WorldCat Identities

Okrent, Daniel 1948-

Overview
Works: 45 works in 142 publications in 2 languages and 10,655 library holdings
Genres: History  Biographies  Documentary films  Crossword puzzles  Nonfiction films  Oral histories  Anecdotes  Pictorial works  Illustrated works  Case studies 
Roles: Author, Editor, Contributor, Creator, Performer
Classifications: HV5089, 363.41097309042
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Daniel Okrent
Last call : the rise and fall of Prohibition by Daniel Okrent( Book )

15 editions published between 2010 and 2014 in English and held by 2,727 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The author explores the origins, implementation, and failure of that great American delusion known as Prohibition. His book explains how Prohibition happened, what life under it was like, and what it did to the country. It is a history of one of the most puzzling eras in American history when the Constitution was amended to restrict human behaviour. In the 19th century, the U.S. was notably liquor-soaked. By 1917, some people were prepared to translate their concerns into legislative action. An intriguing look at what life under prohibition was like, what it did to the country, and how it reflected such issues as xenophobia, urban/rural tension, and the role of women in society
The guarded gate : bigotry, eugenics, and the law that kept two generations of Jews, Italians, and other European immigrants out of America by Daniel Okrent( Book )

7 editions published between 2019 and 2020 in English and held by 1,178 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Eugenicist arguments ranking the presumed genetic virtue of various ethnic groups helped keep hundreds of thousands of Jews, Italians, and other unwanted groups out of the United States for more than forty years. By 1921 Vice President Calvin Coolidge declared that 'biological laws' had proven the inferiority of southern and eastern Europeans; the restrictive law that remained U.S. policy until 1965 was enacted three years later. Okrent connects the work of the American eugenicists to Nazi racial policies and shows how their beliefs found fertile soil in the minds of citizens and leaders both here and abroad. -- adapted from jacket
The Ultimate baseball book by Daniel Okrent( Book )

19 editions published between 1979 and 2000 in English and held by 1,148 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Text and more than 800 illustrations examine the history of baseball, with information on players, teams, games, records, memorabilia, and other aspects of the sport
Great fortune : the epic of Rockefeller Center by Daniel Okrent( Book )

9 editions published between 2003 and 2004 in English and held by 1,055 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A social history of the creation of Rockefeller Center notes how its planning process was compromised by the Depression, and cites the eccentric personalities that oversaw its construction
Wordplay( Visual )

2 editions published in 2006 in English and held by 924 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A look into the world of New York Times crossword puzzle aficionados, who number in the millions. Focuses on "The New York Times" puzzle editor Will Shortz and participants in the 28th Annual American Crossword Puzzle Tournament in Stamford, Connecticut
Nine innings by Daniel Okrent( Book )

11 editions published between 1985 and 2000 in English and held by 878 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The author carefully dissects a single baseball game, inning by inning, play by play: the game on June 10, 1982 between the Milwaukee Brewers and the Baltimore Orioles at County Stadium in Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Baseball anecdotes by Daniel Okrent( Book )

6 editions published between 1989 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 709 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An anecdotal history of America's professional baseball teams
The 20th century : [an illustrated history of our lives and times]( Book )

3 editions published between 1999 and 2000 in English and held by 495 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The book explores the great issues, fascinating stories, provocative figures, startling events, and underlying trends that have shaped the century. Each year is covered in a separate section that relates the most important events of the year. Provocative essays about each decade provide insight into the current of the times. Includes maps, charts, graphs, photos, and Datelines for each year of the twentieth century. Indexed
American pastimes : the very best of Red Smith by Red Smith( Book )

6 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 288 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A presentation of the best of Smith's inimitable columns ... miniature masterpieces that set the gold standard for sportswriting. Includes Smith's indelible profiles of sports luminaries and unforgettable accounts of historic occasions, which show his gift for distilling a career's essence in a single column
Last call : [the rise and fall of Prohibition] by Daniel Okrent( Recording )

10 editions published between 2010 and 2014 in English and held by 227 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Okrent explores the origins, implementation, and failure of that great American delusion known as Prohibition. "Last Call" explains how Prohibition happened, what life under it was like, and what it did to the country
The way we were : New England then, New England now by Daniel Okrent( Book )

2 editions published in 1989 in English and held by 184 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

I see a city : Todd Webb's New York by Todd Webb( Book )

