WorldCat Identities

Johnston, Basil

Overview
Works: 77 works in 283 publications in 2 languages and 8,177 library holdings
Genres: Folklore  Biography  Fiction  Legends  Juvenile works  Pictorial works  Glossaries, vocabularies, etc  Abstracts 
Roles: Author, Author of screenplay
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Basil Johnston
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Basil Johnston
Ojibway heritage by Basil Johnston( Book )

61 editions published between 1976 and 2008 in 3 languages and held by 1,208 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Rarely accessible to the general public, Ojibway mythology is as rich in meaning, as broad, as deep, and as innately appealing as the mythologies of Greece, Rome, and other Western civilizations. In Ojibway Heritage Basil Johnston introduces his people's ceremonies, rituals, songs, dances, prayers, arid legends. Conveying the sense of wonder and mystery at the heart of the Ojibway experience, Johnston describes the creation of the universe, followed by that of plants and animals and human beings, and the paths taken by the latter. These stories are to be read, enjoyed, and freely interpreted. Their authorship is perhaps most properly attributed to the tribal storytellers who have carried on the oral tradition that Johnston records and preserves in this book. --
Hudson Bay Watershed : a photographic memoir of the Ojibway, Cree, and Oji-Cree by John Macfie( )

7 editions published between 1991 and 2008 in English and held by 1,180 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A pictorial account of the Ojibway, Cree, and Oji-Cree Indians of northern Ontario at mid-twentieth century, as the traditional culture was being rapidly modified by southern influences
The Manitous : the spiritual world of the Ojibway by Basil Johnston( Book )

19 editions published between 1995 and 2001 in English and held by 807 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

By turns comic, erotic, dramatic, and tragic, these engrossing stories - most of which have never before been recorded - provide a window into an ancient culture, and hold great meaning for modern readers
Ojibway ceremonies by Basil Johnston( Book )

26 editions published between 1982 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 635 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Ojibway Indians were first encountered by the French early in the seventeenth century along the northern shores of Lakes Huron and Superior. By the time Henry Wadsworth Longfellow immortalized them in The Song of Hiawatha, they had dispersed over large areas of Canada and the United States, becoming known as the Chippewas in the latter. A rare and fascinating glimpse of Ojibway culture before its disruption by the Europeans is provided in Ojibway Ceremonies by Basil Johnston, himself an Ojibway who was born on the Parry Island Indian Reserve. Johnston focuses on a young memb
Anishinaubae thesaurus by Basil Johnston( )

5 editions published between 1998 and 2007 in English and held by 327 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Anishinaubae (Chippewa/Ojibwe) language has a beauty in the spoken word, a deliberate rhythm, simplicity, and mysterious second meanings. When Basil Johnston began teaching the Anishinaubae language, in the late 1960s, there were no related manuals or dictionaries that were suitable for beginners. To fill this void, Johnston wrote a language course and a lexicon to fill for the course materials. Now he has broadened this labor by compiling Anishinaubae Thesaurus, which goes even further to fill a deep cultural and linguistic void. This thesaurus contains a useful sampling of the 400,000
Tales the elders told : Ojibway legends by Basil Johnston( )

11 editions published between 1981 and 2001 in English and held by 316 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Nine traditional Ojibway tales accompanied by contemporary native art
Ojibway tales by Basil Johnston( Book )

5 editions published in 1993 in English and held by 231 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Ojibway Indians' sense of humor sparkles through these stories set on the fictional Moose Meat Point Indian Reserve, connected by a dirt road to the town of Blunder Bay. If some of them seem "farfetched and even implausible," Basil L. Johnston writes, "it is simply because human beings very often act and conduct their affairs and those of others in an absurd manner." These twenty-two stories were originally collected under the title Moose Meat and Wild Rice. Among the most memorable of the stories is "They Don't Want No Indians," in which all attempts are made to circumvent bureaucratic red tape and transport a dead Indian to his home for burial. One of the funniest is "Indian Smart: Moose Smart," which pits a moose in a lake against six Moose Meaters in two canoes. "If You Want to Play" and "Secular Revenge" are the result of misunderstanding or imperfect communication. Still other stories, like "What Is Sin?" and "The Kiss and the Moonshine," reveal the clash of different cultural approaches. All show the warm-heartedness and good will of the Ojibway Indians. If they are gently satirized, so are the whites who would change them, and with good reason. Government ineptitude and rigid piety are foisted on the Moose Meaters, who have only thirty thousand acres to move around in. --
Tales of the Anishinaubaek by Basil Johnston( Book )

