WorldCat Identities

Kontarsky, Aloys

Works: 763 works in 1,514 publications in 4 languages and 10,164 library holdings
Genres: Chamber music  Sonatas  Art music  Arrangements (Music)  Variations (Music) 
Roles: Performer, Instrumentalist, Contributor, Proofreader, Conductor, Other, 811, Honoree, Originator, Author, Dedicatee
Classifications: M447, 786.2
Publication Timeline
Most widely held works by Aloys Kontarsky
Structures : pour deux pianos : [premier livre et deuxième livre] by Pierre Boulez( Recording )

45 editions published between 1960 and 1992 in 5 languages and held by 385 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Momente ; for soprano, 4 choral groups, 13 instrumentalists (1965 version) by Karlheinz Stockhausen( Recording )

17 editions published between 1965 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 378 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Composers-conductors( )

3 editions published in 2010 in German and Multiple languages and held by 245 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Turangalîla-Symphonie ; Quatuor pour la fin du temps ; Le merle noir by Olivier Messiaen( )

2 editions published in 2005 and held by 243 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Prozession : for tamtam, viola, elektronium, piano, filters and potentiometers by Karlheinz Stockhausen( Recording )

15 editions published between 1967 and 1977 in 3 languages and held by 237 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Momente : Version 1965 by Karlheinz Stockhausen( )

2 editions published in 2014 in German and held by 236 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Turangalîla-symphonie ; Quatuor pour la fin du temps by Olivier Messiaen( Recording )

13 editions published in 1987 in 4 languages and held by 228 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mantra by Karlheinz Stockhausen( Recording )

20 editions published between 1971 and 2003 in 4 languages and held by 228 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The composition of Mantra was a turning point for Stockhausen. After a period in the second half of the 1960s during which his music had taken a decidedly speculative turn, Mantra signalled a return to the intricately systematised approach to musical construction that had characterised his serial works of the 1950s, and at the same time established a set of concerns that would underpin his music for much of the remainder of his life. This return to serial preoccupations was, however, by no means a regression. Mantra expanded the possibilities and potentialities of the serial principle, effecting a decisive shift away from the more austere and abstract music of the 1950s, and effectively re-opening the doors to melody, theatre, extra-musical reference, and allusions to tonal harmony
Archetypon II "Für Anton" ; Nonet ; Composé ; Die Richter ; Infinity by Milko Kelemen( )

3 editions published between 1998 and 2005 and held by 226 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sonata for two pianos & percussion by Béla Bartók( Recording )

16 editions published between 1977 and 1992 in 4 languages and held by 216 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Recorded Feb. 12-16, 1979 (1st work) and Apr. 17, 1976 (2nd work), Clapp Recital Hall, University of Iowa, Iowa City
Piano & orchestra by Gunnar Berg( )

4 editions published between 2003 and 2009 and held by 214 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Piano artissimo : piano music of our century( )

2 editions published in 1992 and held by 213 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Siegfried Palm, cello recording by Siegfried Palm( )

2 editions published between 1968 and 1991 and held by 211 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Music for flute and piano by Severino Gazzelloni( Recording )

14 editions published between 1960 and 1970 in 3 languages and held by 208 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Haydn-Variationen, op. 56b ; Schumann-Variationen, op. 23 ; Walzer, op .39 by Johannes Brahms( )

1 edition published in 2010 and held by 207 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Kurzwellen by Karlheinz Stockhausen( Recording )

19 editions published between 1970 and 1992 in 4 languages and held by 193 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Aus den sieben Tagen by Karlheinz Stockhausen( Recording )

27 editions published between 1968 and 1993 in 4 languages and held by 178 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Der Zyklus "Aus den sieben Tagen" besteht aus 15 Kompositionen, die im Mai 1968 entstanden sind. "Ich habe diese Musik, die aus der geistigen Einstimmung der Musiker durch kurze Texte entsteht, intuitive Musik genannt." (K. Stockhausen) (Beih. zum CD-Set, S. 12) Die "sieben Tage", auf die im Titel des Kompositionszyklus hingewiesen wird, sind der 7. bis 13. Mai 1968. Das vorliegende CD-Set enthält nur 12 Kompositionen der insgesamt 15, dabei jedoch drei in zwei Versionen. Folgende drei Kompositionen fehlen auf den CDs: Oben und unten (ein Theaterstück für einen Mann, eine Frau, ein Kind und vier Instrumentalisten); Litanei (für Sprecher und Chor); Ankunft (für Sprecher und Sprechchor)
Zyklus : for one percussionist ; Refrain : for three performers by Karlheinz Stockhausen( Recording )

12 editions published between 1961 and 2011 in 3 languages and held by 162 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Complete piano music by Karlheinz Stockhausen( Recording )

8 editions published between 1965 and 1967 in 3 languages and held by 144 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Structures, for 2 pianos 1st and 2d books by Pierre Boulez( Recording )

6 editions published between 1968 and 1970 and held by 140 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
Audience Level
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.45 (from 0.36 for Haydn-Vari ... to 0.80 for August-Hal ...)

WorldCat IdentitiesRelated Identities
Alternative Names
Aloys Kontarsky deutscher Pianist

Aloys Kontarsky Duits pianist

Aloys Kontarsky German pianist

Kontarsky, A. 1931-