WorldCat Identities

Findlay, J. N. (John Niemeyer) 1903-1987

Overview
Works: 93 works in 637 publications in 5 languages and 15,961 library holdings
Genres: History  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Biography 
Roles: Author, Translator, Editor, Author of introduction, wpr, pre, Other, Commentator
Classifications: B2928.E5, 193
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by J. N Findlay
Hegel : a re-examination by J. N Findlay( Book )

70 editions published between 1958 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,446 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Scholarly interpretation of the idealism and the dialectical method of the eminent German thinker
Phenomenology of spirit by Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel( Book )

34 editions published between 1977 and 2013 in English and held by 1,379 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Hegel's Phenomenology was written, so the story goes, on the eve of Napoleon's destruction of the Holy Roman Empire and at the beginning of the German 'Wars of Liberation.' The book itself is no less dramatic and revolutionary. It is Hegel's grandest experiment, changing our vision of the world and the very nature of the philosophical enterprise. Hegel puts into harmony ethics and autonomy, ancient philosophy and tragedy, Byronic Romanticism, German poetry, the Enlightenment, the French Revolution, the concept of virtue, the history of religion (including an ambiguous defense and critique of modern Christianity), the beginnings of a new philosophy of science and Kant's moral philosophy. All are tied together with the dazzling if sometimes bewildering leaps in logic that have come to be known as 'Hegel's dialectic.'
The discipline of the cave : Gifford lectures given at the University of St. Andrews, December 1964--February 1965 by J. N Findlay( Book )

39 editions published between 1960 and 2013 in 3 languages and held by 843 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

First published in 1966, The Discipline of the Cave is the first series of a course of Gifford lectures on philosophical issues. J N Findlay's lectures use the image of the Cave to show how familiarity is full of restrictions, and involves puzzles and discrepancies unable to be resolved or removed. Such philosophical perplexities may be a result of the misunderstanding and abuse of ordinary ways of thinking and speaking. They may also be a way of 'drawing us towards being', providing proof of the absurdity of ordinary thought, speech and experience unless modified and added to in
Language, mind, and value; philosophical essays by J. N Findlay( Book )

34 editions published between 1963 and 2017 in English and held by 788 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Values and intentions; a study in value-theory and philosophy of mind by J. N Findlay( Book )

33 editions published between 1961 and 2016 in English and held by 764 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a 'material value-ethic', ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids altogether dogmatic intuitive methods. It argues that an organised framework of ends of action follows from the attitude underlying our moral pronouncements, and that this framework, while allowing personal elaboration, is not a matter for individual decision. The relations connecting our fundamental valu
Plato: the written and unwritten doctrines by J. N Findlay( Book )

28 editions published between 1974 and 2011 in 3 languages and held by 725 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

J.N. Findlay, distinguished scholar and acknowledged expert on Plato, argues persuasively for a new interpretation of the Platonic writings. He believes that Plato's Unwritten Doctrines were present in the background of all the great philosopher's mature written work. With the use of Aristotelian and other writings on these reported doctrines he demonstrates that they admit of an intelligible elucidation and they direct indispensable light upon the full meaning of the written Dialogues. The author emphasizes the valuable use of Platonic notions and methods by the Neoplatonists and the Schoolmen
Studies in philosophy : British Academy lectures by J. N Findlay( Book )

20 editions published in 1966 in English and Undetermined and held by 721 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Professor Findlay has selected and introduced ten brilliant philosophical lectures given at the British Academy during the last half century. They are the product of a remarkably creative period in the history of philosophical thought and, in general, illustrate the strong British penchant for exact, cautious and logical thinking
The transcendence of the cave: (sequel to The discipline of the cave) by J. N Findlay( Book )

39 editions published between 1967 and 2014 in English and Spanish and held by 701 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

First published in 1967, The Transcendence of the Cave isthe second in a series of Gifford Lectures on philosophical issues, and continues the themes of the first series entitled The Discipline of the Cave. In the opening chapters, J N Findlay sketches an ontology, an axiology and a theology which are ' phenomenological' in the sense of Husserl, as they attempt to show that a ' firmament' of logical and other values emerges out of the contingencies of first order liking and interest. The synthesis of these values in an object having many
Kant and the transcendental object : a hermeneutic study by J. N Findlay( Book )