4 editions published in 1993 in English and held by 229 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Legends of the Anishinaubaek (Ojibway First Nations) translated into English and illustrated by a Santee/Oglala artist
The bear-walker and other stories by Basil Johnston( Book )

5 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 229 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In the tradition of Tales the Elders Told and Tales of the Anishinaubaek, Basil Johnston's newest work, The Bear-Walker, brings to the printed page the spoken myths of his people, myths that have inspired exquisite paintings by David Johnson." "Here is the native spirit, as told by the elders, tales of wisdom and humour, vision and fantasy, alive with a sense of the magical possibilities of life lived close to nature."--Jacket
Honour Earth Mother by Basil Johnston( Book )

4 editions published between 2003 and 2004 in English and held by 224 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The star man and other tales by Basil Johnston( Book )

3 editions published between 1996 and 1997 in English and held by 170 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The stories and art reveal the power of Ojibway myth-making and a world of star-visitors, magical thunderbolts, thunder people, sea serpents, and mermaids
Moose meat & wild rice by Basil Johnston( Book )

12 editions published between 1978 and 2011 in English and held by 159 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Short stories about life on a modern Indian reserve by an Ojibway writer
By canoe & moccasin : some native place names of the Great Lakes by Basil Johnston( Book )

4 editions published between 1986 and 1992 in English and held by 115 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Legends of Nanabush, set in the Great Lakes area, and giving the meaning of place names of native origin
Th!nk Indian : languages are beyond price by Basil Johnston( Book )

2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 107 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A collection of essays and presentations that Mr. Johnston has delivered to numerous educational conferences and gatherings across Canada and the United States
Mermaids and medicine women : native myths and legends by Basil Johnston( Book )

3 editions published in 1998 in English and held by 90 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ojibway language course outline for beginners by Basil Johnston( Book )

7 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 84 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A course outline to assist teachers in instructing beginners, young and old, to speak the Ojibway language
Ojibway language lexicon for beginners by Basil Johnston( Book )

7 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 82 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A practical lexicon (dictionary) for beginners: a comprehensive list of prefixes, core or root words and suffixes
How the birds got their colours = Gah w'indinimowaut binaesheehnyuk w'idinauziwin-wauh by Basil Johnston( Book )

3 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 46 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Side-by-side texts in English and Chippewa relate the Chippewa legend of how birds came to have their colors
The gift of the stars = Anungook gauh meenikooying by Basil Johnston( Book )

1 edition published in 2010 in English and held by 45 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"These stories teach us that we all have a gift to share. We depend on the insects, birds, fish and the animals to help us live in harmony with them. The Creator has given us these animals to provide guidance and the laws of nature to live in harmony with all creation. Living in harmony with the animals or Wesiihhik gives us the ability to have a peace of heart and the ability to overcome the challenges that life sets along The Path of Life."--Page 3
Candies : (a humour composite) by Basil Johnston( Book )

2 editions published in 2015 in English and held by 33 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.31 (from 0.01 for Hudson Bay ... to 0.95 for Indian sch ...)

Hudson Bay Watershed : a photographic memoir of the Ojibway, Cree, and Oji-Cree
Alternative Names
Basil H. Johnston Canadian writer

Basil H. Johnston escriptor canadenc

Basil H. Johnston escritor canadiense

Basil Johnston Canadees auteur (-2015)

Basil Johnston écrivain canadien

Basil Johnston kanadischer Ethnologe und Autor

Johnston, Basil

Johnston, Basil H.

Johnston, Basil H. 1929-

Johnston Basil H. 1929-2015

羅勒·H·約翰斯頓

Languages
English (202)

German (16)

Covers
Hudson Bay Watershed : a photographic memoir of the Ojibway, Cree, and Oji-CreeThe Manitous : the spiritual world of the OjibwayOjibway ceremoniesAnishinaubae thesaurusOjibway talesTales of the AnishinaubaekThe bear-walker and other storiesHonour Earth Mother