WorldCat Identities

Vinge, Vernor

Overview
Works: 87 works in 393 publications in 16 languages and 8,310 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Science fiction  Novels  Short stories  Political fiction  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Cyberpunk fiction  History 
Roles: Author, Contributor
Classifications: PS3572.I534, 813.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Vernor Vinge
A fire upon the deep by Vernor Vinge( Book )

75 editions published between 1992 and 2016 in 12 languages and held by 1,602 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Scientists release an ancient Transcendent artifact that destroys thousands of worlds and enslaves all natural and artificial intelligence, only one ship escapes and the struggle begins
A deepness in the sky by Vernor Vinge( Book )

40 editions published between 1999 and 2016 in 9 languages and held by 1,287 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The story of the Spiders, inhabitants of a planet where the sun regularly stops shining for periods of 200 years, during which they are frozen in ice. The novel picks them up emerging from their most recent hibernation in a frenzy of activity and innovation to make up for lost time. By the author of A Fire upon the Deep
Rainbows end by Vernor Vinge( Book )

27 editions published between 2006 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 1,218 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Recovering Alzheimer's patient and former poet Robert Gu begins to retrain at a high school in order to become adjusted to the technology driven world. Unintentionally, he becomes involved in a conspiracy to use technology as a method for world domination and also feels compelled to protest against the changes planned for the UCSD Geisel Library where all the books there and worldwide would physically cease to exist
The children of the sky by Vernor Vinge( Book )

13 editions published between 2011 and 2012 in English and French and held by 1,055 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Ten years have passed on Tines World, where Ravna Bergnsdot and a number of human children ended up after a disaster that nearly obliterated humankind throughout the galaxy. Ravna and the pack animals for which the planet is named have survived a war, and Ravna has saved more than one hundred children who were in cold-sleep aboard the vessel that brought them. While there is peace among the Tines, there are those among them--and among the humans--who seek power ... and no matter the cost, these malcontents are determined to overturn the fledgling civilization that has taken root since the humans landed. On a world of fascinating wonders and terrifying dangers, Vernor Vinge has created a powerful novel of adventure and discovery that will entrance the many readers of A Fire Upon the Deep. Filled with the inventiveness, excitement, and human drama that have become hallmarks of his work, this new novel is sure to become another great milestone in Vinge's already stellar career."--
Marooned in realtime by Vernor Vinge( Book )

18 editions published between 1986 and 2004 in 3 languages and held by 588 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On a distant future Earth where the human race has inexplicably dwindled to some three hundred members, a secretive person harbors a deadly secret that he or she is willing to kill in order to protect
The collected stories of Vernor Vinge by Vernor Vinge( Book )

16 editions published between 2001 and 2009 in 3 languages and held by 571 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A compilation of short fiction by the Hugo Award winner ranges from his earliest works to his longer takes from the 1970s and 1980s and includes "The Ungoverned" and "The Blabber."
The peace war by Vernor Vinge( Book )

23 editions published between 1984 and 2009 in 5 languages and held by 512 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Fifty years before, the "Peace Authority" took control of governments worldwide with a radically different weapon, the "bobbler, ' which encased its targets within an impenetrable force field, rendering resistance useless. after the takeover come the plagues; civilization fell into a semifeudal state, and all high technology was banned. But Paul Naismith, inventer of the bobbler, has never given up hope. After having hidden from the usurping Peace Authority for decades, he is finally ready to lead the Tinker underground against the evil he helped to create. The odds against them seem impossibly long. Nothing has been able to defeat the Peace Authority's bobbler. Until now ..."--Page 4 of cover
Across realtime by Vernor Vinge( Book )

21 editions published between 1984 and 2018 in 5 languages and held by 396 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Peace Authority eliminated war by using the "bobble," a unique spherical state of stasis than encapsulated an object in an impenetrable force field. Paul Naismith, reclusive leader of the Tinker underground, has developed his own extraordinary, illegal, technology, far surpassing the Authority, hoping to strike back someday
The witling by Vernor Vinge( Book )

14 editions published between 1976 and 2006 in English and French and held by 269 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Two anthropologists surveying the planet Giri are captured by the planet's inhabitants, and become caught between two warring alien societies and their deadly telekinetic powers
Tatja Grimm's world by Vernor Vinge( Book )

8 editions published between 1987 and 2006 in English and held by 130 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Leaving her aborigine tribe to find intelligent beings, Tatja Grimm travels to Ocean, a medieval mecca of intelligence and technological innovation, but a disillusioned Tatja soon realizes that to find truly superior intelligence she must turn to the stars
A fire upon the deep by Vernor Vinge( )

