WorldCat Identities

Merriman, Nan

Works: 365 works in 942 publications in 4 languages and 8,548 library holdings
Genres: Music  Musical settings  Live sound recordings  Operas  Drama  Masses  Oratorios  Symphonies  Overtures  Song cycles 
Roles: Performer, Singer, Author, Other, Vocalist, Musician
Classifications: M2010, 782.1
Publication Timeline
Most widely held works about Nan Merriman
Most widely held works by Nan Merriman
Falstaff by Giuseppe Verdi( Recording )

130 editions published between 1950 and 2012 in 4 languages and held by 1,993 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Verdi's last work is his only major comedy and one of his crowning glories. Judith Raskin and Luigi Alva are the enchanting Fenton and Nannetta who want to be married even though her father, Ford (Frank Guarrera), objects. Ford's wife Alice (Phyllis Curtin) is being wooed by Falstaff (Ezio Flagello) who is also interested in Meg Page (Mildred Miller). Fortunately Dame Quickly (Fedora Barbieri) is a match for Falstaff and teaches him a lesson
Così fan tutte (Highlights) by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart( )

11 editions published between 1993 and 2011 in Italian and held by 731 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Così fan tutte by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart( Recording )

103 editions published between 1955 and 2012 in 4 languages and held by 624 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Two Italian soldiers test the faithfulness of their respective lovers by faking their departure to battle, reappearing in disguise as Albanians and proceeding to court them
Rigoletto by Giuseppe Verdi( Recording )

26 editions published between 1950 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 451 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This recording contains the complete opera sung in Italian. The book contains the complete text of the libretto with annotations in both English and Italian and a critical historical commentary. The text also includes the background of the composer, biographies of the principal singers and conductor
Das Lied von der Erde by Gustav Mahler( Recording )

38 editions published between 1948 and 2001 in 4 languages and held by 443 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Das Lied von der Erde: Sinfonie für Alt, Tenor und Orchester. Text: Hans Bethge. Bearbeitung für Kammerorchester von Arnold Schönberg und Rainer Riehn
9 symphonies by Ludwig van Beethoven( )

8 editions published between 1967 and 2003 in 3 languages and held by 388 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Symphonies, . n 1,. op. 21,. do majeur. Beethoven, Ludwig van
Otello by Giuseppe Verdi( Recording )

32 editions published between 1947 and 2012 in 4 languages and held by 291 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The story: Act I. The action unfolds on Cyprus, under Venetian rule in the 16th century. The scene is outside the castle, residence of Otello, governor of the island, facing the port. It is night. A furious storm churns the sea, and a crowd of Venetian citizens and soldiers helplessly watch while the ship of the Moor Otello desperately tries to make it into port. Only Iago, one of Otello's men, does not participate in the general apprehension for the safety of his leader: he hates Otello, because Otello has promoted Cassio captain instead of him; he meditates revenge. The crowd is jubilant as Otello finally lands safely and announces that the Turkish fleet has been defeated. When the Moor enters the castle, the fireworks start and all drink to his victory. In the midst of the rejoicing, Iago starts to weave the scheme that will lead to his commander's downfall: he treacherously insinuates to Roderigo, who had revealed to Iago his love for Otello's wife, Desdemona, that Captain Cassio also feels the same affection for the woman. Then Iago gets Cassio drunk, and incites a fight between the two men, but the dangerous duel that starts between them is stopped by Montano. However, the peacemaker is wounded by Cassio. Iago sounds the alarm, swelling the episode out of proportion until the crowd is in tumult. Called back by the shouts and noise, Otello, falsely informed by Iago, punishes Cassio and demotes him. This is a first victory for Iago, who exults
Symphony no. 9 in D minor, op. 125 : Choral by Ludwig van Beethoven( Recording )

17 editions published between 1952 and 1991 in German and No Linguistic content and held by 271 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Beethoven's Ninth Symphony, called the Ninth for short, bears the title "Symphony with final chorus on Schiller's "Ode to Joy!" It was completed in February of 1824 and first performed in Vienna on May 7, 1824. This symphony is the keystone of all Beethoven's symphonic works
9 symphonies & Missa solemnis by Ludwig van Beethoven( )

3 editions published in 1999 in German and held by 225 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Bernstein : Les jeunes années by Leonard Bernstein( )

2 editions published in 2003 and held by 224 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Falstaff by Giuseppe Verdi( )

1 edition published in 2000 in Italian and held by 217 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Missa solemnis, in D, op. 123 by Ludwig van Beethoven( Recording )

10 editions published between 1953 and 2009 in 4 languages and held by 184 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Symphony no. 9, in D minor, op. 125 : Choral ; Symphony no. 1, in C, op. 21 by Ludwig van Beethoven( Recording )

3 editions published in 1952 in German and held by 161 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

9 symphonies ; Leonore overture no. 3 by Ludwig van Beethoven( Recording )

2 editions published in 1990 in German and held by 134 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Songfest ; Symphony no. 1 : "Jeremiah" by Leonard Bernstein( Recording )

3 editions published in 1993 in English and held by 132 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Missa solemnis : op. 123 by Ludwig van Beethoven( Recording )

13 editions published between 1986 and 2000 in 4 languages and held by 122 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Die Messe zeigte Beethoven auf dem Höhepunkt seiner Schaffenskraft und Helmuth Rilling, dem Bach-Collegium Stuttgart, der Gächinger Kantorei Stuttgart und dem herausragenden Solistenquartett gelang eine weltweit beachtete Referenzeinspielung dieses großartigen Meisterwerks, die nun in einer neuen Auflage als edle Sammleredition vorliegt
Mass in B minor = Messe in h-Moll = Messe en si mineur by Johann Sebastian Bach( Recording )

11 editions published between 1960 and 2002 in 4 languages and held by 104 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Conductor Helmuth Rilling has won both fan and critical acclaim for his interpretations of Bach's works. Now the Bach expert is joined by the Bach-Collegium Stuttgart and a cast of talented young soloists for dynamic recording of Bach's Mass in B Minor
The Messiah by George Frideric Handel( Recording )

15 editions published between 1954 and 2001 in 3 languages and held by 98 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra and Chamber Choir present an intimate and stirring performance of Handel's Messiah. This 2-CD recording of the full score on period instruments features a stellar cast of soloists. Tafelmusik presents this baroque masterpiece with the spirit and vitality of Handel's own 18th-century productions. A perennial favorite with audiences and critics alike, Tafelmusik's Messiah has garnered glowing reviews year after year
Mefistofele by Arrigo Boito( Recording )

7 editions published between 1990 and 1991 in 4 languages and held by 94 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
Audience Level
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.41 (from 0.36 for Falstaff / ... to 0.76 for Nan Merrim ...)

WorldCat IdentitiesRelated Identities
Alternative Names
Merriman, Katherine-Ann.

Merriman, Katherine-Ann 1920-

Merriman, Katherine-Ann 1920-2012

Nan Merriman Amerikaans zangeres (1920-2012)

Nan Merriman artiste lyrique

Мерримен, Н 1920-

Нэн Мерриман

Italian (243)

German (73)

English (26)

Latin (21)