WorldCat Identities

Findlay, J. N. (John Niemeyer) 1903-1987

Overview
Works: 40 works in 219 publications in 3 languages and 9,803 library holdings
Genres: History  Biography  Criticism, interpretation, etc 
Roles: Author, Editor, Translator, Author of introduction
Classifications: B2928.E5, 193
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about J. N Findlay
 
Most widely held works by J. N Findlay
Hegel : a re-examination by J. N Findlay( Book )
29 editions published between 1958 and 2014 in English and held by 1,333 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Scholarly interpretation of the idealism and the dialectical method of the eminent German thinker
Phenomenology of spirit by Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel( Book )
20 editions published between 1977 and 2009 in English and held by 1,319 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Hegel's Phenomenology was written, so the story goes, on the eve of Napoleon's destruction of the Holy Roman Empire and at the beginning of the German 'Wars of Liberation.' The book itself is no less dramatic and revolutionary. It is Hegel's grandest experiment, changing our vision of the world and the very nature of the philosophical enterprise. Hegel puts into harmony ethics and autonomy, ancient philosophy and tragedy, Byronic Romanticism, German poetry, the Enlightenment, the French Revolution, the concept of virtue, the history of religion (including an ambiguous defense and critique of modern Christianity), the beginnings of a new philosophy of science and Kant's moral philosophy. All are tied together with the dazzling if sometimes bewildering leaps in logic that have come to be known as 'Hegel's dialectic.'
The discipline of the cave: Gifford lectures given at the University of St. Andrews, December 1964--February 1965 by J. N Findlay( Book )
22 editions published between 1966 and 2013 in English and held by 828 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
First published in 1966, The Discipline of the Cave is the first series of a course of Gifford lectures on philosophical issues. J N Findlay's lectures use the image of the Cave to show how familiarity is full of restrictions, and involves puzzles and discrepancies unable to be resolved or removed. Such philosophical perplexities may be a result of the misunderstanding and abuse of ordinary ways of thinking and speaking. They may also be a way of 'drawing us towards being', providing proof of the absurdity of ordinary thought, speech and experience unless modified and added to in
Language, mind, and value; philosophical essays by J. N Findlay( Book )
9 editions published between 1963 and 1978 in English and held by 743 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Values and intentions; a study in value-theory and philosophy of mind by J. N Findlay( Book )
17 editions published between 1961 and 2015 in English and Undetermined and held by 742 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a 'material value-ethic', ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids altogether dogmatic intuitive methods. It argues that an organised framework of ends of action follows from the attitude underlying our moral pronouncements, and that this framework, while allowing personal elaboration, is not a matter for individual decision. The relations connecting our fundamental valu
Studies in philosophy : British Academy lectures by J. N Findlay( Book )
5 editions published in 1966 in English and held by 720 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Wittgenstein, a critique by J. N Findlay( Book )
11 editions published between 1984 and 2006 in English and Undetermined and held by 682 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Studie over het werk van de Oostenrijks-Britse wijsgeer (1889-1951)
Kant and the transcendental object : a hermeneutic study by J. N Findlay( Book )
12 editions published in 1981 in English and Undetermined and held by 676 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This is a comprehensive examination of Kant's metaphysic of transcendental idealism, which is everywhere presupposed by his critical theory of knowledge, his theory of the moral and the aesthetic judgement, and his rational approach to religion. It shows that this metaphysic is profoundly coherent, despite frequent inconsistencies of expression, and that it throws an indispensable light on his critical enquiries
The transcendence of the cave: (sequel to The discipline of the cave) by J. N Findlay( Book )
14 editions published between 1967 and 2014 in English and held by 665 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
First published in 1967, The Transcendence of the Cave is the second in a series of Gifford Lectures on philosophical issues, and continues the themes of the first series entitled The Discipline of the Cave. In the opening chapters, J N Findlay sketches an ontology, an axiology and a theology which are 'phenomenological' in the sense of Husserl, as they attempt to show that a 'firmament' of logical and other values emerges out of the contingencies of first order liking and interest. The synthesis of these values in an object having many paradoxical, mystical-religious properties is also a n
Meinong's theory of objects and values by J. N Findlay( Book )
25 editions published between 1933 and 2004 in English and held by 612 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Ascent to the absolute: metaphysical papers and lectures by J. N Findlay( Book )
5 editions published in 1970 in English and held by 540 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Logical investigations by Edmund Husserl( )
13 editions published between 1970 and 2001 in English and held by 361 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The key sections of Husserl's classic and influential work on phenomenology are available for the first time in one paperback volume, specially abridged and edited, with a new introduction by Dermot Moran
The philosophy of Hegel; an introduction and re-examination by J. N Findlay( Book )
4 editions published between 1958 and 1966 in English and held by 155 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
La transcendencia de la caverna : continuación de "La disciplina de la caverna" by J. N Findlay( Book )
3 editions published in 1969 in Spanish and held by 23 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
La disciplina de la caverna by J. N Findlay( Book )
2 editions published in 1969 in Spanish and held by 16 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Plato: the written and unwritten doctrines by J. N Findlay( Book )
1 edition published in 1974 in English and held by 11 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
J.N. Findlay, distinguished scholar and acknowledged expert on Plato, argues persuasively for a new interpretation of the Platonic writings. He believes that Plato's Unwritten Doctrines were present in the background of all the great philosopher's mature written work. With the use of Aristotelian and other writings on these reported doctrines he demonstrates that they admit of an intelligible elucidation and they direct indispensable light upon the full meaning of the written Dialogues.The author emphasizes the valuable use of Platonic notions and methods by the Neoplatonists and the Schoolmen
Logical investigations by Edmund Husserl( Book )
1 edition published in 2001 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Hegel's Philosophy of nature; being part two of the Encyclopaedia of the philosophical sciences (1830) by Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel( Book )
3 editions published between 2004 and 2007 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Logical investigations by Edmund Husserl( Book )
1 edition published in 2001 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Hegel's Philosophy of mind: being part three of the 'Encyclopaedia of the philosophical sciences' (1830) by Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel( Book )
1 edition published in 1988 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.60 (from 0.47 for Logical in ... to 1.00 for Filosofia ...)
Alternative Names
Findlay, J. N. 1903-1987
Findlay, J. N. (John Niemeyer), 1903-
Findlay, John Niemeyer, 1903-
Findlay, John Niemeyer 1903-1987
Languages
English (191)
Spanish (5)
Italian (2)
Covers