WorldCat Identities

Layman, Richard 1947-

Overview
Works: 294 works in 579 publications in 2 languages and 14,281 library holdings
Genres: Reference works  Biography  Biography‡vDictionaries  Dictionaries  Bio-bibliography‡vDictionaries  Detective and mystery fiction  Fiction  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Bibliography  Short stories 
Roles: Editor, Author, Producer, Other, Performer, Contributor, Author of introduction
Classifications: PS3515.A4347, 973.92
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Richard Layman
 
Most widely held works by Richard Layman
American decades( Book )

29 editions published between 1994 and 1996 in English and held by 2,427 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

American Decades: The decades of 20th -century American-the most diverse and dramatic intervals in the history of humankind-have been singled out for individual coverage in this landmark series. Changes and challenges unique to each 10-year period are covered with extraordinary depth and thoroughness in American Decades. Each volume begins with a chronology of world events to provide a context for the American experience. Next, readers can explore American life during the decade from 12 separate perspectives: Arts. -- Business and the economy. -- Education. -- Fashion. -- Government and politics. -- Law and justice. -- Lifestyles and social trends. -- Media. -- Medicine and health. -- Religion. -- Science and technology. -- Sports. Each chapter includes articles covering headlines and headline-markers, awards, achievements and other enlightening and entertaining facts reported in engaging style
American novelists since World War II by Jeffrey Helterman( Book )

13 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 1,426 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Contains alphabetically arranged entries that provide career biographies of eighty American authors who either began writing novels after 1945 or have done their most important work since then; each with a list of principal works and a bibliography
Return of the Thin Man : the original screen stories by Dashiell Hammett( Book )

10 editions published between 2012 and 2013 in English and held by 1,176 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

After the Thin Man (Nick and Nora investigate a love triangle gone wrong after a dead man is discovered at their door) -- Another Thin Man (After a wealthy business partner of Nora's father's is murdered, Nick and Nora's investigation brings them into the killer's crosshairs)
Shadow man : the life of Dashiell Hammett by Richard Layman( Book )

24 editions published between 1981 and 2011 in 3 languages and held by 906 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Hammett, the former Pinkerton detective who reinvented the mystery story in five books written between 1929 and 1934, is carefully examined. An unsentimental account of his life from a rural Maryland youth through the Pinkerton years in San Francisco, fame as a novelist, notoriety as a Hollywood screen writer, imprisonment as an uncooperative McCarthy committee witness, and an obscure death in 1961
The hunter and other stories by Dashiell Hammett( Book )

5 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in English and held by 725 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An anthology of eighteen short stories includes a number of previously unpublished pieces as well as early screen treatments for "On the Make" and "The Kiss-Off"
Selected letters of Dashiell Hammett 1921-1960 by Dashiell Hammett( Book )

10 editions published between 2000 and 2016 in English and French and held by 700 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Here is a volume that generations of readers have longed for - the first-ever selection from the letters of Dashiell Hammett, the onetime private detective who, in five astonishing books written between 1927 and 1933, invented the modern American crime novel. Hammett was not only the founding member of the hardboiled school, he also was its greatest practitioner, and even after Chandler and all the rest, his body of work remains the solid-gold standard. The best of his work is literature - without the quotation marks."--Jacket
Dashiell Hammett : a daughter remembers by Jo Hammett( Book )

3 editions published in 2001 in English and held by 665 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Chronicles the life of the author through the eyes of his daughter, discussing his ties to Communism, his celebrity, his drinking and gambling habits, his relationship with Lillian Hellman, and his behavior as a father
Dashiell Hammett's The Maltese falcon : a documentary volume( Book )

7 editions published in 2003 in English and held by 454 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Provides researchers basic materials useful in studying The Maltese Falcon: background readings related to Hammett's life; composition of the novel; reception of the novel, including reviews and critical response; and the various media adaptations of this classic complex story
Child abuse by Richard Layman( Book )

4 editions published in 1990 in English and Undetermined and held by 403 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ring W. Lardner : a descriptive bibliography by Matthew Joseph Bruccoli( Book )

