WorldCat Identities

Löwith, Karl 1897-1973

Overview
Works: 389 works in 1,584 publications in 12 languages and 17,715 library holdings
Genres: History  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Biography  Church history  Bibliography 
Roles: Author, Editor, Compiler, Author of introduction, Creator, Correspondent, Author of afterword, colophon, etc., Recipient, Other, Contributor
Classifications: D16.9, 193
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Karl Löwith Publications about Karl Löwith
Publications by  Karl Löwith Publications by Karl Löwith
posthumous Publications by Karl Löwith, published posthumously.
Most widely held works about Karl Löwith
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Karl Löwith
Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith ( Book )
77 editions published between 1949 and 2004 in 6 languages and held by 1,778 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
From Hegel to Nietzsche : the revolution in nineteenth-century thought by Karl Löwith ( Book )
55 editions published between 1964 and 1991 in 3 languages and held by 1,734 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Max Weber and Karl Marx by Karl Löwith ( Book )
28 editions published between 1981 and 2005 in English and held by 1,537 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Lowith's study of Max Weber and Karl Marx is a key text in modern interpretations of the theme of alienation in Marxist theory and rationalisation in Weber's sociology. It remains the best short student introduction to the differences and comparisons between these essential thinkers. This new edition includes a Preface by Professor Bryan S. Turner which demonstrates the relevance of the book for contemporary sociology
Von Hegel zu Nietzsche : Der revolutionäre Bruch im Denken des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts by Karl Löwith ( Book )
160 editions published between 1941 and 2010 in 9 languages and held by 967 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Nature, history, and existentialism, and other essays in the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith ( Book )
12 editions published between 1966 and 1981 in English and held by 743 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Weltgeschichte und Heilsgeschehen : die theologischen Voraussetzungen der Geschichtsphilosophie by Karl Löwith ( Book )
79 editions published between 1907 and 2013 in 6 languages and held by 642 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Geschichtsphilosophie
Martin Heidegger and European nihilism by Karl Löwith ( Book )
8 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 596 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In a work of impressive historical depth, Lowith traces the abandonment of higher European ideals in favor of a fatal flirtation with nihilism. These essays explore the enthronement of man above God, a trend that had begun to appear in European thought by the mid-nineteenth century in the works of Nietzsche and Marx and one that informed the nihilist philosophies of Heidegger and other theorists of the early twentieth century. An introduction by editor Richard Wolin provides lucid commentary, placing the three essays gathered here in a broad historical context, along with suggestions for further reading. This seminal work of intellectual history sheds light on the fascist impulses of nihilism in the first half of the twentieth century, but also offers unique perspective on the intellectual malaise of today
Nietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the same by Karl Löwith ( Book )
25 editions published between 1960 and 2010 in 4 languages and held by 489 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Criticizing the tendency to treat Nietzsche as a literary figure or as a vitalist in the tradition of Bergson, Simmel, and Klages, Lowith situates Nietzsche squarely within the history of Western philosophy. He takes issue with the position of Jaspers that Nietzsche is best read as a rejection of all philosophical certainties and challenges Heidegger's view that Nietzsche was the last metaphysician of the West. For Lowith, the centerpiece of Nietzsche's thought is the doctrine of eternal recurrence, a notion which Lowith, unlike Heidegger, deems incompatible with the will to power. His careful examination of Nietzsche's cosmological theory of the infinite repetition of a finite number of states of the world suggests the paradoxical consequences this theory implies for human freedom. How is it possible to will the eternal recurrence of each moment of one's life, if both this decision and the states of affairs governed by it appear to be predestined? Lowith's book, one of the most important, if seldom acknowledged, sources for recent Anglophone Nietzsche studies, remains a central text for all concerned with understanding the philosopher's work
Jacob Burckhardt. Der Mensch inmitten der Geschichte by Karl Löwith ( Book )
45 editions published between 1936 and 2004 in 6 languages and held by 446 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Eerder verspreid verschenen opstellen over de Zwitserse cultuurhistoricus (1818-1897)
Nietzsches Philosophie der ewigen Widerkehr des Gleichen by Karl Löwith ( Book )
29 editions published between 1956 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 417 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In seiner großen Nietzsche-Studie interpretiert Karl Löwith Nietzsches gesamte Philosophie als geschichtsphilosophischen Versuch, die Entstehung, Entwicklung und mögliche Überwindung des Nihilismus im abendländischen Denken zu beschreiben. Als Kern und Angelpunkt von Nietzsches Denken sieht Löwith dabei die Lehre von der ewigen Wiederkehr des Gleichen, mit der Nietzsche sein Ziel der Wiederherstellung eines antiken, dionysischen Lebensgefühls gegenüber christlicher Leidensmetaphorik verfolgt. Löwith zufolge mündet Nietzsches Philosophie jedoch in der Aporie, weil er den seiner Lehre immanenten
Heidegger : Denker in dürftiger Zeit. by Karl Löwith ( Book )
33 editions published between 1953 and 1965 in 3 languages and held by 380 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Gott, Mensch und Welt in der Metaphysik von Descartes bis zu Nietzsche by Karl Löwith ( Book )
27 editions published between 1965 and 2002 in 4 languages and held by 327 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Die Hegelsche Linke : Texte aus den Werken von Heinrich Heine, Arnold Ruge, Moses Hess, Max Stirner, Bruno Bauer, Ludwig Feuerbach, Karl Marx und Sören Kierkegaard by Karl Löwith ( Book )
20 editions published between 1962 and 1988 in German and English and held by 313 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Gesammelte Abhandlungen; zur Kritik der geschichtlichen Existenz by Karl Löwith ( Book )
18 editions published between 1960 and 1969 in German and Undetermined and held by 292 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Wissen, Glaube und Skepsis by Karl Löwith ( Book )
22 editions published between 1956 and 2007 in 5 languages and held by 237 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Das individuum in der rolle des mitmenschen by Karl Löwith ( Book )
37 editions published between 1928 and 2013 in German and Japanese and held by 225 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Sämtliche Schriften by Karl Löwith ( Book )
17 editions published between 1981 and 1988 in German and Greek, Modern and held by 219 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Zur Kritik der christlichen Überlieferung by Karl Löwith ( Book )
13 editions published in 1966 in 3 languages and held by 206 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Paul Valéry : Grundzüge seines philosophischen Denkens by Karl Löwith ( Book )
11 editions published in 1971 in German and held by 170 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Aufsätze und Vorträge 1930-1970 by Karl Löwith ( Book )
9 editions published in 1971 in German and held by 158 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.63 (from 0.35 for Yi jiu san ... to 0.95 for Filosofia ...)
Alternative Names
Ka er Luo wei te 1897-1973
Kaer-Luoweite 1897-1973
Lëvit, Karl 1897-1973
Loewith, Karl
Löwith, K. 1897-1973
Lowith, Karl
Lowith, Karl 1897-1973
Luoweite, Kaer 1897-1973
Rēvitto, Kāru 1897-1973
Лёвит, Карл 1897-1973
カール・レーヴィット 1897-1973
レーヴィット, K
レーヴィット, カール
レーヴィット, カルル
レーヴィト, カール
卡尔·洛维特 1897-1973
Languages
German (465)
English (188)
Italian (74)
Spanish (20)
Japanese (19)
French (17)
Chinese (11)
Hungarian (3)
Greek, Modern (3)
Korean (2)
Dutch (2)
Multiple languages (1)
Covers