WorldCat Identities

Findlay, J. N. (John Niemeyer) 1903-1987

Overview
Works: 164 works in 764 publications in 6 languages and 17,910 library holdings
Genres: History  Criticism, interpretation, etc 
Roles: Author, Translator, Contributor, Author of introduction, Editor, Other, wpr, Commentator, Creator, pre
Classifications: B2928.E5, 193
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by J. N Findlay
Hegel : a re-examination by J. N Findlay( Book )

78 editions published between 1958 and 2015 in 3 languages and held by 2,110 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Scholarly interpretation of the idealism and the dialectical method of the eminent German thinker
Wittgenstein, a critique by J. N Findlay( )

25 editions published between 1984 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,634 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This major study is a comprehensive commentary on Ludwig Wittgenstein's philosophical ideas
Phenomenology of spirit by Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel( Book )

35 editions published between 1977 and 2009 in English and held by 1,415 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Hegel's Phenomenology was written, so the story goes, on the eve of Napoleon's destruction of the Holy Roman Empire and at the beginning of the German 'Wars of Liberation.' The book itself is no less dramatic and revolutionary. It is Hegel's grandest experiment, changing our vision of the world and the very nature of the philosophical enterprise. Hegel puts into harmony ethics and autonomy, ancient philosophy and tragedy, Byronic Romanticism, German poetry, the Enlightenment, the French Revolution, the concept of virtue, the history of religion (including an ambiguous defense and critique of modern Christianity), the beginnings of a new philosophy of science and Kant's moral philosophy. All are tied together with the dazzling if sometimes bewildering leaps in logic that have come to be known as 'Hegel's dialectic.'
Logical investigations by Edmund Husserl( Book )

19 editions published between 1970 and 2015 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,360 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Illuminated Manuscripts, comics, fine bindings, the classics of children's literature, artists' books and their working documents - these are just some of the items to be found in the National Art Library at the V & A. This volume explores the ways in which books represent art and literature, and how the marriage of word and image can create a work of art in its own right." "In a series of thematic chapters, the authors draw on their wide-ranging expertise to look at the Library's major holdings, and in the process illustrate the main aspects of book design and production over the centuries. With medieval books of hours sitting alongside contemporary paperback novels, the choice is wonderfully varied, from Leonardo da Vinci to Sir Eduardo Paolozzi, Joan of Arc to Judge Dredd, Aesop to Charles Dickens, and Babar the Elephant to Ian Fleming." "The colour plates, accompanied by a clear and informative text, demonstrate the many facets of the art of bookmaking. This compendium, spanning six centuries, will be of interest to all those with a love of art, literary history and illustration."--BOOK JACKET./ñR︡
The discipline of the cave : Gifford lectures given at the University of St. Andrews, December 1964--February 1965 by J. N Findlay( Book )

47 editions published between 1960 and 2013 in 5 languages and held by 1,337 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

First published in 1966, The Discipline of the Cave is the first series of a course of Gifford lectures on philosophical issues. J N Findlay's lectures use the image of the Cave to show how familiarity is full of restrictions, and involves puzzles and discrepancies unable to be resolved or removed. Such philosophical perplexities may be a result of the misunderstanding and abuse of ordinary ways of thinking and speaking. They may also be a way of 'drawing us towards being', providing proof of the absurdity of ordinary thought, speech and experience unless modified and added to in
Plato: the written and unwritten doctrines by J. N Findlay( Book )

30 editions published between 1973 and 2011 in 3 languages and held by 1,196 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

J.N. Findlay, distinguished scholar and acknowledged expert on Plato, argues persuasively for a new interpretation of the Platonic writings. He believes that Plato's Unwritten Doctrines were present in the background of all the great philosopher's mature written work. With the use of Aristotelian and other writings on these reported doctrines he demonstrates that they admit of an intelligible elucidation and they direct indispensable light upon the full meaning of the written Dialogues. The author emphasizes the valuable use of Platonic notions and methods by the Neoplatonists and the Schoolmen
Language, mind, and value; philosophical essays by J. N Findlay( Book )

40 editions published between 1963 and 2018 in English and Undetermined and held by 850 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Values and intentions; a study in value-theory and philosophy of mind by J. N Findlay( Book )

