WorldCat Identities

Hunter, Evan 1926-2005

Overview
Works: 260 works in 1,235 publications in 14 languages and 26,209 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Drama  Film adaptations  Psychological fiction  Horror films  Thrillers (Motion pictures)  Domestic fiction  Legal fiction (Literature)  Western fiction  Musical fiction 
Roles: Author, Author of screenplay, Actor, Scenarist, Bibliographic antecedent, Contributor, Performer, Conceptor, Adapter, Producer
Classifications: PS3515.U585, 813.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Evan Hunter
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Evan Hunter
The birds by Alfred Hitchcock( Visual )

158 editions published between 1963 and 2017 in 10 languages and held by 3,339 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When Melanie Daniels rolls into Bodega Bay in pursuit of eligible bachelor Mitch Brenner, the small California town is inexplicably attacked by thousands of birds
Candyland : a novel in two parts by Evan Hunter( Book )

22 editions published between 2001 and 2013 in 3 languages and held by 1,956 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ben Thorpe, an architect in New York on business, goes on a compulsive search for female companionship. Emma Boyle of the NYPD is investigating the murder of a prostitute, for which Ben is becoming the chief suspect
Criminal conversation by Evan Hunter( Book )

27 editions published between 1994 and 2002 in 5 languages and held by 1,689 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

From the author of The Blackboard Jungle comes the story of an ambitious district attorney. On a wire tap he listens as a mobster makes love to a mysterious woman and hears a confession of murder. Terrific news, enough to nail the mobster for life. But there is a terrible hitch. The mysterious woman, the mobster's sensual, sexual mistress is none other than his
The blackboard jungle; a novel by Evan Hunter( Book )

42 editions published between 1954 and 2017 in English and German and held by 1,432 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Urban drama about an idealistic teacher in a slum area who fights doggedly to connect with his unruly students
The moment she was gone : a novel by Evan Hunter( Book )

19 editions published between 2002 and 2007 in English and French and held by 1,341 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When Andrew Gulliver's mother tells him that his erratic twin sister, Annie, has disappeared again, he makes a desperate effort to find her and to figure out whether Annie does, indeed, have schizophrenia
Privileged conversation by Evan Hunter( Book )

26 editions published between 1996 and 2017 in 6 languages and held by 1,149 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A psychiatrist saves a young woman from a mugging in New York's Central Park and a relationship develops. At first David Chapman only indulges in fantasies, but after seeing the woman dance in a musical, he embarks on an affair. It's a complicated business because he lives in another town and has a family. When the woman becomes the target of a stalker, things become even more complicated
Lizzie : a novel by Evan Hunter( Book )

14 editions published between 1984 and 2016 in English and Czech and held by 1,030 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A fictional account of the 1892 double-murder case of Lizzie Borden, a prisoner of her appetites in conflict with her times
Love, Dad : a novel by Evan Hunter( Book )

11 editions published between 1981 and 1989 in English and Undetermined and held by 960 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Crofts' daughter Lissie leaves home and flouts her parents' values but is upset upon her return to find that they have changed, too
The Chisholms : a novel of the journey West by Evan Hunter( Book )

21 editions published between 1976 and 2014 in English and Spanish and held by 924 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A trip to California, a long and hazardous journey. One lives the exhausting, dangerous and occasionally odyssey across plains and forests, rafting down rivers, trading posts, facing the risks of hunger, fever, Indian attacks, and many mercenaries
Last summer by Evan Hunter( Book )

34 editions published between 1968 and 2017 in 4 languages and held by 857 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Three teenagers turn an idyllic summer vacation into a violent nightmare in this "compelling and unforgettable" novel by the bestselling author of The Blackboard Jungle (Harper's). Bored, restless, privileged teenagers Sandy, David, and Peter meet while vacationing with their families on remote Greensward Island. The two boys, both sixteen, are immediately entranced by Sandy's beauty and frank sexuality. Over the course of the summer, the trio creates an illicit teenage paradise far removed from adult supervision. Stolen beers and lustful teasing lead to more nefarious games, however, when Rhoda appears. Shy, quiet, and unsophisticated, the fifteen-year-old desperately wants to fit in with her more glamorous peers. Her awkwardness brings out a vicious cruel streak in Sandy, who has David and Peter so tightly wrapped around her finger they'll do whatever she wants'even if it means destroying an innocent life. A fearless, unflinching portrait of youth gone wild, Last Summer was the basis for an Academy Award-nominated film starring Barbara Hershey, Bruce Davison, Richard Thomas, and Catherine Burns. Originally published in 1968 and heralded by Cosmopolitan as "the most chilling novel of this'or any'autumn," Last Summer transforms a coming-of-age story into a dark and twisted fable and confirms Evan Hunter's reputation as a master of suspense
Far from the sea by Evan Hunter( Book )

8 editions published between 1983 and 1986 in English and held by 754 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sons by Evan Hunter( Book )

21 editions published between 1969 and 1977 in 3 languages and held by 742 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The paper dragon; a novel by Evan Hunter( Book )

