WorldCat Identities

O'Nan, Stewart 1961-

Works: 82 works in 598 publications in 14 languages and 32,887 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Domestic fiction  History  Psychological fiction  Juvenile works  Personal narratives  Young adult works  Reviews  Drama  Melodrama 
Roles: Author, Bibliographic antecedent, Creator, Editor, Interviewee, Contributor
Classifications: PS3565.N316, 813.54
Publication Timeline
Most widely held works about Stewart O'Nan
Most widely held works by Stewart O'Nan
Songs for the missing by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

31 editions published between 2008 and 2014 in 5 languages and held by 1,991 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When a popular high-school student goes missing from her small Midwestern community, her loving parents, introverted sister, friends, and boyfriend devote themselves to finding her, an effort that gives way to pleading television appearances, private investigations, and intimate struggles to cling to hope
Emily, alone by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

24 editions published between 2011 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 1,947 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Newly independent widow Emily Maxwell dreams of visits by grandchildren and mourns changes in her quiet Pittsburgh neighborhood before realizing an inner strength to pursue developing opportunities
West of sunset : a novel by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

21 editions published between 2015 and 2016 in English and held by 1,834 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"A "rich, sometimes heartbreaking" (Dennis Lehane) novel of F. Scott Fitzgerald's last years in Hollywood In 1937, F. Scott Fitzgerald was a troubled, uncertain man whose literary success was long over. In poor health, with his wife consigned to a mental asylum and his finances in ruins, he struggled to make a new start as a screenwriter in Hollywood. By December 1940, he would be dead of a heart attack. Those last three years of Fitzgerald's life, often obscured by the legend of his earlier Jazz Age glamour, are the focus of Stewart O'Nan's gorgeously and gracefully written novel. With flashbacks to key moments from Fitzgerald's past, the story follows him as he arrives on the MGM lot, falls in love with brassy gossip columnist Sheilah Graham, begins work on The Last Tycoon, and tries to maintain a semblance of family life with the absent Zelda and daughter, Scottie. Fitzgerald's orbit of literary fame and the Golden Age of Hollywood is brought vividly to life through the novel's romantic cast of characters, from Dorothy Parker and Ernest Hemingway to Humphrey Bogart. A sympathetic and deeply personal portrait of a flawed man who never gave up in the end, even as his every wish and hope seemed thwarted, West of Sunset confirms O'Nan as "possibly our best working novelist" (Salon)"--
Last night at the lobster : a novel by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

21 editions published between 2007 and 2014 in 4 languages and held by 1,681 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Managing a failed seafood restaurant in a run-down New England mall just before Christmas, Manny DeLeon coordinates a challenging final shift of mutinous staff members, an effort that is complicated by his love for a waitress, a pregnant girlfriend, and an elusive holiday gift
The night country by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

32 editions published between 2003 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 1,605 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"A strange and unsettling ghost story in the tradition of Ray Bradbury and Shirley Jackson. The Night Country creeps through the leaf-strewn streets and quiet cul-de-sacs of a bedroom community, reaching into the desperately connected yet isolated lives of three people changed forever by the accident: Tim, who survived intact but lost everything; Brooks, the cop whose guilty secret has destroyed his life, and Kyle's mom trying to love the new son the doctors returned to her. As the day wanes
Snow angels by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

38 editions published between 1992 and 2013 in 6 languages and held by 1,504 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A small-town tragedy with strong characterization. A grown man recounts two interwoven events which occurred when he was a boy, the break up of his family and the murder of his baby sitter. By the author of In the Walled City
Wish you were here by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

21 editions published between 2002 and 2013 in 3 languages and held by 1,462 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A year after the death of her husband, Emily Maxwell summons her family to their vacation house on Lake Chautauqua in western New York state, bringing together three generations for one last reunion before selling the home
The good wife by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

20 editions published between 2005 and 2013 in 3 languages and held by 1,418 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When her husband is incarcerated for his involvement in a tragic home invasion, Patty Dickerson must raise their newborn child in a community that is sometimes hostile to her, all the while struggling to maintain her dignity
Faithful : two diehard Boston Red Sox fans chronicle the historic 2004 season by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

17 editions published between 2004 and 2007 in 3 languages and held by 1,372 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A chronicle of the Boston Red Sox' 2004 baseball season features a running diary of observations, arguments, play analyses, and controversial management decisions, as recorded by a pair of best-selling horror writers and diehard Red Sox fans
The circus fire : a true story by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