38 editions published between 1961 and 2018 in English and Undetermined and held by 825 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a 'material value-ethic', ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids altogether dogmatic intuitive methods. It argues that an organised framework of ends of action follows from the attitude underlying our moral pronouncements, and that this framework, while allowing personal elaboration, is not a matter for individual decision. The relations connecting our fundamental value-judgements with one another, and the frames of mind behind them, are not rigorously deductive but are sufficiently compelling to be called logical. Something of a 'transcendental deduction' of a well-ordered family for our basic heads of valuation is both possible and necessary. The work is further critical of the notion of obligation which has been extended far beyond legal contracts and understandings. The book also contains a chapter on religion
Kant and the transcendental object : a hermeneutic study by J. N Findlay( Book )

19 editions published between 1981 and 2011 in English and held by 760 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This is a comprehensive examination of Kant's metaphysic of transcendental idealism, which is everywhere presupposed by his critical theory of knowledge, his theory of the moral and the aesthetic judgement, and his rational approach to religion. It shows that this metaphysic is profoundly coherent, despite frequent inconsistencies of expression, and that it throws an indispensable light on his critical enquiries
Studies in philosophy : British Academy lectures by J. N Findlay( Book )

20 editions published in 1966 in English and Undetermined and held by 695 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Professor Findlay has selected and introduced ten brilliant philosophical lectures given at the British Academy during the last half century. They are the product of a remarkably creative period in the history of philosophical thought and, in general, illustrate the strong British penchant for exact, cautious and logical thinking
The transcendence of the cave : (sequel to The discipline of the cave) by J. N Findlay( Book )

10 editions published between 1967 and 2014 in English and held by 630 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

First published in 1967, The Transcendence of the Cave is the second in a series of Gifford Lectures on philosophical issues, and continues the themes of the first series entitled The Discipline of the Cave. In the opening chapters, J N Findlay sketches an ontology, an axiology and a theology which are 'phenomenological' in the sense of Husserl, as they attempt to show that a 'firmament' of logical and other values emerges out of the contingencies of first order liking and interest. The synthesis of these values in an object having many paradoxical, mystical-religious properties is also a n
Ascent to the absolute: metaphysical papers and lectures by J. N Findlay( Book )

24 editions published between 1970 and 2020 in English and Undetermined and held by 622 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Axiological ethics by J. N Findlay( Book )

22 editions published between 1970 and 1989 in 3 languages and held by 593 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Psyche and cerebrum by J. N Findlay( Book )

14 editions published in 1972 in English and held by 570 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Meinong's theory of objects and values by J. N Findlay( Book )

30 editions published between 1933 and 2004 in English and held by 553 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Plato and Platonism : an introduction by J. N Findlay( Book )

18 editions published between 1978 and 1994 in English and German and held by 506 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Hegel : a Re-Examination by J. N Findlay( )

1 edition published in 2014 in English and held by 423 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

First published in 2002. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company
Hegel's Science of logic by Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel( Book )

5 editions published between 1969 and 1989 in English and held by 151 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The philosophy of Hegel; an introduction and re-examination by J. N Findlay( Book )

7 editions published between 1958 and 1993 in English and held by 150 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Meinong's theory of objects by J. N Findlay( Book )

13 editions published between 1933 and 1963 in English and held by 103 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.40 (from 0.14 for Hegel : a ... to 0.88 for Filosofia ...)

Phenomenology of spirit
Covers
Phenomenology of spiritLogical investigationsThe discipline of the cave : Gifford lectures given at the University of St. Andrews, December 1964--February 1965Plato: the written and unwritten doctrinesPsyche and cerebrum
Alternative Names
Findlay, J. N.

Findlay, J. N. 1903-

Findlay, J. N. 1903-1987

Findlay, J. N. (John Niemeyer), 1903-

Findlay, John N.‏

Findlay, John Niemeyer

Findlay, John Niemeyer 1903-

Findlay, John Niemeyer 1903-1987

John Niemeyer Findlay filosofo sudafricano

John Niemeyer Findlay filosoof uit Zuid-Afrika (1903-1987)

John Niemeyer Findlay South African Philosopher

John Niemeyer Findlay südafrikanischer Philosoph

ジョン・ニーメイヤー・フィンドレイ

Languages