WorldCat Identities

Layman, Richard 1947-

Overview
Works: 313 works in 563 publications in 2 languages and 14,051 library holdings
Genres: Reference works  Biography  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Dictionaries  Biography‡vDictionaries  Bio-bibliography‡vDictionaries  Fiction  Bibliography  Detective and mystery fiction  Short stories 
Roles: Editor, Author, Producer, Other, Contributor, Performer, Author of introduction
Classifications: PS3515.A4347, B
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Richard Layman
 
Most widely held works by Richard Layman
American decades by Eric Bargeron( Book )

21 editions published between 1994 and 1996 in English and held by 1,871 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

American Decades: The decades of 20th -century American-the most diverse and dramatic intervals in the history of humankind-have been singled out for individual coverage in this landmark series. Changes and challenges unique to each 10-year period are covered with extraordinary depth and thoroughness in American Decades. Each volume begins with a chronology of world events to provide a context for the American experience. Next, readers can explore American life during the decade from 12 separate perspectives: Arts. -- Business and the economy. -- Education. -- Fashion. -- Government and politics. -- Law and justice. -- Lifestyles and social trends. -- Media. -- Medicine and health. -- Religion. -- Science and technology. -- Sports. Each chapter includes articles covering headlines and headline-markers, awards, achievements and other enlightening and entertaining facts reported in engaging style
American novelists since World War II by Jeffrey Helterman( Book )

14 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 1,455 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Contains alphabetically arranged entries that provide career biographies of eighty American authors who either began writing novels after 1945 or have done their most important work since then; each with a list of principal works and a bibliography
Shadow man : the life of Dashiell Hammett by Richard Layman( Book )

25 editions published between 1981 and 2011 in 3 languages and held by 948 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Hammett, the former Pinkerton detective who reinvented the mystery story in five books written between 1929 and 1934, is carefully examined. An unsentimental account of his life from a rural Maryland youth through the Pinkerton years in San Francisco, fame as a novelist, notoriety as a Hollywood screen writer, imprisonment as an uncooperative McCarthy committee witness, and an obscure death in 1961
The hunter and other stories by Dashiell Hammett( Book )

6 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in English and held by 718 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An anthology of eighteen short stories includes a number of previously unpublished pieces as well as early screen treatments for "On the Make" and "The Kiss-Off."
Selected letters of Dashiell Hammett 1921-1960 by Dashiell Hammett( Book )

9 editions published between 2000 and 2002 in English and held by 694 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Here is a volume that generations of readers have longed for - the first-ever selection from the letters of Dashiell Hammett, the onetime private detective who, in five astonishing books written between 1927 and 1933, invented the modern American crime novel. Hammett was not only the founding member of the hardboiled school, he also was its greatest practitioner, and even after Chandler and all the rest, his body of work remains the solid-gold standard. The best of his work is literature - without the quotation marks."--Jacket
Dashiell Hammett : a daughter remembers by Jo Hammett( Book )

4 editions published between 2001 and 2009 in English and French and held by 684 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Chronicles the life of the author through the eyes of his daughter, discussing his ties to Communism, his celebrity, his drinking and gambling habits, his relationship with Lillian Hellman, and his behavior as a father
Return of the Thin Man : the original screen stories by Dashiell Hammett( Book )

6 editions published between 2012 and 2013 in English and held by 666 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

After the Thin Man (Nick and Nora investigate a love triangle gone wrong after a dead man is discovered at their door) -- Another Thin Man (After a wealthy business partner of Nora's father's is murdered, Nick and Nora's investigation brings them into the killer's crosshairs)
American decades : 1960-1969( Book )

5 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 522 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The decades of 20th-century America-the most diverse and dramatic intervals in the history of humankind-have been singled out for individual coverage in this landmark series
Return of the Thin Man by Dashiell Hammett( Book )

7 editions published between 2012 and 2013 in English and held by 511 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Crime writer Dashiell Hammett elevated the genre to true literature and The Thin Man was his last - and most successful - novel. Following the enormous success of the 1934 movie version, Hammett was commissioned to write stories for additional films. He wrote two full length novellas, pulling his classic characters retired PI Nick Charles and his former debutante wife Nora back into a deadly - and fully satisfying - game of cat and mouse
Dashiell Hammett's The Maltese falcon : a documentary volume( Book )

7 editions published in 2003 in English and held by 462 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Provides researchers basic materials useful in studying The Maltese Falcon: background readings related to Hammett's life; composition of the novel; reception of the novel, including reviews and critical response; and the various media adaptations of this classic complex story
Hardboiled mystery writers : Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett, Ross Macdonald : a literary reference( Book )

