WorldCat Identities

Vinge, Vernor

Overview
Works: 90 works in 350 publications in 16 languages and 8,353 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Science fiction  Novels  Political fiction  Short stories 
Roles: Author, Contributor
Classifications: PS3572.I534, 813.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Vernor Vinge
A deepness in the sky by Vernor Vinge( Book )

35 editions published between 1999 and 2015 in 9 languages and held by 1,279 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On the world of Arachna, the Qeng Ho battle the Emergents, and only Pham Numen has a chance to foil the horrendous Emergents plan
Rainbows end by Vernor Vinge( Book )

25 editions published between 2006 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 1,221 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Recovering Alzheimer's patient and former poet Robert Gu begins to retrain at a high school in order to become adjusted to the technology driven world. Unintentionally, he becomes involved in a conspiracy to use technology as a method for world domination and also feels compelled to protest against the changes planned for the UCSD Geisel Library where all the books there and worldwide would physically cease to exist
A fire upon the deep by Vernor Vinge( Book )

22 editions published between 1992 and 2007 in English and Chinese and held by 1,173 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Scientists release an ancient Transcendent artifact that destroys thousands of worlds and enslaves all natural and artificial intelligence, only one ship escapes and the struggle begins
The children of the sky by Vernor Vinge( Book )

11 editions published between 2011 and 2012 in English and held by 1,044 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Ten years have passed on Tines World, where Ravna Bergnsdot and a number of human children ended up after a disaster that nearly obliterated humankind throughout the galaxy. Ravna and the pack animals for which the planet is named have survived a war, and Ravna has saved more than one hundred children who were in cold-sleep aboard the vessel that brought them. While there is peace among the Tines, there are those among them--and among the humans--who seek power ... and no matter the cost, these malcontents are determined to overturn the fledgling civilization that has taken root since the humans landed. On a world of fascinating wonders and terrifying dangers, Vernor Vinge has created a powerful novel of adventure and discovery that will entrance the many readers of A Fire Upon the Deep. Filled with the inventiveness, excitement, and human drama that have become hallmarks of his work, this new novel is sure to become another great milestone in Vinge's already stellar career."--
Marooned in realtime by Vernor Vinge( Book )

18 editions published between 1986 and 2009 in 4 languages and held by 593 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On a distant future Earth where the human race has inexplicably dwindled to some three hundred members, a secretive person harbors a deadly secret that he or she is willing to kill in order to protect
The collected stories of Vernor Vinge by Vernor Vinge( Book )

13 editions published between 2001 and 2009 in 3 languages and held by 577 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A compilation of short fiction by the Hugo Award winner ranges from his earliest works to his longer takes from the 1970s and 1980s and includes "The Ungoverned" and "The Blabber."
The peace war by Vernor Vinge( Book )

21 editions published between 1984 and 2009 in 4 languages and held by 517 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Fifty years before, the "Peace Authority" took control of governments worldwide with a radically different weapon, the "bobbler, ' which encased its targets within an impenetrable force field, rendering resistance useless. after the takeover come the plagues; civilization fell into a semifeudal state, and all high technology was banned. But Paul Naismith, inventer of the bobbler, has never given up hope. After having hidden from the usurping Peace Authority for decades, he is finally ready to lead the Tinker underground against the evil he helped to create. The odds against them seem impossibly long. Nothing has been able to defeat the Peace Authority's bobbler. Until now ..."--Page 4 of cover
A fire upon the deep by Vernor Vinge( Book )

45 editions published between 1992 and 2016 in 11 languages and held by 378 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A Fire Upon the Deepis the big, breakout book that fulfills the promise of Vinge's career to date: a gripping tale of galactic war told on a cosmic scale. Thousands of years hence, many races inhabit a universe where a mind's potential is determined by its location in space, from superintelligent entities in the Transcend, to the limited minds of the Unthinking Depths, where only simple creatures and technology can function. Nobody knows what strange force partitioned space into these "regions of thought," but when the warring Straumli realm use an ancient Transcendent artifact as a weapon, they unwittingly unleash an awesome power that destroys thousands of worlds and enslaves all natural and artificial intelligence. Fleeing the threat, a family of scientists, including two children, are taken captive by the Tines, an alien race with a harsh medieval culture, and used as pawns in a ruthless power struggle. A rescue mission, not entirely composed of humans, must rescue the children-and a secret that may save the rest of interstellar civilization
The witling by Vernor Vinge( Book )

