WorldCat Identities

Löwith, Karl 1897-1973

Overview
Works: 397 works in 1,911 publications in 13 languages and 20,053 library holdings
Genres: History  Biography  Church history  Bibliography 
Roles: Author, Editor, Author of introduction, Compiler, Creator, Correspondent, Author of afterword, colophon, etc., Recipient, Contributor, Other
Classifications: D16.9, 193
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Karl Löwith
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Karl Löwith
From Hegel to Nietzsche : the revolution in nineteenth-century thought by Karl Löwith( Book )

133 editions published between 1941 and 2014 in 8 languages and held by 2,009 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Escrita durante el exilio en Japón y publicada en 1939, De Hegel a Nietzsche ha sido considerada un clásico y juzgada, con razón, como la obra más importante sobre la filosofía y la historia intelectual del siglo XIX. En ella, Karl Löwith comienza con un examen de las relaciones entre Hegel y Goethe para, a continuación, discutir de qué manera los discípulos de Hegel, y particularmente Marx y Kierkegaard, interpretaron, o reinterpretaron, el pensamiento del maestro. Al señalar a Marx y a Kierkegaard como los precursores del "decisionismo", con el cual la filosofía legitimaba sus incursiones en el mundo histórico, Löwith se propone la tarea de desacreditar al historicismo en tanto responsable del nihilismo filosófico y del decisionismo político. Y al orientar su pensamiento hacia la "despotenciación de la conciencia histórica", rehabilita teóricamente la dimensión reprimida por el pensamiento historicista: la naturaleza. De Hegel a Nietzsche tiene, entonces, la peculiaridad de ser un estudio histórico pensado como una respuesta a la identificación de mundo e historia; un intento de contrarrestar los efectos de la conciencia histórica utilizando sus propias armas. Löwith asume ese proyecto paradójico desde la certeza de que, una vez eliminado el presupuesto de la divinidad del cosmos, ya no es posible un retorno a la actitud contemplativa."--Contratapa
Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith( Book )

88 editions published between 1949 and 2016 in 4 languages and held by 1,774 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Max Weber and Karl Marx by Karl Löwith( Book )

43 editions published between 1932 and 2016 in 3 languages and held by 1,037 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Lowith's study of Max Weber and Karl Marx is a key text in modern interpretations of the theme of alienation in Marxist theory and rationalisation in Weber's sociology. It remains the best short student introduction to the differences and comparisons between these essential thinkers. This new edition includes a Preface by Professor Bryan S. Turner which demonstrates the relevance of the book for contemporary sociology
Nature, history, and existentialism, and other essays in the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith( Book )

15 editions published between 1966 and 1981 in English and German and held by 725 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Von Hegel zu Nietzsche : Der revolutionäre Bruch im Denken des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts by Karl Löwith( Book )

131 editions published between 1941 and 1995 in 4 languages and held by 665 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Martin Heidegger and European nihilism by Karl Löwith( Book )

10 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 602 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In a work of impressive historical depth, Lowith traces the abandonment of higher European ideals in favor of a fatal flirtation with nihilism. These essays explore the enthronement of man above God, a trend that had begun to appear in European thought by the mid-nineteenth century in the works of Nietzsche and Marx and one that informed the nihilist philosophies of Heidegger and other theorists of the early twentieth century. An introduction by editor Richard Wolin provides lucid commentary, placing the three essays gathered here in a broad historical context, along with suggestions for further reading. This seminal work of intellectual history sheds light on the fascist impulses of nihilism in the first half of the twentieth century, but also offers unique perspective on the intellectual malaise of today
Nietzsches Philosophie der ewigen Widerkehr des Gleichen by Karl Löwith( Book )

64 editions published between 1956 and 2014 in 4 languages and held by 572 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In seiner großen Nietzsche-Studie interpretiert Karl Löwith Nietzsches gesamte Philosophie als geschichtsphilosophischen Versuch, die Entstehung, Entwicklung und mögliche Überwindung des Nihilismus im abendländischen Denken zu beschreiben. Als Kern und Angelpunkt von Nietzsches Denken sieht Löwith dabei die Lehre von der ewigen Wiederkehr des Gleichen, mit der Nietzsche sein Ziel der Wiederherstellung eines antiken, dionysischen Lebensgefühls gegenüber christlicher Leidensmetaphorik verfolgt. Löwith zufolge mündet Nietzsches Philosophie jedoch in der Aporie, weil er den seiner Lehre immanenten
Weltgeschichte und Heilsgeschehen : die theologischen Voraussetzungen der Geschichtsphilosophie by Karl Löwith( Book )

67 editions published between 1907 and 2004 in German and held by 499 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Geschichtsphilosophie
Nietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the same by Karl Löwith( Book )