22 editions published between 2000 and 2013 in English and German and held by 1,254 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Chronicles the disastrous Hartford circus fire of 1944, a tragedy that claimed 167 lives and changed the history of the city
A world away by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

14 editions published between 1998 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 1,099 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

While a son serves in World War II, his parents fight their own war, infidelity their weapon. Caught in the middle are the son's wife and a younger brother
The names of the dead by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

11 editions published between 1996 and 2001 in English and French and held by 988 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A family drama on a Vietnam War veteran who cannot forget the war. Larry Markham was a corpsman and is still haunted by the memory of men dying in his arms. His obsession creates strains in his marriage and his wife leaves him, taking their son with her
The Vietnam reader : the definitive collection of American fiction and nonfiction on the war by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

8 editions published in 1998 in English and held by 960 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An anthology of Vietnam War writing, mostly by well-known authors. The fiction includes excerpts from novels, poems and songs, plus summaries of films, while non-fiction is represented by excerpts from books such as Robert Mason's Chickenhawk, the experiences of a helicopter pilot
Everyday people by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

9 editions published between 2001 and 2013 in English and German and held by 900 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"It is the early autumn of 1998, and the neighborhood of East Liberty is a community in crisis. Long beset by poverty and gang violence, it is now on the brink of being cut off from the rest of the city by the opening of a new expressway. Caught in the middle of the events is the Tolbert family, whose youngest son, Chris (nicknamed Crest), has recently returned home from the hospital after a horrible accident that has claimed the use of his legs and the life of his best friend."--Jacket
The speed queen by Stewart O'Nan( Book )

39 editions published between 1997 and 2013 in 9 languages and held by 872 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A woman on death row dictates her life story into a tape recorder. She is Marjorie Standiford whose robberies left several people dead. As her accomplice already published two bestsellers Marjorie wants to tell her version, which a famous novelist has agreed to write. The novel follows the women's adventures, robbing, killing and enjoying lesbian and heterosexual romances. By the author of Names of the Dead
Snow angels by Kate Beckinsale( Visual )

17 editions published between 2008 and 2013 in 5 languages and held by 736 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Een middelbare scholier raakt betrokken bij de noodlottige levensloop van zijn vroegere babysitter
On writers and writing by John Gardner( Book )

10 editions published between 1994 and 2009 in English and held by 704 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"All my life," John Gardner wrote, weeks before his death in a motorcycle accident, "I've lived flat-out. As a motorcycle racer, chemist, writer ... I was never cautious." This goes for John Gardner the critic as well, and that is nowhere more evident than in the pieces collected in this book. On Writers and Writing brings together, for the first time, John Gardner's essays and reviews on his fellow writers and reaffirms his status as one of the most intelligent, generous, and insightful critics of his generation. In piece after piece we see Gardner, the consummate teacher and critic, separating novelistic wheat from chaff, genuine fiction from fakery, examining the work of writers he admires - Saul Bellow, Vladimir Nabokov, Philip Roth, John Cheever, Larry Woiwode, and Joyce Carol Oates - as he would an assignment by one of his students. "Often," Charles Johnson says in his introduction, "the effect is shocking - he said that about John Updike? - but it is a testament to Gardner's professionalism that publicity and public acclaim never blinded him to the basic question every reviewer and critic must ask: What exactly do we have here?" That deceptively simple question is asked insistently throughout many of the pieces collected here, so that the reader too sees the craft and skill of some of America's greatest writers at work. In other essays, Gardner turns his extraordinary intelligence to subjects ranging from fairy tales and religion to King Arthur and Walt Disney. Chock full of insights and opinions, making it essential reading for anyone interested in American literature, On Writers and Writing is also an invaluable contribution to our understanding of John Gardner
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
Audience Level
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.19 (from 0.12 for Faithful : ... to 0.41 for University ...)

Songs for the missing
Alternative Names

controlled identityColtrane, James, 1961-

Coltrane James 1961-....

Nan, Stewart O' 1961-

Stewart O’Nan US-amerikanischer Schriftsteller

Stewart O'Nan Amerikaans schrijver

Stewart O'Nan amerikansk författare

Stewart O'Nan amerikansk skribent

Stewart O'Nan écrivain américain

Стюарт О'Нан

オナン, スチュアート

Emily, aloneLast night at the lobster : a novelThe night countrySnow angelsWish you were hereThe good wifeFaithful : two diehard Boston Red Sox fans chronicle the historic 2004 seasonThe circus fire : a true story