WorldCat Identities

Wormeley, Katharine Prescott

Overview
Works: 218 works in 1,138 publications in 2 languages and 52,099 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  History  Domestic fiction  Records and correspondence  Short stories, French  Church history  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Bildungsromans  Textbooks 
Roles: Translator, Author, Editor
Classifications: PQ2161, 843.7
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Katharine Prescott Wormeley
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Katharine Prescott Wormeley
Catherine de' Médicis by Honoré de Balzac( )
17 editions published between 1841 and 2012 in English and held by 2,632 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Balzac's La Comedie Humaine was a story cycle comprising more than 100 novels and stories. Although most of these works are set in nineteenth-century France, several hearken back to earlier periods. Catherine de' Medici centers on the life of the woman born into an aristocratic family in medieval Italy who went on to become Queen consort and, later, regent of France
Sons of the soil by Honoré de Balzac( )
20 editions published between 1845 and 2014 in English and held by 1,384 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
French writer Honore de Balzac had many unique strengths, and chief among them is his ability to limn and illuminate subtle differences between social classes. In this pastoral novel, Balzac explores the virtues and follies of country life through the eyes of Emile Blondet, a journalist who was born and raised in the provinces, works in Paris, and has returned to the countryside of his youth for a much-needed vacation
Ursula by Honoré de Balzac( )
19 editions published between 1842 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,372 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This novel is one of the pillars of the Scenes of Provincial Life section of Honore de Balzac's story cycle The Human Comedy. Through a series of tragedies and coincidences, a kind and pious teenager named Ursula has been taken in by an octogenarian doctor, Denis Minoret. Inspired by Ursula's goodness, Minoret decides to make her his chief heir. This incites the ire of his other relatives, and a ruthless war for Minoret's estate breaks out
An old maid by Honoré de Balzac( )
16 editions published between 1837 and 2014 in English and held by 1,365 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Immerse yourself in the inner workings of a quaint French village in this charming novel from Honore de Balzac, an early master of literary realism. Brimming with finely observed details and Balzac''s trademark insight into human motivations and morality, An Old Maid follows several men who have designs -- honorable and not-so-honorable -- on one of the village''s wealthiest bachelorettes
A start in life by Honoré de Balzac( )
14 editions published between 1842 and 2014 in English and held by 1,355 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The novel A Start in Life is part of the Scenes of Private Life section of Honore de Balzac's masterpiece of nineteenth-century realism, The Human Comedy. In much of Balzac's work, the aristocracy is portrayed as vain, duplicitous, and greedy. But in this novel, it is members of the working class who are mercilessly skewered when what starts out as a harmless prank rapidly snowballs into a comedy of errors with profound consequences
Juana by Honoré de Balzac( )
13 editions published between 1833 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,338 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Set against the backdrop of the Peninsular War, Balzac''s novella ""Juana"" focuses on a storied family of French courtesans who have achieved legendary status. For many generations, the women have lived outside of the bounds of polite society, eschewing the familial involvement of men and maintaining a matrilineal tradition. But with the birth of a little girl named Juana, everything changes
The marriage contract by Honoré de Balzac( )
15 editions published between 1895 and 2014 in English and held by 1,328 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The short novel The Marriage Contract is part of the Scenes From Private Life section of Honore de Balzac''s epic masterpiece of nineteenth-century realism, The Human Comedy. It delves directly into the question of the nature of marriage, which was rapidly evolving during the period. Kind-hearted bachelor Paul de Manerville becomes deeply smitten with the comely Natalie Evangelista and wants to marry for love, but Natalie and her scheming mother have their eyes on his vast fortune
The chouans by Honoré de Balzac( )
17 editions published between 1893 and 2008 in English and held by 1,327 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Appearing in 1829, Les Chouans was the first of Balzac's books to be published under his own name. It is a tale of love gone wrong amid the anti-government Chouan uprising in Brittany in 1799. This is the book that established Balzac's literary reputation, and was, as one critic wrote, the author's passage into the Promised Land."
