WorldCat Identities

City of London Sinfonia

Works: 675 works in 1,776 publications in 8 languages and 43,920 library holdings
Genres: Operas  Musical settings  Requiems  Drama  Live sound recordings  Music  Motets  Anthems  Sacred music  Art music 
Roles: Performer, Instrumentalist, Musician, Conductor, ens, orc
Classifications: M2010, 782.3238
Publication Timeline
Most widely held works by City of London Sinfonia
Gloria : the sacred music of John Rutter by John Rutter( Recording )

20 editions published between 1984 and 2006 in 5 languages and held by 1,085 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Requiem ; I will lift up mine eyes by John Rutter( Recording )

21 editions published between 1986 and 1998 in 4 languages and held by 918 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Requiem by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart( )

36 editions published between 1982 and 2011 in 8 languages and held by 892 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

ATMA Classique is reissuing one of Les Violons du Roy's seminal discs: the orchestra's recording of Mozart's Requiem as revised and completed by Robert D. Levin. The soloists are Karina Gauvin, Marie-Nicole Lemieux, John Tessier, and Nathan Berg. Bernard Labadie conducts Les Violons du Roy and the choir of La Chapelle de Québec. This recording was originally released on the Dorian label in 2002, and won the JUNO Award for Best Classical Album of the year in the vocal or choral performance category. This recording of Mozart's Requiem is especially poignant, as it was made in Troy, NewYork in the week following the September 11 attacks in 2001.The recording captures the emotion and immediacy of that special performance, which was later featured on CBC Television's Opening Night. The Globe & Mail wrote about "an appreciation of the transcendent aspects of the Requiem as a work of art that is about death, survival and the possibility of an afterlife. There is the magnificence of the music, so often used to solemnly mark terrible tragedy and bring solace."
A midsummer night's dream : op. 21/op. 61 = Ein Sommernachtstraum = Songe d'une nuit d'été by Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy( )

29 editions published between 1993 and 2010 in 4 languages and held by 638 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Fairy creatures meddle with varying results in the lives of humans wandering in the woods
Stabat Mater by Giovanni Battista Pergolesi( )

14 editions published between 1989 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 592 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Opening the disc is Vivaldi's brief Sonata al Santo Sepolcro, an instrumental work probably intended for inclusion in an Easter church service. This is followed by a Stabat Mater proper, also by Vivaldi. Vivaldi used just the first ten verses of the text, creating one of the most sombre of all settings, here performed by the Canadian ensemble Theatre of Early Music and its director, counter-tenor Daniel Taylor, who in Bach is joined by Emma Kirkby, taking on the soprano part
A little christmas music by King's Singers (Vocal group)( )

9 editions published between 1989 and 1998 in 3 languages and held by 587 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Requiem and other choral music by Gabriel Fauré( Recording )

6 editions published in 1988 in Latin and English and held by 542 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Te Deum : and other church music by John Rutter( Recording )

14 editions published in 1990 in 3 languages and held by 536 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Magnificat and other sacred music by John Rutter( Recording )

7 editions published in 1991 in 3 languages and held by 475 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

1: Magnificat anima mea (6:50); 2: Of a Rose, a lovely rose (5:00); 3: Quia fecit mihi magna (5:20); 4: Et miseriordia (4:42); 5: Fecit potentiam (3:35); 6: Esurientes (6:15); 7: Gloria Patri (5:02); 8: First movement: Vivace e ritmico (5:14); 9: Second movement: Lento (10:09); 10: Third movement: Passacaglia (6:05); 11: O praise the Lord of Heaven (5:55); 12: Behold, the tabernacle of God (4:10)
Christmas night : carols of the Nativity by Cambridge Singers( Recording )

10 editions published in 1987 in English and Undetermined and held by 453 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Death in Venice by Benjamin Britten( )

15 editions published between 2005 and 2007 in 3 languages and held by 449 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Thomas Mann's celebrated tale of unrequited love and death is given a new perspective in Benjamin Britten's final opera, first performed just a year and a half before this Met broadcast. The composer's long-time companion, tenor Peter Pears, reprises his world-premiere portrayal of Gustav von Aschenbach, the elderly and solitary novelist at the center of the story, who tragically falls in love with the beautiful youth Tadzio (played by a dancer). Pears is joined by two other veterans of the opera's world premiere--John Shirley-Quirk, who plays the seven characters that propel Aschenbach to his destiny, and conductor Steuart Bedford
Peter Grimes by Benjamin Britten( )

18 editions published between 1996 and 2007 in English and Undetermined and held by 428 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Set in a small fishing community on the east coast of England, the story of conflict between an individual and a society that sees him as an outsider
La flûte enchantée : french pieces for flute and orchestra by Susan Milan( )

11 editions published in 1990 in No Linguistic content and Undetermined and held by 403 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The rape of Lucretia : op. 37 by Benjamin Britten( )

14 editions published between 1994 and 2007 in 4 languages and held by 382 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Fancies : music by John Rutter( )

5 editions published between 1992 and 2005 in English and held by 379 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

1: Tell me where is fancy bred (1:45); 2: There is a garden in her face (3:52); 3: The urchins' dance (2:00); 4: Riddle song (3:12); 5: Midnight's bell (2:20); 6: The bellman's song Baritone solo: Simon davies (2:40); 7: Prelude (3:18); 8: Ostinato (1:35);9: Aria (3:02); 10: Waltz (3:02); 11: Chanson (3:10); 12: Rondeau (2:42); 13: Monday's Child (2:55); 14: The Owl and the Pussy-cat (1:42); 15: Windy nights (1:08); 16: Matthew, Mark, luke and John Sporano solo: carolin Ashton (1:45);17: Sing a song of sixpence (1:42); 18: Icicles 3:55; 19: Winter nights (2:30); 20: Good ale (2:42); 21: Blow, blow, thou winter wind (3:48); 22: Winter wakeneth all my care Baritone solo: Simon davies Flute : Duke dobing 5:55; 23: hay, ay 2:16
Three musical fables : with music by John Rutter( )

9 editions published between 1991 and 2003 in English and held by 371 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The John Rutter Christmas album by Cambridge Singers( )

9 editions published between 2002 and 2006 in 3 languages and held by 368 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

How can I keep from singing? by John Scott( )

4 editions published in 1996 in English and held by 364 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Owen Wingrave by Benjamin Britten( )

11 editions published in 2008 in 3 languages and held by 362 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Owen Wingrave: Opera in Two Acts, op. 85. Libretto: Myfanwy Piper / Six Hölderlin Fragments: Song-cycle for tenor and piano, op. 61 / The Poet's Echo: Song-cycle for soprano and piano, op. 76. Text: A. Puschkin
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
Audience Level
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.38 (from 0.32 for A little c ... to 0.47 for Owen Wingr ...)

WorldCat IdentitiesRelated Identities
Alternative Names

controlled identityRichard Hickox Orchestra

City of London Baroque Orchestra.

City of London baroque sinfonia

City of London Symphony Orchestra



London baroque sinfonia

London sinfonia

Richard Hickox Orchestra.

Sinfonia of London.