WorldCat Identities

Löwith, Karl 1897-1973

Overview
Works: 401 works in 1,673 publications in 16 languages and 17,884 library holdings
Genres: Criticism, interpretation, etc  History  Biography  Church history  Bibliography 
Roles: Author, Editor, Author of introduction, Compiler, Creator, Correspondent, Author of afterword, colophon, etc., Recipient, Collaborator, Contributor, Other
Classifications: D16.9, 193
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Karl Löwith
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Karl Löwith
Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith( Book )

67 editions published between 1949 and 2004 in 5 languages and held by 1,722 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

From Hegel to Nietzsche : the revolution in nineteenth-century thought by Karl Löwith( Book )

57 editions published between 1964 and 1991 in 3 languages and held by 1,716 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Max Weber and Karl Marx by Karl Löwith( Book )

43 editions published between 1932 and 2009 in 5 languages and held by 1,078 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Lowith's study of Max Weber and Karl Marx is a key text in modern interpretations of the theme of alienation in Marxist theory and rationalisation in Weber's sociology. It remains the best short student introduction to the differences and comparisons between these essential thinkers. This new edition includes a Preface by Professor Bryan S. Turner which demonstrates the relevance of the book for contemporary sociology
Nietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the same by Karl Löwith( Book )

68 editions published between 1935 and 2014 in 5 languages and held by 1,038 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Criticizing the tendency to treat Nietzsche as a literary figure or as a vitalist in the tradition of Bergson, Simmel, and Klages, Lowith situates Nietzsche squarely within the history of Western philosophy. He takes issue with the position of Jaspers that Nietzsche is best read as a rejection of all philosophical certainties and challenges Heidegger's view that Nietzsche was the last metaphysician of the West. For Lowith, the centerpiece of Nietzsche's thought is the doctrine of eternal recurrence, a notion which Lowith, unlike Heidegger, deems incompatible with the will to power. His careful examination of Nietzsche's cosmological theory of the infinite repetition of a finite number of states of the world suggests the paradoxical consequences this theory implies for human freedom. How is it possible to will the eternal recurrence of each moment of one's life, if both this decision and the states of affairs governed by it appear to be predestined? Lowith's book, one of the most important, if seldom acknowledged, sources for recent Anglophone Nietzsche studies, remains a central text for all concerned with understanding the philosopher's work
Nature, history, and existentialism, and other essays in the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith( Book )

13 editions published between 1966 and 1981 in English and held by 738 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Von Hegel zu Nietzsche : Der revolutionäre Bruch im Denken des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts by Karl Löwith( Book )

86 editions published between 1941 and 1998 in 5 languages and held by 600 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Martin Heidegger and European nihilism by Karl Löwith( Book )

8 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 595 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Martin Heidegger and European Nihilism makes available in English Lowith's major writings concerning the origins of cultural breakdown in Europe that paved the way for the Third Reich. Including incisive discussions of Heidegger and Carl Schmitt, a noted legal theorist of the same period who also supported the Third Reich, Heidegger and European Nihilism helps to illuminate the allure of Nazism for scholars committed to revolutionary nihilism. Lowith's landmark essay on European nihilism is also included in its entirety here, along with two never-before-published letters from Heidegger to Lowith
Heidegger : Denker in dürftiger Zeit. by Karl Löwith( Book )

50 editions published between 1953 and 2006 in 5 languages and held by 457 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Weltgeschichte und Heilsgeschehen : die theologischen Voraussetzungen der Geschichtsphilosophie by Karl Löwith( Book )

56 editions published between 1907 and 2004 in German and Undetermined and held by 442 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Geschichtsphilosophie
Die Hegelsche Linke : Texte aus den Werken von Heinrich Heine, Arnold Ruge, Moses Hess, Max Stirner, Bruno Bauer, Ludwig Feuerbach, Karl Marx und Sören Kierkegaard by Karl Löwith( Book )

30 editions published between 1962 and 1988 in 3 languages and held by 335 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gott, Mensch und Welt in der Metaphysik von Descartes bis zu Nietzsche by Karl Löwith( Book )

24 editions published between 1965 and 2002 in 3 languages and held by 326 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Jacob Burckhardt. Der Mensch inmitten der Geschichte by Karl Löwith( Book )

33 editions published between 1936 and 2004 in 4 languages and held by 315 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gesammelte Abhandlungen; zur Kritik der geschichtlichen Existenz by Karl Löwith( Book )

23 editions published between 1960 and 1969 in 3 languages and held by 308 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Wissen, Glaube und Skepsis by Karl Löwith( Book )

22 editions published between 1956 and 2007 in 4 languages and held by 238 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Das individuum in der rolle des mitmenschen by Karl Löwith( Book )

36 editions published between 1928 and 2013 in German and Japanese and held by 223 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sämtliche Schriften by Karl Löwith( Book )

18 editions published between 1981 and 1988 in German and Greek, Modern and held by 219 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Von Hegel zu Nietzsche by Karl Löwith( Book )

53 editions published between 1941 and 2013 in 9 languages and held by 210 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Zur Kritik der christlichen Überlieferung by Karl Löwith( Book )

13 editions published in 1966 in 3 languages and held by 203 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mein Leben in Deutschland vor und nach 1933 : ein Bericht by Karl Löwith( Book )

31 editions published between 1986 and 2007 in 4 languages and held by 180 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Paul Valéry : Grundzüge seines philosophischen Denkens by Karl Löwith( Book )

19 editions published between 1971 and 1986 in 3 languages and held by 170 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.57 (from 0.31 for From Hegel ... to 0.94 for Karl Löwi ...)

Martin Heidegger and European nihilism
Alternative Names
Ka er Luo wei te 1897-1973

Kaer-Luoweite 1897-1973

Karl Lwith Duits filosoof

Karl Lwith filosofo tedesco

Karl Lwith German philosopher

Karl Lwith philosophe allemand

Karls Levits

Lvit, Karl 1897-1973

Loewith, Karl

Lwith, K. 1897-1973

Lowith, Karl

Lowith, Karl 1897-1973

Luoweite, Kaer 1897-1973

Rēvitto, Kāru 1897-1973

Карл Лёвит немецкий философ

Лёвит, Карл 1897-1973

کارل لویت فیلسوف آلمانی

کارڵ لۆڤیت

카를 뢰비트

カール・レーヴィット

カール・レーヴィット 1897-1973

レーヴィット, K

レーヴィット, カール

レーヴィット, カルル

レーヴィト, カール

卡爾洛維特

卡尔洛维特 1897-1973

Languages
Covers
From Hegel to Nietzsche : the revolution in nineteenth-century thoughtMax Weber and Karl MarxNietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the sameMartin Heidegger and European nihilismHeidegger : Denker in dürftiger Zeit.Heidegger's children : Hannah Arendt, Karl Löwith, Hans Jonas, and Herbert Marcuse