WorldCat Identities

Löwith, Karl 1897-1973

Overview
Works: 386 works in 1,612 publications in 11 languages and 18,139 library holdings
Genres: History  Biography  Church history  Bibliography 
Roles: Author, Editor, Author of introduction, Compiler, Creator, Correspondent, Author of afterword, colophon, etc., Recipient, Other, Contributor, Collaborator
Classifications: D16.9, 193
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Karl Löwith
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Karl Löwith
From Hegel to Nietzsche : the revolution in nineteenth-century thought by Karl Löwith( Book )

197 editions published between 1941 and 2015 in 10 languages and held by 2,502 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Diese zum Klassiker avancierte Studie zur Geschichte des deutschen Geistes im 19. Jahrhundert sucht das Schicksal des Hegelschen Denkens zu erfassen: die Umbildung und Verkehrung der Philosophie des absoluten Geistes durch Marx und Kierkegaard, den Umschlag des geschichtlichen Denkens in das Verlangen nach Ewigkeit bei Nietzsche. Die Erstausgabe erschien 1941 in New York. Der Text dieser Studienausgabe folgt der leicht gekürzten 2. Auflage von 1950. Biographische Informationen Karl Löwith wird 1897 in München geboren. Nach dem Besuch des Realgymnasiums beginnt er das Studium der Philosophie
Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith( Book )

113 editions published between 1949 and 2015 in 5 languages and held by 1,919 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Senza una filosofia della storia, la storia non è altro che un incomprensibile susseguirsi di eventi che non trasmette le autentiche motivazioni umane ad agire. Capire il fine ultimo della storia significa porsi in un'ottica assoluta, metafisica, abbandonando la concezione del corpo sociale come semplice lotta per la sopravvivenza. In questo senso la filosofia è sorella della teologia come dimostrano, secondo Karl Lowith, le tappe fondamentali del pensiero europeo. Dalla Bibbia a sant'Agostino, da Voltaire a Marx, da Vico a Hegel, l'interpretazione filosofica della storia rimane ancorata a un'originaria matrice religiosa. Anche quando alla fede e all'idea di provvidenza sostituisce quella di progresso
Max Weber and Karl Marx by Karl Löwith( Book )

45 editions published between 1932 and 2009 in 4 languages and held by 1,090 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Lowith's study of Max Weber and Karl Marx is a key text in modern interpretations of the theme of alienation in Marxist theory and rationalisation in Weber's sociology. It remains the best short student introduction to the differences and comparisons between these essential thinkers. This new edition includes a Preface by Professor Bryan S. Turner which demonstrates the relevance of the book for contemporary sociology
Nature, history, and existentialism, and other essays in the philosophy of history by Karl Löwith( Book )

13 editions published between 1966 and 1981 in English and held by 727 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Martin Heidegger and European nihilism by Karl Löwith( Book )

9 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 604 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In a work of impressive historical depth, Lowith traces the abandonment of higher European ideals in favor of a fatal flirtation with nihilism. These essays explore the enthronement of man above God, a trend that had begun to appear in European thought by the mid-nineteenth century in the works of Nietzsche and Marx and one that informed the nihilist philosophies of Heidegger and other theorists of the early twentieth century. An introduction by editor Richard Wolin provides lucid commentary, placing the three essays gathered here in a broad historical context, along with suggestions for further reading. This seminal work of intellectual history sheds light on the fascist impulses of nihilism in the first half of the twentieth century, but also offers unique perspective on the intellectual malaise of today
Nietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the same by Karl Löwith( Book )

10 editions published between 1996 and 1997 in English and held by 451 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Criticizing the tendency to treat Nietzsche as a literary figure or as a vitalist in the tradition of Bergson, Simmel, and Klages, Lowith situates Nietzsche squarely within the history of Western philosophy. He takes issue with the position of Jaspers that Nietzsche is best read as a rejection of all philosophical certainties and challenges Heidegger's view that Nietzsche was the last metaphysician of the West. For Lowith, the centerpiece of Nietzsche's thought is the doctrine of eternal recurrence, a notion which Lowith, unlike Heidegger, deems incompatible with the will to power. His careful examination of Nietzsche's cosmological theory of the infinite repetition of a finite number of states of the world suggests the paradoxical consequences this theory implies for human freedom. How is it possible to will the eternal recurrence of each moment of one's life, if both this decision and the states of affairs governed by it appear to be predestined? Lowith's book, one of the most important, if seldom acknowledged, sources for recent Anglophone Nietzsche studies, remains a central text for all concerned with understanding the philosopher's work
Nietzsches Philosophie der ewigen Widerkehr des Gleichen by Karl Löwith( Book )

