WorldCat Identities

Johnston, Basil

Overview
Works: 65 works in 245 publications in 2 languages and 7,784 library holdings
Genres: Folklore  Biography  Fiction  Juvenile works  Legends  Pictorial works  Glossaries, vocabularies, etc  Abstracts 
Roles: Author, Author of screenplay
Classifications: E99.C6, 299.783
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Basil Johnston
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Basil Johnston
Ojibway heritage by Basil Johnston( Book )

56 editions published between 1976 and 2005 in 3 languages and held by 1,161 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ojibway life, legends and beliefs
The Manitous : the spiritual world of the Ojibway by Basil Johnston( Book )

19 editions published between 1995 and 2001 in English and held by 823 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

By turns comic, erotic, dramatic, and tragic, these engrossing stories - most of which have never before been recorded - provide a window into an ancient culture, and hold great meaning for modern readers
Ojibway ceremonies by Basil Johnston( Book )

20 editions published between 1982 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 581 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Fiction. Life story of Mishi-Waub-Kaikaik (Great White Falcon) is used to describe the ceremonies of precontact Ojibways
Tales the elders told : Ojibway legends by Basil Johnston( Book )

7 editions published in 1981 in English and held by 304 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Nine traditional Ojibway tales accompanied by contemporary native art
Ojibway tales by Basil Johnston( Book )

5 editions published in 1993 in English and held by 229 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Contains twenty-two humorous stories about a community of Ojibway Indians living on a fictional Indian reservation in Canada
The bear-walker and other stories by Basil Johnston( Book )

4 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 227 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In the tradition of Tales the Elders Told and Tales of the Anishinaubaek, Basil Johnston's newest work, The Bear-Walker, brings to the printed page the spoken myths of his people, myths that have inspired exquisite paintings by David Johnson." "Here is the native spirit, as told by the elders, tales of wisdom and humour, vision and fantasy, alive with a sense of the magical possibilities of life lived close to nature."--Jacket
Tales of the Anishinaubaek by Basil Johnston( Book )

4 editions published in 1993 in English and held by 224 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Legends of the Anishinaubaek (Ojibway First Nations) translated into English and illustrated by a Santee/Oglala artist
Honour Earth Mother by Basil Johnston( Book )

4 editions published between 2003 and 2004 in English and held by 222 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The star man and other tales by Basil Johnston( Book )

3 editions published between 1996 and 1997 in English and held by 167 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The stories and art reveal the power of Ojibway myth-making and a world of star-visitors, magical thunderbolts, thunder people, sea serpents, and mermaids
Moose meat & wild rice by Basil Johnston( Book )

12 editions published between 1978 and 2011 in English and held by 143 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Short stories about life on a modern Indian reserve by an Ojibway writer
Anishinaubae thesaurus by Basil Johnston( Book )

5 editions published between 1998 and 2007 in English and held by 133 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Anishinaubae (Chippewa/Ojibwe) language has a beauty in the spoken word, a deliberate rhythm, simplicity, and mysterious second meanings. When Basil Johnston began teaching the Anishinaubae language, in the late 1960s, there were no related manuals or dictionaries that were suitable for beginners. To fill this void, Johnston wrote a language course and a lexicon to fill for the course materials. Now he has broadened this labor by compiling Anishinaubae Thesaurus, which goes even further to fill a deep cultural and linguistic void. This thesaurus contains a useful sampling of the 400,000
By canoe & moccasin : some native place names of the Great Lakes by Basil Johnston( Book )

4 editions published between 1986 and 1992 in English and held by 110 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Legends of Nanabush, set in the Great Lakes area, and giving the meaning of place names of native origin
Th!nk Indian : languages are beyond price by Basil Johnston( Book )

2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 104 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A collection of essays and presentations that Mr. Johnston has delivered to numerous educational conferences and gatherings across Canada and the United States
Hudson Bay Watershed : a photographic memoir of the Ojibway, Cree, and Oji-Cree by John Macfie( Book )

7 editions published between 1991 and 2008 in English and held by 95 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A pictorial account of the Ojibway, Cree, and Oji-Cree Indians of northern Ontario at mid-twentieth century, as the traditional culture was being rapidly modified by southern influences
Mermaids and medicine women : native myths and legends by Basil Johnston( Book )

3 editions published in 1998 in English and held by 90 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ojibway language course outline for beginners by Basil Johnston( Book )

7 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 80 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A course outline to assist teachers in instructing beginners, young and old, to speak the Ojibway language
Ojibway language lexicon for beginners by Basil Johnston( Book )

7 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 78 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A practical lexicon (dictionary) for beginners: a comprehensive list of prefixes, core or root words and suffixes
How the birds got their colours = Gah w'indinimowaut binaesheehnyuk w'idinauziwin-wauh by Basil Johnston( Book )

3 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 42 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Side-by-side texts in English and Chippewa relate the Chippewa legend of how birds came to have their colors
The gift of the stars = Anungook gauh meenikooying by Basil Johnston( Book )

1 edition published in 2010 in English and held by 40 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"These stories teach us that we all have a gift to share. We depend on the insects, birds, fish and the animals to help us live in harmony with them. The Creator has given us these animals to provide guidance and the laws of nature to live in harmony with all creation. Living in harmony with the animals or Wesiihhik gives us the ability to have a peace of heart and the ability to overcome the challenges that life sets along The Path of Life."--Page 3
Walking in balance = Meeyau-ossaewin by Basil Johnston( Book )

1 edition published in 2013 in English and held by 27 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A collection of children's stories which teach kids to live in harmony with nature
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.37 (from 0.01 for Hudson Bay ... to 0.94 for Indian sch ...)

The Manitous : the spiritual world of the Ojibway
Alternative Names
Basil H. Johnston Canadian writer

Basil Johnston

Basil Johnston Canadees auteur (-2015)

Basil Johnston kanadischer Ethnologe und Autor

Johnston, Basil

Johnston, Basil H.

Johnston, Basil H. 1929-

Johnston, Basil H. 1929-2015

羅勒·H·約翰斯頓

Languages
English (175)

German (16)

Covers
The Manitous : the spiritual world of the OjibwayOjibway ceremoniesOjibway talesThe bear-walker and other storiesTales of the AnishinaubaekHonour Earth MotherThe star man and other talesMoose meat & wild rice