3 editions published in 2017 in English and held by 168 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"I See a City: Todd Webb's New York focuses on the work of photographer Todd Webb produced in New York City in the 1940s and 1950s. Webb photographed the city day and night, in all seasons and in all weather. Buildings, signage, vehicles, the passing throngs, isolated figures, curious eccentrics, odd corners, windows, doorways, alleyways, squares, avenues, storefronts, uptown, and downtown, from the Brooklyn Bridge to Harlem. The book is a rich portrait of the everyday life and architecture of New York. Webb's work is clear, direct, focused, layered with light and shadow, and captures the soul of these places shaped by the friction and frisson of humanity. A native of Detroit, Webb studied photography in the 1930s under the guidance of Ansel Adams at the Detroit Camera Club, served as a navy photographer during World War II, and then went on to become a successful postwar photographer. His work is in many museum collections, including the Museum of Modern Art in New York and the National Gallery of Art in Washington. Published on the occasion of the exhibition Todd Webb's New York at the Museum of the City of New York, where Webb had his first solo exhibition in 1946, this book helps restore the reputation and legacy of a forgotten American artist."--Publisher's website
Fortune : the art of covering business( Book )

4 editions published between 1998 and 1999 in English and held by 103 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The guarded gate : bigotry, eugenics, and the law that kept two generations of Jews, Italians, and other European immigrants out of America by Daniel Okrent( Recording )

7 editions published in 2019 in English and held by 93 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

By the widely celebrated New York Times best selling author of Last Call, the powerful, definitive, and timely account of how the rise of eugenics helped America close the immigration door to 'inferiors' in the 1920s. A forgotten, dark chapter of American history with implications for the current day, it tells the story of the scientists who argued that certain nationalities were inherently inferior, providing the intellectual justification for the harshest immigration law in American history
Baseball anecdotes by Daniel Okrent( Recording )

2 editions published between 1990 and 2002 in English and held by 65 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A colorful and entertaining anecdotal history of baseball in the U.S., with stories that offer glimpses of legendary heroes from Cartwright to Buckner
Last call : the rise and fall of Prohibition, 1920-1933 by Daniel Okrent( Book )

2 editions published in 2010 in English and held by 44 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Explores the factors that led to Prohibition, and discusses what life was like under Prohibition and how the country was changed by this unprecedented government interference in the private lives of its citizens
Wordplay : The Official Companion Book( Book )

1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 35 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Prophet of the sandlots : journeys with a major league scout by Mark Winegardner( Book )

1 edition published in 1990 in English and held by 31 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This book is an account of the life of the late Tony Lucadello, the legendary scout who signed fifty future Major Leaguers including Mike Schmidt
Great fortune : the epic of Rockefeller Center by Daniel Okrent( )

2 editions published in 2019 in English and held by 22 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In this hugely appealing book, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, acclaimed author and journalist Daniel Okrent weaves together themes of money, politics, art, architecture, business, and society to tell the story of the majestic suite of buildings that came to dominate the heart of midtown Manhattan and with it, for a time, the heart of the world. At the center of Okrent's riveting story are four remarkable individuals: tycoon John D. Rockefeller, his ambitious son Nelson Rockefeller, real estate genius John R. Todd, and visionary skyscraper architect Raymond Hood. In the tradition of David McCullough's The Great Bridge, Ron Chernow's Titan, and Robert Caro's The Power Broker, Great Fortune is a stunning tribute to an American landmark that captures the heart and spirit of New York at its apotheosis
La Grande histoire du baseball, 1876-1980( Book )

2 editions published in 1982 in French and held by 12 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Rehaussé et commenté par plus de 800 illustrations, un reportage très complet sur les périties qui marquèrent le premier siècle d'existence du sport américain par excellence
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.22 (from 0.13 for Last call ... to 0.70 for Public edi ...)

Last call : the rise and fall of Prohibition
Covers
The Ultimate baseball bookGreat fortune : the epic of Rockefeller CenterNine inningsBaseball anecdotesLast call : [the rise and fall of Prohibition]Fortune : the art of covering businessLast call : the rise and fall of Prohibition, 1920-1933Wordplay : The Official Companion Book
Alternative Names
Daniel Okrent Amerikaans journalist (1948-)

Daniel Okrent Amerykański pisarz i wydawca

Okrent törvénye

Дэниэл Окрент

دانيل اوكرينت

오크렌트, 다니엘 1948-

오크렌트, 대니얼 1948-

ダニエル・オクレント

丹尼爾·奧克倫特

Languages
English (117)

French (2)