WorldCat Identities

Polacco, Patricia

Overview
Works: 191 works in 881 publications in 6 languages and 107,505 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Juvenile works  Picture books  History  Historical fiction  Christmas stories  Portraits  Biography  Braille books  Study guides 
Roles: Author, Illustrator, Narrator
Classifications: PS3566.O396, E
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Patricia Polacco
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Patricia Polacco
Pink and Say by Patricia Polacco( Book )

20 editions published between 1994 and 2003 in 4 languages and held by 4,022 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Chronicles the frienship of Pink, a fifteen-year-old African-American Union soldier, and Say, his poor white comrade, as one nurses the other back to health from a battle wound and the two of them are imprisoned at Andersonville. Based on a true story
The keeping quilt by Patricia Polacco( Book )

32 editions published between 1988 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 3,953 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A homemade quilt ties together the lives of four generations of an immigrant Jewish family, remaining a symbol of their enduring love ad faith
Chicken Sunday by Patricia Polacco( Book )

31 editions published between 1992 and 2011 in 3 languages and held by 3,593 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

To thank Miss Eula for her wonderful Sunday chicken dinners, three children sell decorated eggs to buy her a beautiful Easter hat
Thunder cake by Patricia Polacco( Book )

27 editions published between 1990 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 3,419 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Grandma finds a way to dispel her grandchild's fear of thunderstorms
Thank you, Mr. Falker by Patricia Polacco( Book )

23 editions published between 1988 and 2012 in 7 languages and held by 3,400 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

At first, Trisha loves school, but her difficulty learning to read makes her feel dumb, until, in the fifth grade, a new teacher helps her understand and overcome her problem
Emma Kate by Patricia Polacco( Book )

8 editions published between 2005 and 2008 in English and held by 3,133 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Emma Kate and her best friend, a toy elephant, share many activities, such as homework and soccer practice, and even have their tonsils out at the same time!
Mrs. Katz and Tush by Patricia Polacco( Book )

40 editions published between 1992 and 2013 in 5 languages and held by 2,601 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Larnel doesn't know his neighbor, Mrs. Katz, very well, until he asks her to adopt an abandoned kitten. Mrs. Katz agrees on one condition: that Larnel help her take care of the kitten she names Tush. When Larnel starts spending more and more time with Mrs. Katz to help with Tush, Mrs. Katz tells him stories about coming to America from Poland and about the good times she spent with her late husband. As Larnel grows to love Mrs. Katz, he also learns about the suffering and triumph black history shares with the Jewish heritage
Rechenka's eggs by Patricia Polacco( Book )

16 editions published between 1988 and 1996 in English and held by 2,526 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An injured goose rescued by Babushka, having broken the painted eggs intended for the Easter Festival in Moscva, lays thirteen marvelously colored eggs to replace them, then leaves behind one final miracle in egg form before returning to her own kind
Just plain fancy by Patricia Polacco( Book )

26 editions published between 1990 and 2015 in English and Chinese and held by 2,433 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Naomi, an Amish girl whose elders have impressed upon her the importance of adhering to the simple ways of her people, is horrified when one of her hen eggs hatches into an extremely fancy bird
My rotten redheaded older brother by Patricia Polacco( Book )

19 editions published between 1994 and 2007 in 4 languages and held by 2,339 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

After losing running, climbing, throwing, and burping competitions to her obnoxious older brother, a young girl makes a wish on a falling star
The bee tree by Patricia Polacco( Book )

16 editions published between 1993 and 2003 in English and Korean and held by 2,288 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

To teach his daughter the value of books, a father leads a growing crowd in search of the tree where the bees keep all their honey
The butterfly by Patricia Polacco( Book )

9 editions published between 1972 and 2009 in English and Korean and held by 2,200 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

During the Nazi occupation of France, Monique's mother hides a Jewish family in her basement and tries to help them escape to freedom. Based on a true story, this picture book tells of a little girl growing up in France during World War II who becomes aware that her family is hiding a Jewish family in the cellar. Since the Tall Boots--the Nazis--have marched into Monique's small French village, terrorizing it, nothing surprises her. Until the night Monique encounters "the little ghost" sitting at the end of her bed. When she turns out to be--not a ghost at all--but a young girl named Sevrine, who has been hiding from the Nazis in Monique's own basement, how could Monique not be surprised! Playing upstairs after dark, the two become friends until, in a terrifying moment, they are discovered, sending both of their families into a nighttime flight. In the tradition of Pink and Say, Patricia Polacco once again dips into her own family's history to reveal her Aunt Monique's true story of friendship from the French Resistance
Aunt Chip and the great Triple Creek dam affair by Patricia Polacco( Book )

13 editions published between 1966 and 2000 in English and Chinese and held by 1,897 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When Eli's eccentric Aunt Chip, who refuses to own a TV, discovers that her nephew and her neighbors don't remember how to read, she pulls the plug on the whole town--using the books that have been piled high to build a dam to spread the magic of reading
John Philip Duck by Patricia Polacco( Book )

9 editions published between 2004 and 2005 in English and held by 1,792 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

During the Depression, a young Memphis boy trains his pet duck to do tricks in the fountain of a grand hotel and ends up becoming the Duck Master of the Peabody Hotel
Mr. Lincoln's way by Patricia Polacco( Book )

10 editions published between 2001 and 2017 in 3 languages and held by 1,788 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When Mr. Lincoln, 'the coolest principal in the whole world, ' discovers that Eugene, the school bully, knows a lot about birds, he uses this interest to help Eugene overcome his intolerance
Babushka Baba Yaga by Patricia Polacco( Book )

14 editions published between 1993 and 2003 in 3 languages and held by 1,766 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The villagers are afraid of her, so the legendary Baba Yaga disguises herself as an old woman in order to know the joys of being a grandmother
The trees of the dancing goats by Patricia Polacco( Book )

15 editions published between 1996 and 2011 in English and held by 1,740 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

During a scarlet fever epidemic one winter in Michigan, a Jewish family helps make Christmas special for their sick neighbors by making their own Hanukkah miracle. Based on a memory from the author's childhood
Welcome Comfort by Patricia Polacco( Book )

7 editions published between 1999 and 2002 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,706 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Welcome Comfort, a lonely foster child, is assured by his friend the school custodian that there is a Santa Claus, but he does not discover the truth until one wondrous and surprising Christmas Eve
A Christmas tapestry by Patricia Polacco( Book )

8 editions published between 2002 and 2008 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,642 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A tapestry that is being used to cover a hole in a church wall at Christmas brings together an elderly couple who was separated during World War II
Patricia Polacco, dream keeper( Visual )

1 edition published in 1996 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Author-illustrator Patricia Polacco talks about her childhood, family and sources of inspiration for her stories. She reads from Rechenka's eggs, Thunder cake, The bee tree and others
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.09 (from 0.00 for Emma Kate ... to 1.00 for Patricia P ...)

Alternative Names
Patricia Polacco Amerikaans schrijfster

Patricia Polacco amerikansk författare

Patricia Polacco amerikansk skribent

폴라코, 패트리샤 1944-

폴라코, 퍼트리샤 1944-

パトリシア・ポラッコ

ポラッコ, パトリシア

Languages
English (310)

Chinese (20)

Spanish (10)

Korean (10)

German (5)

Japanese (3)

Covers
The keeping quiltChicken SundayThunder cakeThank you, Mr. FalkerEmma KateMrs. Katz and TushRechenka's eggsJust plain fancy