WorldCat Identities

Löwith, Karl 1897-1973

Overview
Works: 413 works in 1,758 publications in 17 languages and 18,425 library holdings
Genres: History  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Biography  Church history  Bibliography 
Roles: Author, Editor, Author of introduction, Compiler, Creator, Correspondent, Author of afterword, colophon, etc., Recipient, Other, Contributor, Collaborator
Classifications: D16.9, 193
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Karl Löwith
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Karl Löwith
From Hegel to Nietzsche : the revolution in nineteenth-century thought by Karl Lwith( Book )

119 editions published between 1941 and 1998 in 5 languages and held by 2,101 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of history by Karl Lwith( Book )

104 editions published between 1949 and 2006 in 8 languages and held by 1,966 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Schr. onderzoekt - het spoor in de historie van de geschiedenisfilosofie terug volgend - tendenzen in geschiedenisopvatting van een aantal denkers, waarinhij vooral de vermenging van invloeden, speciaal die van het christelijke denken aanwijst
Max Weber and Karl Marx by Karl Lwith( Book )

47 editions published between 1932 and 2009 in 5 languages and held by 1,091 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Lowith's study of Max Weber and Karl Marx is a key text in modern interpretations of the theme of alienation in Marxist theory and rationalisation in Weber's sociology. It remains the best short student introduction to the differences and comparisons between these essential thinkers. This new edition includes a Preface by Professor Bryan S. Turner which demonstrates the relevance of the book for contemporary sociology
Nietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the same by Karl Lwith( Book )

73 editions published between 1935 and 2014 in 5 languages and held by 1,055 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Criticizing the tendency to treat Nietzsche as a literary figure or as a vitalist in the tradition of Bergson, Simmel, and Klages, Lowith situates Nietzsche squarely within the history of Western philosophy. He takes issue with the position of Jaspers that Nietzsche is best read as a rejection of all philosophical certainties and challenges Heidegger's view that Nietzsche was the last metaphysician of the West. For Lowith, the centerpiece of Nietzsche's thought is the doctrine of eternal recurrence, a notion which Lowith, unlike Heidegger, deems incompatible with the will to power. His careful examination of Nietzsche's cosmological theory of the infinite repetition of a finite number of states of the world suggests the paradoxical consequences this theory implies for human freedom. How is it possible to will the eternal recurrence of each moment of one's life, if both this decision and the states of affairs governed by it appear to be predestined? Lowith's book, one of the most important, if seldom acknowledged, sources for recent Anglophone Nietzsche studies, remains a central text for all concerned with understanding the philosopher's work
Nature, history, and existentialism, and other essays in the philosophy of history by Karl Lwith( Book )

14 editions published between 1966 and 1981 in English and held by 735 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Martin Heidegger and European nihilism by Karl Lwith( Book )

9 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 601 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In a work of impressive historical depth, Lowith traces the abandonment of higher European ideals in favor of a fatal flirtation with nihilism. These essays explore the enthronement of man above God, a trend that had begun to appear in European thought by the mid-nineteenth century in the works of Nietzsche and Marx and one that informed the nihilist philosophies of Heidegger and other theorists of the early twentieth century. An introduction by editor Richard Wolin provides lucid commentary, placing the three essays gathered here in a broad historical context, along with suggestions for further reading. This seminal work of intellectual history sheds light on the fascist impulses of nihilism in the first half of the twentieth century, but also offers unique perspective on the intellectual malaise of today
Heidegger : Denker in dürftiger Zeit. by Karl Lwith( Book )

52 editions published between 1953 and 2006 in 5 languages and held by 471 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Weltgeschichte und Heilsgeschehen : die theologischen Voraussetzungen der Geschichtsphilosophie by Karl Lwith( Book )

64 editions published between 1907 and 2004 in German and held by 467 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Geschichtsphilosophie
Von Hegel zu Nietzsche by Karl Lwith( Book )

