WorldCat Identities

Anderson, Jon Lee

Works: 77 works in 245 publications in 10 languages and 9,551 library holdings
Genres: History  Biography  Drama  Biographical films  Historical films  Pictorial works  Biographical television programs  Documentary television programs  Television programs  Film adaptations 
Roles: Author, Consultant, Commentator, Creator, Interviewee, Author of introduction, Other
Classifications: F2849.22.G85, 956.70443
Publication Timeline
Most widely held works about Jon Lee Anderson
Most widely held works by Jon Lee Anderson
Che Guevara : a revolutionary life by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

32 editions published between 1997 and 2010 in 4 languages and held by 2,349 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Author obviously admires Guevara and thus tends to exaggerate his role in the Cuban Revolution; however, he has managed a degree of objectivity sufficient for production of the best biography of the guerrilla thus far. Author's research is wide and deep, his work is careful and meticulous, and he always remains close to the facts. Few will continue to venerate the memory of Guevara after reading this book"--Handbook of Latin American Studies, v. 58
The fall of Baghdad by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

23 editions published between 2004 and 2008 in 5 languages and held by 2,060 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Examines the toppling of Saddam Hussein's regime, following a diverse group of Iraqis from a life of fear under Saddam's rule, through the events of the invasion and the regime's fall, to America's seizure of power and its repercussions
Guerrillas : the men and women fighting today's wars by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

19 editions published between 1992 and 2011 in 3 languages and held by 725 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Anderson reports from five war fronts, telling of passionate, defiant, and idealistic, guerrillas evoking romantic images of struggle for a just cause
Che by Steven Soderbergh( Visual )

4 editions published in 2009 in Spanish and held by 656 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On November 26, 1956, Fidel Castro sails to Cuba with eighty rebels. One of those rebels is Ernesto 'Che' Guevara, an Argentine doctor who shares a common goal with Fidel Castro - to overthrow the corrupt dictatorship of Fulgencio Batista
Inside the League : the shocking expose of how terrorists, Nazis, and Latin American death squads have infiltrated the world Anti-Communist League by Scott Anderson( Book )

6 editions published in 1986 in English and German and held by 444 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

War zones by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

4 editions published in 1988 in English and Undetermined and held by 284 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Che Guevara [a revolutionary life] by Jon Lee Anderson( Recording )

12 editions published between 1997 and 2009 in English and held by 275 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The life of the most storied revolutionary, Che Guevara, raised in a middle-class, Argentinean family, wjho grew up to be the world's most loved and feared revolutionary leader. From the Cuban revolution, to Africa and Bolivia, Anderson reveals the relatively unknown facts of Guevara's life and explains why Guevara is still considered both a hero and a villain today
Afghanistan : a distant war by Robert Nickelsberg( Book )

2 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 192 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Noted documentary photographer Robert Nickelsberg's photographs help bring into focus the day-to-day consequences of war, poverty, oppression, and political turmoil in Afghanistan. Since the attack on the World Trade Center, Afghanistan has evolved from a country few people thought twice about to a place that evokes our deepest emotions. TIME magazine photographer Robert Nickelsberg has been publishing his images of this distant yet all too familiar country since 1998, when he accompanied a group of Mujahideen across the border from Pakistan. This remarkable volume of photographs is accompanied by insightful texts from experts on Afghanistan and the Taliban. The images themselves are captioned with places, dates, and Nickelsberg's own extensive commentary. Timely and important, the book serves as a reminder that Afghanistan and the rest of the world remain inextricably linked, no matter how much we long to distance ourselves from its painful realities
The true story of Che Guevara the life and death of the 20th century's most iconic rebel( Visual )

1 edition published in 2007 in English and held by 127 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The life and death of the 20th century's most iconic rebel. Cloaked in mystery and obscured by legend, Che's charisma and his dedication to worldwide revolution terrified some of the world's most powerful men and led to armies vying to destroy him
Magnum revolution : 65 years of fighting for freedom by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

6 editions published in 2012 in English and German and held by 120 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Culled from the archives of the prestigious Magnum Photos founded by Henri Cartier Bresson, this collection of images from internationally renowned photographers is a compelling record of the recent decades of worldwide revolution
Baghdad, truth lies within by Bruno Stevens( Book )

