WorldCat Identities

Löwith, Karl 1897-1973

Overview
Works: 412 works in 1,978 publications in 12 languages and 19,936 library holdings
Genres: History  Biography  Church history  Bibliography 
Roles: Author, Editor, Author of introduction, Compiler, Creator, Correspondent, Author of afterword, colophon, etc., Recipient, Contributor, Other
Classifications: D16.9, 193
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Karl Löwith
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Karl Löwith
Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith( Book )

161 editions published between 1907 and 2017 in 5 languages and held by 2,278 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"For centuries, the history of the western world has been viewed from the Christian or classical standpoint... The modern mind, however, is neither Christian nor pagan--and its interpretations of history are Christian in derivation and anti-Christian in result. To develop this theory, Karl Lowith--beginning with the more accessible philosophies of history in the nineteenth and eighteenth centuries and working back to the Bible--analyzes the writings of outstanding historians both in antiquity and in Christian times."--From book jacket
From Hegel to Nietzsche : the revolution in nineteenth-century thought by Karl Löwith( Book )

61 editions published between 1964 and 1991 in 3 languages and held by 1,689 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Max Weber and Karl Marx by Karl Löwith( )

28 editions published between 1932 and 2016 in 3 languages and held by 1,377 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Lowith's study of Max Weber and Karl Marx is a key text in modern interpretations of the theme of alienation in Marxist theory and rationalisation in Weber's sociology. It remains the best short student introduction to the differences and comparisons between these essential thinkers. This new edition includes a Preface by Professor Bryan S. Turner which demonstrates the relevance of the book for contemporary sociology
Von Hegel zu Nietzsche : Der revolutionäre Bruch im Denken des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts by Karl Löwith( Book )

142 editions published between 1900 and 1999 in 6 languages and held by 780 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Diese zum Klassiker avancierte Studie zur Geschichte des deutschen Geistes im 19. Jahrhundert sucht das Schicksal des Hegelschen Denkens zu erfassen: die Umbildung und Verkehrung der Philosophie des absoluten Geistes durch Marx und Kierkegaard, den Umschlag des geschichtlichen Denkens in das Verlangen nach Ewigkeit bei Nietzsche. Die Erstausgabe erschien 1941 in New York. Der Text dieser Studienausgabe folgt der leicht gekürzten 2. Auflage von 1950. Biographische Informationen Karl Löwith wird 1897 in München geboren. Nach dem Besuch des Realgymnasiums beginnt er das Studium der Philosophie
Nature, history, and existentialism, and other essays in the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith( Book )

16 editions published between 1966 and 1981 in English and German and held by 729 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Max Weber and Karl Marx by Karl Löwith( Book )

19 editions published between 1932 and 1986 in English and German and held by 717 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Martin Heidegger and European nihilism by Karl Löwith( Book )

10 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 604 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Martin Heidegger and European Nihilism makes available in English Lowith's major writings concerning the origins of cultural breakdown in Europe that paved the way for the Third Reich. Including incisive discussions of Heidegger and Carl Schmitt, a noted legal theorist of the same period who also supported the Third Reich, Heidegger and European Nihilism helps to illuminate the allure of Nazism for scholars committed to revolutionary nihilism. Lowith's landmark essay on European nihilism is also included in its entirety here, along with two never-before-published letters from Heidegger to Lowith
Nietzsches Philosophie der ewigen Widerkehr des Gleichen by Karl Löwith( Book )

39 editions published between 1956 and 2014 in German and English and held by 467 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In seiner großen Nietzsche-Studie interpretiert Karl Löwith Nietzsches gesamte Philosophie als geschichtsphilosophischen Versuch, die Entstehung, Entwicklung und mögliche Überwindung des Nihilismus im abendländischen Denken zu beschreiben. Als Kern und Angelpunkt von Nietzsches Denken sieht Löwith dabei die Lehre von der ewigen Wiederkehr des Gleichen, mit der Nietzsche sein Ziel der Wiederherstellung eines antiken, dionysischen Lebensgefühls gegenüber christlicher Leidensmetaphorik verfolgt. Löwith zufolge mündet Nietzsches Philosophie jedoch in der Aporie, weil er den seiner Lehre immanenten
Nietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the same by Karl Löwith( Book )

10 editions published between 1996 and 1997 in English and held by 453 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Criticizing the tendency to treat Nietzsche as a literary figure or as a vitalist in the tradition of Bergson, Simmel, and Klages, Lowith situates Nietzsche squarely within the history of Western philosophy. He takes issue with the position of Jaspers that Nietzsche is best read as a rejection of all philosophical certainties and challenges Heidegger's view that Nietzsche was the last metaphysician of the West. For Lowith, the centerpiece of Nietzsche's thought is the doctrine of eternal recurrence, a notion which Lowith, unlike Heidegger, deems incompatible with the will to power. His careful examination of Nietzsche's cosmological theory of the infinite repetition of a finite number of states of the world suggests the paradoxical consequences this theory implies for human freedom. How is it possible to will the eternal recurrence of each moment of one's life, if both this decision and the states of affairs governed by it appear to be predestined? Lowith's book, one of the most important, if seldom acknowledged, sources for recent Anglophone Nietzsche studies, remains a central text for all concerned with understanding the philosopher's work
Heidegger : Denker in dürftiger Zeit. by Karl Löwith( Book )

