WorldCat Identities

Löwith, Karl 1897-1973

Overview
Works: 375 works in 1,514 publications in 12 languages and 17,389 library holdings
Genres: History  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Biography  Church history  Bibliography 
Roles: Author, Editor, Author of introduction, Compiler, Creator, Correspondent, Author of afterword, colophon, etc., Recipient, Contributor, Other, Collaborator
Classifications: D16.9, 193
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Karl Löwith
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Karl Löwith
From Hegel to Nietzsche : the revolution in nineteenth-century thought by Karl Löwith( Book )

210 editions published between 1941 and 2015 in 10 languages and held by 2,591 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Diese zum Klassiker avancierte Studie zur Geschichte des deutschen Geistes im 19. Jahrhundert sucht das Schicksal des Hegelschen Denkens zu erfassen: die Umbildung und Verkehrung der Philosophie des absoluten Geistes durch Marx und Kierkegaard, den Umschlag des geschichtlichen Denkens in das Verlangen nach Ewigkeit bei Nietzsche. Die Erstausgabe erschien 1941 in New York. Der Text dieser Studienausgabe folgt der leicht gekürzten 2. Auflage von 1950. Biographische Informationen Karl Löwith wird 1897 in München geboren. Nach dem Besuch des Realgymnasiums beginnt er das Studium der Philosophie
Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith( Book )

103 editions published between 1949 and 2012 in 6 languages and held by 2,216 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Schr. onderzoekt - het spoor in de historie van de geschiedenisfilosofie terug volgend - tendenzen in geschiedenisopvatting van een aantal denkers, waarinhij vooral de vermenging van invloeden, speciaal die van het christelijke denken aanwijst
Max Weber and Karl Marx by Karl Löwith( Book )

48 editions published between 1932 and 2009 in 4 languages and held by 1,088 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Lowith's study of Max Weber and Karl Marx is a key text in modern interpretations of the theme of alienation in Marxist theory and rationalisation in Weber's sociology. It remains the best short student introduction to the differences and comparisons between these essential thinkers. This new edition includes a Preface by Professor Bryan S. Turner which demonstrates the relevance of the book for contemporary sociology
Nietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the same by Karl Löwith( Book )

56 editions published between 1935 and 2014 in 4 languages and held by 923 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Criticizing the tendency to treat Nietzsche as a literary figure or as a vitalist in the tradition of Bergson, Simmel, and Klages, Lowith situates Nietzsche squarely within the history of Western philosophy. He takes issue with the position of Jaspers that Nietzsche is best read as a rejection of all philosophical certainties and challenges Heidegger's view that Nietzsche was the last metaphysician of the West. For Lowith, the centerpiece of Nietzsche's thought is the doctrine of eternal recurrence, a notion which Lowith, unlike Heidegger, deems incompatible with the will to power. His careful examination of Nietzsche's cosmological theory of the infinite repetition of a finite number of states of the world suggests the paradoxical consequences this theory implies for human freedom. How is it possible to will the eternal recurrence of each moment of one's life, if both this decision and the states of affairs governed by it appear to be predestined? Lowith's book, one of the most important, if seldom acknowledged, sources for recent Anglophone Nietzsche studies, remains a central text for all concerned with understanding the philosopher's work
Nature, history, and existentialism, and other essays in the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith( Book )

14 editions published between 1966 and 1981 in English and held by 732 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Martin Heidegger and European nihilism by Karl Löwith( Book )

9 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 601 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In a work of impressive historical depth, Lowith traces the abandonment of higher European ideals in favor of a fatal flirtation with nihilism. These essays explore the enthronement of man above God, a trend that had begun to appear in European thought by the mid-nineteenth century in the works of Nietzsche and Marx and one that informed the nihilist philosophies of Heidegger and other theorists of the early twentieth century. An introduction by editor Richard Wolin provides lucid commentary, placing the three essays gathered here in a broad historical context, along with suggestions for further reading. This seminal work of intellectual history sheds light on the fascist impulses of nihilism in the first half of the twentieth century, but also offers unique perspective on the intellectual malaise of today
Heidegger : Denker in dürftiger Zeit. by Karl Löwith( Book )

