WorldCat Identities

Polacco, Patricia

Overview
Works: 211 works in 746 publications in 4 languages and 102,328 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Juvenile works  History  Picture books  Biography  Study guides 
Roles: Illustrator, Narrator
Classifications: PZ7.P75186, [E]
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Patricia Polacco Publications about Patricia Polacco
Publications by  Patricia Polacco Publications by Patricia Polacco
Most widely held works about Patricia Polacco
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Patricia Polacco
Chicken Sunday by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
26 editions published between 1992 and 2001 in English and Spanish and held by 3,566 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
To thank Miss Eula for her wonderful Sunday chicken dinners, three children sell decorated eggs to buy her a beautiful Easter hat
The keeping quilt by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
23 editions published between 1988 and 2013 in English and held by 3,544 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A homemade quilt ties together the lives of four generations of an immigrant Jewish family, remaining a symbol of their enduring love and faith
Pink and Say by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
8 editions published between 1994 and 2002 in English and held by 3,395 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Say Curtis describes his meeting with Pinkus Aylee, a black soldier, during the Civil War, and their capture by Southern troops. Based on a true story about the author's great-great-grandfather
Thunder cake by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
20 editions published between 1990 and 2013 in English and Undetermined and held by 3,386 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Grandma finds a way to dispel her grandchild's fear of thunderstorms. "A memorable picture book that will speak to children about facing their fears and overcoming them".--Booklist, starred review. "A picture book that will appeal mightily to any child who has quaked at the sounds of a thunderstorm
Emma Kate by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
9 editions published between 2005 and 2008 in English and held by 3,152 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Emma Kate and her best friend, a toy elephant, share many activities, such as homework and soccer practice, and even have their tonsils out at the same time!
Thank you, Mr. Falker by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
10 editions published between 1988 and 2012 in 3 languages and held by 2,998 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
At first, Trisha loves school, but her difficulty learning to read makes her feel dumb, until, in the fifth grade, a new teacher helps her understand and overcome her problem
Mrs. Katz and Tush by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
27 editions published between 1992 and 2013 in English and held by 2,613 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A long-lasting friendship develops between Larnel, a young African-American, and Mrs. Katz, a lonely Jewish widow, when Larnel presents Mrs. Katz with a scrawny kitten without a tail
The Graves family by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
10 editions published between 2003 and 2008 in English and held by 2,575 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
When the Graves family goes on their annual camping trip to Lake Bleakmire, they make a frightening discovery in the forest
Rechenka's eggs by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
15 editions published between 1988 and 1996 in English and held by 2,552 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
An injured goose rescued by Babushka, lays thirteen marvelously colored eggs for the Easter Festival in Moscva, then leaves behind one final miralce in egg form before returning to her own kind
Just plain fancy by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
24 editions published between 1990 and 2015 in English and Chinese and held by 2,486 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Naomi, an Amish girl whose elders have impressed upon her the importance of adhering to the simple ways of her people, is horrified when one of her hen eggs hatches into an extremely fancy bird
My rotten redheaded older brother by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
11 editions published between 1994 and 1998 in English and Undetermined and held by 2,335 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
After losing running, climbing, throwing, and burping competitions to her obnoxious older brother, a young girl makes a wish on a falling star
The bee tree by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
13 editions published between 1993 and 1998 in English and held by 2,272 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
To teach his granddaughter the value of books, a grandfather leads a growing crowd in search of the tree where the bees keep all their honey
The butterfly by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
6 editions published between 2000 and 2009 in English and held by 2,194 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
During the Nazi occupation of France, Monique's mother hides a Jewish family in her basement and tries to help them escape to freedom. Based on a true story, this picture book tells of a little girl growing up in France during World War II who becomes aware that her family is hiding a Jewish family in the cellar. Since the Tall Boots--the Nazis--have marched into Monique's small French village, terrorizing it, nothing surprises her. Until the night Monique encounters "the little ghost" sitting at the end of her bed. When she turns out to be--not a ghost at all--but a young girl named Sevrine, who has been hiding from the Nazis in Monique's own basement, how could Monique not be surprised! Playing upstairs after dark, the two become friends until, in a terrifying moment, they are discovered, sending both of their families into a nighttime flight.In the tradition of Pink and Say, Patricia Polacco once again dips into her own family's history to reveal her Aunt Monique's true story of friendship from the French Resistance
Babushka's doll by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
16 editions published between 1990 and 2008 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,989 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A little girl gets a doll that turns out to be twice as rambunctious as her owner
Aunt Chip and the great Triple Creek dam affair by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
8 editions published between 1966 and 1997 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,842 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Aunt Chip saves the town of Triple Creek, where everyone has forgotten how to read because of the invasion of television
John Philip Duck by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
9 editions published between 2004 and 2005 in English and held by 1,827 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
During the Depression, a young Memphis boy trains his pet duck to do tricks in the fountain of a grand hotel and ends up becoming the Duck Master of the Peabody Hotel
Babushka Baba Yaga by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
10 editions published between 1993 and 1999 in English and held by 1,783 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The villagers are afraid of her, so Baba Yaga disguises herself as a grandmother
Welcome Comfort by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
9 editions published between 1999 and 2002 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,746 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Welcome Comfort, a lonely foster child, is assured by his friend the school custodian that there is a Santa Claus, but he does not discover the truth until one wondrous and surprising Christmas Eve
The trees of the dancing goats by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
13 editions published between 1996 and 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,738 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
During a scarlet fever epidemic one winter in Michigan, a Jewish family helps make Christmas special for their sick neighbors by making their own Hanukkah miracle. Based on a memory from the author's childhood
Mr. Lincoln's way by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
6 editions published between 2001 and 2013 in English and held by 1,727 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
When Mr. Lincoln, "the coolest principal in the whole world," discovers that Eugene, the school bully, knows a lot about birds, he uses this interest to help Eugene overcome his intolerance
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.04 (from 0.00 for Patricia P ... to 0.47 for The world ...)
Alternative Names
ポラッコ, パトリシア
Languages
English (285)
Spanish (2)
Chinese (1)
German (1)
Covers