36 editions published between 1956 and 2010 in 5 languages and held by 433 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In seiner großen Nietzsche-Studie interpretiert Karl Löwith Nietzsches gesamte Philosophie als geschichtsphilosophischen Versuch, die Entstehung, Entwicklung und mögliche Überwindung des Nihilismus im abendländischen Denken zu beschreiben. Als Kern und Angelpunkt von Nietzsches Denken sieht Löwith dabei die Lehre von der ewigen Wiederkehr des Gleichen, mit der Nietzsche sein Ziel der Wiederherstellung eines antiken, dionysischen Lebensgefühls gegenüber christlicher Leidensmetaphorik verfolgt. Löwith zufolge mündet Nietzsches Philosophie jedoch in der Aporie, weil er den seiner Lehre immanenten
Jacob Burckhardt. Der Mensch inmitten der Geschichte by Karl Löwith( Book )

40 editions published between 1936 and 1994 in 5 languages and held by 431 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Eerder verspreid verschenen opstellen over de Zwitserse cultuurhistoricus (1818-1897)
Weltgeschichte und Heilsgeschehen : die theologischen Voraussetzungen der Geschichtsphilosophie by Karl Löwith( Book )

35 editions published between 1953 and 1990 in German and held by 367 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Geschichtsphilosophie
Heidegger : Denker in dürftiger Zeit. by Karl Löwith( Book )

42 editions published between 1953 and 2006 in 4 languages and held by 361 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Die Hegelsche Linke : Texte aus den Werken von Heinrich Heine, Arnold Ruge, Moses Hess, Max Stirner, Bruno Bauer, Ludwig Feuerbach, Karl Marx und Sören Kierkegaard by Karl Löwith( Book )

25 editions published between 1962 and 1988 in German and held by 325 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gesammelte Abhandlungen; zur Kritik der geschichtlichen Existenz by Karl Löwith( Book )

20 editions published between 1960 and 1969 in German and Undetermined and held by 310 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gott, Mensch und Welt in der Metaphysik von Descartes bis zu Nietzsche by Karl Löwith( Book )

16 editions published in 1967 in German and English and held by 309 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Wissen, Glaube und Skepsis by Karl Löwith( Book )

24 editions published between 1956 and 1962 in 3 languages and held by 253 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sämtliche Schriften by Karl Löwith( Book )

26 editions published between 1981 and 1988 in German and held by 229 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Zur Kritik der christlichen Überlieferung by Karl Löwith( Book )

12 editions published in 1966 in German and English and held by 200 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Das individuum in der rolle des mitmenschen by Karl Löwith( Book )

18 editions published between 1928 and 2016 in German and held by 187 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Paul Valéry : Grundzüge seines philosophischen Denkens by Karl Löwith( Book )

14 editions published in 1971 in German and Undetermined and held by 176 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Aufsätze und Vorträge 1930-1970 by Karl Löwith( Book )

8 editions published in 1971 in German and held by 165 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sämtliche Schriften by Karl Löwith( Book )

12 editions published between 1986 and 1988 in German and held by 158 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.58 (from 0.33 for Max Weber ... to 0.95 for Filosofia ...)

Martin Heidegger and European nihilism
Alternative Names
Ka er Luo wei te 1897-1973

Kaer-Luoweite 1897-1973

Karl Löwith Duits filosoof

Karl Löwith filosofo tedesco

Karl Löwith German philosopher

Karl Löwith philosophe allemand

Karls Levits

Lëvit, Karl 1897-1973

Loewith, Karl

Löwith, K.

Löwith, K. 1897-1973

Lowith, Karl

Lowith, Karl 1897-1973

Löwiz, Karl

Luoweite, Kaer 1897-1973

Rēvitto 1897-1973

Rēvitto, K. 1897-1973

Rēvitto, Kāru

Rēvitto, Kāru 1897-1973

Καρλ Λέβιτ Γερμανός φιλόσοφος

Карл Лёвит немецкий философ

Лёвит, Карл 1897-1973

کارل لویت فیلسوف آلمانی

کارڵ لۆڤیت

뢰비트, 카를 1897-1973

뢰비트, 칼 1897-1973

카를 뢰비트

カール・レーヴィット

カール・レーヴィット 1897-1973

レ-ヴィット, K. 1897-1973

レーヴィット, K.

レーヴィット, カール

レーヴィット, カルル

レーヴィト, カール

卡爾·洛維特

卡尔·洛维特 1897-1973

Languages
Covers
Meaning in history; the theological implications of the philosophy of historyMax Weber and Karl MarxMartin Heidegger and European nihilismNietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the sameHeidegger : Denker in dürftiger Zeit.Heidegger's children : Hannah Arendt, Karl Löwith, Hans Jonas, and Herbert Marcuse