13 editions published between 1976 and 2006 in English and French and held by 256 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Two anthropologists surveying the planet Giri are captured by the planet's inhabitants, and become caught between two warring alien societies and their deadly telekinetic powers
Tatja Grimm's world by Vernor Vinge( Book )

6 editions published between 1987 and 2006 in English and held by 113 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Leaving her aborigine tribe to find intelligent beings, Tatja Grimm travels to Ocean, a medieval mecca of intelligence and technological innovation, but a disillusioned Tatja soon realizes that to find truly superior intelligence she must turn to the stars
A fire upon the deep by Vernor Vinge( )

4 editions published between 1995 and 2013 in English and held by 87 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In this popular and widely praised novel, a rescue mission races against time to save a pair of human children being held captive by a medieval lupine race-and to recover the weapon that will keep the universe from being changed forever
True names by Vernor Vinge( Book )

9 editions published between 1981 and 1989 in 4 languages and held by 82 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Across realtime by Vernor Vinge( Book )

3 editions published between 1984 and 1991 in English and Undetermined and held by 68 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

True names-- and other dangers by Vernor Vinge( Book )

2 editions published in 1987 in English and held by 59 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Grimm's world by Vernor Vinge( Book )

2 editions published between 1969 and 1978 in English and held by 57 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A deepness in the sky by Vernor Vinge( )

5 editions published between 1999 and 2013 in English and held by 55 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The story of the Spiders, inhabitants of a planet where the sun regularly stops shining for periods of 200 years, during which they are frozen in ice. The novel picks them up emerging from their most recent hibernation in a frenzy of activity and innovation to make up for lost time. By the author of A Fire upon the Deep
The children of the sky by Vernor Vinge( )

4 editions published between 2011 and 2013 in English and held by 47 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Ten years have passed on Tines World, where Ravna Bergnsdot and a number of human children ended up after a disaster that nearly obliterated humankind throughout the galaxy. Ravna and the pack animals for which the planet is named have survived a war, and Ravna has saved more than one hundred children who were in cold-sleep aboard the vessel that brought them. While there is peace among the Tines, there are those among them--and among the humans--who seek power ... and no matter the cost, these malcontents are determined to overturn the fledgling civilization that has taken root since the humans landed. On a world of fascinating wonders and terrifying dangers, Vernor Vinge has created a powerful novel of adventure and discovery that will entrance the many readers of A Fire Upon the Deep. Filled with the inventiveness, excitement, and human drama that have become hallmarks of his work, this new novel is sure to become another great milestone in Vinge's already stellar career."--
Zones of thought by Vernor Vinge( Book )

3 editions published in 2010 in English and held by 43 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Deepness in the sky: Two rival trading cultures hover high above a slumbering planet, awaiting its wakening from a 215-year hibernation so that they can pursue a line of commerce with the planet's inhabitants and their burgeoning technology
Threats ... and other promises by Vernor Vinge( Book )

1 edition published in 1988 in English and held by 36 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In a short novel and six never-before-collected stories, one of science fiction's finest authors takes science and humanity to the limit. For fans of Larry Niven, Carl Sagan, and others. From the author of Marooned in Realtime."--
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.26 (from 0.18 for The childr ... to 0.77 for Zones of t ...)

Rainbows end
Alternative Names
Vernor Vinge

Vernor Vinge American mathematician, computer scientist, and science fiction writer

Vernor Vinge Amerikaans wiskundige en schrijver

Vernor Vinge amerikansk datavetare och matematiker

Vernor Vinge amerikansk informatikar og matematikar

Vernor Vinge amerikansk informatiker og matematiker

Vernor Vinge écrivain américain

Vernor Vinge scrittore statunitense

Vernor Vinge US-amerikanischer Mathematiker, Informatiker und Science-Fiction-Autor

Vinge, Vernor

Vinge, Vernor 1944-

Vinge Vernor Steffen 1944-....

Vinge, Vernor (Vernor Steffen)

Vinge, Vernor (Vernor Steffen), 1944-

Вернор Виндж

Вернор Віндж

Върнър Виндж

וינגי, ורנור

ורנור וינג'י

ورنر وینج ریاضی‌دان و دانشمند علوم کامپیوتر آمریکایی

빈지, 버너 1944-

ヴァーナー・ヴィンジ

ヴィンジ, ヴァーナー

弗诺·文奇

Languages
Covers
Rainbows endA fire upon the deepThe children of the skyMarooned in realtimeThe collected stories of Vernor VingeThe peace warA fire upon the deepThe witling