WorldCat Identities

Obbink, Dirk

Overview
Works: 81 works in 314 publications in 6 languages and 11,717 library holdings
Genres: Criticism, interpretation, etc  History  Manuscripts  Poetry  Sources  Conference papers and proceedings  Drama  Film adaptations  Filmed plays 
Roles: Editor, Author, Translator, Other, Author of introduction, Contributor
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Dirk Obbink
Philodemus and poetry : poetic theory and practice in Lucretius, Philodemus, and Horace by Dirk Obbink( Book )

16 editions published between 1994 and 1995 in English and held by 387 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Building on recent advances in the reconstruction of the charred papyri of Philodemus of Gadara (ca. 110-40 B.C.) excavated from the Villa of the Papyri at Herculaneum, this volume presents eleven new chapters in the history of literary criticism in antiquity. The essays, written by noted scholars, treat the papyrus texts of Philodemus' treatises on poetry and the related subjects of rhetoric and music, establishing links with his Roman contemporaries Lucretius, Catullus, Horace, and Vergil. The study offers a critical survey of current trends and developments in recent scholarship on Philodemus in particular and Hellenistic literary theory in general
Philodemus in Italy : the books from Herculaneum by Marcello Gigante( Book )

11 editions published between 1990 and 2002 in English and held by 368 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Matrices of genre : authors, canons, and society( Book )

9 editions published in 2000 in English and held by 340 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On piety. critical text with commentary by Philodemus( Book )

31 editions published between 1994 and 2006 in English and Greek, Ancient and held by 334 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"This new critical text of the philosophical part of Philodemus' On Piety (shown to be the first and not as previously thought the second), together with an English translation and full commentary, introduces a new method of reconstructing the papyrus rolls excavated from the Villa of the Papyri at Herculaneum." "This new edition reveals a text that expounds Epicurus' theory of the gods and religious cult practices as an outgrowth of cultural history, and provides details of Epicurean theology, cult practices and organization of Epicurean groups, accusations of impiety among philosophers, and the philosophical criticism of mythological poetry." "An innovative format presents on facing pages the technical details of the papyrus and a continuous text with running English translation, to which are attached brief explanatory notes. There is an Introduction on Epicurus and Greek religion, which explains the significance of the text for our understanding of Hellenistic philosophy and intellectual history, as well as dealing with the transmission of the text, the reconstruction of its argument, its genre, theme, and the style and syntax of Philodemus' Greek. The commentary brings new work on ancient religion and philosophy and the history of atheism to bear on the interpretation of the text."--BOOK JACKET
The school of Hellas : essays on Greek history, archaeology, and literature by A. E Raubitschek( Book )

10 editions published between 1990 and 1991 in 3 languages and held by 330 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Philodemus and the New Testament world by John T Fitzgerald( Book )

16 editions published between 2003 and 2004 in English and held by 275 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Annotation
Carmen astrologicum elegiacum by Anubio( Book )

25 editions published between 2003 and 2012 in 4 languages and held by 220 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This is the editio princeps, based on new papyrus discoveries, of a Greek poem on astrology by an author whose notorious collaborations with Simon Magus is novelistically recounted in the Clementina. A versified handbook of horoscopes and introduction to the sciences, it is the only Greek astrological poem to have been written in elegiac couplets, and ist a new accession to the corpus of didactic poetry in the tradition of Aratus' Phaenomena, Manilius' Astronomica, and Ovid's Fasti. The edition offers a collection and complete re-edition of the remains of the poem's original four books: published and unpublished papyri, plus fragments and testimonia preserved in the secondary tradition
The language of the papyri by T. V Evans( Book )

20 editions published between 2008 and 2010 in English and held by 210 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"The modern rediscovery of the Greek and Latin papyri from Egypt has transformed our knowledge of the ancient world. We cannot, however, make the same claim in the specific area of language study. Although important studies of the language of the papyri have appeared sporadically over the past century, we are still dealing today with a linguistic resource of extraordinary richness which has hardly begun to be explored. Every scrap of papyrus and every ostracon (potsherd) or tablet unearthed has the potential to change some aspect of the way we think about the Greek and Latin languages. This book demonstrate that potential, by gathering together essays from seventeen scholars who present a variety of perspectives and methodological approaches. The Language of the Papyri charts current directions of international research, and will also provide a stimulus for future work."--Jacket
Columbia papyri X by Roger S Bagnall( Book )

10 editions published in 1996 in English and Greek, Modern and held by 134 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Oxyrhynchus : a city and its texts by Alan K Bowman( Book )

1 edition published in 2007 in English and held by 133 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The cup of song : studies on poetry and the symposion by Vanessa Cazzato( Book )

7 editions published in 2016 in English and held by 78 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

'The Cup of Song' explores the symbiotic relationship of the symposion and poetry across Greek literary history. Each chapter discusses one aspect of sympotic engagement by key authors across the major genres of Greek poetry, leading to a characterization of the full spectrum of sympotic poetry from its beginnings through to the Hellenistic age
Agamemnon : a tragedy by Aeschylus by Aeschylus( Visual )

5 editions published between 1991 and 1992 in English and held by 61 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Part 1 of the Oresteia trilogy by Aeschylus
The Oxyrhynchus Papyri( Book )

9 editions published in 2009 in 3 languages and held by 44 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Philodemus, On piety by Dirk Obbink( Book )

3 editions published in 1996 in 3 languages and held by 21 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Vertis in usum : studies in honor of Edward Courtney by Cynthia Damon( )

2 editions published in 2002 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.46 (from 0.03 for The langua ... to 0.90 for Philodemus ...)

Philodemus and poetry : poetic theory and practice in Lucretius, Philodemus, and Horace
Alternative Names
Dirk Obbink American-born papyrologist and classicist

Dirk Obbink Amerikaans n/a

Dirk Obbink US-amerikanischer Gräzist und Papyrologe

Obbink, D.

Obbink, D. 1957-

Obbink, D.D.

Obbink, D. (Dirk)

Obbink, Dirk.

Obbink, Dirk D.

Languages
Covers
Philodemus in Italy : the books from HerculaneumMatrices of genre : authors, canons, and societyOn piety. critical text with commentaryPhilodemus and the New Testament worldCarmen astrologicum elegiacumThe language of the papyriOxyrhynchus : a city and its textsThe Oxyrhynchus PapyriPhilodemus, On piety