WorldCat Identities

Wormeley, Katharine Prescott

Overview
Works: 223 works in 1,061 publications in 2 languages and 50,029 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  History  Records and correspondence  Church history  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Bildungsromans  Textbooks  Domestic fiction 
Roles: Translator, Editor
Classifications: PQ2161, 843.7
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Katharine Prescott Wormeley Publications about Katharine Prescott Wormeley
Publications by  Katharine Prescott Wormeley Publications by Katharine Prescott Wormeley
posthumous Publications by Katharine Prescott Wormeley, published posthumously.
Most widely held works about Katharine Prescott Wormeley
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Katharine Prescott Wormeley
Catherine de' Médicis by Honoré de Balzac ( )
17 editions published between 1841 and 2012 in English and held by 2,535 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Balzac's La Comedie Humaine was a story cycle comprising more than 100 novels and stories. Although most of these works are set in nineteenth-century France, several hearken back to earlier periods. Catherine de' Medici centers on the life of the woman born into an aristocratic family in medieval Italy who went on to become Queen consort and, later, regent of France
Ursula by Honoré de Balzac ( )
19 editions published between 1842 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,359 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This novel is one of the pillars of the Scenes of Provincial Life section of Honore de Balzac's story cycle The Human Comedy. Through a series of tragedies and coincidences, a kind and pious teenager named Ursula has been taken in by an octogenarian doctor, Denis Minoret. Inspired by Ursula's goodness, Minoret decides to make her his chief heir. This incites the ire of his other relatives, and a ruthless war for Minoret's estate breaks out
Sons of the soil by Honoré de Balzac ( )
18 editions published between 1845 and 2014 in English and held by 1,354 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
French writer Honore de Balzac had many unique strengths, and chief among them is his ability to limn and illuminate subtle differences between social classes. In this pastoral novel, Balzac explores the virtues and follies of country life through the eyes of Emile Blondet, a journalist who was born and raised in the provinces, works in Paris, and has returned to the countryside of his youth for a much-needed vacation
A start in life by Honoré de Balzac ( )
14 editions published between 1842 and 2014 in English and held by 1,333 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The novel A Start in Life is part of the Scenes of Private Life section of Honore de Balzac's masterpiece of nineteenth-century realism, The Human Comedy. In much of Balzac's work, the aristocracy is portrayed as vain, duplicitous, and greedy. But in this novel, it is members of the working class who are mercilessly skewered when what starts out as a harmless prank rapidly snowballs into a comedy of errors with profound consequences
An historical mystery (the Gondreville mystery) by Honoré de Balzac ( )
12 editions published between 1891 and 2012 in English and held by 1,329 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Step back in history through the eyes of one of the masters of European realism. This keenly observed and utterly absorbing account of the period after Napoleon Bonaparte fell from power in nineteenth-century France is both an interesting historical document and an engrossing mystery
The lesser bourgeoisie (the middle classes) by Honoré de Balzac ( )
11 editions published between 1896 and 2014 in English and held by 1,311 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Throughout his entire literary career, French writer Honore de Balzac was fascinated by the many ways in which social class can impact the trajectory of a life. In the early novel The Lesser Bourgeoisie, an ambitious young lawyer named Theodose de la Peyrade tries every trick in the book to ingratiate himself with the affluent Thuillier family -- and finds his integrity threatened along the way
The two brothers by Honoré de Balzac ( )
16 editions published between 1889 and 2014 in English and held by 1,311 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Brothers Philippe and Joseph Bridau couldn't be more different. One is a cruel man who puts his ruthlessness to good use in a military career, while the other is a kind-hearted, sensitive soul who grows up to be a penniless artist. When the family's fortune is at risk, the two diametrically opposed siblings wage an all-out war
Juana by Honoré de Balzac ( )
10 editions published between 1896 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,302 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Set against the backdrop of the Peninsular War, Balzac''s novella ""Juana"" focuses on a storied family of French courtesans who have achieved legendary status. For many generations, the women have lived outside of the bounds of polite society, eschewing the familial involvement of men and maintaining a matrilineal tradition. But with the birth of a little girl named Juana, everything changes
Seraphita by Honoré de Balzac ( )
14 editions published between 1889 and 2007 in English and held by 1,299 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The work plunges into the fantastic and the supernatural self. In a castle in Norway near the fjord Stromfjord, Séraphitüs, a strange and melancholic being, conceals a terrible secret. Séraphitüs loves Minna, and she returns this love, believing Séraphitüs to be a man. But Séraphitüs is also loved by Wilfrid, who considers Séraphitüs to be a woman (Séraphîta). In reality, Séraphitüs-Séraphîta is a perfect androgyne, born to parents who by the doctrines of Emanuel Swedenborg have transcended their humanity, and Séraphitüs-Séraphîta is the perfect example of humanity