7 editions published between 1995 and 2013 in English and held by 93 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In this popular and widely praised novel, a rescue mission races against time to save a pair of human children being held captive by a medieval lupine race-and to recover the weapon that will keep the universe from being changed forever
True names by Vernor Vinge( Book )

10 editions published between 1981 and 2016 in 4 languages and held by 82 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A deepness in the sky by Vernor Vinge( )

5 editions published between 1999 and 2013 in English and held by 60 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The story of the Spiders, inhabitants of a planet where the sun regularly stops shining for periods of 200 years, during which they are frozen in ice. The novel picks them up emerging from their most recent hibernation in a frenzy of activity and innovation to make up for lost time. By the author of A Fire upon the Deep
True names-- and other dangers by Vernor Vinge( Book )

2 editions published in 1987 in English and held by 58 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The children of the sky by Vernor Vinge( )

4 editions published between 2011 and 2013 in English and held by 54 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Ten years have passed on Tines World, where Ravna Bergnsdot and a number of human children ended up after a disaster that nearly obliterated humankind throughout the galaxy. Ravna and the pack animals for which the planet is named have survived a war, and Ravna has saved more than one hundred children who were in cold-sleep aboard the vessel that brought them. While there is peace among the Tines, there are those among them--and among the humans--who seek power ... and no matter the cost, these malcontents are determined to overturn the fledgling civilization that has taken root since the humans landed. On a world of fascinating wonders and terrifying dangers, Vernor Vinge has created a powerful novel of adventure and discovery that will entrance the many readers of A Fire Upon the Deep. Filled with the inventiveness, excitement, and human drama that have become hallmarks of his work, this new novel is sure to become another great milestone in Vinge's already stellar career."--
Grimm's world by Vernor Vinge( Book )

2 editions published between 1969 and 1978 in English and held by 54 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

True names by Vernor Vinge and the opening of the cyberspace frontier by Vernor Vinge( Book )

11 editions published between 1997 and 2016 in English and held by 51 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Indeholder science fiction-romanen True Names (1981), samt en række essays om bogen
Zones of thought by Vernor Vinge( Book )

5 editions published in 2010 in English and held by 39 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A fire upon the deep: Vinge presents a galaxy divided into Zones - regions where different physical constraints allow very different technological and mental possibilities. Earth remains in the "Slowness" zone, where nothing can travel faster than light and minds are fairly limited. The action of the book is in the "Beyond", where translight travel and other marvels exist, and humans are one of many intelligent species. One human colony has been experimenting to find a path to the "Transcend", where intelligence and power are so great as to seem godlike. Instead they release the Blight, an evil power, from a billion-year captivity.'
Threats ... and other promises by Vernor Vinge( Book )

1 edition published in 1988 in English and held by 34 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In a short novel and six never-before-collected stories, one of science fiction's finest authors takes science and humanity to the limit. For fans of Larry Niven, Carl Sagan, and others. From the author of Marooned in Realtime."--
A deepness in the sky / Vernor Vinge by Vernor Vinge( Book )

1 edition published in 2016 in English and held by 14 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.27 (from 0.18 for The childr ... to 0.77 for Zones of t ...)

A deepness in the sky
Alternative Names
Vernor Vinge Amerikaans wiskundige en schrijver

Vernor Vinge amerikansk datavetare och matematiker

Vernor Vinge amerikansk informatikar og matematikar

Vernor Vinge amerikansk informatiker og matematiker

Vernor Vinge écrivain américain

Vernor Vinge scrittore statunitense

Vernor Vinge US-amerikanischer Mathematiker, Informatiker und Science-Fiction-Autor

Vinge, Vernor

Vinge, Vernor 1944-

Vinge Vernor Steffen 1944-....

Vinge, Vernor (Vernor Steffen)

Vinge, Vernor (Vernor Steffen), 1944-

Вернор Виндж

Вернор Виндж американский математик, учёный в области компьютерных наук, писатель-фантаст

Вернор Віндж

Върнър Виндж

וינגי, ורנור

ורנור וינג'י

ورنر وینج ریاضی‌دان و دانشمند علوم کامپیوتر آمریکایی

빈지, 버너 1944-

ヴァーナー・ヴィンジ

ヴィンジ, ヴァーナー

弗诺·文奇

Languages
Covers
A deepness in the skyRainbows endThe children of the skyMarooned in realtimeThe collected stories of Vernor VingeThe peace warAcross realtimeThe witling