WorldCat Identities

Anderson, Jon Lee

Overview
Works: 111 works in 338 publications in 12 languages and 10,530 library holdings
Genres: Biography  History  Biographies  Biographical films  Drama  Historical films  Film adaptations  Documentary television programs  Pictorial works  Nonfiction television programs 
Roles: Author, Creator, Commentator, Consultant, Author of introduction, Interviewee, win, Contributor, Interviewer, Other
Classifications: F2849.22.G85, B
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Jon Lee Anderson
 
Most widely held works by Jon Lee Anderson
Che Guevara : a revolutionary life by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

37 editions published between 1997 and 2015 in 3 languages and held by 2,325 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Author obviously admires Guevara and thus tends to exaggerate his role in the Cuban Revolution; however, he has managed a degree of objectivity sufficient for production of the best biography of the guerrilla thus far. Author's research is wide and deep, his work is careful and meticulous, and he always remains close to the facts. Few will continue to venerate the memory of Guevara after reading this book"--Handbook of Latin American Studies, v. 58
The fall of Baghdad by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

24 editions published between 2004 and 2008 in 5 languages and held by 1,967 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Examines the toppling of Saddam Hussein's regime, following a diverse group of Iraqis from a life of fear under Saddam's rule, through the events of the invasion and the regime's fall, to America's seizure of power and its repercussions
Che( Visual )

4 editions published in 2009 in Spanish and held by 669 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A portrait of the man who overthrew a dictatorship and became a revolutionary before his life was ended. Includes both Che Part One: The Argentine and Part Two: Guerrilla and bonus features
Guerrillas : the men and women fighting today's wars by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

15 editions published between 1992 and 2011 in English and Italian and held by 659 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Anderson reports from five war fronts, telling of passionate, defiant, and idealistic, guerrillas evoking romantic images of struggle for a just cause
A history of violence : living and dying in Central America by Óscar Martínez( Book )

1 edition published in 2016 in English and held by 447 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Heartbreaking immersion into the lives of people enduring extreme violence in Central America El Salvador and Honduras have had the highest homicide rates in the world over the past ten years. Oscar Martinez, author of The Beast, which was named one of the best books of the year by the Economist and the Financial Times, shares a beautiful and immersive account of life in one of the most violent places on earth. Martinez travels to Nicaraguan fishing towns, southern Mexican brothels where Central American women are trafficked, isolated Guatemalan jungle villages and crime-ridden Salvadoran slums. With his precise and empathetic reporting, he reveals the underbelly of some of the most dangerous places in the world, going undercover to drink with narcos, accompanying police patrols, riding in trafficking boats and hiding out with a gang informer. The result is an unforgettable portrait of a region of fear, helping to explain why migrants have been fleeing the area by the millions"
Inside the League : the shocking expose of how terrorists, Nazis, and Latin American death squads have infiltrated the world Anti-Communist League by Scott Anderson( Book )

9 editions published in 1986 in English and German and held by 428 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

War zones by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

5 editions published in 1988 in English and Undetermined and held by 278 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Che Guevara : [a revolutionary life] by Jon Lee Anderson( )

17 editions published between 1997 and 2011 in English and held by 277 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The life of the most storied revolutionary, Che Guevara, raised in a middle-class, Argentinean family, wjho grew up to be the world's most loved and feared revolutionary leader. From the Cuban revolution, to Africa and Bolivia, Anderson reveals the relatively unknown facts of Guevara's life and explains why Guevara is still considered both a hero and a villain today
The Hugo Chavez Show( Visual )

1 edition published in 2008 in English and held by 234 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Frontline looks at Venezuela's controversial and outspoken president, Hugo Chavez, and the revolution he claims is turning his country into an anti-capitalist beacon for Latin America and the world. Through the lens of his unique weekly program "Aló Presidente" and the eyes of the Venezuelans who know him well, Frontline digs below the surface of his presidency and his personality to try to understand the mercurial leader."--Container
Afghanistan : a distant war by Robert Nickelsberg( Book )

3 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 202 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Noted documentary photographer Robert Nickelsberg's photographs help bring into focus the day-to-day consequences of war, poverty, oppression, and political turmoil in Afghanistan. Since the attack on the World Trade Center, Afghanistan has evolved from a country few people thought twice about to a place that evokes our deepest emotions. TIME magazine photographer Robert Nickelsberg has been publishing his images of this distant yet all too familiar country since 1998, when he accompanied a group of Mujahideen across the border from Pakistan. This remarkable volume of photographs is accompanied by insightful texts from experts on Afghanistan and the Taliban. The images themselves are captioned with places, dates, and Nickelsberg's own extensive commentary. Timely and important, the book serves as a reminder that Afghanistan and the rest of the world remain inextricably linked, no matter how much we long to distance ourselves from its painful realities
Gabo : the creation of Gabriel Garcia Marquez( Visual )

