WorldCat Identities

Löwith, Karl 1897-1973

Overview
Works: 420 works in 1,551 publications in 9 languages and 17,420 library holdings
Genres: History  Biography  Bibliography 
Roles: Editor, Compiler, Author of introduction, Creator, Correspondent, Author of afterword, colophon, etc., Recipient, Other, Contributor
Classifications: D16.9, 193
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Karl Löwith Publications about Karl Löwith
Publications by  Karl Löwith Publications by Karl Löwith
posthumous Publications by Karl Löwith, published posthumously.
Most widely held works about Karl Löwith
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Karl Löwith
Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith ( Book )
57 editions published between 1949 and 2004 in 3 languages and held by 1,731 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
From Hegel to Nietzsche : the revolution in nineteenth-century thought by Karl Löwith ( Book )
54 editions published between 1964 and 1991 in 3 languages and held by 1,729 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Max Weber and Karl Marx by Karl Löwith ( Book )
26 editions published between 1981 and 2005 in English and held by 1,496 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This is a key text in modern interpretations of alienation in Marxist theory and rationalization in Weber's sociology. It remains the best student introduction to the differences and comparisons between these two essential thinkers
Nature, history, and existentialism, and other essays in the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith ( Book )
12 editions published between 1966 and 1981 in English and held by 743 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Martin Heidegger and European nihilism by Karl Löwith ( Book )
8 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 592 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Martin Heidegger and European Nihilism makes available in English Lowith's major writings concerning the origins of cultural breakdown in Europe that paved the way for the Third Reich. Including incisive discussions of Heidegger and Carl Schmitt, a noted legal theorist of the same period who also supported the Third Reich, Heidegger and European Nihilism helps to illuminate the allure of Nazism for scholars committed to revolutionary nihilism. Lowith's landmark essay on European nihilism is also included in its entirety here, along with two never-before-published letters from Heidegger to Lowith
Weltgeschichte und Heilsgeschehen : die theologischen Voraussetzungen der Geschichtsphilosophie by Karl Löwith ( Book )
62 editions published between 1907 and 2004 in 3 languages and held by 550 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Geschichtsphilosophie
Von Hegel zu Nietzsche : Der revolutionäre Bruch im Denken des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts by Karl Löwith ( Book )
93 editions published between 1941 and 1998 in 5 languages and held by 524 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Nietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the same by Karl Löwith ( Book )
8 editions published between 1996 and 1997 in English and held by 446 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Criticizing the tendency to treat Nietzsche as a literary figure or as a vitalist in the tradition of Bergson, Simmel, and Klages, Lowith situates Nietzsche squarely within the history of Western philosophy. He takes issue with the position of Jaspers that Nietzsche is best read as a rejection of all philosophical certainties and challenges Heidegger's view that Nietzsche was the last metaphysician of the West. For Lowith, the centerpiece of Nietzsche's thought is the doctrine of eternal recurrence, a notion which Lowith, unlike Heidegger, deems incompatible with the will to power. His careful examination of Nietzsche's cosmological theory of the infinite repetition of a finite number of states of the world suggests the paradoxical consequences this theory implies for human freedom. How is it possible to will the eternal recurrence of each moment of one's life, if both this decision and the states of affairs governed by it appear to be predestined? Lowith's book, one of the most important, if seldom acknowledged, sources for recent Anglophone Nietzsche studies, remains a central text for all concerned with understanding the philosopher's work
Jacob Burckhardt. Der Mensch inmitten der Geschichte by Karl Löwith ( Book )
33 editions published between 1936 and 1984 in 4 languages and held by 389 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Eerder verspreid verschenen opstellen over de Zwitserse cultuurhistoricus (1818-1897)
Nietzsches Philosophie der ewigen Widerkehr des Gleichen by Karl Löwith ( Book )
29 editions published between 1956 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 385 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In seiner großen Nietzsche-Studie interpretiert Karl Löwith Nietzsches gesamte Philosophie als geschichtsphilosophischen Versuch, die Entstehung, Entwicklung und mögliche Überwindung des Nihilismus im abendländischen Denken zu beschreiben. Als Kern und Angelpunkt von Nietzsches Denken sieht Löwith dabei die Lehre von der ewigen Wiederkehr des Gleichen, mit der Nietzsche sein Ziel der Wiederherstellung eines antiken, dionysischen Lebensgefühls gegenüber christlicher Leidensmetaphorik verfolgt. Löwith zufolge mündet Nietzsches Philosophie jedoch in der Aporie, weil er den seiner Lehre immanenten
Heidegger : Denker in dürftiger Zeit. by Karl Löwith ( Book )
32 editions published between 1953 and 1965 in 3 languages and held by 371 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Die Hegelsche Linke : Texte aus den Werken von Heinrich Heine, Arnold Ruge, Moses Hess, Max Stirner, Bruno Bauer, Ludwig Feuerbach, Karl Marx und Sören Kierkegaard by Karl Löwith ( Book )
27 editions published between 1962 and 1988 in 3 languages and held by 337 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Gesammelte Abhandlungen; zur Kritik der geschichtlichen Existenz by Karl Löwith ( Book )
17 editions published between 1960 and 1969 in German and Undetermined and held by 285 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Gott, Mensch und Welt in der Metaphysik von Descartes bis zu Nietzsche by Karl Löwith ( Book )
14 editions published in 1967 in German and English and held by 270 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Sämtliche Schriften by Karl Löwith ( Book )
18 editions published between 1981 and 1988 in German and Greek, Modern and held by 217 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Wissen, Glaube und Skepsis by Karl Löwith ( Book )
16 editions published between 1956 and 1962 in German and English and held by 215 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Das individuum in der rolle des mitmenschen by Karl Löwith ( Book )
30 editions published between 1928 and 2013 in German and held by 207 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Paul Valéry : Grundzüge seines philosophischen Denkens by Karl Löwith ( Book )
10 editions published in 1971 in German and held by 168 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Aufsätze und Vorträge 1930-1970 by Karl Löwith ( Book )
9 editions published in 1971 in German and held by 153 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Mensch und Menschenwelt : Beiträge zur Anthropologie by Karl Löwith ( Book )
10 editions published in 1981 in German and Spanish and held by 140 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Eerder verspreid verschenen opstellen, essays en voordrachten van de Duitse filosoof (1897-1973), over de wijsgerige antropologie
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.63 (from 0.37 for Reisetagbu ... to 0.96 for Filosofia ...)
Alternative Names
Ka er Luo wei te 1897-1973
Kaer-Luoweite 1897-1973
Lëvit, Karl 1897-1973
Loewith, Karl
Löwith, K. 1897-1973
Lowith, Karl
Lowith, Karl 1897-1973
Luoweite, Kaer 1897-1973
Rēvitto, Kāru 1897-1973
Лёвит, Карл 1897-1973
カール・レーヴィット 1897-1973
レーヴィット, K
レーヴィット, カール
レーヴィット, カルル
レーヴィト, カール
卡尔·洛维特 1897-1973
Languages
Covers