13 editions published between 1966 and 1977 in English and held by 487 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In New York during the frenetic week before Christmas, a plagiarism trial has profound effects on a playwright, the plaintiff, and a best-selling novelist, the defendant
Mothers and daughters by Evan Hunter( Book )

24 editions published between 1946 and 2017 in English and Hebrew and held by 457 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The interlocking lives and loves of four women, a suburbanite with thwarted musical talent, a dedicated actress, an aging charmer with a past, and a romantic teen-ager
A horse's head by Evan Hunter( )

9 editions published between 1967 and 2016 in English and held by 451 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The author of the 87th Precinct series presents a riotous story of the gamblers, mobsters, and other colorful characters who hang around Aqueduct Racetrack. Andrew Mullaney has the money to get to Aqueduct Racetrack, but nothing to bet once he gets there. It's a tragedy, because today he's got a sure thing: a filly named Jawbone who's guaranteed to win. Desperate, Andrew asks every hood he knows to spot him fifty bucks, tapping chess hustlers, pool sharks, and hoodlums of every stripe, until, finally, he asks the wrong man-who responds by tossing Andrew out the door and down a flight of stairs. For this degenerate gambler, life is hard ... 'nd it's about to get a hell of a lot harder. When a gleaming black Cadillac pulls up in front of him, and a man hops out wielding a Luger and telling him to get in the car, Andrew has no choice but to say yes. Little does he know, he's just stepped into the adventure of a lifetime, and by the end of it, he'll be rich, dead, or something far, far worse. A suspenseful, humorous yarn perfect for fans of Prizzi's Honor or Analyze This, A Horse's Head is one of the wildest New York stories ever written. From legendary Mystery Writers of America Grand Master Ed McBain, every page is a laugh-out-loud delight
Streets of gold / Evan Hunter by Ed McBain( Book )

28 editions published between 1967 and 1996 in English and held by 411 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A picture book biography which reveals the assembling of Darwin's most profound idea: the survival of the fittest
Candyland : [a novel in two parts by Evan Hunter( Recording )

15 editions published between 2000 and 2011 in English and held by 383 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Alone in New York on business, Benjamin Thorpe spends the night in a search for female companionship, a quest that leads to a confrontation in a midtown bordello and his involvement in the murder of a young prostitute
Buddwing, a novel by Evan Hunter( Book )

8 editions published in 1964 in English and held by 349 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

During a nightmarish 24-hour series of encounters in New York an amnesiac gradually remembers the past and what it was that made him black out
Come winter by Evan Hunter( Book )

15 editions published between 1900 and 2017 in English and Dutch and held by 349 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A glamorous ski resort becomes the setting for unspeakable evil in this "chilling, fascinating novel" by the New York Times-bestselling author of Last Summer (Los Angeles Times). Sandy, David, and Peter met as bored teenagers vacationing with their parents on a small resort island. The horrific crime they committed five years ago bound them together forever, cursing their friendship in blood and setting them on a path toward nihilism and destruction. Now in their early twenties, the glamorous and sophisticated trio has come to an exclusive ski resort just days before Christmas to satisfy their appetite for danger and enjoy the physical company of the only human beings they can still tolerate: one another. But an interloper soon finds her way into their closed circle. Mary Margaret is no gullible innocent. She's smart and mischievous and appears bent on tearing the friends apart. Will Sandy, Peter, and David keep their sinister menage-A-trois intact, or have they finally met their match' On the steep and icy slopes of Semanee Peak, a dangerous game of cat and mouse comes to a shattering end. "An unforgettable exploration into the nature of evil," Come Winter is the chilling sequel to Last Summer and a "brilliant ... 'azzling" portrait of young sociopaths at play (Burlington Free Press)
The moment she was gone by Evan Hunter( Recording )

16 editions published between 2002 and 2011 in English and held by 329 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When Andrew Gulliver's mother tells him that his erratic twin sister, Annie, has disappeared again, he makes a desperate effort to find her and to figure out whether Annie does, indeed, have schizophrenia
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.21 (from 0.13 for The moment ... to 1.00 for Ed McBain ...)

WorldCat IdentitiesRelated Identities
The birds
Alternative Names

controlled identityAbbott, John, 1926-2005

controlled identityCannon, Curt, 1926-2005

controlled identityCollins, Hunt, 1926-2005

controlled identityHannon, Ezra, 1926-2005

controlled identityHudson, Dean, 1926-2005

controlled identityMarsten, Richard, 1926-2005

controlled identityMcBain, Ed, 1926-2005

Addams, D. A. 1926-2005

Cannon, Curt 1926-2005

Collins, Hunt 1926-2005

Hunter, Evan

Lombino, Salvatore

Lombino, Salvatore A. 1926-2005

Lombino, Salvatore Albert

Lombino, Salvatore Albert 1926-2005

Marsten, Richard

Marsten, Richard 1926-2005

Taine, Ted 1926-2005

ハンター, E

ハンター, エヴァン

Languages
Covers
Candyland : a novel in two partsCriminal conversationThe blackboard jungle; a novelThe moment she was gone : a novelPrivileged conversationThe Chisholms : a novel of the journey WestCandyland : [a novel in two partsThe moment she was gone