WorldCat Identities

Ginsburg, Herbert

Overview
Works: 178 works in 497 publications in 4 languages and 9,485 library holdings
Genres: Internet videos  Nonfiction television programs  Interviews  Educational films 
Roles: Author, Editor, Other, Teacher
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Herbert Ginsburg
 
Most widely held works by Herbert Ginsburg
Piaget's theory of intellectual development by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

31 editions published between 1969 and 1988 in English and held by 1,981 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Interprets Piaget's theories and provides a concise introduction to Piaget's basic ideas and findings concerning children's intellectual development
Piaget's theory of intellectual development : an introduction by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

35 editions published between 1969 and 1988 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,704 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The myth of the deprived child : poor children's intellect and education by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

19 editions published between 1972 and 1977 in English and held by 1,046 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This book aims: (1) to describe and evaluate psychological research on poor children's intellect; to this end, the following questions are dealt with: What is the nature of poor children's mental abilities? How do these abilities develop? (2) to analyze the psychological assumptions underlying several attempts to reform education; and, (3) to describe psychology's potential contribution. To achieve these aims, the author selectively reviews and analyzes several crucial studies under the following broad categories: iq; language; intellectual abilities; development; and, intellect and the schools. In addition, a number of case studies and journalistic reports have also been included. (Author/SB)
Preparing early childhood educators to teach math : professional development that works by Herbert Ginsburg( )

8 editions published in 2014 in English and held by 816 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

If you are preparing early childhood educators for the critical task of teaching math, this groundbreaking resource is just what you need to plan and implement effective professional development. Translating recommendations from the National Research Council's early mathematics report into clear and actionable goals, this text is your key to improving the way educators teach math to children ages 3-6. You will get an in-depth guide to what math teachers need to teach; a research-based framework for strengthening professional development; and web-based video clips to enhance training sessions and show teachers the how of high-quality math instruction. Use this text to guide both pre- and inservice teacher preparation and ensure better math teaching and higher student achievement. This text enables you to: understand the classroom challenges of today's early childhood educators ; see how children's mathematical minds develop and clarify learning goals for them ; build professional development around five essential goals for high-quality math instruction ; make the most of innovative professional development methods and technologies ; strengthen professional development across settings, including child care, Head Start, and prekindergarten ; promote better math instruction for culturally diverse children and children with disabilities ; evaluate the effectiveness of professional development efforts
The Development of mathematical thinking( Book )

17 editions published between 1982 and 1984 in English and held by 695 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Entering the child's mind : the clinical interview in psychological research and practice by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

17 editions published between 1997 and 2011 in English and Chinese and held by 520 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Entering the Child's Mind teaches a powerful technique for gaining insight into a child's way of thinking. In the tradition of Piaget and Vygotsky, Dr. Herbert P. Ginsburg argues that standardized instruments of evaluation often fail to meet the challenges of complex cognition. Understanding that interviews, like any evaluative instrument, can be improperly conducted and assessed, Dr. Ginsburg then seeks to advance the critical analysis of the interview methods and to investigate its effectiveness and reliability. He presents guidelines intended to help novices learn to conduct clinical interviews and to assist more experienced interviewers in perfecting their techniques. Dr. Ginsburg provides to both psychologists and others interested in understanding the minds of children the first comprehensive treatment of the theory and practice of the clinical interview method. -- from back cover
Piagets Theorie der geistigen Entwicklung by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

21 editions published between 1973 and 2004 in German and Undetermined and held by 380 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Children's arithmetic : how they learn it and how you teach it by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

14 editions published between 1977 and 1989 in English and held by 380 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Children's arithmetic : the learning process by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

14 editions published between 1977 and 1982 in English and Undetermined and held by 315 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Social class and racial influences on early mathematical thinking by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

9 editions published between 1981 and 1982 in English and Undetermined and held by 299 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The teacher's guide to flexible interviewing in the classroom : learning what children know about math by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

3 editions published in 1998 in English and held by 153 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Private universe project in mathematics presents Problems & possibilities( Visual )

1 edition published in 2000 in English and held by 150 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Over the course of the six workshops, we'll follow step by step as these students connect ideas that have built in earlier years to new thinking of ever-increasing complexity. And we'll visit teachers who are changing classroom practice to help their own students make the same kind of connections. In this program, we'll set the stage for this long-term progression
Looking at learning-- Again, 2( Visual )

1 edition published in 2000 in English and held by 150 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This video discusses some teaching philosophies and concepts with Professor Herbert Ginsburg of Teacher's College at Columbia University in New York City. Professor Ginsburg began his career as a student of clinical psychology where he first came in contact with the work of the Swiss psychologist Jean Piaget. He became fascinated by the flexible way Piaget interviewed children to find out about their thinking and how they approached the world. Piaget's technique is sometimes called a clinical or flexible interview
Assessing the arithmetic abilities and instructional needs of students by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

2 editions published in 1987 in English and held by 122 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This book focuses on both the content and methods of assessment. The book describes key arithmetic concepts and calculations that are important to assess and explains how to assess them using several techniques, ranging from standard tests to flexible interviewing. The assessments are appropriate for students of various ages who suffer from an inability to master elementary arithmetic: elementary school children, older special education students, or even adolescents
Mathematics : exploring your world( Book )

17 editions published between 1991 and 1994 in English and held by 99 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Basic arithmetic operations and simple geometry
Piaget y la teoria del desarrollo intelectual by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

16 editions published between 1976 and 1991 in Spanish and held by 55 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Silver Burdett & Ginn mathematics( Book )

2 editions published in 1992 in English and held by 49 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Test of early mathematics ability by Herbert Ginsburg( Visual )

3 editions published between 1983 and 2003 in English and held by 33 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Individually administered test which measures the mathematics performance of children between the ages of 3.0 to 8.11 and is also useful with older children who have learning problems in mathematics
Jin ru er tong xin zhong de shi jie by Gen si bao( Book )

1 edition published in 2004 in Chinese and held by 23 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Diagnostic achievement battery by Phyllis L Newcomer( Book )

3 editions published between 2001 and 2014 in English and held by 23 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This is a nationally standardized individual achievement test that can be used to assess children's abilities in listening, speaking, reading, writing, and mathematics. This test examines the variety of achievement skills delineted in P.L. 94-142
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.36 (from 0.12 for Preparing ... to 0.91 for Piagets Th ...)

Piaget's theory of intellectual development
Covers
Entering the child's mind : the clinical interview in psychological research and practiceChildren's arithmetic : how they learn it and how you teach itThe teacher's guide to flexible interviewing in the classroom : learning what children know about math
Alternative Names
Ginsburg H.P.

Ginsburg Herbert

Ginsburg, Herbert P.

Ginsburg, Herbert P. 1939-

Ginsburg, Herbert Paul 1939-

긴즈버그, 허버트 P. 1939-

Languages
English (195)

German (20)

Spanish (16)

Chinese (3)