4 editions published in 2004 in English and held by 102 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Taliban by Thomas Dworzak( Book )

4 editions published in 2003 in English and held by 89 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Fotografier af afghanske talebanere som på trods af Talibanstyrets strenge krav om afbildninger af personer, viser pyntede og sminkede mænd foran baggrunde med schweiziske alpehytter o. lign
Che Guevara : una vida revolucionaria by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

18 editions published between 1997 and 2010 in 3 languages and held by 88 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The lion's grave : dispatches from Afghanistan by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

4 editions published in 2002 in English and held by 73 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Two weeks after the terrorist attacks of September 11, correspondent and bestselling author Anderson became one of the first Western journalists to get into Afghanistan. Distinguished by his gritty, on-the-ground observations, probing interviews, and gift for telling a story, The Lion's Grave is war reporting in the tradition of A.J. Liebling and Michael Herr
Gabo : the creation of Gabriel Garcia Marquez( Visual )

1 edition published in 2015 in Spanish and held by 62 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A biography with the narrative tension of an investigation and thoughtful and personal study of the life and legacy of Gabriel García Márquez, known as "Gabo" to all of Latin America, the 1982 Nobel Prize winner for Literature and author of the globally-celebrated and critically-acclaimed masterpiece One Hundred Years of Solitude. The Colombian journalist and law-school dropout grew up in the poverty and violence of northern Colombia to become a pioneer of life-affirming literature, and to take part in the political struggles of the 70s and 80s - including a pivotal and previously unknown role in negotiations between Cuban leader Fidel Castro and American President Bill Clinton
Che : die Biographie by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

15 editions published between 1996 and 2015 in 4 languages and held by 59 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Acclaimed around the world and a national best-seller, this is the definitive work on Che Guevara, the dashing rebel whose epic dream was to end poverty and injustice in Latin America and the developing world through armed revolution. Jon Lee Anderson's biography traces Che's extraordinary life, from his comfortable Argentine upbringing to the battlefields of the Cuban revolution, from the halls of power in Castro's government to his failed campaign in the Congo and assassination in the Bolivian jungle. Anderson has had unprecedented access to the personal archives maintained by Guevara's widow and carefully guarded Cuban government documents. He has conducted extensive interviews with Che's comrades'some of whom speak here for the first time'and with the CIA men and Bolivian officers who hunted him down. Anderson broke the story of where Guevara's body was buried, which led to the exhumation and state burial of the bones. Many of the details of Che's life have long been cloaked in secrecy and intrigue. Meticulously researched and full of exclusive information, Che Guevara illuminates as never before this mythic figure who embodied the high-water mark of revolutionary communism as a force in history
Cuba : singing with bright tears by Virginia Beahan( Book )

2 editions published in 2009 in English and held by 46 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sacrificio : who betrayed Che Guevara?( Visual )

1 edition published in 2001 in Swedish and held by 35 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On the 9th of October 1967, Sgt. Teran stepped into the room where Che Guevara was kept and shot him, ending Guevara's dream of uniting Latin America through armed revolution. The person who has been held responsible for betraying Guevara was his former lieutenant, Ciro Bustros. In this documentary Bustros tells his version of the events, combined with interviews with historians, former CIA agents and Bolivian army officers, raising questions about the historical accuracy surrounding Guevara's assassination
Magnum revolution 65 Jahre Freiheitskampf( Book )

1 edition published in 2012 in German and held by 28 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

El dictador, los demonios y otras crónicas by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

3 editions published in 2009 in Spanish and held by 24 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
Audience Level
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.28 (from 0.16 for The fall o ... to 0.94 for Magnum rev ...)

The fall of Baghdad
Alternative Names
Anderson, J. L.

Jon Lee Anderson Amerikaans oorlogsverslaggever

Андерсон, Йон Ли

Джон Лий Андерсън

جان لی اندرسون

アンダーソン, ジョン・リー


The fall of BaghdadGuerrillas : the men and women fighting today's warsCheChe Guevara [a revolutionary life]Baghdad, truth lies withinTalibanChe Guevara : una vida revolucionariaThe lion's grave : dispatches from AfghanistanCuba : singing with bright tears