20 editions published between 1981 and 2011 in English and held by 663 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This is a comprehensive examination of Kant's metaphysic of transcendental idealism, which is everywhere presupposed by his critical theory of knowledge, his theory of the moral and the aesthetic judgement, and his rational approach to religion. It shows that this metaphysic is profoundly coherent, despite frequent inconsistencies of expression, and that it throws an indispensable light on his critical enquiries
Axiological ethics by J. N Findlay( Book )

18 editions published between 1970 and 1991 in 3 languages and held by 565 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ascent to the absolute: metaphysical papers and lectures by J. N Findlay( Book )

15 editions published between 1970 and 1988 in English and held by 551 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Meinong's theory of objects and values by J. N Findlay( Book )

30 editions published between 1933 and 2004 in English and held by 547 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Plato and Platonism : an introduction by J. N Findlay( Book )

16 editions published between 1978 and 1994 in English and German and held by 528 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Psyche and cerebrum by J. N Findlay( Book )

13 editions published in 1972 in English and held by 386 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Hegel's Science of logic by Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel( Book )

6 editions published between 1969 and 2005 in English and held by 155 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"The purpose of the Cambridge Hegel Translations is to offer translations of the best modern German editions of Hegel's work in a uniform format suitable for Hegel scholars, together with philosophical introductions and full editorial apparatus. This new translation of The Science of Logic by G.W.F. Hegel (also known as his Greater Logic) includes the revised Book One (1832), Book Two (1813), and Book Three (1816). Recent research has given us a detailed picture of the process that led Hegel to his final conception of the System of Philosophy and of the place of the Logic within it. We now understand how and why Hegel distanced himself from Schelling, how radical this break with his early mentor was, and to what extent it entailed a return (but with a difference) to Fichte and Kant. In the introduction to the volume, George di Giovanni presents in synoptic form the results of recent scholarship on the subject, and, while recognizing the fault lines in Hegel's System that allow opposite interpretations, argues that the Logic marks the end of classical metaphysics. The translation is accompanied by a full apparatus of historical and explanatory notes"--
The philosophy of Hegel; an introduction and re-examination by J. N Findlay( Book )

6 editions published between 1958 and 1993 in English and held by 153 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Meinong's theory of objects by J. N Findlay( Book )

11 editions published in 1933 in English and held by 99 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The systematic unity of value by J. N Findlay( Book )

5 editions published in 1968 in English and held by 75 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Studies in the philosophy of J.N. Findlay( Book )

1 edition published in 1985 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

For the first time, this volume presents a series of critical and constructive studies in the philosophy of J.N. Findlay. His contributions to both historical and systematic philosophy are examined by outstanding authors in the field, many of whom are his former students and colleagues. The value of these essays is heightened by Findlay's own contributions: two autobiographical chapters detail the evolution of his thought and relationships, and in a final section of comments, he evaluates and responds to the studies in this collection
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.45 (from 0.27 for Hegel : a ... to 0.91 for Printed bo ...)

Phenomenology of spirit
Alternative Names
Findlay, J. N.

Findlay, J. N. 1903-

Findlay, J. N. 1903-1987

Findlay, J. N. (John Niemeyer), 1903-

Findlay, John N.‏

Findlay, John Niemeyer

Findlay, John Niemeyer 1903-

Findlay, John Niemeyer 1903-1987

John Niemeyer Findlay filosofo sudafricano

John Niemeyer Findlay filosoof uit Zuid-Afrika (1903-1987)

John Niemeyer Findlay South African Philosopher

John Niemeyer Findlay südafrikanischer Philosoph

ジョン・ニーメイヤー・フィンドレイ

Languages
English (417)

Italian (11)

Spanish (10)

German (6)

Chinese (3)

Covers
Phenomenology of spiritThe discipline of the cave : Gifford lectures given at the University of St. Andrews, December 1964--February 1965Plato: the written and unwritten doctrinesThe transcendence of the cave: (sequel to The discipline of the cave)Psyche and cerebrumHegel's Science of logic