WorldCat Identities

Ginsburg, Herbert

Overview
Works: 100 works in 346 publications in 4 languages and 6,668 library holdings
Genres: Examinations  Juvenile works  Interviews 
Roles: Author, Editor, Teacher , Other
Classifications: BF723.C5, 155.413092
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Herbert Ginsburg
 
Most widely held works by Herbert Ginsburg
Piaget's theory of intellectual development; an introduction by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

20 editions published between 1969 and 2004 in 4 languages and held by 1,805 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Interprets Piaget's theories and provides a concise introduction to Piaget's basic ideas and findings concerning children's intellectual development
The myth of the deprived child : poor children's intellect and education by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

16 editions published between 1972 and 1977 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,087 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Children's arithmetic : the learning process by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

27 editions published between 1977 and 1989 in English and Undetermined and held by 720 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Development of mathematical thinking( Book )

13 editions published between 1982 and 1983 in English and held by 687 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Entering the child's mind : the clinical interview in psychological research and practice by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

16 editions published between 1997 and 2005 in English and Chinese and held by 505 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Entering the Child's Mind teaches a powerful technique for gaining insight into a child's way of thinking. In the tradition of Piaget and Vygotsky, Dr. Herbert P. Ginsburg argues that standardized instruments of evaluation often fail to meet the challenges of complex cognition. Understanding that interviews, like any evaluative instrument, can be improperly conducted and assessed, Dr. Ginsburg then seeks to advance the critical analysis of the interview methods and to investigate its effectiveness and reliability. He presents guidelines intended to help novices learn to conduct clinical interviews and to assist more experienced interviewers in perfecting their techniques. Dr. Ginsburg provides to both psychologists and others interested in understanding the minds of children the first comprehensive treatment of the theory and practice of the clinical interview method. -- from back cover
Social class and racial influences on early mathematical thinking by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

10 editions published between 1981 and 1982 in English and held by 310 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The teacher's guide to flexible interviewing in the classroom : learning what children know about math by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

3 editions published in 1998 in English and held by 153 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mathematics : exploring your world by Silver Burdett & Ginn (Firm)( Book )

31 editions published between 1991 and 1994 in English and held by 130 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Basic arithmetic operations and simple geometry
Assessing the arithmetic abilities and instructional needs of students by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

2 editions published in 1987 in English and held by 126 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Looking at learning-- Again, 2( Visual )

2 editions published in 2000 in English and held by 84 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This video discusses some teaching philosophies and concepts with Dr. Carne Barnett, who has pioneered mathematics case discussions as a focus for the professional development of teachers as well as showing a group of teachers as they discuss a case, and visiting a number of classrooms where mathematics cases for kids are being field tested
Private universe project in mathematics presents Problems & possibilities( Visual )

1 edition published in 2000 in English and held by 83 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Over the course of the six workshops, we'll follow step by step as these students connect ideas that have built in earlier years to new thinking of ever-increasing complexity. And we'll visit teachers who are changing classroom practice to help their own students make the same kind of connections. In this program, we'll set the stage for this long-term progression
Silver Burdett & Ginn mathematics( Book )

3 editions published between 1992 and 1994 in English and held by 57 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Preparing early childhood educators to teach math : professional development that works by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

7 editions published in 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 56 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

With 30+ video clips-great for use in teacher training sessions! If youâ€TMre preparing early childhood educators for the critical task of teaching math, this groundbreaking resource is just what you need to plan and implement effective professional development. Translating recommendations from the National Research Councilâ€TMs early mathematics report into clear and actionable goals, this text is your key to improving the way educators teach math to children ages 3-6. Youâ€TMll get an in-depth guide to what math teachers need to teach; a research-based framework for strengthening professional
Test of early mathematics ability by Herbert Ginsburg( Visual )

4 editions published between 1983 and 2003 in English and held by 36 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Individually administered test which measures the mathematics performance of children between the ages of 3.0 to 8.11 and is also useful with older children who have learning problems in mathematics
Diagnostic achievement battery : examiner's manual by Phyllis L Newcomer( Book )

4 editions published between 1995 and 2014 in English and held by 29 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This is a nationally standardized individual achievement test that can be used to assess children's abilities in listening, speaking, reading, writing and mathematics
Mathematics : exploring your world ; grade 6 by Silver Burdett & Ginn (Firm)( Book )

14 editions published between 1991 and 1994 in English and held by 24 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Diagnostic test of arithmetic strategies by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

3 editions published in 1984 in English and held by 22 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

TEMA-2 test of early mathematics ability by Herbert Ginsburg( Visual )

2 editions published in 1990 in English and held by 22 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Diagnostic test which measures the mathematics performance of children ages 3-8 and older children with learning problems. Test items measure concepts of relative magnitude, counting skills, calculation, reading and writing numerals, number facts, calculation algorithms, and base ten concepts. Testing time is about 20 min. Individually administered
The test of early mathematics ability by Herbert Ginsburg( Book )

12 editions published between 1983 and 1990 in English and Undetermined and held by 19 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This test measures both informal and formal knowledge of a child's mathematical thinking. It is best used with children who are between the ages of 4 and 8. The test is not timed. On the average, children will be able to finish the relevant portion of this test in about twenty minutes
Mathematics : exploring your world ; grade 1( Book )

9 editions published between 1991 and 1994 in English and held by 17 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.38 (from 0.08 for Early chil ... to 0.65 for Robert B. ...)

Entering the child's mind : the clinical interview in psychological research and practice
Alternative Names
Ginsburg, Herbert.

Ginsburg, Herbert P.

Ginsburg, Herbert P. 1939-

Ginsburg, Herbert Paul 1939-

Languages
English (181)

German (9)

Chinese (3)

Spanish (1)

Covers
Children's arithmetic : the learning processEntering the child's mind : the clinical interview in psychological research and practiceThe teacher's guide to flexible interviewing in the classroom : learning what children know about math