 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

She was a widow, a businesswoman, an adulteress. In her lifetime, she knew murder, prejudice, and faith. She transformed from a Jewish girl longing for family to one of the closest friends of Jesus of Nazareth, the Son of God. Her name was Mary Magdalene
The guardian by Joan Wolf( Book )

12 editions published between 1997 and 2014 in 5 languages and held by 407 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When the death of her husband leaves her young son to the guardianship of his younger brother, Stephen, her former lover, Annabelle finds herself drawn once again into a relationship with the man who, five years before, had broken her heart and abandoned her
Royal bride by Joan Wolf( Book )

8 editions published between 2001 and 2006 in English and Polish and held by 389 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The dashing Prince Augustus of Jura must marry Charity Beaufort to close the political deal that will keep his country safe
Silverbridge by Joan Wolf( Book )

8 editions published between 2002 and 2008 in English and Polish and held by 341 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

While filming a movie on the Regency-era estate of Silverbridge, American actress Tracy Collins falls for Harry Oliver, the lord of the manor, but visions from the past and brutal acts of sabotage and attempted murder threaten them both
Golden girl by Joan Wolf( Book )

11 editions published between 1999 and 2005 in 4 languages and held by 308 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

With his estate facing ruin, the Duke of Cheviot marries the granddaughter of a "nouveau riche" merchant in searh of a title
To the castle by Joan Wolf( Book )

15 editions published between 2005 and 2015 in 5 languages and held by 271 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When her older sister dies, Nell de Bonvile, preparing to take her holy vows, is forced to leave the convent and take her sister's place as bride to Roger de Roche, a politically inspired union that draws them both into a web of intrigue, betrayal, passion, and war
Someday soon by Joan Wolf( Book )

5 editions published between 2000 and 2005 in English and Polish and held by 271 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Lady Alexandra Wilton has declared that she would never consider a marriage without love, but when her father dies, "his shocking will reveals that Alexandra will lose everything unless she marries his heir ... an upstart, a fiery Highlander."--Cover
White horses by Joan Wolf( Book )

8 editions published between 2004 and 2014 in English and Spanish and held by 256 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gabrielle Rochon vows to help the British army defeat the emperor who destroyed her family's way of life, and agrees to pose as the wife of an arrogant foreigner in order to transport a cache of gold across the country
His lordship's desire by Joan Wolf( Book )

6 editions published between 2006 and 2014 in English and held by 240 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Searching for a proper, stable husband during her London season, Diana Sherwood believes that she has found a suitable match in Robert Welbourne, but soldier Alexander Devize, with whom she shared one night of reckless passion, has other ideas and launches a full-scale attack on her heart
The gamble by Joan Wolf( Book )

11 editions published between 1997 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 236 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Georgiana Newbury's father was a blackmailer, though she only learned this on his death. In an effort to provide for her handicapped sister, she attempts one extortion of her own-for the elderly Earl of Winterdale to present her to society to find a husband. But the earl is dead and the title has passed to his nephew, who, for reasons of his own, a
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.17 (from 0.04 for The road t ... to 0.27 for To the cas ...)

The poisoned serpent
Alternative Names
Joan Wolf American writer

Joan Wolf Amerikaans schrijfster

Joan Wolf escritora estadounidense

Joan Wolf US-amerikanische Schriftstellerin

Vulf, Dzhoan.

Languages
English (141)

Spanish (19)

German (15)

Polish (10)

Russian (6)

French (3)

Finnish (3)

Italian (3)

Dutch (2)

Covers
A reluctant queen : the love story of EstherThe horsemastersThe arrangementThe poisoned serpentThe road to AvalonNo dark placeThe guardianRoyal bride