112 editions published between 1941 and 2013 in 10 languages and held by 445 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Die Hegelsche Linke : Texte aus den Werken von Heinrich Heine, Arnold Ruge, Moses Hess, Max Stirner, Bruno Bauer, Ludwig Feuerbach, Karl Marx und Sören Kierkegaard by Karl Lwith( Book )

32 editions published between 1962 and 1988 in 3 languages and held by 347 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gott, Mensch und Welt in der Metaphysik von Descartes bis zu Nietzsche by Karl Lwith( Book )

25 editions published between 1965 and 2002 in 3 languages and held by 336 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Jacob Burckhardt. Der Mensch inmitten der Geschichte by Karl Lwith( Book )

35 editions published between 1936 and 2004 in 4 languages and held by 325 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gesammelte Abhandlungen; zur Kritik der geschichtlichen Existenz by Karl Lwith( Book )

24 editions published between 1960 and 1969 in 3 languages and held by 318 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Wissen, Glaube und Skepsis by Karl Lwith( Book )

23 editions published between 1956 and 2007 in 4 languages and held by 249 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Das individuum in der rolle des mitmenschen by Karl Lwith( Book )

36 editions published between 1928 and 2013 in German and Japanese and held by 235 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sämtliche Schriften by Karl Lwith( Book )

20 editions published between 1981 and 1988 in German and Greek, Modern and held by 230 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Zur Kritik der christlichen Überlieferung by Karl Lwith( Book )

15 editions published in 1966 in 3 languages and held by 209 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Von Hegel zu Nietzsche. Der revolutionäre Bruch im Denken d. 19. Jahrhunderts by Karl Lwith( Book )

20 editions published between 1941 and 2015 in 3 languages and held by 199 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Diese zum Klassiker avancierte Studie zur Geschichte des deutschen Geistes im 19. Jahrhundert sucht das Schicksal des Hegelschen Denkens zu erfassen: die Umbildung und Verkehrung der Philosophie des absoluten Geistes durch Marx und Kierkegaard, den Umschlag des geschichtlichen Denkens in das Verlangen nach Ewigkeit bei Nietzsche. Die Erstausgabe erschien 1941 in New York. Der Text dieser Studienausgabe folgt der leicht gekürzten 2. Auflage von 1950. Biographische Informationen Karl Löwith wird 1897 in München geboren. Nach dem Besuch des Realgymnasiums beginnt er das Studium der Philosophie
Mein Leben in Deutschland vor und nach 1933 : ein Bericht by Karl Lwith( Book )

31 editions published between 1986 and 2007 in 4 languages and held by 191 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Paul Valéry : Grundzüge seines philosophischen Denkens by Karl Lwith( Book )

19 editions published between 1971 and 1986 in 3 languages and held by 178 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.58 (from 0.35 for Max Weber ... to 0.94 for Karl Löwi ...)

Martin Heidegger and European nihilism
Alternative Names
Ka er Luo wei te 1897-1973

Kaer-Luoweite 1897-1973

Karl Lwith Duits filosoof

Karl Lwith filosofo tedesco

Karl Lwith German philosopher

Karl Lwith philosophe allemand

Karls Levits

Lvit, Karl 1897-1973

Loewith, Karl

Lwith, K. 1897-1973

Lowith, Karl

Lowith, Karl 1897-1973

Luoweite, Kaer 1897-1973

Rēvitto, Kāru 1897-1973

Карл Лёвит немецкий философ

Лёвит, Карл 1897-1973

کارل لویت فیلسوف آلمانی

کارڵ لۆڤیت

카를 뢰비트

カール・レーヴィット

カール・レーヴィット 1897-1973

レーヴィット, K

レーヴィット, カール

レーヴィット, カルル

レーヴィト, カール

卡爾洛維特

卡尔洛维特 1897-1973

Languages
Covers
Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of historyMax Weber and Karl MarxNietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the sameMartin Heidegger and European nihilismHeidegger : Denker in dürftiger Zeit.Heidegger's children : Hannah Arendt, Karl Löwith, Hans Jonas, and Herbert Marcuse