WorldCat Identities

Frazier, Ian

Overview
Works: 73 works in 272 publications in 6 languages and 17,410 library holdings
Genres: Local history  History  Travel writing  Essays  Pictorial works  Fiction  Domestic fiction  Illustrated works  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Humor 
Roles: Author, Editor, Narrator, Arranger, Redactor, Other
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Ian Frazier
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Ian Frazier
On the rez by Ian Frazier( Book )

15 editions published between 2000 and 2001 in English and French and held by 2,131 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

" ... about modern-day American Indians, especially the storied Oglala Sioux, who live now on the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation ..."--Dust cover
Family by Ian Frazier( Book )

17 editions published between 1994 and 2002 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,212 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Fraser traces his family's history from the Revolution in Connecticut to the Civil War to the growing town of Norwalk, Ohio
Talk stories by Jamaica Kincaid( Book )

5 editions published in 2001 in English and held by 841 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This collection of Jamaica Kincaid's original writing for "The New Yorker"'s "Talk of the Town" was composed when she first came to the United States from Antigua, from 1978 to 1983. The essays illuminate Kincaid's development as a young writer--the newcomer who sensitively records her impressions here takes root to become one of our most respected authors
The cursing mommy's book of days by Ian Frazier( Book )

4 editions published in 2012 in English and held by 730 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Structured as a daybook of sorts, with the Cursing Mommy--beleaguered wife of Larry and mother of two boys, twelve and nine--trying (more or less) valiantly to offer tips on how to do various tasks around the home, only to end up on the ground, cursing, surrounded by broken glass. Her voice is somewhere between Phyllis Diller's and Sylvia Plath's: a hilariously desperate housewife with a taste for swearing and large glasses of red wine, who speaks to the frustrations of everyday life
Lamentations of the father by Ian Frazier( Book )

8 editions published between 2000 and 2009 in English and held by 702 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

More serious than a "gag" writer and funnier than most essayists, Frazier has a classical originality. This collection, a companion to his previous humor collections "Dating Your Mom" and "Coyote v. Acme," contains 33 pieces gathered from the last 13 years.--From publisher description
Coyote v. Acme by Ian Frazier( Book )

9 editions published between 1996 and 2013 in English and held by 701 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When Ian Frazier's first collection of humorous essays, Dating Your Mon, was published in 1986, Time's reviewer Paul Gray called it "hilarious" and warned readers to" read sparingly ... By 1996 another collection may appear". And he was rights. Frazier's new collection, Coyote v. Acme, includes twenty-two more side-splitting glimpses into some of the more oddball corners of the American mind. The title essay imagines the opening statement of an attorney for cartoon character Wile E. Coyote in a product liability suit against the Acme Company, supplier of unpredictable rocket sleds and faulty spring-powered shoes. Other essays are about the golfing career of comedian Bob Hope, a commencement address given by a Satanist college president, a suburban short story attacked by Germans, the problem of issues versus non-issues, and the theories of revolutionary stand-up comedy from Comrade Stalin
Stories & other writings by Ring Lardner( Book )

11 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 687 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

At the height of the Jazz Age, Ring Lardner was Americas most beloved humorist, equally admired by a popular audience and by literary friends like F. Scott Fitzgerald and Edmund Wilson. A sports writer who became a sensation with his comic baseball bestseller, "You Know Me Al," Lardner had a rare gift for inspired nonsense and an ear attuned to the rhythms and hilarious oddities of American speech. He was also a sharp and dispassionate observer of the American scene. --amazon.com
Hogs wild : selected reporting pieces by Ian Frazier( Book )

4 editions published between 2016 and 2017 in English and held by 620 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"A generous selection of Frazier's most sophisticated and uproarious feature stories"--
The fish's eye : essays about angling and the outdoors by Ian Frazier( Book )

7 editions published between 2002 and 2003 in English and held by 598 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A collection of essays spanning twenty years celebrates the author's passion for fishing and details his ability to see the angler's environment all around him
Steinberg at the New Yorker by Joel Smith( Book )