42 editions published between 1953 and 1984 in 4 languages and held by 431 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Jacob Burckhardt. Der Mensch inmitten der Geschichte by Karl Löwith( Book )

38 editions published between 1936 and 2004 in 6 languages and held by 418 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Eerder verspreid verschenen opstellen over de Zwitserse cultuurhistoricus (1818-1897)
Wissen, Glaube und Skepsis by Karl Löwith( Book )

35 editions published between 1956 and 1985 in 4 languages and held by 372 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Godsdienstfilosofische essays van de Duitse wijsgeer (1897-1973)
Die Hegelsche Linke : Texte aus den Werken von Heinrich Heine, Arnold Ruge, Moses Hess, Max Stirner, Bruno Bauer, Ludwig Feuerbach, Karl Marx und Sören Kierkegaard by Karl Löwith( Book )

21 editions published between 1962 and 1988 in 3 languages and held by 315 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gott, Mensch und Welt in der Metaphysik von Descartes bis zu Nietzsche by Karl Löwith( Book )

16 editions published in 1967 in German and English and held by 305 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gesammelte Abhandlungen; zur Kritik der geschichtlichen Existenz by Karl Löwith( Book )

20 editions published between 1960 and 1969 in German and Undetermined and held by 303 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Das individuum in der rolle des mitmenschen by Karl Löwith( Book )

27 editions published between 1928 and 2013 in German and held by 219 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Zur Kritik der christlichen Überlieferung by Karl Löwith( Book )

12 editions published in 1966 in German and English and held by 199 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Paul Valéry : Grundzüge seines philosophischen Denkens by Karl Löwith( Book )

14 editions published in 1971 in German and Undetermined and held by 174 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Aufsätze und Vorträge 1930-1970 by Karl Löwith( Book )

8 editions published in 1971 in German and held by 153 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mensch und Menschenwelt : Beiträge zur Anthropologie by Karl Löwith( Book )

10 editions published in 1981 in German and Spanish and held by 146 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Eerder verspreid verschenen opstellen, essays en voordrachten van de Duitse filosoof (1897-1973), over de wijsgerige antropologie
Das Verhältnis von Gott, Mensch und Welt in der Metaphysik von Descartes und Kant by Karl Löwith( Book )

11 editions published in 1964 in German and Undetermined and held by 138 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Der Weltbegriff der neuzeitlichen Philosophie by Karl Löwith( Book )

12 editions published between 1960 and 1968 in 3 languages and held by 131 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Heidegger, Denker in dürftiger Zeit : zur Stellung der Philosophie im 20. Jahrhundert by Karl Löwith( Book )

12 editions published in 1984 in German and Spanish and held by 131 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Eerder verspreid verschenen opstellen over de Duitse filosoof (1889-1976)
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.59 (from 0.34 for Max Weber ... to 0.94 for Karl Löwi ...)

Martin Heidegger and European nihilism
Alternative Names
Ka er Luo wei te 1897-1973

Kaer-Luoweite 1897-1973

Karl Löwith Duits filosoof

Karl Löwith filosofo tedesco

Karl Löwith German philosopher

Karl Löwith philosophe allemand

Karls Levits

Lëvit, Karl 1897-1973

Loewith, Karl

Löwith, K. 1897-1973

Lowith, Karl

Lowith, Karl 1897-1973

Luoweite, Kaer 1897-1973

Rēvitto, K. 1897-1973

Rēvitto, Kāru 1897-1973

Καρλ Λέβιτ Γερμανός φιλόσοφος

Карл Лёвит немецкий философ

Лёвит, Карл 1897-1973

کارل لویت فیلسوف آلمانی

کارڵ لۆڤیت

뢰비트, 카를 1897-1973

뢰비트, 칼 1897-1973

카를 뢰비트

カール・レーヴィット

カール・レーヴィット 1897-1973

レ-ヴィット, K. 1897-1973

レーヴィット, K.

レーヴィット, カール

レーヴィット, カルル

レーヴィト, カール

卡爾·洛維特

卡尔·洛维特 1897-1973

Languages
Covers
Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of historyMax Weber and Karl MarxNietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the sameMartin Heidegger and European nihilismHeidegger's children : Hannah Arendt, Karl Löwith, Hans Jonas, and Herbert Marcuse