10 editions published between 1996 and 1997 in English and held by 451 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Criticizing the tendency to treat Nietzsche as a literary figure or as a vitalist in the tradition of Bergson, Simmel, and Klages, Lowith situates Nietzsche squarely within the history of Western philosophy. He takes issue with the position of Jaspers that Nietzsche is best read as a rejection of all philosophical certainties and challenges Heidegger's view that Nietzsche was the last metaphysician of the West. For Lowith, the centerpiece of Nietzsche's thought is the doctrine of eternal recurrence, a notion which Lowith, unlike Heidegger, deems incompatible with the will to power. His careful examination of Nietzsche's cosmological theory of the infinite repetition of a finite number of states of the world suggests the paradoxical consequences this theory implies for human freedom. How is it possible to will the eternal recurrence of each moment of one's life, if both this decision and the states of affairs governed by it appear to be predestined? Lowith's book, one of the most important, if seldom acknowledged, sources for recent Anglophone Nietzsche studies, remains a central text for all concerned with understanding the philosopher's work
Heidegger : Denker in dürftiger Zeit. by Karl Löwith( Book )

44 editions published between 1953 and 2006 in 4 languages and held by 360 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Die Hegelsche Linke : Texte aus den Werken von Heinrich Heine, Arnold Ruge, Moses Hess, Max Stirner, Bruno Bauer, Ludwig Feuerbach, Karl Marx und Sören Kierkegaard by Karl Löwith( Book )

31 editions published between 1962 and 1988 in 3 languages and held by 350 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gesammelte Abhandlungen; zur Kritik der geschichtlichen Existenz by Karl Löwith( Book )

20 editions published between 1960 and 1969 in German and Undetermined and held by 310 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gott, Mensch und Welt in der Metaphysik von Descartes bis zu Nietzsche by Karl Löwith( Book )

16 editions published in 1967 in German and English and held by 309 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Wissen, Glaube und Skepsis by Karl Löwith( Book )

25 editions published between 1956 and 1962 in 3 languages and held by 257 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Das individuum in der rolle des mitmenschen by Karl Löwith( Book )

37 editions published between 1928 and 2016 in German and held by 253 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Zur Kritik der christlichen Überlieferung by Karl Löwith( Book )

15 editions published in 1966 in German and English and held by 216 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Aufsätze und Vorträge 1930-1970 by Karl Löwith( Book )

13 editions published in 1971 in German and held by 173 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sämtliche Schriften by Karl Löwith( Book )

15 editions published between 1981 and 1988 in German and Greek, Modern and held by 159 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Paul Valéry : Grundzüge seines philosophischen Denkens by Karl Löwith( Book )

14 editions published in 1971 in German and Undetermined and held by 159 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mein Leben in Deutschland vor und nach 1933 : ein Bericht by Karl Löwith( Book )

23 editions published between 1986 and 2007 in German and held by 142 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Written in 1939 while in exile in Japan. Includes philosphical-biographical vignettes of leading German intellectual figures - the George circle, Oswald Spengler, Karl Barth, Carl Schmitt as well as his meeting with Martin Heidegger in Rome in 1936
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.56 (from 0.26 for Max Weber ... to 0.95 for Filosofia ...)

Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of history
Alternative Names
Ka er Luo wei te 1897-1973

Kaer-Luoweite 1897-1973

Karl Löwith Duits filosoof

Karl Löwith filòsof alemany

Karl Löwith filósofo alemán

Karl Löwith filosofo tedesco

Karl Löwith German philosopher

Karl Löwith philosophe allemand

Kārlis Levits

Karls Levits

Lëvit, Karl 1897-1973

Loewith, Karl

Löwith, K.

Löwith, K. 1897-1973

Lowith, Karl

Lowith, Karl 1897-1973

Löwiz, Karl

Luoweite, Kaer 1897-1973

Rēvitto 1897-1973

Rēvitto, K. 1897-1973

Rēvitto, Kāru

Rēvitto, Kāru 1897-1973

Καρλ Λέβιτ Γερμανός φιλόσοφος

Карл Лёвит немецкий философ

Лёвит, Карл 1897-1973

کارل لویت فیلسوف آلمانی

کارڵ لۆڤیت

뢰비트, 카를 1897-1973

뢰비트, 칼 1897-1973

카를 뢰비트

カール・レーヴィット

カール・レーヴィット 1897-1973

レ-ヴィット, K. 1897-1973

レーヴィット, K.

レーヴィット, カール

レーヴィット, カルル

レーヴィト, カール

卡爾·洛維特

卡尔·洛维特 1897-1973

Languages
Covers
Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of historyMax Weber and Karl MarxMartin Heidegger and European nihilismNietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the sameHeidegger : Denker in dürftiger Zeit.Heidegger's children : Hannah Arendt, Karl Löwith, Hans Jonas, and Herbert Marcuse