WorldCat Identities

Johnston, Basil

Overview
Works: 66 works in 255 publications in 2 languages and 8,018 library holdings
Genres: Folklore  Biography  Fiction  Juvenile works  Legends  Pictorial works  Glossaries, vocabularies, etc  Abstracts 
Roles: Author, Author of screenplay
Classifications: E99.C6, 299.783
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Basil Johnston
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Basil Johnston
Ojibway heritage by Basil Johnston( Book )

59 editions published between 1976 and 2008 in 3 languages and held by 1,158 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ojibway life, legends and beliefs
The Manitous : the spiritual world of the Ojibway by Basil Johnston( Book )

19 editions published between 1995 and 2001 in English and held by 819 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Manitous are mysteries and spirits - the essences - that infuse and safeguard plants and animals, including humans, in all aspects of life. The tales of the manitous are simple in narration and complex in spirit, rich with incident and detail, and attempt to explain the mysterious ways of the natural world. Here are wily tricksters, timorous tree spirits, wise grandmothers, seductive maidens, and the ever-hungry evil manitous, fearsome giants known as Weendigoes. Here is a half-man, half-manitou legend of Ojibway lore who represents the wonders and shortcomings of all humankind and who becomes a hero by masquerading as one; a powerful warrior who is riled and routed by a younger sibling with a fight for dancing and disguises; a man who seems obsessed with the trivial but learns to understand the spiritual; and The Prophecy - which is told but disbelieved - telling of the changes in the native world to come
Ojibway ceremonies by Basil Johnston( Book )

23 editions published between 1982 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 584 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Fiction. Life story of Mishi-Waub-Kaikaik (Great White Falcon) is used to describe the ceremonies of precontact Ojibways
Tales the elders told : Ojibway legends by Basil Johnston( Book )

7 editions published in 1981 in English and held by 309 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Nine traditional Ojibway tales accompanied by contemporary native art
Ojibway tales by Basil Johnston( Book )

5 editions published in 1993 in English and held by 229 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Contains twenty-two humorous stories about a community of Ojibway Indians living on a fictional Indian reservation in Canada
The bear-walker and other stories by Basil Johnston( Book )

4 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 225 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In the tradition of Tales the Elders Told and Tales of the Anishinaubaek, Basil Johnston's newest work, The Bear-Walker, brings to the printed page the spoken myths of his people, myths that have inspired exquisite paintings by David Johnson." "Here is the native spirit, as told by the elders, tales of wisdom and humour, vision and fantasy, alive with a sense of the magical possibilities of life lived close to nature."--Jacket
Tales of the Anishinaubaek by Basil Johnston( Book )

4 editions published in 1993 in English and held by 223 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Legends of the Anishinaubaek (Ojibway First Nations) translated into English and illustrated by a Santee/Oglala artist
Honour Earth Mother by Basil Johnston( Book )

4 editions published between 2003 and 2004 in English and held by 219 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The star man and other tales by Basil Johnston( Book )

3 editions published between 1996 and 1997 in English and held by 165 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The stories and art reveal the power of Ojibway myth-making and a world of star-visitors, magical thunderbolts, thunder people, sea serpents, and mermaids
Moose meat & wild rice by Basil Johnston( Book )

12 editions published between 1978 and 2011 in English and held by 144 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Short stories about life on a modern Indian reserve by an Ojibway writer
Anishinaubae thesaurus by Basil Johnston( Book )

5 editions published between 1998 and 2007 in English and held by 134 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Anishinaubae (Chippewa/Ojibwe) language has a beauty in the spoken word, a deliberate rhythm, simplicity, and mysterious second meanings. When Basil Johnston began teaching the Anishinaubae language, in the late 1960s, there were no related manuals or dictionaries that were suitable for beginners. To fill this void, Johnston wrote a language course and a lexicon to fill for the course materials. Now he has broadened this labor by compiling Anishinaubae Thesaurus, which goes even further to fill a deep cultural and linguistic void. This thesaurus contains a useful sampling of the 400,000
By canoe & moccasin : some native place names of the Great Lakes by Basil Johnston( Book )

4 editions published between 1986 and 1992 in English and held by 112 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Legends of Nanabush, set in the Great Lakes area, and giving the meaning of place names of native origin
Th!nk Indian : languages are beyond price by Basil Johnston( Book )

