WorldCat Identities

Markaz Dirāsāt al-Waḥdah al-ʻArabīyah (Beirut, Lebanon)

Overview
Works: 839 works in 1,302 publications in 3 languages and 14,232 library holdings
Genres: History  Conference papers and proceedings  Periodicals  Sources  Bibliography  Criticism, interpretation, etc 
Roles: Editor, Other, Publisher
Classifications: DS36, 303.482174927067
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Markaz Dirāsāt al-Waḥdah al-ʻArabīyah (Beirut, Lebanon)
The Arabs & Africa by Lebanon) Markaz Dirāsāt al-Waḥdah al-ʻArabīyah (Beirut( Book )

5 editions published between 1985 and 2012 in English and held by 266 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Concentrating on the past, present and future relations of the peoples of Africa and the Arab world this book examines interaction between Arab and African countries; Africa and the Arab-Israeli conflict; Dimensions of Afro-Arab Cooperation. The book concludes with an open discussion on the future of Afro-Arab relations
Arab-Iranian relations by K Haseeb( Book )

3 editions published between 1998 and 2013 in English and held by 221 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In this study, Arab and Iranian scholars explore the state of economic, political, educational and strategic relations between the Arab world and Iran in the context of the historical and cultural past
Contemporary Arab affairs : journal of the Centre for Arab Unity Studies( )

in English and held by 218 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The future of the Arab nation : challenges and options by K Haseeb( Book )

4 editions published between 1991 and 2014 in English and Multiple languages and held by 211 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This set re-issues 4 volumes originally published between 1985 and 1991. They Examine the historical process of social formation that gave rise to the communal consciousness of the Arab nation and determined its sense of identityPresent detailed analysis of resources in the Arab world, including population, employment, oil and water suppliesDiscuss dimensions of Afro-Arab co-operation and the future of Afro-Arab RelationsAnalyse the relations between state and society in the Arab World
Democracy, human rights and law in Islamic thought by Muḥammad ʻĀbid Jābirī( Book )

5 editions published between 2008 and 2015 in English and held by 204 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Mohammad Abed al-Jabri is one of the most influential political philosophers in the contemporary Middle East. A critical rationalist in the tradition of Avincenna and Averroes, he emphasises the distinctive political and cultural heritage of the Arab world whilst rejecting the philosophical discourses that have been used to obscure its democratic deficit." "This volume introduces an English-language audience for the first time to writings that have had a major impact on Arab political thought. Wide-ranging in scope yet focused in detail, these essays interrogate concepts such as democracy, law, and human rights, looking at how they have been applied in the history of the Arab world, and show that they are determined by political and social context, not by Islamic doctrine." "Jabri argues that in order to develop democratic societies in which human rights are respected, the Arab world cannot simply rely on old texts and traditions. Nor can it import democratic models from the West. Instead, he says, a new tradition will have to be forged by today's Arabs themselves, on their own terms."--Jacket
Arab monetary integration : issues and prerequisites by K Haseeb( Book )

5 editions published between 1980 and 2015 in English and held by 168 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Britain and Arab unity : a documentary history from the Treaty of Versailles to the end of World War II by Yūnān Labīb Rizq( Book )

2 editions published between 2009 and 2015 in English and held by 166 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

British attitudes towards Arab unity have frequently been a source of controversy. Younan Labib Rizk here provides a coherent Arab perspective derived from considerable in-depth research into British archives, covering the period 1919 to 1945. His analysis reveals how British government policy was formed in this period and concludes that repeated British administrations were consistent in their concern and hostility towards the notion of Arab unity. While this conforms with traditional Arab views of British policy in the Levant and the Arabian Peninsula, the importance of Rizk's work lies in h
Arab military industry : capability, performance, and impact by Yazīd Ṣāyigh( Book )

1 edition published in 1992 in English and held by 164 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The increased activity of Third World arms producers and exporters is a growing phenomenon in international security. Little systematic study has been made of the incentives, performance and prospects of Arab defence production. This book tackles this subject and examines the continuing debate about the pros and cons of indigenous production in the Arab case. It looks in detail at the theoretical and strategic context of Arab arms production, local defence production in the Arab countries and assesses Arab military industrialisation. Yezid Sayigh presents a comprehensive overview of the present reality of Arab defence industries, and concludes that Arab countries will be frustrated in their desire to emulate foreign military development until the right industrial environment is created
Imagining the Arab other : how Arabs and non-Arabs view each other by Tahar Labib Djedidi( Book )

5 editions published in 2008 in English and held by 156 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

& Nbsp; In this innovative study, Professor Tahar Labib seeks to understand how the 'Other' is viewed in Arab culture, and vice versa. Imagining The Arab Other examines how Turks, Europeans, Christians and Iranians have been represented in the arts, opinions and cultures of the Arab world. Conversely, it also explores the intellectual representation of 'The Arab' in other cultures. It demonstrates the central role of the Catholic Church in ascribing to the Arab peoples a set of characteristics associated with the 'Other'. Labib places this survey in the context of theoretical debates, started by Edward Said's 'Orientalism', on the construction of'Other'. With its diversity of perspectives, Imagining The Arab Other offers a new way of understanding of identity and cultural difference in the Middle East, one which goes beyond the Orientalist / Occidentalist paradigm
The formation of Arab reason : text, tradition and the construction of modernity in the Arab world by Muḥammad ʻĀbid Jābirī( Book )

