WorldCat Identities

Polacco, Patricia

Overview
Works: 220 works in 728 publications in 5 languages and 100,548 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Juvenile works  History  Picture books  Biography  Study guides 
Roles: Illustrator, Narrator
Classifications: PZ7.P75186, [E]
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Patricia Polacco Publications about Patricia Polacco
Publications by  Patricia Polacco Publications by Patricia Polacco
Most widely held works by Patricia Polacco
The keeping quilt by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
23 editions published between 1988 and 2013 in English and Spanish and held by 3,772 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A homemade quilt ties together the lives of four generations of an immigrant Jewish family, remaining a symbol of their enduring love and faith
Chicken Sunday by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
25 editions published between 1992 and 2001 in English and Spanish and held by 3,543 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
To thank Miss Eula for her wonderful Sunday chicken dinners, three children sell decorated eggs to buy her a beautiful Easter hat
Pink and Say by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
9 editions published between 1994 and 2002 in English and held by 3,403 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Say Curtis describes his meeting with Pinkus Aylee, a black soldier, during the Civil War, and their capture by Southern troops. Based on a true story about the author's great-great-grandfather
Thunder cake by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
21 editions published between 1989 and 2013 in English and Undetermined and held by 3,339 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Grandma finds a way to dispel her grandchild's fear of thunderstorms
Emma Kate by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
9 editions published between 2005 and 2008 in English and held by 3,124 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Emma Kate and her best friend, a toy elephant, share many activities, such as homework and soccer practice, and even have their tonsils out at the same time
Thank you, Mr. Falker by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
11 editions published between 1988 and 2012 in 3 languages and held by 2,973 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
At first, Trisha loves school, but her difficulty learning to read makes her feel dumb, until, in the fifth grade, a new teacher helps her understand and overcome her problem
Rechenka's eggs by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
13 editions published between 1988 and 1996 in English and held by 2,542 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
An injured goose rescued by Babushka, having broken the painted eggs intended for the Easter Festival in Moscva, lays thirteen marvelously colored eggs to replace them, then leaves behind one final miracle in egg form before returning to her own kind
Mrs. Katz and Tush by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
23 editions published between 1992 and 2013 in English and held by 2,539 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A long-lasting friendship develops between Larnel, a young African-American, and Mrs. Katz, a lonely, Jewish widow, when Larnel presents Mrs. Katz with a scrawny kitten without a tail
Just plain fancy by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
23 editions published between 1990 and 1994 in English and Chinese and held by 2,468 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Naomi, an Amish girl whose elders have impressed upon her the importance of adhering to the simple ways of her people, is horrified when one of her hen eggs hatches into an extremely fancy bird
My rotten redheaded older brother by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
11 editions published between 1994 and 1998 in English and Undetermined and held by 2,323 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
After losing running, climbing, throwing, and burping competitions to her obnoxious older brother, a young girl makes a wish on a falling star
The bee tree by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
13 editions published between 1993 and 1998 in English and held by 2,259 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
To teach his granddaughter the value of books, a grandfather leads a growing crowd in search of the tree where the bees keep all their honey
The butterfly by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
6 editions published between 2000 and 2009 in English and held by 2,182 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
During the Nazi occupation of France, Monique's mother hides a Jewish family in her basement and tries to help them escape to freedom. Based on a true story, this picture book tells of a little girl growing up in France during World War II who becomes aware that her family is hiding a Jewish family in the cellar. Since the Tall Boots--the Nazis--have marched into Monique's small French village, terrorizing it, nothing surprises her. Until the night Monique encounters "the little ghost" sitting at the end of her bed. When she turns out to be--not a ghost at all--but a young girl named Sevrine, who has been hiding from the Nazis in Monique's own basement, how could Monique not be surprised! Playing upstairs after dark, the two become friends until, in a terrifying moment, they are discovered, sending both of their families into a nighttime flight.In the tradition of Pink and Say, Patricia Polacco once again dips into her own family's history to reveal her Aunt Monique's true story of friendship from the French Resistance
Babushka's doll by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
16 editions published between 1990 and 2008 in English and Undetermined and held by 2,002 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A little girl gets a doll that turns out to be twice as rambunctious as her owner
Aunt Chip and the great Triple Creek dam affair by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
8 editions published between 1966 and 1997 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,837 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Aunt Chip saves the town of Triple Creek, where everyone has forgotten how to read because of the invasion of television
John Philip Duck by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
8 editions published between 2004 and 2005 in English and held by 1,818 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
During the Depression, a young Memphis boy trains his pet duck to do tricks in the fountain of a grand hotel and ends up becoming the Duck Master of the Peabody Hotel
Babushka Baba Yaga by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
11 editions published between 1993 and 2003 in English and Korean and held by 1,787 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The villagers are afraid of her, so the legendary Baba Yaga disguises herself as an old woman in order to know the joys of being a grandmother
Welcome Comfort by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
9 editions published between 1999 and 2002 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,726 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Welcome Comfort, a lonely foster child, is assured by his friend the school custodian that there is a Santa Claus, but he does not discover the truth until one wondrous and surprising Christmas Eve
The trees of the dancing goats by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
12 editions published between 1996 and 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,723 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
During a scarlet fever epidemic one winter in Michigan, a Jewish family helps make Christmas special for their sick neighbors by making their own Hanukkah miracle. Based on a memory from the author's childhood
Mr. Lincoln's way by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
6 editions published between 2001 and 2013 in English and held by 1,722 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
When Mr. Lincoln, "the coolest principal in the whole world," discovers that Eugene, the school bully, knows a lot about birds, he uses this interest to help Eugene overcome his intolerance
A Christmas tapestry by Patricia Polacco ( Book )
5 editions published between 2002 and 2008 in English and held by 1,629 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A tapestry that is being used to cover a hole in a church wall at Christmas brings together an elderly couple who were separated during World War II
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.04 (from 0.00 for Patricia P ... to 0.47 for The world ...)
Alternative Names
ポラッコ, パトリシア
Languages
English (270)
Spanish (4)
German (1)
Chinese (1)
Korean (1)
Covers