5 editions published in 2005 in English and held by 589 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This richly illustrated volume opens with a captivating introduction by the artist's friend and colleague Ian Frazier. Joel Smith's essay, the first to draw on unpublished material in Steinberg's papers, explores the remarkable range and unceasing evolution of a major American modernist - one whose art reached a grateful public not from museum walls but from the pages of the periodical he called "my refuge, patria, and safety net." All eighty-nine of Steinberg's New Yorker covers appear in full color, as do many drawings that were printed inside the magazine when art was reproduced there only in black-and-white. Steinberg at The New Yorker assembles the artist's most beloved, intuitive, and brilliant inspirations. Wartime portfolios chronicle his tours of duty in China, India, North Africa, and Italy; in peacetime, the artist pays indelible visits to Hollywood, Moscow, Berlin, and Samarkand. He populates New York with stoical cats, precocious children, puzzled couples, and a menagerie of vivid grotesques. Thinkers grapple with demons of their own making; speakers speak past one another in the graphic dialects of street map and scribble. Words go on the warpath, numbers guard their secrets, and question marks an
Great Plains by Ian Frazier( Book )

22 editions published between 1989 and 2018 in 5 languages and held by 588 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A travelogue of the Great Plains by the author who visited almost every part of this region of the United States
Dating your mom by Ian Frazier( Book )

13 editions published between 1986 and 2003 in English and Undetermined and held by 560 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ian Frazier tackles some unusual--and hilarious--topics in this collection of essays, such as the Killion, a number so large that even thinking about it kills people; the real reason for the New York City blackout; what if Samuel Beckett had become an airplane pilot; and what Hitler really wanted from history
Humor me : an anthology of funny contemporary writing (plus some great old stuff too)( Book )

3 editions published between 2010 and 2011 in English and held by 539 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"A literary cavalcade ... featuring more than fifty pieces of the greatest comic writing of our time. The book includes such masters of the form as Roy Blount, Jr., Bruce Jay Friedman, Veronica Geng, Jack Handey, Garrison Keillor, Steve Martin, and Calvin Trillin, as well as work by newer comic stars like Andy Borowitz, Larry Doyle, Simon Rich, George Saunders, and David Sedaris ... [and] classics by Bret Harte, Elizabeth Bishop, Donald Barthelme, and Mark Twain."--Jacket
Nobody better, better than nobody by Ian Frazier( Book )

9 editions published between 1987 and 2003 in English and held by 508 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Nobody Better, Better Than Nobody is a collection of five extended essays that appeared in The New Yorker from 1978 to 1986. In the tradition of A.J. Liebling and Joseph Mitchell, Frazier raises journalism to high literary art. His vivid stories showcase a strange and wonderful parade of American life, from portraits of Heloise, the syndicated household-hints columnist, and Jim Deren, the urban fly-fisher's guru, to small-town residents in western Kansas preparing to celebrate a historic, mutual massacre, to which they invite the Cheyenne Indians' descendants with the promise of free bowling
Stranger passing by Joel Sternfeld( Book )

13 editions published in 2001 in English and Undetermined and held by 390 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Accompanied by text from Ian Frazier and Douglas R. Nickel, this collection functions as an indepth look into the breadth and growth of Sternfeld's art
They went : the art and craft of travel writing( Book )

4 editions published in 1991 in English and held by 339 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The cursing mommy's book of days : a novel by Ian Frazier( Recording )

8 editions published in 2012 in English and held by 247 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Structured as a daybook of sorts, with the Cursing Mommy-beleaguered wife of Larry and mother of two boys, twelve and nine-trying (more or less) valiantly to offer tips on how to do various tasks around the home, only to end up on the ground, cursing, surrounded by broken glass. Her voice is somewhere between Phyllis Diller's and Sylvia Plath's: a hilariously desperate housewife with a taste for swearing and large glasses of red wine
The Best American Essays 1997( Book )

3 editions published in 1997 in English and held by 245 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Compiles a selection of the best literary essays of the year 1996 which were originally published in American periodicals. Includes essays by Thomas McGuane, Cynthia Ozick, Susan Sontag, and Gay Talese, among others
The best American travel writing, 2003( Book )

2 editions published in 2003 in English and held by 194 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Presents an anthology of the best travel writing published in the previous year, selected from magazines, newspapers, and web sites
Saving America's treasures by Dwight Young( Book )

2 editions published in 2001 in English and held by 181 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Showcases some of America's priceless historical artifacts, documents, and sites that, because of neglect, age, or lack of funding, are in danger of being lost forever
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.22 (from 0.14 for On the rez ... to 1.00 for Dating you ...)

On the rez
Covers
FamilyTalk storiesLamentations of the fatherCoyote v. AcmeThe fish's eye : essays about angling and the outdoorsSteinberg at the New YorkerGreat PlainsDating your mom
Alternative Names
Ian Frazier Amerikaans schrijver

Ian Frazier écrivain américain

Ian Frazier US-amerikanischer Schriftsteller

Ian "Sandy" Frazier

Йен Фрэзиер

ایان فریزیر نویسنده آمریکایی

Languages