WorldCat Identities

Dermota, Anton

Works: 948 works in 2,237 publications in 7 languages and 16,303 library holdings
Genres: Operas  Symphonies  Live sound recordings  Musical settings  Drama  Excerpts  Masses  Arrangements (Music)  Requiems  Overtures 
Roles: Performer, Singer, Author, Vocalist, Other, Interviewee, Dedicatee, t=t, Honoree, Composer, Musician
Classifications: M1500, 782.1
Publication Timeline
Most widely held works by Anton Dermota
Don Giovanni by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart( Recording )

122 editions published between 1946 and 2018 in 6 languages and held by 1,278 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Performed at the 2006 Innsbruck Festival, Rene Jacobs leads a riveting production that is illustrated by the notion of Don Giovanni as a young rebel and taboo-breaker. Jacobs also tries to respect Mozart's original intentions as closely as possible
Die Fledermaus by Johann Strauss( )

53 editions published between 1950 and 2008 in 5 languages and held by 961 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Musical excerpts drawn from Johann Strauss' Die Fledermaus (EMI Classics 5 73851 2) with descriptive narration by Robert Lyall, to promote the upcoming production of the opera on April 29 & 30, 2005 by Opera Grand Rapids in De Vos Hall
Die Zauberflote by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart( )

70 editions published between 1937 and 2016 in 5 languages and held by 856 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

18. Jahrhundert; Oper
Der Rosenkavalier by Richard Strauss( )

32 editions published between 1954 and 2010 in 3 languages and held by 824 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Karl Bohm's only studio version of the work was recorded in 1958. When Deutsche Grammophon originally planned to record the work, there were already two rival versions on the market: the Decca recording under Erich Kleiber and EMI's version under Herbert von Karajan. Karajan's recording was made in December 1956 and should have included Irmgard Seefried as Octavian and Rita Streich as Sophie, but in both cases cast changes became necessary: Seefried was replaced by the young Christa Ludwig, and pregnancy forced Rita Streich to withdraw. As a result, Deutsche Grammophon was able to use both these singers for its own recording exactly two years later. It boasts a wonderful cast, with the full-throated Marianne Schech as the Marschallin, Irmgard Seefried bringing a range of colour to the 'trouser' role of Octavian, Rita Streich light and exquisite as Sophie, and a rounded, lyrical portrait of Faninal from Fischer-Dieskau. The recording also reunited Bohm with his 'old' orchestra, the Dresden Staatskapelle, an orchestra often referred to as the Zauberharfe or Magic Harp for the fluent and airborne quality of its sound
Così fan tutte by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart( )

50 editions published between 1955 and 2012 in 6 languages and held by 442 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Cosi fan tutte Lisa Della Casa, soprano Christa Ludwig, mezzo-soprano Emmy Loose, soprano Erich Kunz, tenor Anton Dermota, tenor Paul Schoeffler Vienna Philharmonic orchestra Vienna State Opera Chorus Karl Bohm, conductor
Arabella by Richard Strauss( Recording )

44 editions published between 1958 and 2009 in 4 languages and held by 402 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Star soprano Renée Fleming gives a radiant performance in the title role of Strauss's opera, a bittersweet comedy set in 1860s Vienna, starring as the beautiful daughter of an impoverished noble family. Hans-Joachim Ketelsen is Mandryka, the wealthy landowner and unlikely suitor who wins Arabella's heart. Barbara Bonney sings Zdenka, Arabella's younger sister, and Raymond Very is Matteo, the officer who thinks he is in love with Arabella but unexpectedly finds his happiness elsewhere. Judith Forst and Eric Halfvarson round out the cast as Count and Countess Waldner, Arabella and Zdenka's parents. Christoph Eschenbach conducts
Fidelio by Ludwig van Beethoven( )

37 editions published between 1950 and 2011 in 4 languages and held by 401 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The well loved team of Waltraud Meier and Placido Domingo join conductor Daniel Barenboim in a complete recording of Beethoven's intense and dramatic opera
Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg by Richard Wagner( )

32 editions published between 1950 and 2017 in 5 languages and held by 318 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Richard Wagner's Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg (The Master-Singers of Nuremberg): Overture performed by the Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra with Yevgeny Mravinsky conducting. [Note: This product is an authorized CD-R and is manufactured on demand]
Requiem ; Laudate Dominum ; Exsultate, jubilate by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart( )

5 editions published between 1962 and 1995 in 3 languages and held by 286 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Missa solemnis by Ludwig van Beethoven( )

5 editions published between 1997 and 2013 in Latin and Undetermined and held by 281 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The performances of the Missa solemnis at the Styriarte Festival in Graz and at the Salzburg Festival in summer 2015 were Nikolaus Harnoncourt's last concerts. After his retirement from the stage later that year, it was Mr. Harnoncourt's express wish that this album, made from the material captured at the Graz concerts and rehearsals, also be his last released recordings. Beethoven's late masterpiece has thus become the final chapter of an unparalleled discography spanning 65 years
Die Entführung aus dem Serail by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart( )

12 editions published between 1992 and 2010 in German and French and held by 267 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

René Jacobs conducts this performance of Mozart's opera. With the RIAS Kammerchor and Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin
Symphony no. 9 by Gustav Mahler( )

11 editions published between 1952 and 2012 in 3 languages and held by 263 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Dresden Staatskapelle has a very special tradition of performing Ludwig van Beethoven's Ninth Symphony. It performed the then still highly controversial work for the first time in August 1838 under the baton of Johann Gottlieb Reissiger. Since 1900, the piece has been performed yearly on Palm Sunday, having been popularized by Richard Wagner in 1843
Symphony no. 2 in C minor "Resurrection" ; Das Lied von der Erde by Gustav Mahler( )

3 editions published in 1996 in German and held by 263 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Requiem : KV 626 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart( Recording )

38 editions published between 1961 and 2010 in 6 languages and held by 260 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ridderbusch, bass ; Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor ; Wiener
Der Göttergatte by Franz Lehár( )

7 editions published between 2012 and 2013 in 3 languages and held by 254 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Requiem ; Adagio & fugue K. 546 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart( )

3 editions published in 2001 in Latin and English and held by 243 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mattäus-Passion : BWV 244 by Johann Sebastian Bach( )

2 editions published in 1995 in German and held by 240 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Symphony No. 9 ; Overtures ; Grosse Fuge by Ludwig van Beethoven( )

2 editions published in 2009 in German and No Linguistic content and held by 238 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Wiener konzerte, 1944-1954( )

2 editions published in 2012 in German and held by 237 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
Audience Level
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.41 (from 0.35 for Requiem ; ... to 0.87 for Autographe ...)

WorldCat IdentitiesRelated Identities
Mid-century conductors - more Viennese singers
Alternative Names
Anton Dermota

Anton Dermota artiste lyrique

Anton Dermota jugoslawischer Tenor

Anton Dermota operazanger uit Slovenië (1910-1989)

Anton Dermota Slovenian opera singer

Anton Dermota tenore sloveno

Dermota, A.

Dermota, A. 1910-1989

Dermota Antonas

Дермота, Антон