WorldCat Identities

Ginsburg, Herbert

Overview
Works: 147 works in 445 publications in 4 languages and 9,480 library holdings
Genres: Examinations  Nonfiction television programs  Internet videos  Interviews  Educational films 
Roles: Author, Editor, Other, Teacher
Classifications: BF723.C5, 155.413092
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Herbert Ginsburg
 
Most widely held works by Herbert Ginsburg
Piaget's theory of intellectual development : an introduction by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

90 editions published between 1969 and 2004 in 4 languages and held by 4,095 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Interprets Piaget's theories and provides a concise introduction to Piaget's basic ideas and findings concerning children's intellectual development
The myth of the deprived child : poor children's intellect and education by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

19 editions published between 1972 and 1977 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,064 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This book aims: (1) to describe and evaluate psychological research on poor children's intellect; to this end, the following questions are dealt with: What is the nature of poor children's mental abilities? How do these abilities develop? (2) to analyze the psychological assumptions underlying several attempts to reform education; and, (3) to describe psychology's potential contribution. To achieve these aims, the author selectively reviews and analyzes several crucial studies under the following broad categories: iq; language; intellectual abilities; development; and, intellect and the schools. In addition, a number of case studies and journalistic reports have also been included. (Author/SB)
The Development of mathematical thinking( Book )

14 editions published between 1982 and 1983 in English and held by 697 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Entering the child's mind : the clinical interview in psychological research and practice by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

19 editions published between 1997 and 2011 in English and Chinese and held by 507 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Entering the Child's Mind teaches a powerful technique for gaining insight into a child's way of thinking. In the tradition of Piaget and Vygotsky, Dr Herbert P. Ginsburg argues that standardized instruments of evaluation often fail to meet the challenges of complex cognition. He presents the 'clinical interview' as a powerful tool that, when understood and used properly, can provide psychologists with a profound appreciation for children's thinking. Dr Ginsburg aims to convince the reader that the method has important applications in research, clinical practice, and education. The clinical interview offers a degree of flexibility that allows psychologists to more closely assess the thinking of a particular child
Children's arithmetic : how they learn it and how you teach it by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

14 editions published between 1977 and 1989 in English and held by 388 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Children's arithmetic : the learning process by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

14 editions published between 1977 and 1978 in English and Undetermined and held by 311 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Social class and racial influences on early mathematical thinking by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

12 editions published between 1981 and 1982 in English and Undetermined and held by 310 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The teacher's guide to flexible interviewing in the classroom : learning what children know about math by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

3 editions published in 1998 in English and held by 154 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Assessing the arithmetic abilities and instructional needs of students by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

2 editions published in 1987 in English and held by 124 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Looking at learning-- Again, 2( Visual )

1 edition published in 2000 in English and held by 119 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This video discusses some teaching philosophies and concepts with Professor Herbert Ginsburg of Teacher's College at Columbia University in New York City. Professor Ginsburg began his career as a student of clinical psychology where he first came in contact with the work of the Swiss psychologist Jean Piaget. He became fascinated by the flexible way Piaget interviewed children to find out about their thinking and how they approached the world. Piaget's technique is sometimes called a clinical or flexible interview
Private universe project in mathematics presents Problems & possibilities( Visual )

1 edition published in 2000 in English and held by 119 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Over the course of the six workshops, we'll follow step by step as these students connect ideas that have built in earlier years to new thinking of ever-increasing complexity. And we'll visit teachers who are changing classroom practice to help their own students make the same kind of connections. In this program, we'll set the stage for this long-term progression
Mathematics : exploring your world( Book )

15 editions published between 1991 and 1994 in English and held by 101 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Basic arithmetic operations and simple geometry
Preparing early childhood educators to teach math : professional development that works by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

7 editions published in 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 64 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

With 30+ video clips-great for use in teacher training sessions! If youâ€TMre preparing early childhood educators for the critical task of teaching math, this groundbreaking resource is just what you need to plan and implement effective professional development. Translating recommendations from the National Research Councilâ€TMs early mathematics report into clear and actionable goals, this text is your key to improving the way educators teach math to children ages 3-6. Youâ€TMll get an in-depth guide to what math teachers need to teach; a research-based framework for strengthening professional
Silver Burdett & Ginn mathematics( Book )

1 edition published in 1992 in English and held by 53 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Test of early mathematics ability by Herbert Ginsburg( Visual )

4 editions published between 1983 and 2003 in English and held by 37 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Individually administered test which measures the mathematics performance of children between the ages of 3.0 to 8.11 and is also useful with older children who have learning problems in mathematics
Diagnostic achievement battery : examiner's manual by Phyllis L Newcomer( Book )

3 editions published between 2001 and 2014 in English and held by 24 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This is a nationally standardized individual achievement test that can be used to assess children's abilities in listening, speaking, reading, writing, and mathematics. This test examines the variety of achievement skills delineted in P.L. 94-142
TEMA-2 : test of early mathematics ability by Herbert Ginsburg( Visual )

2 editions published in 1990 in English and held by 22 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Diagnostic test which measures the mathematics performance of children ages 3-8 and older children with learning problems. Test items measure concepts of relative magnitude, counting skills, calculation, reading and writing numerals, number facts, calculation algorithms, and base ten concepts. Testing time is about 20 min. Individually administered
Diagnostic test of arithmetic strategies by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

1 edition published in 1984 in English and held by 18 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mathematics : exploring your world( Book )

6 editions published in 1992 in English and held by 16 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The test of early mathematics ability by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

8 editions published between 1983 and 1990 in English and Undetermined and held by 14 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This test measures both informal and formal knowledge of a child's mathematical thinking. It is best used with children who are between the ages of 4 and 8. The test is not timed. On the average, children will be able to finish the relevant portion of this test in about twenty minutes
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.38 (from 0.13 for Preparing ... to 0.67 for Robert B. ...)

Piaget's theory of intellectual development : an introduction
Alternative Names
Ginsburg, Herbert.

Ginsburg, Herbert P.

Ginsburg, Herbert P. 1939-

Ginsburg, Herbert Paul 1939-

긴즈버그, 허버트 P

Languages
English (197)

German (18)

Spanish (13)

Chinese (3)

Covers
Entering the child's mind : the clinical interview in psychological research and practiceChildren's arithmetic : how they learn it and how you teach itThe teacher's guide to flexible interviewing in the classroom : learning what children know about math