The deputy of Arcis by Honoré de Balzac( )
10 editions published between 1847 and 2014 in English and held by 1,325 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A masterpiece of political intrigue and machinations, the novel The Deputy of Arcis was left incomplete at Honore de Balzac''s death and was finished by Balzac''s friend and collaborator Charles Rabou. What starts out as a typical political campaign is suddenly turned upside down when a mysterious figure shows up and decides to throw his hat into the ring
The two brothers by Honoré de Balzac( )
14 editions published between 1889 and 2014 in English and held by 1,323 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Brothers Philippe and Joseph Bridau couldn't be more different. One is a cruel man who puts his ruthlessness to good use in a military career, while the other is a kind-hearted, sensitive soul who grows up to be a penniless artist. When the family's fortune is at risk, the two diametrically opposed siblings wage an all-out war
Z. Marcas by Honoré de Balzac( )
13 editions published between 1895 and 2004 in English and held by 1,315 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Seraphita by Honoré de Balzac( )
13 editions published between 1889 and 2007 in English and held by 1,315 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The work plunges into the fantastic and the supernatural self. In a castle in Norway near the fjord Stromfjord, Séraphitüs, a strange and melancholic being, conceals a terrible secret. Séraphitüs loves Minna, and she returns this love, believing Séraphitüs to be a man. But Séraphitüs is also loved by Wilfrid, who considers Séraphitüs to be a woman (Séraphîta). In reality, Séraphitüs-Séraphîta is a perfect androgyne, born to parents who by the doctrines of Emanuel Swedenborg have transcended their humanity, and Séraphitüs-Séraphîta is the perfect example of humanity
Pierrette by Honoré de Balzac( )
17 editions published between 1892 and 2005 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,313 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A daughter of Eve by Honoré de Balzac( )
8 editions published between 1899 and 2014 in English and held by 1,300 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This short novel, part of the Scenes of Private Life section of Honore de Balzac''s vast masterpiece The Human Comedy, includes the first appearances of key characters who return later in the series. A Daughter of Eve is a tale in which seemingly innocent peccadilloes soon spiral into an inescapable web of intrigue, fraud, and lust
Adieu by Honoré de Balzac( )
8 editions published between 1830 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,298 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The longish short story ""Adieu"" is an excerpt from Honore de Balzac''s sweeping masterpiece The Human Comedy. A ghost story of sorts, this tragic tale recounts the blossoming romance of two lovers whose relationship is torn asunder by the vagaries of war. When they reunite by chance years later, there is nothing left to be salvaged
Maitre Cornelius by Honoré de Balzac( )
6 editions published between 1831 and 2014 in English and held by 1,297 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Set in the fifteenth century, Maitre Cornelius is a gripping historical novel that illustrates the unbelievable lengths to which some will go in the name of love. Marie, the daughter of the king, is trapped in a loveless marriage with a cruel, violent man. To escape her horrible home life, she begins spending time with a young man named Georges d'Estoutville, who decides to free her from her dangerous marriage via a daring rescue attempt. Will he be able to pull it off?
Madame Firmiani by Honoré de Balzac( )
8 editions published between 1832 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,296 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Master of realism Honore de Balzac highlights his brilliant knack for character development in the short story ""Madame Firmiani."" The story''s plot is slight, dealing in large part with the mysterious identity of Madame Firmiani''s husband. As always, where Balzac truly shines is in delving into the nuance of human behavior and personality
Pierre Grassou by Honoré de Balzac( )
7 editions published between 1839 and 2014 in English and held by 1,295 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This short story is part of the Scenes of Paris Life section of Honore de Balzac''s epic masterpiece The Human Comedy. Pierre Grassou is an artist who has many of the attributes necessary for success -- but lacks that spark of creativity. Rather than painting original works, he begins painting copies of the great masterworks. Sure, it''s financially lucrative, but will it be enough to allow Grassou to find happiness?
Vendetta by Honoré de Balzac( )
7 editions published between 1830 and 2014 in English and held by 1,293 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Fans of Romeo and Juliet will delight in the novella Vendetta, Honore de Balzac's unique take on the timeless theme of star-crossed lovers. Corsican immigrants Ginevra Piombo and Luigi Porta fall hopelessly in love, unaware of the fact that their respective families have long been ensnared in a multi-generational blood feud. Will they be able to live happily ever after in spite of their unhappy heritage?
Unconscious comedians by Honoré de Balzac( )
6 editions published in 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,291 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In this novella from Honore de Balzac, the skilled artisan Palafox Gazonal arrives in Paris to settle some important business and perhaps make a splash in the city's thriving art scene. However, Gazonal is used to the slower-paced life in the provinces and finds himself confused -- and even disgusted -- with some of the customs and practices that are commonplace in Paris. It's another of Balzac's insightful analyses of the artist and his role in society
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.29 (from 0.00 for Autograph ... to 1.00 for Frederick ...)
Alternative Names
Prescott Wormeley, Katherine 1830-1908
Wormeley, Katherine Prescott
Wormeley, Katherine Prescott 1830-1908
Languages
English (290)
French (2)
Covers