1 edition published in 2015 in Spanish and held by 146 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Una historia sobre el increíble poder de la imaginación, que sigue los hilos entretejidos de la vida y obras de Gabriel García Márquez - "Gabo" para toda América Latina. La historia de los pequeños éxitos de Márquez, y sus devastadores intentos fallidos para hacer realidad su sueño, se desenvuelve con el telón de fondo de Colombia y el mundo de la política - hasta que él finalmente logra la repentina y unánime aclamación con la publicación de 100 años de soledad y el Nobel, en 1982
Magnum revolution : 65 years of fighting for freedom by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

7 editions published in 2012 in English and German and held by 123 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Culled from the archives of the prestigious Magnum Photos founded by Henri Cartier Bresson, this collection of images from internationally renowned photographers is a compelling record of the recent decades of worldwide revolution
The true story of Che Guevara( Visual )

1 edition published in 2007 in English and held by 121 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The life and death of the 20th century's most iconic rebel. Cloaked in mystery and obscured by legend, Che's charisma and his dedication to worldwide revolution terrified some of the world's most powerful men and led to armies vying to destroy him
Baghdad, truth lies within by Bruno Stevens( Book )

5 editions published in 2004 in English and held by 106 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Taliban by Thomas Dworzak( Book )

5 editions published in 2003 in English and held by 92 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Fotografier af afghanske talebanere som på trods af Talibanstyrets strenge krav om afbildninger af personer, viser pyntede og sminkede mænd foran baggrunde med schweiziske alpehytter o. lign
Che : die Biographie by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

24 editions published between 1996 and 2015 in 9 languages and held by 81 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Beretningen om Ernesto Che Guevaras (1928-1967) usædvanlige liv fra hans trygge argentinske opvækst til den cubanske revolutions slagmarker, fra magtens korridorer i Fidel Castros regering over hans mislykkede felttog i Congo og til han bliver snigmyrdet i Bolivia
Una historia de violencia : Vivir y morir en Centroamérica by Óscar Martínez( Book )

1 edition published in 2016 in Spanish and held by 71 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

La alta tasa de homicidios que se registra en el triángulo compuesto por Honduras, El Salvador, y Guatemala es el resultado de una mezcla de gobiernos corruptos con una guerra auspiciada por Estados Unidos que, como efecto boomerang y a pesar de sus esfuerzos para detenerlo, regresa a sus manos. Para evitar que esas muertes caigan en desestima de la incomprensión, en estas páginas se hace visible la cotidianidad de una sociedad sumida en el abandono y la violencia. Óscar Martínez, premiado por sus investigaciones de alto riesgo y notable calidad narrativa, describe en este libro la peligrosa situación que Centroamérica sufre a diario. Se trata de un conjunto de crónicas que afrontan una dura realidad con el coraje del auténtico periodismo. Durante su periplo, Martínez visita pueblos pesqueros en Nicaragua, burdeles donde se trafica con mujeres centroamericanas en la frontera sur mexicana, poblados remotos de la selva guatemalteca y barrios salvadoreños atestados de criminales. Cruda y feroz, esta obra exalta la tenacidad de ejercer el periodismo en una zona donde el conflicto no cesa y donde el oficio pareciera no producir ningún cambio. El análisis alcanza diversas regiones políticas y apunta con total convicción al norte del río Bravo como su origen
Che Guevara : una vida revolucionaria by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

14 editions published between 2006 and 2013 in Spanish and English and held by 64 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The lion's grave : dispatches from Afghanistan by Jon Lee Anderson( Book )

4 editions published in 2002 in English and held by 60 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Two weeks after the terrorist attacks of September 11, correspondent and bestselling author Anderson became one of the first Western journalists to get into Afghanistan. Distinguished by his gritty, on-the-ground observations, probing interviews, and gift for telling a story, The Lion's Grave is war reporting in the tradition of A.J. Liebling and Michael Herr
Cuba : singing with bright tears by Virginia Beahan( Book )

2 editions published in 2009 in English and held by 46 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.27 (from 0.16 for The fall o ... to 0.82 for Che : die ...)

The fall of Baghdad
Alternative Names
Anderson, J. L.

Jon Lee Anderson Amerikaans oorlogsverslaggever

Jon Lee Anderson journaliste américain

Jon Lee Anderson periodista estadounidense

Jon Lee Anderson periodista estatunidenc

Lee Anderson, Jon

Андерсон, Йон Ли

Джон Лий Андерсън

ג'ון לי אנדרסון עיתונאי אמריקאי

جان لی اندرسون

アンダーソン, ジョン・リー

ジョン・リー・アンダーソン

Languages
Covers
The fall of BaghdadCheGuerrillas : the men and women fighting today's warsChe Guevara : [a revolutionary life]Baghdad, truth lies withinTalibanChe Guevara : una vida revolucionariaThe lion's grave : dispatches from AfghanistanCuba : singing with bright tears