6 editions published between 1989 and 2002 in English and held by 409 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"The action is violent, the characters are tough, the atmosphere's dark, the speech colloquial, and the voice of the author, whatever his origins or background, authentically American. Indeed, it has been claimed that hard-boiled crime fiction, which captured the national imagination in the bitter, hard-bitten 1930s and flourished for more than several decades thereafter, comprises the only endemically American literary prose. Certainly, in the work of Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett, and Ross Macdonald, which featured maverick, tough-minded private eyes like Philip Marlowe, Sam Spade, and Lew Archer, emerges a distinctively American, and proletarian, kind of hero for whom the lawless frontier of an earlier era has become the asphalt jungle. Amply illustrated with personal photographs and with reproductions of manuscript pages, letters, print ads, movie promotions, dust jackets, and paperback covers, this volume provides a documentary chronicle of the life beyond and the work behind the creation of some of the most masterly detective novels in popular American literature. Correspondence and interviews record the literary objectives of Chandler, Hammett, and Macdonald as well as their responses to judgments of their work in reviews of their books and the movies based on them. A generous selection of the reviews themselves both provide the evaluations of influential contemporary critics - among them, the distinguished writer Eudora Welty, who initiated a reappraisal of the entire Macdonald canon - and conjure the larger literary climate of the times. Here, then, is a rich and wide variety of engaging resources by which to view afresh a singularly American literary phenomenon"--Back cover
Child abuse by Richard Layman( Book )

4 editions published in 1990 in English and Undetermined and held by 408 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ring W. Lardner : a descriptive bibliography by Matthew J Bruccoli( Book )

9 editions published in 1976 in English and Undetermined and held by 400 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Dashiell Hammett, a descriptive bibliography by Richard Layman( Book )

9 editions published in 1979 in 3 languages and held by 400 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Dashiell Hammett by Richard Layman( Book )

6 editions published in 2000 in English and held by 259 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Maltese falcon by Richard Layman( Book )

5 editions published in 2000 in English and held by 242 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The professions of authorship : essays in honor of Matthew J. Bruccoli( Book )

3 editions published in 1996 in English and held by 183 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Black American literature by Valerie Smith( Visual )

3 editions published in 1988 in English and held by 148 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A survey of the development of black American literature from the 1890's to the 1930's, examining the achievements of the authors who consolidated the Afro-American literary tradition at the turn of the century, the major poets and novelists of the Harlem Renaissance, and the black women writers who provide a unique, double perspective on racial and sexual oppression in their work
Discovering the Maltese falcon and Sam Spade : the evolution of Dashiell Hammett's masterpiece, including John Huston's movie with Humphrey Bogart( Book )

3 editions published in 2005 in English and held by 141 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Dashiell Hammett's novel The Maltese Falcon is often named as one of the best twentieth-century novels. John Huston's film adaptation is one of the earliest examples of film noir. It made Humphrey Bogart a star, and was selected by the American Film Institute as one of the 100 greatest movies of all time. Now, Discovering The Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade uncovers from institutional and private archives a wealth of treasures about Hammett's masterpiece, his detective Sam Spade, the three film versions of the novel, stage adaptations, Sam Spade short stories, radio presentations, and even comics. Many of the discoveries here are previously unpublished. The book provides hundreds of rare documents and original source materials, including production notes for the three movie versions. Contributors include Dashiell Hammett himself, plus Jo Hammett, Richard Layman, Mary Astor, Joseph Shaw, Dorothy Parker, John Huston, Hal Wallis, Darryl F. Zanuck, Joe Gores, William F. Nolan, and more than fifty additional writers. It is illustrated with more than 200 photos, illustrations, and facsimiles. The book is a joy for fans of Hammett, Sam Spade, detective fiction, film noir, and the history of literature and cinema."--Publisher's website
Hardboiled mystery writers ; Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett, Ross Macdonald( Book )

3 editions published in 1989 in English and held by 77 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.26 (from 0.13 for American d ... to 0.58 for The profes ...)

WorldCat IdentitiesRelated Identities
American decades : 1960-1969
Languages
English (145)

French (6)

Covers
Shadow man : the life of Dashiell HammettSelected letters of Dashiell Hammett 1921-1960Dashiell Hammett : a daughter remembersAmerican decades : 1960-1969Dashiell Hammett's The Maltese falcon : a documentary volumeHardboiled mystery writers : Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett, Ross Macdonald : a literary referenceDashiell HammettThe Maltese falcon