5 editions published between 2010 and 2011 in English and Multiple languages and held by 116 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Since the earliest period of Islamic history, Arab thought and reason has been dominated by a reverence for tradition and textual analysis. In this groundbreaking work, the great contemporary Arab philosopher Mohammed Abed al-Jabri seeks to chart a course towards modernity via the proposition that respect for textualism and tradition are not inconsistent with rationalism, and that both history and philosophy are key to the evolution of knowledge systems and ways of reasoning in Arab culture
Islamic land tax = Al-Kharāj : from the Islamic conquests to the ʻAbbāsid period by Ghaydāʼ Khazanah Kātibī( Book )

3 editions published in 2010 in English and held by 94 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

al-Mustaqbal al-ʻArabī( )

in Arabic and held by 79 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

al-Muthaqqafūn fī al-ḥaḍārah al-ʻArabīyah : miḥnat Ibn Ḥanbal wa-nakbat Ibn Rushd by Muḥammad ʻĀbid Jābirī( Book )

4 editions published between 1995 and 2000 in Arabic and held by 39 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Intellectuals and intellectual life in the Arabic and Islamic civilization, Aḥmad ibn Muḥammad ibn Ḥanbal, 780-855, and Averroes, 1126-1198, as examples
Bibliyūghrāfiyā al-waḥdah al-ʻArabīyah, 1908-1980( Book )

in Arabic and held by 36 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The historical formation of the Arab nation by ʻAbd al-ʻAzīz Dūrī( Book )

6 editions published between 1984 and 2009 in Arabic and held by 36 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

al-Tanmiyah al-ʻArabīyah : al-wāqiʻ al-rāhin wa-al-mustaqbal by Ibrāhīm Saʻd al-Dīn( Book )

7 editions published between 1984 and 1989 in Arabic and held by 36 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mafhūm al-waṭan fī fikr al-kātibah al-ʻArabīyah by Šīrīn Abū-ʼn-Naǧā( Book )

3 editions published in 2003 in Arabic and held by 34 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Nationalism in literature; politics in literature; Arab countries; Arabic literature; women authors
Qirāʼāt fī al-fikr al-qawmī( Book )

in Arabic and held by 32 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.48 (from 0.03 for Democracy, ... to 0.79 for al-Muthaqq ...)

Arab-Iranian relations
Alternative Names
Arap Birliği Araştırma Merkezi

Arap Birliǧi Araştırma Merkezi (Beirut, Lebanon)

Arap Birligi Arastirma Merkezi (Bejrút, Libanon)

Beirut Centre for Arab Unity Studies

Center for Arab Unity Studies

Center for Arab Unity Studies Bairūt

Center for Arab Unity Studies (Beirut)

Center for Arab Unity Studies (Beirut, Lebanon)

Center for Arab Unity Studies (Bejrút, Libanon)

Center for Arab Unity Studies (Beyrouth)

Center for Arab Unity Studies (Beyrouth, Liban)

Centre d’études pour l’unité arabe (Bejrút, Libanon)

Centre d'études pour l'unité arabe

Centre d'Études pour l'Unité Arabe Bairūt

Centre d'études pour l'unité arabe (Beirut, Lebanon)

Centre d'études pour l'Unité arabe (Beyrouth)

Centre d'études pour l'unité arabe (Beyrouth, Liban)

Centre for Arab Unity Studies

Centre for Arab Unity Studies Bairūt

Centre for Arab Unity Studies (Beirut)

Centre for Arab Unity Studies (Beirut, Lebanon)

Centre for Arab Unity Studies (Bejrút, Libanon)

Centre for Arab Unity Studies ((Beyrouth)

Centre for Arab Unity Studies (Beyrouth, Liban)

Markaz Dirāsāt al-Waḥda al-ʿArabīya <Beirut>

Markaz dirāsāt al-waḥda al-ʿarabiyya

Markaz dirāsāt al-waḥdah al-ʿarabīyah

Markaz Dirāsāt al-Waḥdah al-ʿArabīyah, Beirut

Markaz dirāsāt al-Waḥdah al-ʿArabīyah (Beyrouth)

Markaz Dirāsāt Waḥdah al-ʻArabīyah.

Markaz-i Muṭālaʻat-i Vaḥdat-i ʻArabī (Beirut, Lebanon)

بيروت مركز دراسات الوحدة العربية

مركز دراسات الوحدة العربية

مركز دراسات الوحدة العربية (Beirut, Lebanon)

مركز دراسات الوحدة العربية (Beirut, Lubnan)

مركز دراسات الوحدة العربية (بيروت)

‏مركز دراسات الوحدة العربية (بيروت، لبنان).

مركز دراسات الوحدة العربية (يروت، لبنان)

‏مركز دراسات الوحدة العريية.

‏مركز دراسات الوحدة الغربية.

مركز دراسات الوحده العربيه.

مرکز مطالعات وحدت عربى (بيروت، لبنان)

Languages
Covers
Democracy, human rights and law in Islamic thoughtBritain and Arab unity : a documentary history from the Treaty of Versailles to the end of World War IIArab military industry : capability, performance, and impactImagining the Arab other : how Arabs and non-Arabs view each otherThe formation of Arab reason : text, tradition and the construction of modernity in the Arab worldIslamic land tax = Al-Kharāj : from the Islamic conquests to the ʻAbbāsid period