9 editions published in 1976 in English and Undetermined and held by 400 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Dashiell Hammett, a descriptive bibliography by Richard Layman( Book )

9 editions published in 1979 in 3 languages and held by 395 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Dashiell Hammett by Richard Layman( Book )

6 editions published in 2000 in English and held by 259 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The professions of authorship : essays in honor of Matthew J. Bruccoli( Book )

4 editions published in 1996 in English and held by 183 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Discovering the Maltese falcon and Sam Spade : the evolution of Dashiell Hammett's masterpiece, including John Huston's movie with Humphrey Bogart( Book )

4 editions published in 2005 in English and held by 139 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Dashiell Hammett's novel The Maltese Falcon is often named as one of the best twentieth-century novels. John Huston's film adaptation is one of the earliest examples of film noir. It made Humphrey Bogart a star, and was selected by the American Film Institute as one of the 100 greatest movies of all time. Now, Discovering The Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade uncovers from institutional and private archives a wealth of treasures about Hammett's masterpiece, his detective Sam Spade, the three film versions of the novel, stage adaptations, Sam Spade short stories, radio presentations, and even comics. Many of the discoveries here are previously unpublished. The book provides hundreds of rare documents and original source materials, including production notes for the three movie versions. Contributors include Dashiell Hammett himself, plus Jo Hammett, Richard Layman, Mary Astor, Joseph Shaw, Dorothy Parker, John Huston, Hal Wallis, Darryl F. Zanuck, Joe Gores, William F. Nolan, and more than fifty additional writers. It is illustrated with more than 200 photos, illustrations, and facsimiles. The book is a joy for fans of Hammett, Sam Spade, detective fiction, film noir, and the history of literature and cinema."--Publisher's website
Black American literature by Valerie Smith( Visual )

3 editions published in 1988 in English and held by 135 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A survey of the development of black American literature from the 1890's to the 1930's, examining the achievements of the authors who consolidated the Afro-American literary tradition at the turn of the century, the major poets and novelists of the Harlem Renaissance, and the black women writers who provide a unique, double perspective on racial and sexual oppression in their work
The hunter : and other stories by Dashiell Hammett( Recording )

2 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 109 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Dashiell Hammett is best known as both pioneer and master of American hard-boiled detective fiction, but these dozen and a half stories both affirm that reputation and present him in a different light. Along with the full-length screen treatments On the Make (which became the movie Mr. Dynamite, 1935) and The Kiss-Off (the basis for City Streets, starring Sylvia Sydney and Gary Cooper, 1931), this collection includes never before and rarely published stories that explore failed romance, courage in the face of uncertainty, hypocrisy, and crass opportunism. Collected and edited by Hammett's granddaughter, Julie Rivett, and noted Hammett scholar and biographer Richard Layman, The Hunter and Other Stories is a trove of priceless literary gems from an American master storyteller. Donna Postel reads the introduction, commentaries, and afterword; Ray Chase reads the sections Crime and Screen Stories and the appendix; Brian Holsopple reads the section Men; and Stephen Bowlby reads the se
Hardboiled mystery writers ; Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett, Ross Macdonald( Book )

3 editions published in 1989 in English and held by 76 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Dictionary of literary biography yearbook : 1999 by George Garrett( )

2 editions published between 1998 and 1999 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Updates entries already published and supplements the Dictionary of Literary Biography series with entries on newly prominent writers
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.27 (from 0.15 for American d ... to 0.63 for The Richar ...)

WorldCat IdentitiesRelated Identities
American decades
Languages
English (139)

French (5)

Covers
Shadow man : the life of Dashiell HammettSelected letters of Dashiell Hammett 1921-1960Dashiell Hammett : a daughter remembersDashiell Hammett's The Maltese falcon : a documentary volumeDashiell HammettThe professions of authorship : essays in honor of Matthew J. BruccoliDiscovering the Maltese falcon and Sam Spade : the evolution of Dashiell Hammett's masterpiece, including John Huston's movie with Humphrey BogartDictionary of literary biography yearbook : 1999