38 editions published between 1953 and 1965 in 4 languages and held by 426 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gesammelte Abhandlungen; zur Kritik der geschichtlichen Existenz by Karl Löwith( Book )

19 editions published between 1960 and 1969 in German and Undetermined and held by 322 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Die Hegelsche Linke : Texte aus den Werken von Heinrich Heine, Arnold Ruge, Moses Hess, Max Stirner, Bruno Bauer, Ludwig Feuerbach, Karl Marx und Sören Kierkegaard by Karl Löwith( Book )

26 editions published between 1962 and 1988 in German and Dutch and held by 314 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gott, Mensch und Welt in der Metaphysik von Descartes bis zu Nietzsche by Karl Löwith( Book )

17 editions published in 1967 in German and English and held by 311 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Jacob Burckhardt. Der Mensch inmitten der Geschichte by Karl Löwith( Book )

27 editions published between 1936 and 1966 in 3 languages and held by 306 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Von Hegel zu Nietzsche by Karl Löwith( Book )

71 editions published between 1941 and 2014 in 6 languages and held by 302 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Karl Löwith examina las relaciones entre Hegel y Goethe y de qué manera los discípulos de Hegel -y particularmente Marx y Kierkegaard- interpretaron, o reinterpretaron, el pensamiento del maestro. Al señalar a Marx y a Kierkegaard como los precursores del "decisionismo" -con el cual la filosofía legitimaba sus incursiones en el mundo histórico-, Löwith se propone la tarea de desacreditar al historicismo en tanto responsable del nihilismo filosófico y del decisionismo político. Y al orientar su pensamiento hacia la "despotenciación de la conciencia histórica", rehabilita teóricamente la dimensión reprimida por el pensamiento historicista: la naturaleza. De Hegel a Nietzsche tiene es un estudio histórico pensado como una respuesta a la identificación de mundo e historia; un intento de contrarrestar los efectos de la conciencia histórica utilizando sus propias armas
Wissen, Glaube und Skepsis by Karl Löwith( Book )

26 editions published between 1956 and 1962 in 3 languages and held by 260 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Das individuum in der rolle des mitmenschen by Karl Löwith( Book )

38 editions published between 1928 and 2016 in German and held by 255 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sämtliche Schriften by Karl Löwith( Book )

31 editions published between 1981 and 1988 in German and Greek, Modern and held by 250 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Zur Kritik der christlichen Überlieferung by Karl Löwith( Book )

15 editions published in 1966 in German and English and held by 215 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Aufsätze und Vorträge 1930-1970 by Karl Löwith( Book )

14 editions published in 1971 in German and held by 177 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.54 (from 0.19 for Max Weber ... to 0.94 for Filosofia ...)

Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of history
Covers
From Hegel to Nietzsche : the revolution in nineteenth-century thoughtMax Weber and Karl MarxMartin Heidegger and European nihilismNietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the sameHeidegger's children : Hannah Arendt, Karl Löwith, Hans Jonas, and Herbert MarcuseLos hijos de Heidegger : Hannah Arendt, Karl Löwith, Hans Jonas y Herbert Marcuse
Alternative Names
Ka er Luo wei te 1897-1973

Kaer-Luoweite 1897-1973

Karl Löwith deutscher Philosoph

Karl Löwith Duits filosoof

Karl Löwith filòsof alemany

Karl Löwith filósofo alemán

Karl Löwith filosofo tedesco

Karl Löwith German philosopher

Karl Löwith germana filozofo

Karl Löwith německý filosof

Karl Löwith philosophe allemand

Kārlis Levits

Karls Levits

Lëvit, Karl 1897-1973

Loewith, Karl

Löwith, K.

Löwith, K. 1897-1973

Löwith, Karl

Lowith, Karl 1897-1973

Löwiz, Karl

Luoweite, Kaer 1897-1973

Rēvitto 1897-1973

Rēvitto, K. 1897-1973

Rēvitto, Kāru

Rēvitto, Kāru 1897-1973

Καρλ Λέβιτ Γερμανός φιλόσοφος

Карл Лёвит немецкий философ

Лёвит, Карл 1897-1973

کارل لویت فیلسوف آلمانی

کارڵ لۆڤیت

뢰비트, 카를 1897-1973

뢰비트, 칼 1897-1973

카를 뢰비트

カール・レーヴィット

カール・レーヴィット 1897-1973

レ-ヴィット, K. 1897-1973

レーヴィット, K.

レーヴィット, カール

レーヴィット, カルル

レーヴィト, カール

卡爾·洛維特

卡尔·洛维特 1897-1973

Languages