Ferragus, chief of the devorants by Honoré de Balzac ( )
9 editions published between 1895 and 2004 in English and held by 1,288 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The deputy of Arcis by Honoré de Balzac ( )
9 editions published between 1896 and 2014 in English and held by 1,288 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A masterpiece of political intrigue and machinations, the novel The Deputy of Arcis was left incomplete at Honore de Balzac''s death and was finished by Balzac''s friend and collaborator Charles Rabou. What starts out as a typical political campaign is suddenly turned upside down when a mysterious figure shows up and decides to throw his hat into the ring
The marriage contract by Honoré de Balzac ( )
12 editions published between 1895 and 2014 in English and held by 1,286 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The short novel The Marriage Contract is part of the Scenes From Private Life section of Honore de Balzac''s epic masterpiece of nineteenth-century realism, The Human Comedy. It delves directly into the question of the nature of marriage, which was rapidly evolving during the period. Kind-hearted bachelor Paul de Manerville becomes deeply smitten with the comely Natalie Evangelista and wants to marry for love, but Natalie and her scheming mother have their eyes on his vast fortune
Madame Firmiani by Honoré de Balzac ( )
7 editions published between 2005 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,273 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Master of realism Honore de Balzac highlights his brilliant knack for character development in the short story ""Madame Firmiani."" The story''s plot is slight, dealing in large part with the mysterious identity of Madame Firmiani''s husband. As always, where Balzac truly shines is in delving into the nuance of human behavior and personality
Pierre Grassou by Honoré de Balzac ( )
6 editions published between 2005 and 2014 in English and held by 1,272 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This short story is part of the Scenes of Paris Life section of Honore de Balzac''s epic masterpiece The Human Comedy. Pierre Grassou is an artist who has many of the attributes necessary for success -- but lacks that spark of creativity. Rather than painting original works, he begins painting copies of the great masterworks. Sure, it''s financially lucrative, but will it be enough to allow Grassou to find happiness?
Vendetta by Honoré de Balzac ( )
7 editions published between 1830 and 2014 in English and held by 1,269 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Fans of Romeo and Juliet will delight in the novella Vendetta, Honore de Balzac's unique take on the timeless theme of star-crossed lovers. Corsican immigrants Ginevra Piombo and Luigi Porta fall hopelessly in love, unaware of the fact that their respective families have long been ensnared in a multi-generational blood feud. Will they be able to live happily ever after in spite of their unhappy heritage?
Unconscious comedians by Honoré de Balzac ( )
6 editions published in 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,267 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In this novella from Honore de Balzac, the skilled artisan Palafox Gazonal arrives in Paris to settle some important business and perhaps make a splash in the city's thriving art scene. However, Gazonal is used to the slower-paced life in the provinces and finds himself confused -- and even disgusted -- with some of the customs and practices that are commonplace in Paris. It's another of Balzac's insightful analyses of the artist and his role in society
A daughter of Eve by Honoré de Balzac ( )
8 editions published between 1899 and 2014 in English and held by 1,265 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This short novel, part of the Scenes of Private Life section of Honore de Balzac''s vast masterpiece The Human Comedy, includes the first appearances of key characters who return later in the series. A Daughter of Eve is a tale in which seemingly innocent peccadilloes soon spiral into an inescapable web of intrigue, fraud, and lust
The Vicar of Tours by Honoré de Balzac ( )
7 editions published between 1832 and 2014 in English and held by 1,261 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This exquisite novella from master of French realism Honore de Balzac illustrates how greed and covetousness can infect and fester in even the most seemingly pure people and environments. An ascetic clergyman becomes the target of a nefarious plot. Will he be able to escape with his few cherished belongings -- and his faith in humanity intact?
The red inn by Honoré de Balzac ( )
7 editions published between 1831 and 2014 in English and held by 1,258 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Like many of the short stories in Honore de Balzac's vast story cycle The Human Comedy, ""The Red Inn"" is a tale within a tale. After a pleasant dinner at the Red Inn, guests begin to swap anecdotes. German businessman Hermann contributes to the discussion with a story about a French soldier who was imprisoned after being unjustly accused of committing a murder
The recruit by Honoré de Balzac ( )
7 editions published between 1831 and 2014 in English and held by 1,258 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This gripping short story from master of French realism Honore de Balzac packs an emotional wallop and has a twist ending you won't be able to forget. The mother of a French soldier receives word that her son be paying her a visit. Though overjoyed at the news, she begins to fret about his safety on the trip home. Will her fears prove to be accurate?
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.27 (from 0.00 for Wormeley, ... to 1.00 for Frederick ...)
Alternative Names
Prescott Wormeley, Katherine 1830-1908
Wormeley, Katherine Prescott
Wormeley, Katherine Prescott 1830-1908
Languages
English (257)
French (2)
Covers