2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 105 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A collection of essays and presentations that Mr. Johnston has delivered to numerous educational conferences and gatherings across Canada and the United States
Hudson Bay Watershed : a photographic memoir of the Ojibway, Cree, and Oji-Cree by John Macfie( Book )

7 editions published between 1991 and 2008 in English and held by 95 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A pictorial account of the Ojibway, Cree, and Oji-Cree Indians of northern Ontario at mid-twentieth century, as the traditional culture was being rapidly modified by southern influences
Mermaids and medicine women : native myths and legends by Basil Johnston( Book )

3 editions published in 1998 in English and held by 90 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ojibway language lexicon for beginners by Basil Johnston( Book )

7 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 82 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A practical lexicon (dictionary) for beginners: a comprehensive list of prefixes, core or root words and suffixes
Ojibway language course outline for beginners by Basil Johnston( Book )

7 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 81 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A course outline to assist teachers in instructing beginners, young and old, to speak the Ojibway language
How the birds got their colours = Gah w'indinimowaut binaesheehnyuk w'idinauziwin-wauh by Basil Johnston( Book )

3 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 46 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Side-by-side texts in English and Chippewa relate the Chippewa legend of how birds came to have their colors
The gift of the stars = Anungook gauh meenikooying by Basil Johnston( Book )

1 edition published in 2010 in English and held by 42 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"These stories teach us that we all have a gift to share. We depend on the insects, birds, fish and the animals to help us live in harmony with them. The Creator has given us these animals to provide guidance and the laws of nature to live in harmony with all creation. Living in harmony with the animals or Wesiihhik gives us the ability to have a peace of heart and the ability to overcome the challenges that life sets along The Path of Life."--Page 3
Indian school days by Basil Johnston( Book )

8 editions published between 1988 and 1989 in English and Undetermined and held by 27 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This autobiography relates the experiences of a young Ojibway boy who was taken from his family in 1939 at age 10 and placed in a Jesuit boarding school in northern Ontario, Canada. St. Peter Claver (later Garnier) or "Spanish," as the Indian school was known, was home to approximately 135 boys. Most of the students, who ranged in age from 4 to 16, came from broken homes; some were orphans; others were committed to the institution as punishment for some misdemeanor; and a few were enrolled by their parents in order to receive some education and training. Basil Johnston was sent to "Spanish" by the local Indian agent and priest after his parents separated. St. Peter Claver's was more than a school; it was a self-sufficient institution. The main building contained dormitories, classrooms, a study hall, a recreation hall, dining rooms, lavatories, a kitchen, chapels, a bakery, and a tailer shop. There was also a windmill, a power house, a shoe shop, a blacksmith shop, a garden, boats, and nearly 1,000 acres of land. Under the guidance of priests and brothers, the boys plowed; seeded and harvested potatoes, beans, and other produce; milled wheat and corn and baked bread; forged shoes and shod horses; and performed other work that kept the institution running. Their schedule included two periods of classroom learning a day. For the children's shelter, food, clothing, and education, the government paid 40 cents per student per day. The school existed to train Indian youth for a trade and to foster religious vocation through frequent prayer and worship. However, very few students went on to work in the trades or to become priests. Basil Johnston describes the vigorous work routine at the school, his learning experiences, and how he and the others at the school survived and coped with the alien setting of the boarding school. The book includes a glossary and lists of students attending in 1939. (lp)
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.37 (from 0.01 for Hudson Bay ... to 0.94 for Indian sch ...)

The Manitous : the spiritual world of the Ojibway
Alternative Names
Basil H. Johnston Canadian writer

Basil H. Johnston escriptor canadenc

Basil H. Johnston escritor canadiense

Basil Johnston Canadees auteur (-2015)

Basil Johnston écrivain canadien

Basil Johnston kanadischer Ethnologe und Autor

Johnston, Basil

Johnston, Basil H.

Johnston, Basil H. 1929-

Johnston Basil H. 1929-2015

羅勒·H·約翰斯頓

Languages
English (183)

German (16)

Covers
The Manitous : the spiritual world of the OjibwayOjibway ceremoniesOjibway talesThe bear-walker and other storiesTales of the AnishinaubaekHonour Earth MotherThe star man and other talesMoose meat & wild rice