WorldCat Identities

Fussell, Betty Harper

Overview
Works: 29 works in 83 publications in 1 language and 5,003 library holdings
Genres: History  Biography  Folklore  Cookbooks  Autobiographies  Biographies  Essays  Dictionaries  Field guides  Internet videos 
Roles: Author, Narrator, Commentator
Classifications: TX715, 633.150973
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Betty Harper Fussell
 
Most widely held works by Betty Harper Fussell
The story of corn by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

6 editions published between 1992 and 1999 in English and held by 1,037 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In an authoritative, wise and wholly original blend of social history, art, science and anthropology, Betty Fussell tells the story of corn in a narrative that is as uniquely hybrid as her subject. It is a story that can be told in the language of myth or industry, of sacred ritual or secular farming, but in any language it makes clear that all the civilizations of the Western Hemisphere have been built on corn. The great epic of this amazing grain and of the people who for seven centuries have planted, eaten, worshipped, processed and profited from it reaches into every corner of American life--not just its food but also its poetry, its commerce, its religion and, of course, its booze. In her beautifully balanced text as well as in hundreds of extraordinary illustrations, Fussell juxtaposes the many facets of corn's history and influence to surprising, dramatic effect. The Story of Corn changes completely one's sense of the shape and nature of the American experience. You will never again munch on a hush puppy, admire a Maya temple, read Hiawatha or simply pass a cornfield in the same way
Raising steaks : the life and times of American beef by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

4 editions published between 2008 and 2009 in English and held by 639 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Provides a look at the history of the beef industry in the United States, including the land wars between the British and Spanish ranchers, the cowboys who roamed their prairies, and the industrial processing machines of the modern day
I hear America cooking by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

5 editions published between 1986 and 1997 in English and held by 613 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mabel by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

11 editions published between 1982 and 1992 in English and Undetermined and held by 405 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Eat, live, love, die : selected essays by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

7 editions published between 2016 and 2017 in English and held by 378 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Celebrating the life of this extraordinary woman, a selected anthology collects 50 years worth of the award-winning author's essays on food, travel and the arts, which have appeared in scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers as varied as The New York Times, Saveur and Vogue,"--Amazon.com
Masters of American cookery--M.F.K. Fisher, James Andrews Beard, Raymond Craig Claiborne, Julia McWilliams Child by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

4 editions published between 1982 and 2005 in English and held by 332 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ever since American soldiers returned home after World War II with a passion for pâté and escargots instead of pork and beans, our preferences have moved from cooked to raw, from canned to fresh, from bland to savory, from water to wine. And guiding us through our culinary revolution have been four of the world's finest food experts: Julia Child, Craig Claiborne, James Beard, and M. F. K. Fisher. In Masters of American Cookery , Betty Fussell demonstrates vividly how each of these chefs has made a unique and invaluable contribution to the American way of cooking and eating. In more than two hundred recipesin chapters on appetizers, soups, salads, sauces, meats, poultry, fish, breads, cheeses and wines, and dessertsFussell shares the artistry of these culinary masters. She also traces the evolution of each dish and provides insightful, often witty asides about the origins of the recipes. In the tradition of Waverley Root and M. F. K. Fisher herself, Fussell has combined elements of history, memoir, and the cookbook to create a food lovers delight. As entertaining as it is instructive, Masters of American Cookery belongs on the bookshelf of anyone who cares about good food. Fussell provides a preface for this Bison Books edition
Crazy for corn by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

2 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 215 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Food in good season by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

3 editions published in 1988 in English and held by 213 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Home bistro : simple, sensual fare in the comfort of your kitchen by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

1 edition published in 1997 in English and held by 127 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Eating in by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

2 editions published in 1986 in English and held by 77 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Betty Fussell's home plates : a shopping, cooking, eating, and wine guide for everyday by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

2 editions published in 1990 in English and held by 56 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The mushroom feast by Jane Grigson( Book )

1 edition published in 1998 in English and held by 43 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"The Mushroom Feast is an indispensable classic for all those who love mushrooms. It is a fine, timeless, literary cookbook. Truffles ... ceps ... morels, they all conjure visions of one of the most intriguing and subtle of all gastronomic treats. Yet amateur cooks can be mystified by how best to prepare them, while epicures hunger for new ways to expand their repertoires. With more than 250 recipes, Jane Grigson describes the preparation of the best fresh and preserved mushrooms. Besides the traditional use of mushrooms to enhance meat and vegetable dishes, edible fungi are made into pate, powdered, pureed into mushroom ketchup, baked into a flan (an Alice B. Toklas specialty), baked as a cake and used in many other dishes - from the simple to the highly sophisticated - for soups, sauces, stuffings, main courses, too intriguing to resist. Included are helpful tips for selecting and preserving the best edible mushrooms (both wild and cultivated), the folklore behind the recipes, a brief history of mushroom cultivation, guides to distinguish edible from poisonous fungi for those who venture to pick their own, and charming line drawings of the twenty-one most common species"--Publisher's description
Here let us feast : a book of banquets by M. F. K Fisher( )

1 edition published in 2018 in English and held by 42 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Kitchen round table by Marja Samson( Recording )

3 editions published between 2012 and 2013 in English and held by 12 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Marja Samsom goes into the kitchens of several luminaries in the food world. Features discussions on each chef's inspiration for entering the kitchen, translating recipes into everyday language, preparing delicious meals on a budget, and some of the chefs' favorite meals to prepare
History of American Cuisine( Visual )

2 editions published between 2006 and 2010 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Explores America's rich culinary heritage and looks at the many types of foods that Americans eat"--Container
My kitchen wars by Betty Harper Fussell( )

1 edition published in 2015 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"A memoir."--Jacket
Tragicomedy in Lyly, Shakespeare, and Jonson by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

5 editions published between 1975 and 1980 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The people of corn by Betty Harper Fussell( Recording )

1 edition published in 1993 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Fussell relates a cultural history of the connection between corn and the peoples of America. Corn, she claims, is a "man-made" food, since it needs man to fertilize, prune, and harvest it. She explains the adoption of corn as a staple, by people who were originally "children of wheat". The Native American cultures, she points out, gave corn an exalted place in their rituals and religions
Home bistro : simple, sensual fare in the comfort of your own kitchen by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

1 edition published in 1997 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Masters of American cookery by Betty Harper Fussell( Book )

1 edition published in 1982 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.26 (from 0.19 for I hear Ame ... to 1.00 for Betty Fuss ...)

Raising steaks : the life and times of American beef
Covers
Raising steaks : the life and times of American beefI hear America cookingMabelMasters of American cookery--M.F.K. Fisher, James Andrews Beard, Raymond Craig Claiborne, Julia McWilliams ChildCrazy for cornHome bistro : simple, sensual fare in the comfort of your kitchenThe mushroom feastHome bistro : simple, sensual fare in the comfort of your own kitchen
Alternative Names
Betty Fussell American writer

Betty Fussell Amerikaans schrijfster

Betty Fussell écrivaine américaine

Betty Fussell escriptora estatunidenca

Betty Fussell escritora estadounidense

Betty Fussell escritora estauxunidense

Fussell, Betty

Fussell, Betty H.

Fussell, Betty Harper 1927-

Harper Fussell, Betty 1927-

بيتي فوسيل كاتبة أمريكية

Languages
English (74)